|
|
|||||||
| Current Events & Social Issues Discussions related to the current events, social issues and so on. |
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|
#46 (permalink) | |
|
SUPER MODERATORS
![]()
(View Stats)
Countries:
Thanked 3,379 Times in 1,300 Posts
|
Not Ranked
:
0 score
Quote:
This issue is an Ethical fallacy in your opinion because its based on the norms of the day. Why is polygamy such a big issue today when quite a few biblical prophets exercised this right? Its all relative to the times. | |
|
|
| Sponsored Links |
|
|
#47 (permalink) |
|
SUPER MODERATORS
![]()
(View Stats)
Countries:
Thanked 3,379 Times in 1,300 Posts
|
Not Ranked
:
0 score
The Quran says the exact same...pick a righteous slave for marriage over someone who may have it all but righteousness.
|
|
|
|
|
#48 (permalink) | |
|
Banned Members
![]() |
Not Ranked
:
0 score
Quote:
| |
|
|
|
|
#49 (permalink) |
|
Banned Members
![]() |
Not Ranked
:
0 score
Nah mate what is right is right throughout the ages...
What the prophet did could be thought of as a challenge/a test... if I want to employ you first I will test you/interview you... think of them as pitfalls which you should avoid... Now since the prophet was a realized soul therefore his actions are forgiven whether we consider right or wrong.. he was divinely guided... Even Hindus say never follow what Krishna did.. Let me give you a few egs from my religion .. Guru Nanakji had 2 sons, 1 was a renowed ascetic(Baba Sri Chand) and the other younger son was a householder.. the younger son loved hunting to which he was rebuked by Guru Nanak's elder son saying it is wrong.. Further verses of Guru Granth Sahib strictly condone killing of animals.. Yet Guru Gobind Singh used to love hunting... to which he was questioned by his followers he replied by Killing them I am giving them deliverance... then he recounted a tale of how this animal was blessed by a Hindu sage that he would be rescued by him... Now whether you believe it or not is another topic but what I am trying to prove is that Godly men do everything under the Will of God, his hukam... for you to follow it is your call.. they have divine protection .. So I have come to a conclusion that Prophet was divinely guided and his actions have divine protection... ------------------------- now, Let me give you an example to prove that Humans are naturally guided to do right ... For example if I am a thief. and take delight in stealing but if my own house is burgled how will I feel?? or Do you not feel ashamed when stealing something? another we lie all the time but if some one lies to us do we like?? or don't you feel you will be caught when lying?? Even a kid without knowing the constitution etc doesn't lie or steal naturally.. This shows that naturally all humans except and want to do good.. it is our free will and blinding of our intellect that makes us follow the wrong path... ----------------------------------------------------- So till your ego, and free will is dissolved aka your will is annihilated and his will guides you aka Islam..submission.. letting his will guide you... Quran, Vedas, etc. all books cannot describe him ... he is beyond.. if by reading Quran one achieves Godhood then all Mullahs would have been equivalent in splendour to the greats like Farid Sahab and Chisti Sahab... till then you must do what is ethically morally correct as to what you naturally perceive to be correct... or what your religion explicity states... the theological aspects of all major worlds religion have many similarities... to achieve Islam/submission.. through Fana/bhakti/seva/naam/mantra/devotion/worship etc. is the ultimate. aim of many religions.. that is to merge one's soul with the cosmic.. annihilate one's ego... this is