Kashmir | News & Discussions.

So, is new media only reinforcing old stereotypes?

• Total voters
Kashmir Images :: Are hartals really the solution?

Zeenat Zeeshan Fazil

Life is frozen here. Nothing moves and nothing intends to move. Educational institutions, government sector, private sector – everything and anything is crippled for the last one month forcing ordinary people to question - Is hartal the only weapon we have available or can we look beyond hartal?

And the most vital question is - With this hartal politics whom are we punishing? A street vendor, daily wagers or our own school going children? Incidentally there is no evidence of strikes in Muslim history. Neither there is any vital correlation between strikes and victorious liberation movements across the world. Striking work emerged as a communist concept where the daily waged worker would inflict economic costs on the capitalist owners. But in case of Kashmir, it is vice-versa. Here strikes inflict loses on the striking people themselves – economic, academic and social loses.

Aren’t the separatist groups, who call strikes, mindful of the poor people who earn their livelihood on daily basis and have to feed their families in the evening. Their poor families must be starving during these hartal days. How helpless patients feel when they are unable to reach to the hospital and many of them even have lost their lives. But, is any body bothered?

Recently, fetus of the two women, (one traveling from Khag in central Kashmir and another from Kupwara to Srinagar) died in their wombs as they couldn’t reach maternity hospital on time. The ambulances being stopped at various places both by protestors and police led to the death of the fetus in the wombs itself.
Who is responsible for their death? Undoubtedly those who call for strikes and those who don’t allow even ambulances to move (they include both stone-pelters and security forces).
Who can compensate the death of the babies to these mothers who in 9 months of pregnancy must have woven lakhs of dreams around the expected new arrivals?

One may not question the genuineness of the protests. Kashmir is an issue and needs to be resolved and all the actors involved need to work in this direction. But at the same time, all the conscientious citizens should be alarmed to see young boys from 7-19 years pelting stones on roads. It is dangerous for the healthy growth of our younger generation.

Leading sociologist of the Valley Prof. B. A. Dabla believes that it’s the failure of the leadership here that has made young boys to come on the roads. He also believes that these young boys (most of whom are economically backwards)are not clear about their aim.
“No doubt stone pelting is one of the forms of agitation but it is going to have bad impact on their psychological and sociological development,” warns Prof. Dabla.

The unabated hartals have played havoc with Valley’s economy. As per Federation Chamber of Industries Kashmir President, Shakeel Qalander, “we are losing Rs 100 crore per day which means so far we have incurred loss of around Rs 3000 crores in this very month. These figures further indicate that we are already nearing economic collapse.”

Last week, in order to get medicines for my ailing mom, I went to one of the chemist shops at Karan Nagar area of down town locality, just to get view of the chemist about the hartal calls. I asked him how he feels about these strike calls.
The chemist while citing an incident told me, “Today one of the customers whose son was suffering of some serious ailment asked me to give all the medicines written over prescription, that I gave, and when I (chemist) asked him (customer) to pay his bill of Rs 400. His (customers) reply to me( chemist) was “I have not earned even a single penny due to these strikes, but yes when I will have, will give you and left the shop without paying”.

Such is the plight of poor people who are not rich like our leaders who sitting idle at their homes can afford to shop on Sundays.
The worst hit has been the education sector. Lakhs of students, who study in government as well as private schools, are confined to homes.

Recently, there was the statement from the DeM Chief, Asiaya Andrabi asking parents not to send their children to their schools and if they sent them (children), parents themselves were responsible if something untoward happened to them (kids).

And then Massarat Alam of Hurriyat (G) suggested people to make arrangements for making their kids study at homes. Alam’s statement indicated that the groups which are issuing hartal calendar are in no move mood to allow schools function.
What will happen to our future generation whom we are not allowing to go to schools? Are we aiming at raising an army of illiterate and uneducated people and push the entire society into the abyss of ignorance?

Students need to be provided peaceful atmospheres in which they could study so that both at national and international level they (students) could project the plight of their motherland. Living in IT world, we can use other means of communication for protests that includes social networking sites, pen down strikes in the offices for an hour or so. Wearing black badges during work is a best way to protest.

