Amaravati: Stage set for foundation ceremony of AP's Singapore-like capital; PM Modi to inaugurate

Darmashkian

Amaravati: Stage set for foundation ceremony of AP's Singapore-like capital; PM Modi to inaugurate city

imgamaravati.jpg

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi is set to lay stone for the Singapore-like capital of Andhra Pradesh on 22 October and the preparations are going on in full swing for Amaravati's foundation ceremony.

Narendra Modi has agreed to be the chief guest at the foundation ceremony of Amravati. The Prime Minister will arrive at Gannavaram Airport near Vijayawada by a special aircraft at 11. 45 am. He will then drive down to Uddandarayunipalem. The foundation stone laying rituals are expected to start at 12.45 pm on 22 October and the programme will last for about three hours.

A film on Amravati and CM Chadrababu Naidu's vision for the capital will be screened at the event, which will also witness a few cultural events. Modi will launch an e-brick portal to enable people to donate money for building the capital. He will also felicitate farmers, who have given their land for the capital. Saikumar will reportedly be anchoring the event, which is handled by Wizcraft.

The AP Govt has created a beautiful invitation card for the event, which has four pages offering the details of the government's symbol, Amaravathi Sthupam, Amaravati's history and AP Capital Master Plan. The CM has invited Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, other ministers from Japan and Singapore, central ministers, Governors, CMs of other states in India and film stars from Tollywood.

The Govt has also made lavish arrangements for a vegetarian feast. It will be a boxed lunch with a bottle of water. Over 1.5 lakh people are expected to enjoy the meal at the foundation ceremony. Hyderabad-based KMK Event Management Pvt Limited is responsible for the catering service.

Amaravati is located on the banks of River Krishna at a distance of 35 km away from Guntur and 40 km from Vijayawada. Along with Dharanikota, this small village, which is named after Amareswara Swamy Temple, was once the seat of power during the rule of Satavahana, who ruled during the 2nd and 3rd century BC. Since then, it continued as the capital of many Andhra dynasties until the Mogul conquest.

This historical aspect prompted Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu zeroing in on Amaravati as the new capital of Andhra Pradesh. The Chief Minister has grand plans of building the capital as per a Singapore-like model. He has roped in the Singapore Government to prepare the master plan for the capital city.

Amravati will be a three-layered administrative headquarters -- the seed capital, capital city and the capital region. The important buildings like Assembly, Secretariat and Raj Bhavan would be constructed within the core capital area of 7,500 acres. The govenment estimates that at least Rs 20,000 crore will be required to build the new capital.

The Central government has promised to give Rs 10,000 crore for the same. Chandrababu Naidu has launched a website where people from across the globe can donate money by buying bricks at cost of Rs 10 each. About 20 lakh bricks have been bought by people within a few days after the launch of the initiative "My Brick My Amaravati".

Besides, the government has planned to bring soil and water from each village of the 13 districts and the same will be used in iconic or heritage buildings in the capital. "Soil and water from 34,000 villages is coming to Amaravati. People will get a sentiment that they were part of capital building," said Palle Raghunath, Information and Public Relations Minister.

Amaravati: Stage set for foundation ceremony of AP's Singapore-like capital; PM Modi to inaugurate city

Here is a video on amaravati:-

& please ignore the subtitles in the above video, do NOT press the CC button

@Established_1965 Sir @Nihonjin1051 San -I have tagged both of you since your respective govt.'s & many companies from your nations will be assisting/are already assiting the govt, of AP in constructing it's new capital & in many other initiatives, I hope you didn't mind my tagging you.

@Star Wars - He earlier was not going to attend on fears that the PM would announce a special package for AP which would embarass him, but now he is attending.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Would request all Andhraites or all those of Andhra origins & living in other states(like me) to please comment below :)

JAI Andhra!! JAI HIND!!

Breaking new ground: PM Modi to lay foundation for Andhra Pradesh’s new capital Amaravati - Firstpost

Vijayawada: The stage is set for the for the foundation stone laying ceremony of new Andhra Pradesh capital Amaravati on Thursday.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will lay the foundation stone at at Uddandarayunipalem village in Guntur district on the occasion of Dussehra.

Elaborate arrangements have been made for the gala event, which will be attended by ministers from Singapore and Japan, ambassadors from various countries, several central ministers, chief ministers and governors of various states, top politicians and business leaders.

File photo of Pm Modi with Chandrababu Naidu. PTI

Police have taken control of the venue, where more than two lakh people from different parts of the state are expected to gather.

