Go Back   Pakistan Defence Forum > Pakistan Defence & Military Forums > Military Aviation
Donate Pakistan Defence Every Month

Military Aviation Discuss about the Pakistani Air Force capability, induction of fighters, changes in air force, comparison with other air forces of the world.

Pakistan Defence Gallery
by wicked warrior
Bakter-Shikan
by Salman Javed
F-16 Fighting Falcon
by alibaz
MFI-17 Mushshak
by QADRI
Al-Zarrar MBT (Type-59 MBT)
by hassan1
MFI-17 Mushshak
by jamshaid56us
Google Earth

Advertisement Advertisement

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2010, 07:40 PM   #391 (permalink)
Banned Members

Countries:
Default Re: JF-17 French Avionics Deal On Hold/Cancelled

Lets stick to topic.
Prayag is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-11-2010, 07:43 PM   #392 (permalink)
MODERATORS

Countries:
Thanked 5,701 Times in 2,275 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prayag View Post
Lets stick to topic.
Thanks for the advice, but we are sticking to the topic, as we are comparing what French have offered and is to offer compared to others which are the contenders in case the French deal totally goes bust.

So we are pretty much in the right discussion.
TaimiKhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 07:47 PM   #393 (permalink)
FULL MEMBERS

Countries:

FYI

SELEX Galileo - Radar

When it is said to them: “Make not mischief on the Earth,” they say: “Why, we only want to make peace!” Holy Qur’an (2-11)
deathfromabove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 06:46 AM   #394 (permalink)
ADMINISTRATORS

Countries:
Thanked 8,407 Times in 3,812 Posts

Quote:
Former finance minister Shaukat Tarin may have sealed the fate of the almost $20 billion LNG deal with French company, GDF-Suez, on Monday when in his written affidavit to the three-member bench of the Supreme Court he confirmed that the controversial contract was awarded after “clear process lapses” and requested the chief justice to order award of a new contract after fresh evaluation of all bidders and proposals.

The News journalist vindicated
Hmm.. A $20 billion contract possibly going down the drain. I wonder if this was behind the French decision, a way to pressure the powers that be in Pakistan to let the LNG contract go through perhaps ...

--ON HIATUS, for a few months ---

'The Story of Pakistan, its struggle and its achievement, is the very story of great human ideals, struggling to survive in the face of great odds and difficulties.'
-Jinnah
AgNoStIc MuSliM is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to AgNoStIc MuSliM For This Useful Post:
notorious_eagle (04-13-2010), TaimiKhan (04-13-2010)
Old 04-13-2010, 09:55 AM   #395 (permalink)
FULL MEMBERS

20 billion $? It was a 1 billion $ contract, and the bid by Fauji Foundation was the lowest which was ignored by the committee. Now it'll be re-done.
kursed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 10:37 AM   #396 (permalink)
SENIOR MEMBERS

Countries:
Thanked 1,355 Times in 749 Posts

Salam ho Shukat Tareen Sahib for identifying curruption

Thank you

Let the court handle the 1 billion dollar scam ...

"Kitney Aircraft Carrier thi unke pass 1 ... bus 1 wo bhi used old ....ha ha ha ha ha, raat ko jub bache nahi soote , un ki maa un ko kehti hai so ja ... warna ... AZADPAKISTAN2009 ajaiga "
AZADPAKISTAN2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 11:33 AM   #397 (permalink)
MODERATORS

Countries:
Thanked 5,701 Times in 2,275 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by AgNoStIc MuSliM View Post
Hmm.. A $20 billion contract possibly going down the drain. I wonder if this was behind the French decision, a way to pressure the powers that be in Pakistan to let the LNG contract go through perhaps ...
This would be a good way to pay back the French.
TaimiKhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 11:55 AM   #398 (permalink)
SENIOR MEMBERS

Countries:
Thanked 1,307 Times in 656 Posts

Geo Shaukat Tareen.... great work
WAQAS119 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 03:16 PM   #399 (permalink)
Banned Members

Countries:

I think Pakistan should not go with China's Avionics for up gradation of JF-17. Instead you should try Britain and Germany avionics for same.

Yes china's avionics will be cheaper and easily available but it's not worth it.

and if you want to convert your JF-17 in Potent fighter then you have to do some of the following things.........

1) Up grade it with European avionics rather then China.

2) Change Engine, use Chines one (Russian Engine is batter for india but not for Pakistan due to diplomatic reason)

3) Advance Air to air missile (Because india already using Python and Derby missile of Israel)

4) Use AESA radar(But not from China)

5) Higher use of Composite M/T with RAM for Lower radar reflectivity and Higher Thrust to weight ratio.

