India’s Grand Strategy

Holmes

United States
Knowledge, not weapons, will be the currency of power in this century

India is unusual in having had a grand strategy at Independence to meet the external and internal challenges to its growth in order to become a major international actor. The Constituent Assembly’s oath in 1947 implied that India would promote world peace for the welfare of mankind, including its own population, and it would assume its rightful global position by developing itself to the standards of the industrialised world. This was the strategic goal. It had to be achieved in a world recovering from a war-ravaged economy and entering the Cold War. At Independence, India was a downtrodden former colony with 80 per cent poverty, a life expectancy of 31, food shortages and low literacy. India’s grand strategy during the second half of the 20th century, therefore, involved a policy of non-alignment to deal with external security problems, the adoption of the Indian Constitution to address governance challenges, and a partly centrally planned development strategy to accelerate growth.

Non-alignment, while a strategy, is often mistaken for ideology. Nehru first articulated it as a means to safeguard Indian security in 1946, after Churchill’s “Iron Curtain” speech, but before independence or Partition plans had been decided. But Nehru was not enthusiastic about a non-aligned movement. He favoured remaining in the Commonwealth and procuring defence equipment and licences from the UK, France and the US. It was only when the Soviet Union emerged as a more reliable provider of cheap but adequate military equipment against an increasingly hostile China that India’s security interests aligned with Moscow’s. Even then, India made defence deals in the 1970s and the 1980s with France and the UK, and also with the Reagan administration for jet engines. Non-alignment was therefore pragmatic, and meant that India could get support from a superpower if its national security was threatened.

While campaigning against nuclear weapons, India’s leadership from Nehru onwards also kept the nuclear option alive. India was compelled to declare itself a nuclear weapon power in 1998, only after the international community legitimised nuclear weapons by indefinitely extending the Non-Proliferation Treaty, and China armed Pakistan with nuclear weapons to balance India. Once India declared its nuclear capability, the attitudes of major powers changed.

The other aspects of India’s grand strategy related to governance and development. No other country is comparable to India in terms of its diversity of religions, languages and ethnicities. Consequently, unity is only possible under a secular, pluralistic, democratic and quasi-federal constitution. Although India’s Constitution implied accountable governance and the delivery of goods and services by the state, grave deficiencies emerged. Inadequate justice and law enforcement, unacceptable poverty and widespread illiteracy all persist, but universal adult franchise has empowered the previously disadvantaged to a level incomparable to elsewhere in the decolonised world. Although the record of the Election Commission is something to be proud of, deteriorating governance remains a serious internal security threat.

By century’s end, India was a pluralistic and secular democracy on the path to becoming the world’s third largest economy, with 62 per cent of the population above the poverty line despite its having grown fourfold. India had also dismantled the licence-permit-quota raj, demonstrated its technological prowess, and developed sizeable foreign exchange reserves. Despite such positive trends, poverty and illiteracy have still regrettably not been eliminated. Many have wondered whether India’s development could not have been expedited by following another model, such as China’s. They forget that Chinese communism allowed 30-40 million deaths from starvation. Independent India, by contrast, has never experienced that thanks to its democracy. Moreover, China benefited from Soviet assistance in the 1950s and external investments in the 1980s. Nor were many US allies significantly better off than India. It was only after the rehabilitation of Western Europe and Japan that available capital enabled the development of the Asian Tigers. India (along with the US) is unusual for democratising before industrialising. The emergence of most major nations — Britain, France, Russia, Japan and Germany — was viewed with concern by others, often resulting in war. While China’s rise causes concern today, India’s emergence does not.

The 21st century is vastly different from the 20th century. The number of states, their populations, their productivity and their standards of living have all increased manifold. The transportation and information revolutions have globalised the international system. Humanity as a whole has become more sensitised to gender, racial, and religious inequality and inequality of opportunity. Migration and demographic trends mean that pluralism will be required for peace and domestic stability. Violent conflict between great powers is becoming ever more unthinkable, and major states are today competing in peace, not war. There are many reasons for this: the existence of nuclear weapons, the establishment of the UN, powerful military alliances, decolonisation, the success of armed insurgencies and the spread of democracy. In this century, knowledge — not weapons — will be the currency of power and will determine the international hierarchy.

However, there are still challenges and threats to peaceful human progress and the preservation of pluralistic and democratic societies, including terrorism, failed states, one-party rule, pandemics and organised crime. The 20th century world order is unable to adequately address these challenges. The NPT cannot address terrorism resulting from acquiring nuclear weapons, old military alliances cannot deal with challenges such as Afghanistan, and the UN is not designed to defend pluralism, secularism, and democracy.