The prime minister along with other dignitaries will perform rituals at 12.35 p.m. to formally lay the foundation stone.

Soil and water brought from all 16,000 villages of Andhra Pradesh will be sprinkled all over Amaravati from helicopters. Water brought from holy places of all the religions will also be used for the foundation stone.

Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao will be attending the ceremony. This will be his first visit to Andhra Pradesh after bifurcation of the state last year.

Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu personally met Rao in Hyderabad on Sunday and invited him for the ceremony.

Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal, Andhra Pradesh Governor ESL Narasimhan, Tamil Nadu Governor Rosaiah, Assam and Nagaland Governor Padmanabha Acharya will attend the event.

YSR Congress party chief YS Jaganmohan Reddy, who is the leader of opposition in Andhra Pradesh, has decided to boycott the ceremony. He wrote an open letter to Naidu, asking him not to invite him. Jagan alleged that fertile lands were forcibly taken from farmers for the capital.
[GOOD Stay away from the foundation ceremony of the capital of your own state where you are the Leader of Opposition. Anyway a convicted criminal like you will bring no good]

The government, however, claimed that farmers had voluntarily donated over 30,000 acres of land for the building the capital. Some of the farmers will be felicitated at the foundation stone laying ceremony.

Naidu has promised that it will be a world-class and 'people's capital'. He had invited prime ministers of Singapore and Japan for the event but the ministers from the two countries are expected to attend.

While the government of Singapore has prepared masterplan for the capital, Naidu is seeking partnership of Japan in building the city.

Naidu is also hoping that Narendra Modi will use the occasion to announce special status and a package for the state. He has been pressing for special category status to undone the 'injustice' done to the state with the bifurcation.

Naidu, whose Telugu Desam Party (TDP) is a partner in BJP-led NDA government at the Centre, is under fire from the opposition for failing to get the special status despite the promise made by Modi during poll campaign.

The chief minister also wants the Centre to extend help in building the capital. "We need the handholding by the Centre till the state develops on par with other neighbouring states," said Naidu ahead of Modi's first visit to the state after bifurcation.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Everything You Need to Know About AP Capital City Amaravati and Its Launch -The New Indian Express

Everything You Need to Know About AP Capital City Amaravati and Its Launch
By Express News Service
ap.jpg

• Workers busy with the arrangements of Amaravati foundation stone laying ceremony at Uddandarayunipalem village in Guntur district on Monday | P Ravindra Babu
  • ap1.jpg

People watch the arrangements at Uddandarayunipalem village in Guntur district on Monday | P Ravindra Babu
  • ap3.jpg

A sand sculpture of Naidu’s face being prepared on the occasion of Amaravati foundation stone laying ceremony at the downstream of Prakasam barrage in Vijayawada on Monday | P Ravindra Bab
As Andhra Pradesh gets set to lay the foundation for its new capital city, Amaravati, on the auspicious occasion of Dasara on October 22, here’s a graphic account of the history, scale and scope of the ‘Abode of the Gods’ and arrangements underway for the mega spectacle

Stage Set

36 blocks at the venue, each can accommodate 4,000-5000 people

11 ft high dais erected for the main programme

Pooja place will be on one side of the dais; on the other side will be water and earth brought from different villages

Yagasala will be located north of the main dias; PM will be welcomed with Poorna Kumbham in traditional manner; he will proceed to the Yagasala to make offerings

A film on Amravati and CM Naidu’s vision for the capital likely to be screened

Rs 10-cr Deal Dropped

Though the preparation of the main venue, including stage decoration, was entrusted to Mumbai-based event management company Wizcraft for Rs 10 crore, following criticism, CM Naidu entrusted the same to the administrations of Krishna and Guntur districts

Seed Sown for a World Class Capital

Singapore presented the seed capital master plan to AP in Rajahmundry on July 20. The last of the three-stage master plan for the capital.

As per the master plan, Amaravti will be developed as a smart, green, sustainable city and people’s capital

The seed or core capital is meant for three lakh residents. Seven lakh jobs likely to be crated. The area of the seed capital is 16.9 sq km

Zones in the seed capital comprise central business district, residential township, parks, gardens, water bodies and so on

Transport hierarchy, comprising integrated network of metro rail of 12 km, bus rapid transit of about 154 km, down town road of 7 km, arterial roads and sub-arterial roads of 26 km and collector roads for 53 km, envisaged in the capital area

Walkways and pedestrianisation and walk to work environment too part of the capital

Iconic buildings to include a state-of-the-art government complex, city gateway, cultural centre and convention centre

Innovative waste management systems to be in place

Seed capital area to be implemented on PPP mode.

