Indian Political Corner | General Election 2014, All Updates & Discussions.

Jagan Mohan Reddy's statement would have shocked two parties... Congress and JD-U . JD-U has been trying to cosy up Jagan Mohan and bring him into 3rd front. After all Nitish wants to implement the "inclusive" development model of Bihar into whole India..

Congress would be terrified by this.. Their MPs are queuing up at LS Speaker's desk to accept their resignation to join YSR Congress.

I wonder what would be going on in Chandrababu Naidu's mind.. Looks like we will see him on 2nd oct. with Modi.. If BJP can get support from both YSRC and TDP, it will be epic loss for Congress..

BTW the current CM of Andhra seems to be defying Congress.. Probably wants to become a political martyr..

TRS leaders have also met Sushma Swaraj few days back. If Congress keeps delaying the formation of Telangana, they may get another surprise ...

Narendra Modi says Centre using CBI to threaten him - The Times of India

Narendra Modi says Centre using CBI to threaten him

MUMBAI: BJP's prime ministerial nominee Narendra Modi launched a fresh attack on Congress-led UPA government at the centre on Monday, accusing it of misusing CBI to target him and asserting he would not be cowed down by such threats.

"The government in Delhi wants to stop our march to power. They have fielded the CBI to threaten us. CBI can silence Mulayam Singh Yadav and Mayawati but not me," he said addressing BJP supporters at the airport here.

Modi, who arrived here to a rousing reception by BJP workers and supporters on his first visit to the city after being anointed the party's prime ministerial contender, said "They (the Centre) have been trying to instill fear of CBI (in me) every now and then. I will never be cowed down by CBI, IB RAW or any agency in the world."

Amid repeated chants of "Modi! Modi", the Gujarat chief minister said the large crowd gathered to receive him would make the government in Delhi "jittery".

"They (the Centre) know that those who are with the people in their good and bad times would form their government at the Centre. Now the crowd here will make them feel even more jittery," he said.

"The prime minister is in America but people don't have confidence that his visit will have any benefits for the country," he said.

"I am in the land of Chhatrapati Shivaji. I want this land to bless me so I can serve the people, those exploited, those deprived, well. I want this land to bless me so I do no wrong," he said as the crowd repeatedly chanted his name and waved party flags.

Southward Ho for Narendra Modi!

AHMEDABAD: Last month, BJP's Tamil Nadu unit approached Narendra Modi with a request to address a closed-door gathering of youth workers in Madurai. When Modi asked the local leaders about the size of the crowd, one of them told him it could be in the region of 3,000-5,000 — considered quite decent given the fact that BJP does not have much strength on the ground there.

A week later, the same set of TN leaders called up to say the venue was now shifted to the railway ground in Trichy. Reason: preliminary response suggested the crowd would be much bigger. The rally on September 26 turned out to be historic, comparable to some big rallies that the DMK and AIADMK have held here.

Earlier in the day, Modi addressed sizeable gatherings when he went to wish Mata Amritanandamayi in Amritapuri on her 60th birthday, and Sree Padmanabhaswamy Temple in Thiruvananthapuram. He spoke a bit in both Tamil and Malayalam that day.

Insiders say even Modi is amazed by the response he got in the south, beginning with Hyderabad on August 11 where the five-rupee entry fee at the rally conjured up a frenzy. Chandrababu Naidu is gravitating towards Modi, and Jaganmohan Reddy is also cozying up, keeping the Andhra and Telangana equations completely open.

Modi's popularity has surprised even close ally J Jayalalithaa. She is aware that hectic negotiations are on with superstar Rajinikanth to become the BJP's face here. Like in AP, the BJP had not opened its account in TN in the last two parliamentary elections and Modi is keen to change this in 2014. Even in Kerala the party has virtually no presence.

"South is where the BJP is the weakest and the Congress still has an edge. Modi has immensely gained in confidence after his visits to the south," said a close strategist of the Gujarat CM. He said Modi's rallies put pressure on allies and fence-sitters alike, besides giving him better bargaining power for seat sharing.

