Three Indigenous Aircraft Carriers being built at the Cochin Shipyard

If Indian Navy is certainly looking for an all new carrier borne fighter jet, then it should not do the mistake of purchasing something like Mig-29K.

A new RFP is in place for naval aircraft. F-35 would be participating too. Hopefully we select it.

If Indian Navy is certainly looking for an all new carrier borne fighter jet, then it should not do the mistake of purchasing something like Mig-29K.

The new fighters are for later carriers, it could be like this:

INS Vikramaditya + INS Vikrant (IAC 1) STOBAR carriers with 16 x Mig 29K/KUB + 6 x N-LCA each till 2015.

IAC 2 + IAC 3 CATOBAR carriers with 40 x Rafale/F18SH/F35 C, or 20 x of them and 20 x N-Pak Fa/FGFA till 2025.

I think you are all aware of the news as mentioned below.

Indian Express
Posted: Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 1748 hrs Mumbai:

After the launch of the country's first indigenously built nuclear submarine, India has the "technical expertise and capability" to build nuclear-powered aircraft carrier and warships, Atomic Energy Commission Chairman Anil Kakodkar has said.
"We have the technical expertise and capability to build nuclear-powered aircraft carriers and warships of global standards," Kakodkar said on the sidelines of a function in Mumbai on Tuesday night.
"When the government asks us to build such ships, we will do it... we are confident that we can build even supply propelling energy for aircraft carriers," he said

:cheers:

I think you are all aware of the news as mentioned below.

Indian Express
Posted: Wednesday, Aug 05, 2009 at 1748 hrs Mumbai:

After the launch of the country's first indigenously built nuclear submarine, India has the "technical expertise and capability" to build nuclear-powered aircraft carrier and warships, Atomic Energy Commission Chairman Anil Kakodkar has said.
"We have the technical expertise and capability to build nuclear-powered aircraft carriers and warships of global standards," Kakodkar said on the sidelines of a function in Mumbai on Tuesday night.
"When the government asks us to build such ships, we will do it... we are confident that we can build even supply propelling energy for aircraft carriers," he said

No, Nuclear powered AC Carrier?

Someone must correct this.

india is interested in EMALS,,considering growing affection with AMRIKA , we might have our hands on it..if this is used in IAC-2.then only F-35 should be chosen....
Why? F18SH and Rafale are also capable of catapult starts and if one of them wins in MMRCA, I'm sure that the navy will go for this one too (lower unit, logistic and maintenance costs instead of an own procurement with a type of fighter, that offers no commonality).
I see the chances for F35 very low at the moment, because nearly every new article brings new bad news about it. Higher unit cost, way more maintenance and logistic costs as planed, especially for the navy versions! Delay in development and testing..., going for proven 4+ fighters with latest techs and the same combo as the AF will have for future (Pak Fa/FGFA and MMRCA), seems to be the better choice for India.

Why? F18SH and Rafale are also capable of catapult starts and if one of them wins in MMRCA, I'm sure that the navy will go for this one too (lower unit, logistic and maintenance costs instead of an own procurement with a type of fighter, that offers no commonality).
I see the chances for F35 very low at the moment, because nearly every new article brings new bad news about it. Higher unit cost, way more maintenance and logistic costs as planed, especially for the navy versions! Delay in development and testing..., going for proven 4+ fighters with latest techs and the same combo as the AF will for future (Pak Fa/FGFA and MMRCA), seems to be the better choice for India.

Thats right all we need is a 4++ generation fighter that is efficent and cost effective, I have to say sancho in this one ur Rafale is leading the charts as i cant pitch EF against it :cheers:

:) "My Rafale" is not only leading here, check the compilation I posted in the MMRCA thread and you will see where else it clearly offers the best!

yaar sancho weather it be Rafale or EF both are awesome may be EF is my fav but even if we get Rafale i would be evenly happy as both are kick a$$ fighters .......by the way i like ur spirit towards Rafale

0f5b980234eebf721e4e45c44a683f23.jpg

9fb98836172fd143d8628b335ab2e3b0.gif

yaar sancho weather it be Rafale or EF both are awesome may be EF is my fav but even if we get Rafale i would be evenly happy as both are kick a$$ fighters .......by the way i like ur spirit towards Rafale

0f5b980234eebf721e4e45c44a683f23.jpg

9fb98836172fd143d8628b335ab2e3b0.gif
Thank! As I said before, if the EF would be fully developed, or at least the chances of fully developed EF for India would be better, my choice could be EF too, but it simply don't offer what we need and won't be worth the costs. The Rafale instead offeres the most advantages for India from all aspects and that's why I prefer it!

I see the chances for F35 very low at the moment, because nearly every new article brings new bad news about it. Higher unit cost, way more maintenance and logistic costs as planed, especially for the navy versions! Delay in development and testing..., (Pak Fa/FGFA and MMRCA), seems to be the better choice for India.

I would beg to disagree. Every major military program has issues. Most of the issues you mentioned also plague the LCA. I will not consider it to have "low chances". Tehnology put into the F-35 is mind boggling and I am sure, as these issues are sorted out, it would eventually turn out to be a good bird!

Thank! As I said before, if the EF would be fully developed, or at least the chances of fully developed EF for India would be better, my choice could be EF too, but it simply don't offer what we need and won't be worth the costs. The Rafale instead offeres the most advantages for India from all aspects and that's why I prefer it!

Yaar, why waste so much time and energy in discussion as we know MMS will opt for America at all cost. Why forget about US angel, Netas and Babus, the top deciding factor.

I am sure GOI is thinking for Nuclear power AC.
Look at the prepardness.

1. Nuclear SSNs post 2015.

2. PAKFA naval version by 2017 or 18.

3. Replinishment tankers by 2013.

4. Possible E2D hawkeye by 2013.

5. P17A frigates by 2015.

6. Navy's interest in EMALS..

These are all indications of equipiing a Nuclear AC battle group.
I will say the following ACs will all go nuclear or else what will you do with these assets? they will be like sitting ducks and worth less value.

goi india should go for nuke ac to provide more power and range to indian navy

navy has to play a more important role in future as china is increasing its power in indian ocean

I would beg to disagree. Every major military program has issues. Most of the issues you mentioned also plague the LCA. I will not consider it to have "low chances". Tehnology put into the F-35 is mind boggling and I am sure, as these issues are sorted out, it would eventually turn out to be a good bird!
I didn't say its a bad fighter, but you always have too keep in mind the alternatives that we have and with Pak Fa/FGFA we will get similar NG techs.
F35 is now priced at $160-200 millions, Pak Fa expected between $80-100, Rafale at $90, F18SH at $70, so we could buy the Pak Fa/MMRCA combo for nearly the costs of one F35. Doubtful that F35 can give any advantage that these combo won't give right?
Yaar, why waste so much time and energy in discussion as we know MMS will opt for America at all cost. Why forget about US angel, Netas and Babus, the top deciding factor.
Will he? He will get AW 101 helicopter instead of Sikorsky S92 helicopter right?
I agree that F18SH will have a good chance, mainly because of political advantages, but the final offer will decide who will win. This competition is simply too big to give it away, just because of political reasons don't you think?