Singapore of India

CM Naidu is thinking of constructing the capital on both sides of river Krishna. He wants a “Greenfield Capital City” with six-lane roads and underground cabling system

Naidu made up his mind to set up a long garden along the Krishna to beat the famous Brindavan Gardens

Important buildings like Assembly, Secretariat and Raj Bhavan would be constructed within the core capital area of 7,500 acres

World largest ring road with a radius of 180 km will be constructed around the capital region

According to the blueprint, the capital, which will rise on the banks of the Krishna between Vijayawada and Guntur, besides being the seat of power, will be a commercial hub for industries

• 7,068 sq km -Extent of the metropolitan region of the capital city
  • 4,000 acres -will be reserved for parks to make it compete with Lutyens Delhi
  • 374 sq km- Extent of the Greenfield capital city
  • 1.3 cr -Population expected in capital region by 2050
  • 60 lakh --Anticipated work force in the capital region
  • $30 billion- Projected investment in the new capital in the next 10 years
  • Buildings of Assembly and Raj Bhavan to be architectural monuments

Ultra-modern facilities such as skyways, integrated fly-overs, high-rise towers, besides modern bridges across the River Krishna to promote tourism

Where Past Meets The Present

ap2.jpg

Coming up on the Krishna river bank, the new capital has been named after Amaravati, an ancient town of the same name located 35 km from Vijayawada

The ancient town derived its name from Amareswara Swamy Temple one of the Pancharamas in South India. The town and the neighbouring Dharanikota were once the Delhi of India, between 2nd century BC and 3rd century BC during the rule of the mighty Satavahanas

Amaravati continued to be the capital of many Andhra dynasties until the Mogul conquest

It was also a famous Buddhist centre By naming the new capital after ancient Amaravati, AP CM N Chandrababu Naidu is keen on invoking the Telugu pride and attract investors from East Asia, using the Buddhist connect

Remember The Time

Foundation Stone for Amaravati will be laid by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on October 22

Muhurat for the grand event fixed between 12:30 p.m & 12:40p.m., which according to astrologers, is Makara Lagnam

Uddandarayunipalem village at Thullur mandal in Guntur district selected for foundation stone laying fete

Village located on the banks of river Krishna; has a population of 1,441

Foundation stone will be laid to the south of the Krishna River flood bank

It is also the North-East corner of the capital region - a Vaastu pre-requisite

200 acres of land, including Banana plantations, fields growing elephant yam and other vegetable crops, levelled in the area

75 minutes, that’s how long Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be at the programme. He will later leave for Tirumala

All Roads Lead to Amaravati

Arrangements for the mega event commenced on Oct-1

Since road connectivity is very limited, two major roads were fortified and six semi permanent roads were laid to the venue from different directions

Parking arrangements being made on the roadside of Vijayawada-Amaravati route

2 lakh people, including 1,500 VVIPs, expected to attend the historic event

1.54 lakh people have been formally invited

Invitations categorised into different groups - MIP (most important people), AAA, AA, P, A. Route maps, vehicle passes and parking slots sent along with the invite.

Invitations sent to the President, PM, Vice-President, Lok Sabha Speaker, Supreme Court Chief Justice, judges, Niti Aayog Chairman and members, central ministers, cabinet secretary and other high ranking officials, chiefs of the Army, Navy and Air Force, chiefs of national parties, ambassadors, chairpersons of different commissions

Invites also sent to Governors, chief ministers, high court chief justices, leaders of opposition, advocate generals, police chiefs of all the states

S Iswaran, Singapore’s Minister for Trade & Industry along with a delegation of high ranking officials and a delegation of ministers from the Japanese government will be attending the programme

500 business honchos, prominent personalities from art, theatre and film world have also been invited

22,000 farmers, whose lands were acquired for the construction of Amaravati, invited; dhotis and sarees distributed; separate gallery has also been arranged for them

3 helipads prepared so far; one more expected to be ready

6 helipads in total will be ready at Gannavaram airport and nearby areas

Food for All

Hyderabad-based KMK Event Management Pvt Limited has been entrusted with the task

Food to be served in packets for 1.5 lakh plus visitors

Food counters category wise organised on the right side of the main venue

Arrangements made for supply of drinking water, buttermilk, snacks and tea

Only vegetarian food will be served

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Check the below link to read more about Amaravati , Trust me it's really good :)
Andhra Pradesh new capital Amaravati foundation ceremony - The Hindu

12105748_1695440590684868_6618710570674982609_n.jpg

Some posts from the CM of AP's page in descending order from 22th October 9:30 AM :-
Nara Chandrababu Naidu

1)
You are invited to ‪#‎Amaravati‬, the People's Capital

On the eve of Vijayadasami, I'm really happy to extend my warm greetings to you.

