Defence deals: US offers to match India’s ally Russia

Neuro

New Delhi, July 23
The US today virtually offered to match India’s 50-year-old ally Russia in matters of multi-billion dollar defence deals. It has offered high-end technology, latest equipment and even a promise to change its stringent technology-transfer rules to accommodate New Delhi’s growing ambitions.

The corner stone is India’s surging defence equipment demand that will induce a spending of around $80 billion over the next 6-7 years.

Deputy Secretary of Defense, USA, Ashton B Carter laid out a plan as he spoke on “Joint Vision for US-India Defense Cooperation” at a function organised by the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) this afternoon. In the morning, he had called on Defence Minister AK Antony and top-brass of the Defence Ministry.

“We want to knock down any remaining bureaucratic barriers in our defence relationship, and strip away the impediments. We want to set big goals to achieve,” Carter said while addressing Indian audience comprising strategic thinkers and industry representatives.

“India deserves the best military equipment available and we are prepared to help. Practically, we want to be India’s highest-quality and most-trusted long-term supplier of technology,” Carter said without naming Russia, which is dominant in military equipment sales to India. Over the past few years, Russia has leased a nuclear-powered submarine to India; sold a sea-borne aircraft carrier; co-developed a supersonic missile and is now co-developing a new fighter jet and a transport aircraft.

“We are looking at cooperating and not trade. It is not a buyer-seller relationship… India is top priority in our export considerations. New efforts will help us respond more rapidly to India’s requests for US equipment and systems - particularly for more advanced technologies,” Carter said. “We are improving our government’s overall export-control system”, India can make some changes too by raising its FDI ceiling from the present 26 per cent to 49 per cent.

Knowing that India and the US may not see eye-to-eye on many issues, Carter said, “We have long-term interests, if not always common approaches, like Syria and Iran” and went on to suggest “a joint vision for the US-India defence cooperation”.

Carter also clarified on the rebalance the US just announced. It plans to shift its forces eastwards towards the Asia-Pacific region. Both, India and China have not taken kindly to the announcement. He said, “Rebalance is not about China or the United States or India or any other single country or group of countries.”

on offer

High-end technology
Latest equipment
A promise to change US technology-transfer rules

The Tribune, Chandigarh, India - Main News

Though competition is good in Indian defence market for better negotiation but matching with Russia "Kuch jyada nahi bol diya?":woot:

Pokemon is bang on , just an eyelash from the paid media to propagate US interests in India. I don't think anyone can match India-Russia Friendship...

Though competition is good in Indian defence market for better negotiation but matching with Russia "Kuch jyada nahi bol diya?":woot:
Kuch Jyada Nhi Bahut Jyada.......Ye Baat to Hazmola Khanne se Bhi hazam Nhi Ho Rhi....

On Topic-To be frank i don't think we are going to see this....atleast not in next 1 or 2 Decades.....and the biggest reason for that is U.S habbit of backing of from its commitment.....we have already witnessed this Twice during LCA Tejas Program......1st in 1993 and second time in 2009 when U.S asked Lockheed Martin to back of from Naval Lca Tejas Program.....

Remember

Fool me Once,Shame on You....
Fool me twice,Shame on me....

americaneagle-203181.jpeg

New Delhi, July 23
The US today virtually offered to match India’s 50-year-old ally Russia in matters of multi-billion dollar defence deals. It has offered high-end technology, latest equipment and even a promise to change its stringent technology-transfer rules to accommodate New Delhi’s growing ambitions.

The corner stone is India’s surging defence equipment demand that will induce a spending of around $80 billion over the next 6-7 years.

Deputy Secretary of Defense, USA, Ashton B Carter laid out a plan as he spoke on “Joint Vision for US-India Defense Cooperation” at a function organised by the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) this afternoon. In the morning, he had called on Defence Minister AK Antony and top-brass of the Defence Ministry.

“We want to knock down any remaining bureaucratic barriers in our defence relationship, and strip away the impediments. We want to set big goals to achieve,” Carter said while addressing Indian audience comprising strategic thinkers and industry representatives.

“India deserves the best military equipment available and we are prepared to help. Practically, we want to be India’s highest-quality and most-trusted long-term supplier of technology,” Carter said without naming Russia, which is dominant in military equipment sales to India. Over the past few years, Russia has leased a nuclear-powered submarine to India; sold a sea-borne aircraft carrier; co-developed a supersonic missile and is now co-developing a new fighter jet and a transport aircraft.

“We are looking at cooperating and not trade. It is not a buyer-seller relationship… India is top priority in our export considerations. New efforts will help us respond more rapidly to India’s requests for US equipment and systems - particularly for more advanced technologies,” Carter said. “We are improving our government’s overall export-control system”, India can make some changes too by raising its FDI ceiling from the present 26 per cent to 49 per cent.

Knowing that India and the US may not see eye-to-eye on many issues, Carter said, “We have long-term interests, if not always common approaches, like Syria and Iran” and went on to suggest “a joint vision for the US-India defence cooperation”.

Carter also clarified on the rebalance the US just announced. It plans to shift its forces eastwards towards the Asia-Pacific region. Both, India and China have not taken kindly to the announcement. He said, “Rebalance is not about China or the United States or India or any other single country or group of countries.”

on offer

High-end technology
Latest equipment
A promise to change US technology-transfer rules

The Tribune, Chandigarh, India - Main News

Now we are talking!!! expect huge surprises in defense procurement's - the MoD or private players in India will not let this slip, if I had been a weapons manufacturer which sadly am not - just a supplier to a few - I would grab this with open arms, so will a lot of our entrepreneurs. The US views India and Indian requirements quite differently and its a symbiotic relationship - both countries if need be can step on the accelerator and change the world dynamics, US is willing to go the extra mile in removing the trust deficit, lets push them on their commitments to the extreme level possible and see what happens instead of laying low.

India should convey the problems of cost escalation and delay to russian in clear terms...we mean business...

Russians are ready to share 5th gen technology, will lease nuke sub , will make ACCs and stealth ships for us , gave us a half gen ahead plane of what RuAF has , proven friend , helped in war , rescued us from US attack ... o the other hand US showed middle finger to its major ally Pakistan just to impress India .

Exactly..... Russian cant be matched in terms of suppliers.... They are long way ahead, few deals may go US way but they cant be trusted.
Again NO PERMANENT ENEMY OR FRIEND.