No nation can achieve freedom when it is weak and strikes make Kashmir weaker. If Kashmir aspires for freedom, it needs to be economically independent. But are we really economically self dependent? By calling unwanted strikes our economical dependence on India increases more and more.
If we could have achieved freedom by constantly shunning away from work for a year, still it wouldn’t have been a bad bargain. But, would India leave Kashmir, because of strikes? In fact Indian government must be feeling happy when patient can’t go to hospital, Kashmiri children do not go to school, and the daily waged lose their daily wages.
One can’t deny human rights violations in Kashmir by armed forces. The need of an hour is to develop an alternative strategy to protest against the human rights violation.
Leadership in Kashmir is in desperate need of new policy. Protests, unwanted shut downs and human sacrifices are not the real solution of this grave problem.
People during Amaranth land row also were exhausted with hartal politics which at that time even was accepted by Syed Ali Geelani himself when on October 6, 2008 strike call was taken back. Even that time Geelani sahib himself agreed that farmers have to reap the harvest, students have to go to schools, employee’s needs to go to their work and marriages had to be solemnized.
If then why not now?

i think you are obsessed with stone pelting articles now. Take Some time off. Chill

There was always a problem in IoK, do you think in 1989 mass media was such available as it is today?
Trash Argument, I personally visited Kashmir 10 times before 1989, so did million other Indians, since there was no problem with inception and it only started after 1989, I am of opinion that it was created from outside. Pakistan has problem is SWAT and FATA etc was this there originally? So in same way problem can be created.
Common people are fools they hardly use brains and most does not have access to all information, so feed them wrong info and they can start hating you. The classic example of this was Sopain killings last years 2 virgins got drowned and 1 doctor deliberately declared it rape. Now it does not take much to think that someone if after creating anti sentiments. Mobs are deliberately made violent with some paid anti social elements playing lead role and then security forces are left with no choice but fire in defense and some people with prejudice will say Army is rude.

No, they didn't. Kashmir is pro-Independence. Pakistan is ok with that, India isn't. After the pro-Independence majority comes the Pro-Pakistan minority and then pro-india etc. That's why India releases movies like "Fanaa" to propogate the anti-Independence sentiment.
I read the bold part 5 times, dude that is certainly not something other Pakistani's are saying, you want names (Think Tank etc)? Only person who say's this is Muradk.

Every mountain isn't inhabited.

First of all, get this "all Kashmiri's want to stay with Pakistan" theory out of your head. Most Kashmiri's are PRO-INDEPENDENCE. Second, J&K Minister is not an average civilian now is he?
You should tell this to your Pakistani friends and bro, this is not my feeling.
We can say the same thing for Azad Kashmir. Again, you think that we think that there is no pro-India minority. But fact remains, they are a minority.
Highly debatable, Kashmir is not just valley ok. The entire Jammu and Ladhak almost 40% of population is pro India you call that minority?

There we go, heres the issue. You think that we think that all Kashmiris want to join Pakistan and we think that you're insane. We know that most of Kashmirs public opinion is pro-Independence, and then pro-Pakistan and then the leftovers are pro-India and whatnot. The fact is that the pro-India part's segment of public opinion comes no where near the majorities that hold of their own stance of receding India.
:pakistan:
Before calling me insane read my post that is not my feeling but some fanboys say here repeatedly.

What I am saying is that problem of Kashmir is exaggerated. Good number of people are fine with India if we just consider Jammu and Ladhak, rest are divided in Valley with decent number with India too.

If there are riots in Kashmir and curfew a major blame goes to Kashmir's themselves. Keeping peace in your area is primary responsibility of the locals and by resorting to violent protest without provocation some of this they deserve. They are religious fanatic bigots who just cannot stand a non Muslim period.

Kasmiri's were also involved in violence against Hindus of Kashmir origin, how do you explain that, what you saw is what you reap.

Are you blind or something? Look at my reply on page 3.

probably missed other peoples replies as well..
Was sort of blind with 1 inch mobile screen that I was using, since I am in remote place, today I got my laptop connected to cell.

You could have used better language, neither your language in reply was good, anyways choice is yours, I want to be civil.

what question might that be??

and in 71 let's not even go there shall we when india invaded east pakistan!!! you invaded a sovereign country my friend kashmir and east pakistan cannot be compared!!

infact you should be tried as a nation for trespassing a sovereign country!

71 is past, India was attacked by outside forces many time in the past, your own people say those their forefathers so that way we just did once, now leave past and talk of future. In past war and attack was common and today is not 71 we have a million grievances too.