As we begin celebrating this festival with pomp and gaiety, I would also like to extend my personal invitation to each one of you to attend the foundation-laying ceremony of #Amaravati tomorrow.

This celebration of the Birth of People's Capital ‪#‎ManaAmaravati‬ will not only become the most significant milestone in the history of Andhra Pradesh but also will become the most memorable Dasara for the people of the Sunrise State.

This epoch-making event will be graced by Hon'ble Prime Minister Sri Narendra Modi and several foreign dignitaries, Chief Ministers of States, public representatives and citizens from across India and the world.

As we celebrate this momentous rise of the Capital on the banks of the River Krishna, I urge you all to participate in this people's movement to make #Amaravati a jewel in India's crown.

Come. Let us take pride in building ‪#‎ManaAmaravatiManaRajadhani‬.

If you cannot make it to the event and still want to witness history, you can watch the grand ceremony here:

2)
As part of our ‪#‎ManaNeeruManaMatti‬ campaign, I had the honour of taking the holy water and sacred soil (collected from across the state) and mixing it with the soil of Amaravati.

This I believe develops an emotional connect and bond of the people of our state with Amaravati. It is a very proud moment for me to be leading this campaign from the forefront.

All my wishes are for our Sunrise state and its people. I pray to the almighty to bless our state and our people with happiness and prosperity
12122778_1695395290689398_2424132678808426477_n.jpg

12109098_1695395297356064_1341612367759402997_n.jpg

12115439_1695395294022731_7645418398743348592_n.jpg

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
3)
Tirumala's sacred soil & holy water will make its way to Amaravati

As someone who always believes that our state has Lord Balaji's blessings, I have today collected the sacred soil and holy water from the Seven Hills as part of "Mana Matti Mana Neeru" program and placed it at Lord Balaji's abode.

This sacred soil and holy water from Tirumala will make its way to‪#‎Amaravati‬ and reach the venue on October 22nd.

In our government's efforts to make #Amaravati a people's capital which will have the soil and water from every sacred place in the state, I have today sought blessings from Lord Balaji for our people and our state and placed the #Amaravati invitation at Lord's feet, seeking his blessings in our endeavours to build a world-class capital.

I'm also overwhelmed by the response for "Mana Matti Mana Neeru" as well as contributions to our "e-brick" crowdfunding initiative.

We still have three more days to go for our Big Day. I welcome and encourage every person to take part in this historic capital building process and make #Amaravati a true People's Capital in the world.

Let's celebrate our foundation laying ceremony together, with Lord's blessings.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
@NIA @bhagat @Srinivas @itaachi(banned)

If everything goes right regarding Amaravati & CBN's vision for it & AP over the next few decades, he will be remembered for a long,long time by Andhra & it;s people!!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
& here are my below threads on CBN's work:-
AP plans aerotropolis at Bhogapuram(near Vishakapatnam)
Singapore delivers phase 1 of masterplan for new capital city for India's Andhra Pradesh
Is Chennai losing out to SriCity?
Andhra CM lays foundation stone of new capital Amaravati today
Andhra Pradesh's CM-Chandrababu Naidu's visit to Japan
Andhra Pradesh vs Tamil Nadu: How the Naidu-led state is becoming the new investment magnet
18 States Opt For AP Fiber Grid Model over NOFN model

Attachments

• upload_2015-10-22_9-36-10.gif
    upload_2015-10-22_9-36-10.gif
    1 KB · Views: 19
  • upload_2015-10-22_9-37-40.gif
    upload_2015-10-22_9-37-40.gif
    1 KB · Views: 21
Great that we have politicians like him. He should work for AP for 5-10 years and then could be a good candidate for PM in case NDA needs outside support. Few parties will not agree on BJP PM, in such a case he is the best option.