India’s gravest security problem is jehadi terrorism, centred in Pakistan. Pakistan has been using terrorism as a state policy since it acquired nuclear weapons with Chinese help and American acquiescence in the 1980s. The United States’ motives at the time were anti-Soviet, but China’s were anti-India. India, of roughly equal population to China, has proved that a developing country can grow rapidly without sacrificing either democracy or pluralism. Along with American influence, India’s rise threatens China’s hegemonic ambitions in Asia, and Pakistan serves as a convenient springboard by which to counter both.

Thus the real question about the future world order is whether it is to be democratic and pluralistic, or dominated by one-party oligarchies that prioritise social harmony over individual rights. If the US remains the world’s predominant power, and China is second, India will be the swing power. It will therefore have three options: partnering with the US and other pluralistic, secular and democratic countries; joining hands with China at the risk of betraying the values of its Constitution and freedom struggle; and remaining both politically and ideologically non-aligned, even if against its own ideals. Many Indians worry about an unequal partnership with the US because they do not appreciate the full potential of India as a knowledge power. In the years ahead, the US will require a reservoir of skilled manpower, and India will require green energy and agricultural technology to grow faster. The emerging Indo-US partnership is not about containing China. It is about defending Indian values from the challenges of both one-party rule and jehadism, and realising a future in which poverty and illiteracy are alleviated.

India’s Grand Strategy - Indian Express

Knowledge, not weapons, will be the currency of power in this century
That's why india is spending hundreds of billions of US dollars buying knowledge for its people.

If the US remains the world’s predominant power, and China is second, India will be the swing power.
LOL........ india will still be a third world hole. Except now this third world hole will be the frontline battle field in a massive military clash between superpowers USA and China. See how Poland fared in WW2!

That's why india is spending hundreds of billions of US dollars buying knowledge for its people.

LOL........ india will still be a third world hole. Except now this third world hole will be the frontline battle field in a massive military clash between superpowers USA and China. See how Poland fared in WW2!

One more chinese joker here working for 50 cents..... Hum to jaise hai bhai waise rahenge,,,, but aapka ka kya ?? Ram Ram japna paraya maal apna (technical term is stealing ):D

Look who's talking?

List of countries by military expenditures

1 United States United States 687,105,000,000 4.7%
2 China People's Republic of China 114,300,000,000 2.2%
3 France France 61,285,000,000 2.5%
4 United Kingdom United Kingdom 57,424,000,000 2.7%
5 Russia Russia 52,586,000,000 4.3%
6 Japan Japan 51,420,000,000 1.0%
7 Germany Germany 46,848,000,000 1.4%
8 Saudi Arabia Saudi Arabia 42,917,000,000 11.2%
9 Italy Italy 38,198,000,000 1.8%
10 India India 34,816,000,000 2.8%
11 Brazil Brazil 28,096,000,000 1.6%
12 South Korea South Korea 24,270,000,000 2.9%
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_military_expenditures
Team Ignites Debate Over China's Nuclear Tunnels : NPR
Even then your're feeling the heat from the Himalayan side. LOL:P

---------- Post added at 08:54 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:54 PM ----------

Look who's talking?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_military_expenditures
Even then you're feeling the heat from the Himalayan side. LOL:P

no! poles fought gallantly and were massacred ruthlessly. indians aren't going to fight that bravely, and chinese are too kind-hearted to kill a whole lot of them. we are just going to carve india up and give these pieces to bhutan, pakistan, bangladesh, sikkim, sri lanka etc. to rule, and each of them will prove far more competent and benevolent rulers to the one billion living in the subcontinent than india's own political class today who rose up in its castocracy and demagoguery and whose only notable skill is thuggery and theft from its own subjects

I agree with the article partly, and in fact, many countries have such kind of article, But at this time maybe they ignore that what the knowledge be used for? Yes, weapon. Weapon is compised of knowledge in the final analysis!!
Human like fighting each other, Just see the film, and the real life, violence is anywhere. And you said india's grand strategy, not only you, all the wise nation put emphasis on education. And these country also have huge weapon arsenal too.