By that logic, we should also leave Mumbai and talk of future.

Its not about only Mumbai ... till now Pakistan not stop sending terrorist in India

Who says? Indian officials admitted themselves that there was no infiltration in the valley some time back. Even during Musharraf's time, the backing was withdrawn. And, the current protests in Kashmir are spontaneous, outcome of Police brutality. That is admitted by various mainstream analysts in India.

And India continues to back Baloch rebels?

This tit-for-tat will continue untill the time that people and governments on both sides realize that peace is in the larger interest of both sides and that the road towards peace should be impervious to terrorism. Because there are people on both sides who do not wish peace, even though they are not the majority but are able to sway the public mood by whipping up chauvinism.

Who says? Indian officials admitted themselves that there was no infiltration in the valley some time back. Even during Musharraf's time, the backing was withdrawn. And, the current protests in Kashmir are spontaneous, outcome of Police brutality. That is admitted by various mainstream analysts in India.

And India continues to back Baloch rebels?

This tit-for-tat will continue untill the time that people and governments on both sides realize that peace in the larger interest of both sides and that the road towards peace should be impervious to terrorism. Because there are people on both sides who do not wish peace, even though they are not the majority but are able to sway the public mood by whipping up chauvinism.

Now a days whole world say that
now dnt tell me put source cause that may be embarrass your self

Now a days whole world say that
now dnt tell me put source cause that may be embarrass your self

You see, therein lies the problem.

You highlighted the one part that suits your interest and overlooked everything else.

In my post, i was specifically talking about the Kashmir issue.

And, it's not the whole world. For you US, UK and Afghanistan might be the whole world but in reality it's not. The current state of things will not last for ever, even though Pakistan seems to be on the receiving end right now. Even though it suits short-term goals of India, highlighting the terror emanating from Pakistan, but that's not a new phenomenon. India is right now just riding on a wave that will not last. We were talking one year after the attack on the Indian Parliament. Pakistan never backed out of talks after attack on Samjhota. That's the point i 'm trying to make. But for people who do not want to see it happen, nothing else will matter !

SRINAGAR, India, Aug 1, 2010 (AFP) - A protester was killed on Sunday in revolt-hit Indian Kashmir, taking to seven the number of young men shot dead by security forces in three days of street clashes, police said.

The latest casualties mark the deadliest phase in the Muslim-majority Himalayan territory since June 11, when the turmoil erupted after a 17-year-old student was killed by a police tear-gas shell.

The incident took place in Pampore town, about 13 kilometres (eight miles) south of Srinagar, the summer capital of Indian Kashmir.

"One protester was killed and four others injured when security forces opened fire at thousands of violent protesters in Pampore," said a police officer who did not want to be named.

He said one of the injured protesters was in a "critical" condition.

Police opened fire with rifles when thousands of residents in Pampore defied a strict curfew, blocked the region's main highway and attacked security personnel.

The shooting brought even more people out on the streets, who attacked police with rocks and sticks, witnesses said.

SRINAGAR, India, Aug 1, 2010 (AFP) - A protester was killed on Sunday in revolt-hit Indian Kashmir, taking to seven the number of young men shot dead by security forces in three days of street clashes, police said.

The latest casualties mark the deadliest phase in the Muslim-majority Himalayan territory since June 11, when the turmoil erupted after a 17-year-old student was killed by a police tear-gas shell.

The incident took place in Pampore town, about 13 kilometres (eight miles) south of Srinagar, the summer capital of Indian Kashmir.

"One protester was killed and four others injured when security forces opened fire at thousands of violent protesters in Pampore," said a police officer who did not want to be named.

Police opened fire with rifles when thousands of residents in Pampore defied a strict curfew, blocked the region's main highway and attacked security personnel.

The shooting brought even more people out on the streets, who attacked police with rocks and sticks, witnesses said.

What you expect from Police if some one doing this ?????

This is what YOU expect the police to do.

The reaction would have been different if Indian police had shot someone dead protesting water shortage in Delhi !

Thanks for the bold part.
Death from tear gas proves intention was not to kill but some MF and paid agents used the occasion to create unrest, this is the sum of all the violence there.

Thanks for the bold part.
Death from tear gas proves intention was not to kill but some MF and paid agents used the occasion to create unrest, this is the sum of all the violence there.

Because of those MF and paid agents..... innocent people have to suffer