Islam of Muslim, the Fanaa of Sufi, the Nirvana of Buddhist, the Moksha of Hindu, the Goloka of Vaishnava.. this can be done only through devotion, service and worship of God.... That is why Prophet sahab said a true Muslim can only be judged by God... who is truly submissive to him.. who has annihilated his ego.. otherwise if one becomes Muslim by reading quran etc.. Prophet sahab would have mentioned it.. Quran, Manu smriti, Constitutions etc. give us a way in which we can live properly follow ethics etc. these are secondary to the primary the primary is submission of your will.. these are all there as a guide as a crutch.. Farid Sahab, CHisti Sahab, Sai Baba, Kabir Sahab didn't follow all Quranic injunctions though one cannot argue their divinity... because they had already become Muslims they had achieved Islam.. they had merged with him.. for them these were nothing more than mere formalities inconsequential infront of him... Look at the beautiful poetry of Khusro Sahab.. for him the main aim was Islam through devotion and love.. for him Allah was not his mother or father or his child or his master.. Allah was his beloved aka he loved Allah the way one loves one's beloved.. that is 2 souls in 1 body.. that is one lives for the other.. all actions are performed for the benefit and praise of the beloved.. "One who laughs at the plight of lovers, himself needs to be cried at..." "Khusrau raen suhaag ki, jaagi pi ke sung, Tun mero mun pi-u ko, dovu bhaye ek rung." "Khusrau (the bride) spends the eve of her wedding Awake with her beloved, (in such a way that) The body belongs to her, but heart to the beloved, The two become one." "Khusrau aesee peet kar, jaisay hindu joye, Poot karaye kaarnay, jal jal koyla hoye." "Khusrau, what you need to do is, To concentrate hard, like a Hindu does – He even burns himself to offer to god." "Apni chhab banaikay, jo main pi kay paas gayi Chhab dekhi jab piyu ki so apni bhool gayi. With my beautiful face all adorned, when I went to the beloved, I saw his face, and forgot all about my own beauty." "Khusrau baazi prem ki main khelun pi ke sung, Jeet gayi to piya moray, haari, pi kay sung. I, Khusrau, play the game of love with my beloved, If I win, the beloved’s mine, defeated, I’m beloved’s." and finally to end "Khusrau darya prem ka, ulti wa ki dhaar, Jo utra so doob gaya, jo dooba so paar." ------------------------------------- even poets have symbolic meaning in their poems.. this is the secret of Godhood it must and cannot be revealed so simply to all.. one has to be truly blessed to receive it... Now though I can put more complex arguements but I hope you can understand what I am trying to say.. hope no one is too offended and pardon for my shortcomings from the most merciful.. |
|
|
|
|
#50 (permalink) | |
|
Banned Members
![]() |
Not Ranked
:
0 score
Quote:
if Divinity was based on ethics and morals the God could and would not be most merciful..he can have powers of interference.. this world would be cause and effect with no escape.. he could not deliver us... from cause and effect.. taking his name would be in vain.. If you understand what Divinity means you can overcome it/harness it/achieve it/use it etc.. you can master it...you can claim it..you can understand how it works.. etc.. you can achieve Godhood... etc. Divinity/divine actions are beyond the realm of cause and effect.. even as defined by Karmic religions..like Hinduism and Sikhism.. and the various schools of thoughts therein... Ethics and Morals are there to protect us and help us realize our true aim/goal of life... | |
|
|
|
|
#52 (permalink) |
|
Primum non nocere
![]()
(View Stats)
Countries:
Thanked 3,686 Times in 1,844 Posts
|
Not Ranked
:
0 score
You can't remarry without the existing wife's permission.