Indeed, BJP's track-record down south has been dismal. The party has never won more than 20 out of the total 129 seats in the four southern states — Karnataka being the only state it has ruled. Sometime post-Diwali, Modi plans to organize a big rally in Bangalore where he hopes to lure BS Yeddyurappa back into the BJP fold.

Southward Ho for Narendra Modi! - The Times of India

Cabinet withdraws ordinance on convicted lawmakers

New Delhi: The government has decided to withdraw a controversial ordinance that protects convicted parliamentarians and triggered a furious critique from Rahul Gandhi last week, who described the policy as "nonsense."

The reversal of policy was cleared at a Cabinet meeting this evening chaired by the Prime Minister, who met Mr Gandhi this morning.

The young vice-president of the Congress party reportedly expressed his regret for the timing and language of his public censure, but reiterated his staunch opposition to the order, which is seen as the catalyst for the government's change of heart.

Mr Gandhi reportedly said that he did not mean to undermine or insult the Prime Minister of the Cabinet by going public with his review at a time when Dr Manmohan Singh was in the US for a trip that included meetings with President Obama and Pakistani premier Nawaz Sharif.

After that, the Prime Minister met President Pranab Mukherjee and reportedly informed him of his decision to rescind the ordinance. The President had expressed serious reservations about the ordinance when it was sent to him for his assent last weke.

The ordinance provoked criticism from Opposition parties and the public as an attempt to override a Supreme Court decision that disqualifies MPs and state legislators from office if they are convicted in criminal cases.

The Congress has tried to justify the reversal of policy, with spokesperson Renuka Chowdhury saying, "It's collective wisdom. We got feedback from across the country."

Cabinet withdraws ordinance on convicted lawmakers | NDTV.com

Modi learning from jairam ramesh ,interesting ;)

The best thing in modi that he learns from everywhere and try to correct his mistakes,good :)

What the eff is wrong with this AAP guys every time when I see them on news channel they boast abt only one thing

We challenge that if u find any criminal in our party we change the person are bhai tum nai party ho or sirf 17 leaders he tell me this aftre u become a national party with more then 500 leaders :hitwall:
@Nair saab

Make toilets before temples: Narendra Modi tells students in Delhi | NDTV.com

Narendra Modi told about 7000 students in the capital today, "My identity is of a Hindutvawadi, but I say build toilets before you build temples."

The BJP's prime ministerial candidate for 2014 also told the young voters in his audience what secularism means to him. "I define secularism as nation first, India first. Justice to all, appeasement to none. No votebank politics - a poor man is a poor man, where he prays is immaterial." (Read: Highlights of Mr Modi's address)

Yesterday, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh had said secular forces must come together to "stop the onslaught of people like Narendra Modi." The Gujarat chief minister's rivals question his secular credentials and accuse him of not doing enough to prevent communal riots in his state in 2002, when hundreds of Muslims were killed under his watch.

Mr Modi's was the concluding address at an event where students from 200 colleges shared their ideas for change in India. He arrived at Delhi's Thyagraj stadium at about 11 in the morning and stayed through the day, as presentations were made and other political leaders spoke.

His focus was on governance and he pitched his Gujarat model, but politics was implicit, not least when Mr Modi made a subtle dig at dynastic politics in the Congress: "In my family, no one knew the p of Politics... I used to be sell tea on trains and today I stand here in front of you. So stop thinking where you come from. If you want to change the country, start walking and you will find a way."

The crowd cheered lustily as he delivered his punchlines. Mr Modi had prefaced, much to their delight, his address with the suggestion that he chat with them rather than give a heavy speech.

He also shared the stage with Telugu Desam Party chief Chandrababu Naidu, who had once shown much reservation to being seen on the same side as Mr Modi. There has been speculation that Mr Naidu, once a BJP ally, might be looking at an electoral partnership again.