I read the article, only the first sentence is good, other reveal that you don't know anything, you just know the sentence, but don't understand it!!
the content is filled with china, and speaking for yourself, but the content is so poor!!
They forget that Chinese communism allowed 30-40 million deaths from starvation. Independent India, by contrast, has never experienced that thanks to its democracy.
first, the people that deaths is not only from starvation, but the political mistake, and not communism "allow", at that time, Because of the three years natural distasters, china died from starvation, communist can't stop it, and of course the land policy was a failed policy later, and later, the cultural revolution also hound many intellectuals to deaths and damage national economy. But after 1978 open reform, CCP policy let most of people live good, be full, and pull hundred million people out of poverty, Why don't you refer these? and now so many indian still live under the poverty line, don't have encough food, and malnutrition, and do you calculate the deaths because of starvation from your independent to now? Or course, you don't, even you do, You also will said that, at least you give them democracy, do you think at that time democracy is more important than food??
and in these article, you make many excuse to cover up your country failure, Of course, this is also "knowledge", You use knowledge to serve for you, whatever it is good or bad.
Moreover, China benefited from Soviet assistance in the 1950s and external investments in the 1980s.
Yes, In China, most of people thank SU the help for china when we independent, and also thank USA the help that them give china after we open the door. But here you also deny the work that all chinese do. Follow your logic, You got much and more advanced weapon from Russia and Western, Why can't you benefit from it? why can't you still have to buy your main weapon from other countries? And now, the weapon sanction on china is still there, why can make bigger achivement than your india? and there are also high tech sanction on china, why in High tech domain, we do better than you? you have good access to these more advanced technology, but you do worse, why? you can "benefit" from these, but why you don't? you don't want to "copy"? if that, show your creativeness?
And in the article, you indian seems happy to choose the side, why don't you be the side that let other countries choose? Do you have no ambition to be a biggest power?
don't make excuses first! Loser seek excuse, winner seek approach!!
and in this article, you don't refer how to get the knowledge, and your "grand strategy" is flasy but not substantial. If this your so called "knowledge", I just want to said, you don't know the world, and don't understand it, and national strategy.
And I had know that, many indian plans is made only, but no action, and the content is always the best in the world, aim to the world class, but can't finished, even accomplished, at that time it is not the world class!!
If you display good in the world stage, First, quit the habit that make excuse for yourself always for any failure. Any countries and anyone do it, but not for any failure, although do it, should find your own reason!!!

no! poles fought gallantly and were massacred ruthlessly. indians aren't going to fight that bravely, and chinese are too kind-hearted to kill a whole lot of them. we are just going to carve india up and give these pieces to bhutan, pakistan, bangladesh, sikkim, sri lanka etc. to rule, and each of them will prove far more competent and benevolent rulers to the one billion living in the subcontinent than india's own political class today who rose up in its castocracy and demagoguery and whose only notable skill is thuggery and theft from its own subjects

brain_fart2.gif

Look who's talking?

List of countries by military expenditures - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Even then your're feeling the heat from the Himalayan side. LOL:P

---------- Post added at 08:54 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:54 PM ----------

Look who's talking?

Even then you're feeling the heat from the Himalayan side. LOL:P

Why not focus on the "percentage"!!

You can say that when our military spending overtakes that of yours.
Still that 2.8% is one third of the same amount you spend. Who keep spending more money?

what other countries have Chinese carved up lately ? I m interested in your past accomplishments in carving countries.

Look who's talking?

1 United States United States - 687,105,000,000 - 4.7%
2 China People's Republic of China - 114,300,000,000 - 2.2%
3 France France - 61,285,000,000 - 2.5%
4 United Kingdom United Kingdom - 57,424,000,000 - 2.7%
5 Russia Russia - 52,586,000,000 - 4.3%
6 Japan Japan - 51,420,000,000 - 1.0%
7 Germany Germany - 46,848,000,000 - 1.4%
8 Saudi Arabia Saudi Arabia - 42,917,000,000 - 11.2%
9 Italy Italy - 38,198,000,000 - 1.8%
10 India India - 34,816,000,000 - 2.8%
11 Brazil Brazil - 28,096,000,000 - 1.6%
12 South Korea South Korea - 24,270,000,000 - 2.9%

Hahaha, we spend less as a percentage of GDP than India does on defence.

Yet our defence budget is almost four times larger. :lol:

Most importantly, China's defence industry is almost completely indigenous. The money we spend on defence will improve our domestic technological capabilities, and provide jobs for our people.

India on the other hand, spends most of its defence budget on making rich countries like France even richer. :azn:

Hahaha, we spend less as a percentage of GDP than India does on defence.

Yet our defence budget is almost four times larger. :lol:

Most importantly, China's defence industry is almost completely indigenous. The money we spend on defence will improve our domestic technological capabilities, and provide jobs for our people.

India on the other hand, spends most of its defence budget on making rich countries like France even richer. :azn:

I would like to know which Chinese Aircraft is production that is a match to French Rafale ?