Jobless after virus lockdown, India's poor struggle to eat

The first case in India was on Jan 30th. In 2 months, India has only confirmed 1100 cases. Does that sound credible to you? Is that a reflection of the reality?

India is obviously not testing enough people - either that, or the govt is fudging figures, you decide.

Since GoI is clearly stated as of now they are only testing those with travel and contact histories as its screening parameters i believe government is not fudging figures but i will accept that we are not testing enough people.

Major problem GoI is facing is many people are hiding information of their travel and GoI is trying to physically tracing them which is very laborious process and GoI is also keeping eye on community transmission.

So presently GoI is more concentrated toward tracing travellers and increasing testing facilities to take care of future needs and I think in a country like India where 130 crores of people live and priorities might be different but goals will be same as others.

These people have begun journeys in sun and rain for hundreds of kilometers even. Whatever happens at the supposed end of the lockdown in 15 days from now, I don't think these people will have a good opinion of the BJP. Most of these journeyers are laborers from UP and Bihar. The first state is ruled by BJP and the second is allied with BJP. The Center is ruled by BJP. All these three entities have done a bad job in managing the Corona crisis. I don't think those journeying laborers and their family members will vote for BJP again.

By creating panic AK has virtually lost the plot. Now labour class will be against AK.

its win win situation for BJP

India is a total and utter shambles the way the "lockdown" was implemented.
Modi either not think it through properly and should have given people 72 hours to get back to their homes or simply wanted a stunt to impress the world.

Are you crazy ! giving 72 hours time to get back to their homes ? there are more than 20% of total population moved to different parts of India in search of livelihood and if they move back then it will be just like another mess and would have become epidemic center for Community Transmission.

By creating panic AK has virtually lost the plot. Now labour class will be against AK.

its win win situation for BJP

I agree that Kejriwal didn't anticipate this mass-migration of laborers but neither did the Center. The panic and the confusion is the result of mismanagement of the Center and the relevant state governments.

LMAO Indophobia. Nice buzzword. Put yourself in my shoes for a second and tell me what you think when you a see a bhakt declare that Modi-Ji will get a Nobel prize while news keeps pouring out of India of labourers protesting and starving because of the lockdown. Would you agree with him or disagree with him?

I'm sure the evil Britishers were desperately waiting for news from starvation-ridden India which is still struggling with Swine flu outbreaks to deflect from things in the UK.

They will. Stop being a cuck for them.

Yes they will.

As will many who voted against Modi and the BJP the last time.

No more Delhi Intifadas.

No more Nizamuddins.

I have so many friends in UK both english and desi and believe me all of them are so critical of corona thing by UK government. They themselves are saying that India is doing much better as of now. Since it is unprecedented scenario in the world with no past references on what are the best way of handling it, there is no reference manual to say what is right or wrong.
As per me it is choice between selecting the less painful of two options, fear of what will happen in the lockdown or start moving towards their homes in sun and rain even if that mean long walks.
From country perspective the goal of the government is to minimize the casualties either from corona or from hunger. It will be a tough rope for Modi to walk, but I have a feeling India will sail out of it.

Also dont forget, even when Isro sent the MOM, these so called western countries specially US and UK media were very hawkish towards India. So i just ignore them.

No one gives a rats buttocks for the Brits. Or their hypocrisy and pontificating.

The resurgence of the Indian ego has been a disgusting spectacle for the rest of the world.

Its been particularly disgusting to our neighbours in the main.

Yes they will.
As will many who voted against Modi and tge BJP the last time.
No more Delhi Intifadas.
No more Nizamuddins.
No one gives a rats buttocks for the Brits. Or their hypocrisy and pontificating.

@Mentee: Doctor Sahib aa gayay nain.:lol::lol::lol:

Vichaa lavo lamia ty lambh LA chado :lol:

Yes they will.

As will many who voted against Modi and tge BJP the last time.

No more Delhi Intifadas.

No more Nizamuddins.

Ay ghaas phoos, Aj phr nahi hospital gia?

India is a total and utter shambles the way the "lockdown" was implemented.
Modi either not think it through properly and should have given people 72 hours to get back to their homes or simply wanted a stunt to impress the world.

UK seems to have finally slowed the spread of the virus with new patients coming into the NHS constant at 1000 over the last 3 days and the deaths around the 200ish mark. Still need more data to be sure but currently looking encouraging. However we may see the daily death rate going upwards for another 1-2 weeks as there is a lag between measures taken place and for the effects to be seen

Lol

A small pissant island has 200 dead.

A continent has less than 30 at last count.

But yeah it's the pissant which is doing great.

Bollocks.

For India’s Laborers, Coronavirus Lockdown Is an Order to Starve
Despite leaders’ decrees on staying home, laborers who live hand-to-mouth say they have no choice but to keep hitting the streets. Here are their stories.

30virus-india-voices-top-articleLarge-v3.jpg

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/03/30/world/asia/coronavirus-india-lockdown.html

Lol

A small pissant island has 200 dead.

A continent has less than 30 at last count.

But yeah it's the pissant which is doing great.

Bollocks.

Dude.....

Covid-19 HATES hot and/or humid conditions that most of S Asia has right now.

This is a major factor why thousands are not dying daily in S Asia right now.

I am not criticising Modi on everything but his stupid "lockdown" with just 4 hours notice when India has millions of migrant labourers that got stuck 100s of miles from home. He was right to initiate it but not on how he did it.
He is doing great in other areas like getting industry involved in mass production of ventilators/ other critical medical and leading S Asia joint efforts in the fight.

Dude.....

Covid-19 HATES hot and/or humid conditions that most of S Asia has right now.

This is a major factor why thousands are not dying daily in S Asia dying right.

I am not criticising Modi on everything but his stupid "lockdown" with just 4 hours notice when India has millions of migrant labourers that got stuck 100s of miles from home. He was right to initiate it but not on how he did it.
He is doing great in other areas like getting industry involved in mass production of ventilators/ other critical medical and leading S Asia joint efforts in the fight.

Don't dude me buddy.

Your servility to the white man and hatred for the Hindu are both quite evident in your nonsensical post where you claim more Britons are dead but Britain doing better than India.

And then this hot humid gibberish coverup.

Keep sucking up and hating.

We are behind our PM 500%.

It is based on scientific fact dude.

There appears to be quite a weight in what you are saying. Because, I am still surprised that why casualty number is so less in Pakistan, India and Bangladesh.

I agree that Kejriwal didn't anticipate this mass-migration of laborers but neither did the Center. The panic and the confusion is the result of mismanagement of the Center and the relevant state governments.

But Yogi used this opportunity amend his reputation and done a great job.

There appears to be quite a weight in what you are saying. Because, I am still surprised that why casualty number is so less in Pakistan, India and Bangladesh.

This does not mean that social distancing and ramping up medical resources is not required.

Good to see that all S Asian countries are doing this.

BD has brought 250 ventilators and 350 more are an order. There is an additional 1100 available between the public/private sectors in BD should they be required.

Luckily for most of S Asia, it has weather where viruses like Covid-19 cannot flourish.

I left my takeaway outside my fridge last night as the warmer temperature in the kitchen will be more hostile for Covid-19's survival chances than the cold fridge.

Let S Asia take the extra help from the weather I say!