Tareen meets Aleem, likely to announce new political party in 72 hrs

Is there any possibility of PPP revival in Pakistan in the foreseeable future? After Benazir's death, under Zardari's thorough pragmatism leadership, the PPP has degenerated from a Pakistani national party with almost the same strength as PMLN to an influential party only in rural areas of Sindh province. Zardari was an unprincipled trader without any ideological charisma, which led to the complete decline of PPP. The two major political parties currently competing in Pakistan, PMLN and PTI, are both conservative right-wing parties. They have a compromise, concession, and negotiation attitude towards religious forces and the Taliban, and they are not progressive secular parties. Pakistan now has only two right-wing political parties competing, but there is no "left-wing party" with comparable strength, and there is no secular and progressive party that clearly opposes religious conservative forces and the Taliban. This is very unhealthy. If the PPP can never be revived, is it possible for Pakistan to produce a new strong leftist party?

Anything is possible. PPP's revival in immediate future is not likely but that party HAS gained some of the lost ground in Punjab in few years. About the downfall PPP: It was/is a dynastic party and with Benazir's death, the heir was removed. People don't look at Bilawal 'Bhutto' Zardari as a political heir to ZAB. But PPP's fall had a lot to do with ten years of Zia's rule plus more urbanization in Pakistan. Any party can be cut to size in Pakistan! PTI fanbois have been putting too much faith in Imran's personality popularity--it doesn't work like that in Pakistan! Imran will have to wait at least next few years.

Also, the way PMLN and PTI are at each other's throat for Punjab vote bank, PPP's chances after 5-10 years can't be ruled out after its rivals discredit each other. Remember that as late as 2007/8, PPP got enough seats in Punjab to form its own govt. Part of that was the Establishment didn't want the alienation in Sindhis to go too far after Benazir death; part was a bit of 'sympathy wave' in Punjab. All Pakistani politicians/Establishment people implicitly and wisely allowed PPP to come back to power.

As for Right Wing/Left Wing-- your perception is correct that PPP is slightly to the left: The party had never been apologetic about challenging the religious nuts like the Talibans, Al Qaida or the Lal Masjid goons. But I don't think either PTI or PMLN are Right Wing enough to embrace the likes of Taliban or TLP.

We should all unite and oppose civilian trials under military courts. I remember i supported terrorist trials under military courts but I regret my statement, the reason is our state misuse of powers and they end up using it against political opponents. The anti terrorism courts were supposed to trial terrorists but governments ended up declaring any opponents as terrorists and then misusing the courts. Disgusting.

Jahangir Tahreen, Aleem Khan, Fawad Chaudary, Shah Mahmood Qureshi, Pervez Khattak, senior committe of minus IK PTI.
Pervez Ellahi will re join Pmlq.

In last 13 months, even monopoly of electables has been broken. PTI could not even run Mohsin Leghari's campaign for NA seat. PTI local leadership was arrested by police a week before. Yet, Mohsin Leghari won by a margin of 50k in a by election!! From the rural area of South Punjab, this was an achievement no one has acknowledged due to us caught up in fast, everyday developments. The reason for such a huge margin is because of high women voter turnout - the reason for this brutal crackdown in the aftermath of May 9th drama.
Mohsin leghari is also electable

phir iss party ka haal bhi "PSP" jaisa hi ho ga

Nah that project is not yet in the final stage.

Koshish poori hai keh baat ban jaye magr nhn ban rahi.

Altaf Hussain is still in the picutre though.

If the establishment is intelligent, they should push for a new Pakistan Muslim League party under Shaid Kaaqan Abbasi, Chaudary Nisaar Ali Khan. Bring all the educated moderate politicians under new PML and get rid of the old guard of Nawaz, Shabaz, Maryum, Hamza, Rana Sanullah, Rana Masood etc. The new party should work with all political parties and work for Pakistan. None of the dirty political tactics.

Anything is possible. PPP's revival in immediate future is not likely but that party HAS gained some of the lost ground in Punjab in few years. About the downfall PPP: It was/is a dynastic party and with Benazir's death, the heir was removed. People don't look at Bilawal 'Bhutto' Zardari as a political heir to ZAB. But PPP's fall had a lot to do with ten years of Zia's rule plus more urbanization in Pakistan. Any party can be cut to size in Pakistan! PTI fanbois have been putting too much faith in Imran's personality popularity--it doesn't work like that in Pakistan! Imran will have to wait at least next few years.

Also, the way PMLN and PTI are at each other's throat for Punjab vote bank, PPP's chances after 5-10 years can't be ruled out after its rivals discredit each other. Remember that as late as 2007/8, PPP got enough seats in Punjab to form its own govt. Part of that was the Establishment didn't want the alienation in Sindhis to go too far after Benazir death; part was a bit of 'sympathy wave' in Punjab. All Pakistani politicians/Establishment people implicitly and wisely allowed PPP to come back to power.

As for Right Wing/Left Wing-- your perception is correct that PPP is slightly to the left: The party had never been apologetic about challenging the religious nuts like the Talibans, Al Qaida or the Lal Masjid goons. But I don't think either PTI or PMLN are Right Wing enough to embrace the likes of Taliban or TLP.

I told you in another thread PPP is most likely to form the next government. Let's see as they absorb PTI members in South Punjab. Another possibility no party has a majority and needs to compromise on the PM ship.

If the establishment is intelligent, they should push for a new Pakistan Muslim League party under Shaid Kaaqan Abbasi, Chaudary Nisaar Ali Khan. Bring all the educated moderate politicians under new PML and get rid of the old guard of Nawaz, Shabaz, Maryum, Hamza, Rana Sanullah, Rana Masood etc. The new party should work with all political parties and work for Pakistan. None of the dirty political tactics.