Regards,

MR. Cool

Last edited by Mr. cool; 04-13-2010 at 07:03 PM.
Mr. cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 06:30 PM   #400 (permalink)
FULL MEMBERS

Countries:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. cool View Post
I think Pakistan should not go with China's Avionics for up gradation for JF-17. Instead you should try to Britain and Germany for the same.
What about France, which we believe "Deal" heldup due to India?
R U Agent of Britain & Germany

I know how to die, therefore I will "Eliminate" you.
mughaljee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 07:04 PM   #401 (permalink)
Banned Members

Countries:

Quote:
Originally Posted by mughaljee View Post
What about France, which we believe "Deal" heldup due to India?
R U Agent of Britain & Germany
No i am not
Mr. cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 03:48 PM   #402 (permalink)
FRESH

Countries:

France like the US has never been a reliable supplier for Pakistan. In the 70s the French canceled a Nuclear processing plant that had been signed between the two countries.
The brave knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 04:36 PM
blueoval79
This message has been deleted by AgNoStIc MuSliM. Reason: already posted - why post again?
Old 04-14-2010, 05:29 PM   #403 (permalink)
ADMINISTRATORS

Countries:
Thanked 8,407 Times in 3,812 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by kursed View Post
20 billion $? It was a 1 billion $ contract, and the bid by Fauji Foundation was the lowest which was ignored by the committee. Now it'll be re-done.
I believe the contract was $1billion over that of the lowest bid, hence the reference to a loss of $1 billion.

It is a long term contract:

"Government of Pakistan awarded a contract to GDF Suez to supply 3.75 million tons per annum of liquefied natural gas (LNG) for a period of 20 years."

Shell was apparently also a bidder, and their offer was even higher:

"The price of LNG imported from GDF Suez will be $1.8 billon lower than the rates offered by Shell in the first six years, the import price will be around $9.3 per MMBtu said, G A Sabri, senior petroleum ministry official. "

Pakistan Awards LNG Contract To GDF Suez | Pakistani | Pakistani News | Pakistani-American News | Pakistani Blog | Pakistan Forex News | Pakistan Commodities News | Pakistan Business News | Ibrahim Sajid Malick Blog

And the Minister for Petroleum and Natural Resources Naveed Qamar is in fact stating that the overall contract was worth $25 billion.
Pakistan to gain $1.33 billion from LNG procurement project

I would not be surprised if this was also a factor.

--ON HIATUS, for a few months ---

'The Story of Pakistan, its struggle and its achievement, is the very story of great human ideals, struggling to survive in the face of great odds and difficulties.'
-Jinnah
AgNoStIc MuSliM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 06:56 PM   #404 (permalink)
ELITE MEMBERS

Countries:
Thanked 1,061 Times in 653 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramu View Post
Do you agree that JF-17 will be manufactured in large numbers and AESA radar does not come cheap ? All I am trying to say is JF-17 is a cost effective aircraft that has a cost advantage that suits Pakistan. The moment we consider avionics from France, AESA radar, etc, its price shoots up.
Hasnt the price issue beaten to death and buried down the hatchet. Why bring it out again and again. Who better then the PAF will know what being cost effective means.

Give it a rest.

A good plan, violently executed now, is better than a perfect plan next week.
It is foolish and wrong to mourn the men who died. Rather we should thank God that such men lived. George S.Patton
IceCold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 10:38 AM   #405 (permalink)
Suspended Members

Countries:
Thanked 2,059 Times in 918 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by AgNoStIc MuSliM View Post
I believe the contract was $1billion over that of the lowest bid, hence the reference to a loss of $1 billion.

It is a long term contract:

"Government of Pakistan awarded a contract to GDF Suez to supply 3.75 million tons per annum of liquefied natural gas (LNG) for a period of 20 years."

Shell was apparently also a bidder, and their offer was even higher:

"The price of LNG imported from GDF Suez will be $1.8 billon lower than the rates offered by Shell in the first six years, the import price will be around $9.3 per MMBtu said, G A Sabri, senior petroleum ministry official. "

Pakistan Awards LNG Contract To GDF Suez | Pakistani | Pakistani News | Pakistani-American News | Pakistani Blog | Pakistan Forex News | Pakistan Commodities News | Pakistan Business News | Ibrahim Sajid Malick Blog

And the Minister for Petroleum and Natural Resources Naveed Qamar is in fact stating that the overall contract was worth $25 billion.
Pakistan to gain $1.33 billion from LNG procurement project

I would not be surprised if this was also a factor.
Very immature if the fuel deal was canceled in retaliation for the holding of the avionics deal. This is not how diplomacy works. No wonder Pakistan is loosing the battle of diplomacy. International relations are not a tit for tat game, Pakistan needs seasoned professionals at the top to make such sensitive decisions. It feels that emotions are getting in the way of diplomacy.
desiman is offline   Reply With Quote