When you discuss food security & malnutrion, you would have empathy towards a starving child or an underfed motherDuring the presentation on north-east, I wondered whether so many people in Delhi had ever thought about the north-eastIf I speak to you and not give a speech, it will do, won't it? I get many opportunities to make speeches but few to have conversationsI wanted women police from the north-east who could speak English -- for tourism policing*
It was an exercise in national integration - having women police from the north-east in GujaratGujaratis are the best tourists, wherever you go you could be greeted with a 'kemcho'.Terrorism divides, tourism unites - it pulls people together.This churning of ideas through the day happens in consultancies - it's a huge industry and governments pay big money.This is a first, where people's participation in policy making is happening - crowdsourcing has now become popular.Governments have a psychology of secrecy, I say you need openness for good governance.In Gujarat, we keep draft policies online and invited every stakeholder to share views. By and large, policies beneficial to the state have evolved.In country there is a great disconnect. People who think are in one place, those who implement are in another place and those it affects are at a totally different place.We must have meeting of minds.When the PM made me the chairman of a committee to suggest ways to tackle price rise, I gave him 62 actionable suggestions... I was reminded of some when I saw your presentation on Public Distribution System (PDS).I had told him that we don't have real-time data - Indians are proving software solution to the world but we don't have data for our own food requirementsWe don't have a problem solving attitude and we are mired in crisis. Is there a greater shame than the fact that women in India still have to defecate in the open?My identity is of a*hindutvawadi*- but I say*pehle shauchalaya phitr develaya*(toilets before temples)We are restricted to the budgetary outlay. We need to focus on the outcome, and move further to social audit.In the days to come, people are not going to settle down where there are rivers or roads but where there is connectivity through optical fibre.Quality of education can be improved with the use of technologyIf we want to develop our agriculture, we need to stress on lab to land. We are using technology that is 200 years old.*
In India, ITI offers course for plumbers, fitters but nothing on agriculture - need to develop skills in that sectorThe youth of this country will not put up with corruption anymore. And technology can help curb corruptionTechnology can help in transparencyBefore I became Chief Minister, I had not even stood for being elected class monitor in schoolThe first thing I did after becoming Chief Minister was going to Bhuj and meeting earthquake victimsThe World Bank says it takes 7 years to recover from a natural calamity - Kutch was up and running in three years.We have the solutions to all our problems - we just need to channelise our effortsWhether you are rich or poor is immaterial, you must have confidence in your abilitiesIn my family, no one knew the P of Politics... I used to sell tea on trains and today I stand here in front of youStop thinking where you come from. If you want to change the country, start walking and you will find a wayIf you move forward with an attitude that gives and not takes, the world will be at your feetI define secularism as nation first, India firstJustice to all, appeasement to noneThere shouldn't be any votebank politics - a poor man is a poor man, where he prays is immaterialThose who hoodwink the people have been caught out - this country is moving forwardThis is the youngest country in the world - and I know what the power of youth isThe women should find their voice resonate in the decision-making process. We must make this 50 per cent population effective partners in their country's progress.Under JNNURM, we should increase spending on solid waste management and water waste management. Villages near cities should be given organic fertilisers and we'd save on subsidy.I told the PM, I told Mr Sam Pitroda - so many people I have given the suggestion - today I'm telling you... we decided to go ahead and implement this is 50 towns in GujaratI was asked by a journalist if there will be early polls - I said even to have early polls, the govt has to take a decision and this govt is famously indecisiveThe right to vote is a very important event in one's life and we should feel that.*
Matdata Bharat ka bhagya vidhata haiGive us your suggestions on India's development on the website India 272 - and I assure you that those won't fall on deaf earsThere is no alternative to development - we must touch new heights in growth and development

why my pakistani friends are afraid of Modi ji ? friend Modi ji will make indian economy super strong. i have seen BJp 's rule under Vajpaye ji, there was huge develpment. i think pakistani people dnt wanna see India as develped country.my dear pakistani friends you dnt know abc about Bjp and Modi ji. propganda against Modi ji will not change ground reality. i am going to vote Modi ji.

Itni dafa modi ji kaha hai tum nay, itni to wo poti ji bhi nahi karta saal main. Modi ki hum nay wo kat kay is ki mummy ki godi main rakh deni hai. And no we are not afraid of him, but if you ask me, I am a little concerned what indians are thinking. It seems like if you want to get a vote in india, all you have to do is talk massive BS against Pakistan. Modi is doing just that.