-------------------------------------------------------------

Andhra Pradesh is trending worldwide(No. 6) & Nationwide(no.2)!!! @Srinivas

This is what I called Dignified Hospitality!! Kudos to Andhraites!
@scionoftheindus @dravidianhero

Pics of PM performing Bhoomi Puja

CR55afoUAAAsk50.jpg:large

CR56DG3UAAA_hnf.jpg:large

All the major invitees/leaders on the stage, a like for the person who can name all the major dignitaries on the stage! :)
CR59h_3UwAAyz9P.jpg:large

Andhra Pradesh is trending worldwide(No. 6) & Nationwide(no.2)!!! @Srinivas

This is what I called Dignified Hospitality!! Kudos to Andhraites!
@scionoftheindus @dravidianhero

Pics of PM performing Bhoomi Puja

CR55afoUAAAsk50.jpg:large

CR56DG3UAAA_hnf.jpg:large

All the major invitees/leaders on the stage, a like for the person who can name all the major dignitaries on the stage! :)
CR59h_3UwAAyz9P.jpg:large
How long will it take to complete the work?

A long,long time for the entire city. Possibly 2 decades.

But the first part i.e. phase-1 comprising the core capital region & the govt.+Administrative buildings will be completed by 2019 according to CBN.
--------------------------------------------
MODi will now speak!! with Venkaiah Naidu providing telugu translation.

LOL!!!!!!!!!:rofl::lol::lol:

Here are 3 tweets from Indian History Pics :- :) All said w.r.t construction of new capital
Kiran Kumar Karlapu op Twitter: "The Andhra Satavahanas will always remain linked with us through the Salivahana Sakam which has been adopted as India's national calender."

Prince Singh Chandel op Twitter: "After 1800 years #Amaravati set to become a capital again.Cultural revival has been started under the leadership of PM @narendramodi."
PM IS NOW SPEAKING!!!

Says we should consider urban development & urbanisation as not a problem but an opportunity!

Says we should work towards indigenous cities, also talks about SMART cities!

Says Amaravati & AP will be an example for the rest of the nation in such an aspect! Says that Amaravati will be an engine of growth for AP!

If everything goes right regarding Amaravati & CBN's vision for it & AP over the next few decades, he will be remembered for a long,long time by Andhra & it;s people!!

My best wishes to Telugu people in general and people of Andhra Pradesh ( especially people of Guntur district) in particular. Always remember your new endeavor of building this gem of city is not by mere destiny of united AP being split, you chose your destiny with hard work and dedication so that your golden city, Amaravati can rise from your scared land , I wish you & all Telugu people success. May your city grow by leaps and bounds.

NaMo says there was no limit to his happiness when CBN went to KCR's home to invite him :) :yahoo:

Accuses the arrogance & selfishness of a few people for the rushed bifurcation of united AP.

He says that we are 2 states, but our atma is still telugu! & together we will make the nation proud!! :tup::tup::smitten:
@NIA @bhagat @scionoftheindus @Srinivas @every telugu anna & akka out there
Amaravati op Twitter: "Entire process many gave lives, loss of properties is very disturbing - PM #ManaAmaravatiManaRajadhani #ManaAmaravati #Amaravati"
Amaravati op Twitter: "Now is the time to keep differences aside and work together - PM #ManaAmaravatiManaRajadhani #ManaAmaravati #Amaravati"
Amaravati op Twitter: "Andhra or Telangana it is Telugu Athma - PM #ManaAmaravatiManaRajadhani #ManaAmaravati #Amaravati"
Amaravati op Twitter: "If both AP&TG work together they will make this country strong - PM #ManaAmaravatiManaRajadhani #ManaAmaravati #Amaravati"

TIMES NOW op Twitter: "The way Chandrababu Naidu took up work on this (new capital) & integrated whatever is best across the world, he must be congratulated: PM"
TIMES NOW op Twitter: "Andhra Pradesh was divided because of hasty and self-serving actions of some people: PM Modi"

Now he is talking about start-up & innovation & the role of telugu youth in it.

Now says GOI is with the people of both states & will help them no matter what!!

My best wishes to Telugu people in general and people of Andhra Pradesh ( especially people of Guntur district) in particular. Always remember your new endeavor of building this gem of city is not by mere destiny of united AP being split, you chose your destiny with hard work and dedication so that your golden city, Amaravati can rise from your scared land , I wish you & all Telugu people success. May your city grow by leaps and bounds.

Thanks Dude !!

Thank you :)
A beautiful name for a beautiful city.
Thank you

WAAH WAAH!! What words :) on the partnership b/w CBN & Modi, a must read for all CBN & Modi fans @Star Wars @Zebra @SwAggeR