|
|
Bahut mein ne suni hai aap ki taqreer Maulana
Magar badli nahin ab tak meri taqdeer Maulana -- Habib Jalib |
|
|
|
|
|
#53 (permalink) |
|
Banned Members
![]() |
Not Ranked
:
0 score
as ur post did not mention this info .. hence I did not too... I was merely trying to find the symbolic meaning in the small post of yours and differing from your understanding and not passing my interpretation or judgements... |
|
|
|
|
#54 (permalink) | |
|
Banned Members
![]() |
Not Ranked
:
0 score
Quote:
Krishna and Arjuna were unethical in there behaviour during Mahabharata . they paid the price for it . | |
|
Last edited by Chanakya; 12-01-2007 at 12:24 AM. Reason: mistake |
||
|
|
|
|
#55 (permalink) |
|
Banned Members
![]() |
Not Ranked
:
0 score
Cause and Effect
Advaita believes that God is the cause and the universe its effect, but as the effect can't be different from the cause, God is immanent in whole universe. Vishishtha Advaita or qualified monism we can say he propounded Bhakti Yoga as the path to reach the Truth. Therefore it gives a synthetic view of the spiritual experiences of God or Brahman. Heavily depending upon theory of Karma, this philosophy applies the law of cause and effect to Ethical experiences. It brings to light the inner working of righteousness of God and affirms the impossibility of cruelty and bias in Divine nature. As you sow, so would you reap! This law applies to explain suffering for many and comfort for others. |
|
|
|
|
#56 (permalink) | |
|
Primum non nocere
![]()
(View Stats)
Countries:
Thanked 3,686 Times in 1,844 Posts
|
Not Ranked
:
0 score
Quote:
Hindu scriptures are filled with orgies committed by Gods and Goddesses, but one doesn't take that divine example as a permission slip to do the same here on Earth. Morality and Ethics are subject to time. Each Prophet came to the world with a message a divine mission. The Prophet is not divinity and he is a human being too. | |
|
Bahut mein ne suni hai aap ki taqreer Maulana
Magar badli nahin ab tak meri taqdeer Maulana -- Habib Jalib |
||
|
|
|
|
#57 (permalink) |
|
SUPER MODERATORS
![]()
(View Stats)
Countries:
Thanked 6,000 Times in 2,853 Posts
|
Not Ranked
:
0 score
Chanakya,
Please do not pass off other peoples arguments and writing as your own - it is distasteful and dishonest. Your "rebuttal" is essentially a cut and paste from the discourse between the gentleman whose arguments I quoted and one of the Islam bashing bigots on the answering Islam site. Here is the link to that response: A 'Refutation' of Your Analysis of <i>Ayesha's</i> (ra) Age... There is also included a rebuttal of the objections raised by the gentleman you "quoted". |
|
--ON HIATUS, for a few months ---
'The Story of Pakistan, its struggle and its achievement, is the very story of great human ideals, struggling to survive in the face of great odds and difficulties.' -Jinnah Last edited by AgNoStIc MuSliM; 12-01-2007 at 01:45 AM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#58 (permalink) | |||
|
Banned Members
![]() |
Not Ranked
:
0 score
So telling lies is acceptable for some time....
NOpe.. Morals and Ethics are teh same... Theological aspects remain the same because they are grounded in the eternal truth.. in the unchangeable Ethical/Moral Aspects change because it is our interpretations and requirements that change from time to time.... and they are responsible for us maintaining order in this changing world... So in effect RIght conduct, ethics, morals are the change.. their frame of reference changes hence we think they also transform.. Quote:
these kind of posts again serve just 1 purpose.. you can frame it otherwise..thodi tehzeeb ke saath... I haven't seen people calling Muslim prophet names.. Quote:
their fundamental symbolism remains true eternally.. simplistcally One must speak the truth, non stealing, be peacefuletc.. our interpretations and requirement of them changes.. Quote:
Please refer to my post here and here for my detailed arguement... against and for, Chanakya and you(for this post).. Hazrat Ayesha's Age at Marriage. Hazrat Ayesha's Age at Marriage. | |||
|
|
|
|
#59 (permalink) | |
|
SUPER MODERATORS
![]()
(View Stats)
Countries:
|
Not Ranked
:
0 score
These comments by the scholar bring up a related question -
Quote:
Moiz Amjad ( the gentlemen who I have been quoting) obviously strongly disagrees that child marriages were the accepted custom. | |
|
'The Story of Pakistan, its struggle and its achievement, is the very story of great human ideals, struggling to survive in the face of great odds and difficulties.' -Jinnah |
||
|
|
|
|
#60 (permalink) | |
|
SUPER MODERATORS
![]()
(View Stats)
Countries:
|
Not Ranked
:
0 score
This is Moiz Amjad's final rebuttal of the arguments made by Mr. Silas:
Quote:
| |
|
'The Story of Pakistan, its struggle and its achievement, is the very story of great human ideals, struggling to survive in the face of great odds and difficulties.' -Jinnah |
||
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|