SKA is the biggest conman in Pakistani politics currently.

His gripe is with Ishaq Dar and SS, not with NS or PML at large.

Just look at his interviews. The day NS comes back SKA will be back into PML as a minister.

Much more respect for Miftah who at least isn't sucking up to N and the current politicians, as well as Mustafa Khokhar.

SKA's narrative these days is all 'Judge aur bureaucrat zyada kharab hain syasatdan say'. Whenever someone questions him about politicians or NS, he side steps the questions.

I told you in another thread PPP is most likely to form the next government. Let's see as they absorb PTI members in South Punjab. Another possibility no party has a majority and needs to compromise on the PM ship.

I was pretty sure Billo was going to be the next PM, but some events of the past few days just make me think otherwise.

The former news was based on info (albeit old), the latter is based on personal analysis.

More probability of JKT or some dummy ala Buzdar being PM (Zafarullah Jamali anyone? :P).

The bolded part: Most likely scenario.
PPP has a remote chance: On the basis of rural Sindh seats alone, PPP should have several dozen MNAs. Combine with a few from other provinces and a coalition with either PMLN or some PTI spinoff, a political bargain can make a PPP PM--remote, but possible. In 1993, Benazir had many many seats in Punjab Assembly but ended up having Muslim League guy with only a handful of seats as the CM of Punjab while Benazir became the PM.

You see: It is not always the topmost slot like PM or CM which matters in bargains. Important portfolios and appointments. Advisors. Minister of State...

But one thing I am sure of-and sure of as soon as I saw Shirin Mazari leaving PTI: Imran is not going to be the next PM of Pakistan for at least next few years--if ever.

Oh thank God Aleem and Tareen are forming a new party...now I will now totally denounce Imran khan and vote for them....says every Imran supporter

Zardari is definitely working overtime to bring S Punjab politicians in to the PPP, I dont think they will be enough to form a government, it will be PMLN, PPP, Mqm, JUI, Pmlq, BAP, Jahangir Tahreen coalition government.

PPP 60 - 65 seats - Sindh seats almost guaranteed, plus another 10 to 15 seats S Punjab and rest of Pakistan.
PmlN - 80 seats
JUI - 10 seats
Mqm - 10 seats
Anp - 1 seat
Pml q - 6 seats
Bap - 5 seats
JT PTI - 10 seats

187 Seats coalition government.

Zardari flexing his muscles

JT lobbying ex Pti MNAs

PmlN rejecting ex PTI people. Most likely new party will be formed by JT

Seat adjustment talks between PPP, PMlN, Pmlq and JT Pti once it is announced.

They’re all corrupt and loaded with dirty money…..where’s the billions coming in from?
The whole world is reeling from inflation yet these corrupt
Mofos doing politics as if everything is fine.

Anyone voting for any of these clowns is dumb trash….majority of ppl in pak will still vote these idiots yet again.

Zardari is definitely working overtime to bring S Punjab politicians in to the PPP, I dont think they will be enough to form a government, it will be PMLN, PPP, Mqm, JUI, Pmlq, BAP, Jahangir Tahreen coalition government.

PPP 60 - 65 seats - Sindh seats almost guaranteed, plus another 10 to 15 seats S Punjab and rest of Pakistan.
PmlN - 80 seats
JUI - 10 seats
Mqm - 10 seats
Anp - 1 seat
Pml q - 6 seats
Bap - 5 seats
JT PTI - 10 seats

187 Seats coalition government.

Zardari flexing his muscles

JT lobbying ex Pti MNAs

PmlN rejecting ex PTI people. Most likely new party will be formed by JT

Seat adjustment talks between PPP, PMlN, Pmlq and JT Pti once it is announced.

Mostly definitely, it'll be a coalition government. So now the question becomes what becomes of PTI. I feel IK will step aside and let SMQ take the helm. For a while, I told my father that would be his route, and he didn't believe me; last 48 hours, he didn't look me in the eyes.

Jokingly, I told my father I also developed a strand of white (safad) hair, Lol.

The bolded part: Most likely scenario.
PPP has a remote chance: On the basis of rural Sindh seats alone, PPP should have several dozen MNAs. Combine with a few from other provinces and a coalition with either PMLN or some PTI spinoff, a political bargain can make a PPP PM--remote, but possible. In 1993, Benazir had many many seats in Punjab Assembly but ended up having Muslim League guy with only a handful of seats as the CM of Punjab while Benazir became the PM.

You see: It is not always the topmost slot like PM or CM which matters in bargains. Important portfolios and appointments. Advisors. Minister of State...

But one thing I am sure of-and sure of as soon as I saw Shirin Mazari leaving PTI: Imran is not going to be the next PM of Pakistan for at least next few years--if ever.

I agree; I feel IK is done from holding a seat. However, he'll be in the background like Nawaz in London, commanding the party.

On another note, hamari bad kismiti para likha insan sa, nicha ki sanash chit parna tak ah gai. At this, muja lagta rab ham ko chor gaya.

Without the assassination in 2007, the PPP could easily have won an absolute majority, which would have posed a huge threat to the Pakistani military and establishment. So the Pakistani establishment and intelligence agencies killed Benazir, and then they allowed the new PPP led by Zardari, who is very obedient to the Pakistani military, to take power without an absolute majority. Even if such a new PPP takes power Nor does it pose any threat to the establishment. From beginning to end, this was a conspiracy planned by the Pakistani establishment and the deep state. In the end, the Pakistani military also gained a good reputation of "not interfering in the election".