Pakistan addicted to using militants against India: Pentagon

AbhijitSingh

Pakistan addicted to using militants against India: Pentagon - The Times of India

WASHINGTON: Pakistan has an "addiction" of "playing around" with militant groups against India, a top Pentagon official has said.

"They have an addiction to playing around with militia groups to achieve certain interests, particularly vis-a-vis India. That gets them in all kinds of trouble,"

Michael Sheehan, assistant secretary of Defence for Special Operations/Low-Intensity Conflict, told lawmakers at a Congressional hearing. Responding to questions, Sheehan said the US has been having discussion with Pakistan in this regard, but without much success.

"We've had these conversations with them forever about that. I don't see that changing. I don't see any set of talking points that's going to be delivered by some new diplomat that's going to change their mind," Sheehan said, adding the US has virtually "given up" in its effort to change the mindset of Pakistan with regard to India.

"It's the way they view the world. We have to understand the way they view the world and try to work through it. But it's not going to be easy, but I think at the end of the day we have been successful in the FATA in degrading al-Qaida over the last 10 years despite all these problems.

"And I think that we're going to continue to work through it and hopefully again have another 10 years of success in degrading al-Qaeda's strategic capability in the FATA and elsewhere," Sheehan said.

Whole world knows that .....They are world famous for this.

Nothing Surprising..:rolleyes:

The Week | Will continue to 'pound' al-Qaeda to prevent attacks: US

Washington: US has said it was "frustrating" to deal with Pakistan on "many levels", while asserting that America will continue to "pound" al-Qaeda to prevent any possible attack on the country.

"Quite frankly, at the end of the day the (US) President is going to do what he has to do, unilaterally :lol:. He will always protect that prerogative to protect the security of the American people and our interests," Assistant Secretary of Defence for Special Operations/Low-Intensity Conflict, Michael Sheehan said.

Speaking at a Congressional hearing, Sheehan termed it "frustrating" to deal with the Pakistani government "on so many levels", but expressed hope that both the countries will be able to work together and find some common interests. "I remain somewhat optimistic, even with all the extent of these problems, that we're going to continue to pound al-Qaeda so that they can't attack us".

Pointing towards media reports on "new parliamentary decisions" in Pakistan, Sheehan said the decisions were going to "further complicate" the prospects of joint efforts by both the countries. He, however, made it clear that US has no other option but to work together with Pakistan.

"I would say this, that we have no choice but to work together, and I think we will," he said, adding that despite possible "ups and downs" in the near future, both the countries will continue with their efforts.

Sheehan said "right now their priorities are right where the enemy is, in the Pakistan-Afghan border area, in Yemen, and increasingly in Africa" and US can face an "intelligence challenge" to stay ahead of the terrorists and make sure to "crush" its enemies before they strike.

how is this even news? its a worldwide known fact that Pakistan is the epicenter of world terrorism where both efforts are being made to eliminate terrorists and to train them in order to try and keep down a over dominant India since Pakistan lacks the conventional ability to do so.

Do you forget your ex Army chief/ex President acceptance for the same issue. ????

They are known for calling the ex president/ ex-PM as traitors when they accept the truth.

No other country invites anyone in the world to prosecute anyone charged under the allegations. Come and prosecute people on our dime if proven we will throw them in jail on our dime.

Hasan Nisar "Musalmano ki kaum hi gaddari par bani hai .. Jab ye musalman apane bhahiyon ki garden utarane se baaj nahi aaye ... ye kisi ka bhala kya sochenge"

Bhai saab .. kahawat hai na .. Laaton ke bhoot baaton se nahi manate ..