No control over operations of Army, ISI: govt

these political people should have resigned when they had witnessed that military is not in their control as its stated in our constitution.But these people preferred to loot the country and the poor people.If they had been clean then people of Pakistan would have stood with them as they did with chief Justice and ousted the powerful dictator.

but my friend i still ask you do you feel the army and the ISI should be above the government? even if it means the need of democracy?

i ask this as i wish to know how the majority of people think!!!!

No wonder, this HOLY COW has been defeated in every war since 1947 when all they do is politics and REAL ESTATE INVESTMENT.

These men in uniform are the most shameless people you can see around.

A freaking 2nd Lieutenant thinks he owns the country let alone a general's view of this country.

but my friend i still ask you do you feel the army and the ISI should be above the government? even if it means the need of democracy?

i ask this as i wish to know how the majority of people think!!!!

Corrupt cant control corruption so with the law violators cant stop law evaders,
as i said in my earlier post "these political people should have resigned when they had witnessed that military is not in their control as its stated in our constitution"

Corrupt cant control corruption so with the law violators cant stop law evaders,
as i said in my earlier post "these political people should have resigned when they had witnessed that military is not in their control as its stated in our constitution"
Sir ! these politicians are so poisonous and evilz they don't even deserves life...they sholdn't resign but the shold be hungup to the wall period no questions asked in order to save our country and our innocent pplz.....:smokin:

but that wont be discussed in the SC.

only things which are under the constitution are on the table. anything above the constitution (army and ISI) are sacrosanct. simple as that. why have u guys wasted 4 pages on this thread?? :/

chalo bhai kerlo baat

army says, it recieves orders from govt

govt says army does every thing on its own, bechara ghareb pakistani ki maut ke koi zimidari lene ko tyar nahi :disagree:, if i was a PM sab major, colonel, MPA MNA ko ulta latka dn saalon ko

These men in uniform are the most shameless people you can see around.

A freaking 2nd Lieutenant thinks he owns the country let alone a general's view of this country.

On the blood of Army and people of Tribal Area, MQM made 1.5 billion in their share of their WOT logistic deals and ANP made 800 million to Support WOT. While dead men of Pak Army got just people like you hating them. PPP put the country on bankrupt with their looting.

:lol: ISI and army are holy cow...who hold the veto power on almost every decision and all the blames go to Govt. Cool
you shouldn't be worried. go care about your own country. we know isi and army and we love them to death. my ***** to fake govt of pakistan. thanks ALLAH atleast our army is there when it comes to Pakistan.

whether army or civilian government, the situation will remain the same because the policy is one. keep an eye on India , control Afghanistan and influence the middle east make the nexus.

Once a proper and positive government is established, the Army needs to be brought under the government and ISI with equal power as Government.

Once ISI is under government control, there is NO WAY that it can operate normally.

Under goverment control is the way intelligence agencies operate normally, if no one in the Pakistan Goverment has control of the ISI that is not a good thing, that is very scary.

Because Army is simply too powerful to be blamed in a country as dangerous as Pakistan. A little accident here, a little bomb blast there and the people speaking about control over Army may be resting in peace. Pakistan is not a place where you blame the supreme authority

Our Army is nothing as sinister as you wishful Indians may think it to be. The fact is a simple one. When its an issue of national security, the Army will speak up because this is what the Pakistani nation expects it to do. When Pakistan's internal issues are being shipped off to the Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff of the United States to make a decision on, then the Army will speak its mind and make sure that the idiots running the government hear it and especially the President, who for his own selfish reasons has mired the Presidency and the state institutions such as the military in such a hideous controversy.

I do not, for even a second, support the idea of the Army taking over. They cannot and must not, as this is something that only the elected representatives can fix, however as we limp to that democratic stability, we cannot ignore the ground realities which include efforts to undermine the nation's armed forces by trying to exert external pressure just so the corrupt, ineffective President can sit snug in the Presidency.

This is something that the vast majority of Pakistanis cannot stand for. The military is far from being perfect, it is perfect nowhere, however for it to become completely subservient to the civilian parliament will require significant display of maturity and understanding from the elected lot. Thus far, they have shown that they are dismally incapable of doing so, thus they are never able to gain the trust of the military. The memo-gate scandal is the height of stupidity of the insecure and ineffective government led by Zardari.

Zardari should be ousted by his very own party, while Gillani, as the elected head of the Government should complete his term.

from: Government, Army on collision course | Newspaper | DAWN.COM

ISLAMABAD: A sense of foreboding gripped the country on Thursday as a showdown between the civilian arm of the government and the army-led security establishment looked imminent, with the Supreme Court also making it abundantly clear that instead of backing off from the so-called `memogate` scandal, it would like to take it to its logical conclusion.

Although the federal capital had been on edge since the eruption of the memo controversy, some candid and caustic remarks by the prime minister hinting at a conspiracy to remove the government, and criticism of the Army and the Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI) led to rumours that the conflict may result in direct military intervention.

Although most Islamabad-watchers and seasoned analysts immediately brushed aside reports of an immediate coup, some were of the view that an endgame of sorts might have begun.

This was evident from Army Chief Gen Ashfaq Kayani’s sworn statement before the Supreme Court insisting on the existence of a `memo` sent to a top American military official that undermined Pakistan`s national security, the defence ministry’s shocking statement submitted before the apex court declaring that the government does not have operational control of the army and ISI, and Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani’s defiant remarks that he and his party were willing to sit in the opposition but will not accept a “state within the state” — a clear reference to the army and ISI’s interference in the government`s affairs.

The two frontal attacks by the prime minister within an hour of each other — first at a function to mark the birth anniversary of the Quaid-i-Azam and then on the floor of the National Assembly — suddenly took the political temperature to a new high.

The day first saw the prime minister losing his patience and expressing his fear that a conspiracy was being hatched against his government.

Simultaneously, a flurry of activities was seen at the Supreme Court where the former ambassador Husain Haqqani made his first public appearance to meet his counsel, Asma Jehangir.

Before that, to the surprise of some judges hearing the memo petitions, Attorney General Maulvi Anwarul Haq informed the apex court that he was not representing the army chief and the ISI DG, whose replies were at odds with those of the civilian leadership.

Although the prime minister had several times in the past stated that conspiracy was being hatched against his government and the present parliament, it was for the first time that he raised his finger towards the powerful military establishment when he said that “a state within the state” would not be tolerated and that “all institutions, including the ministry of defence, should be answerable to parliament and to the chief executive, who is the prime minister”.

And perhaps only to allay any doubts, he later went on to say on the floor of the National Assembly that he had set up a commission to know about those responsible for allowing Al Qaeda leader Osama bin Laden to live in Abbottabad for six years.

The speeches from the prime minister came six days after he chaired a meeting of the Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) parliamentary group in which some members openly suggested that he should seek resignation of the ISI chief.

Some of the members even criticised the government for not having done so soon after the May 2 operation in Abbottabad.

The reaction in political circles over the conflict between the army and the government coming out in the open was a mixed one.

A number of government’s allies, and some nationalists groups, called for fresh efforts to close ranks and prevent military intervention so that no harm came to democracy.

But leaders of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Imran Khan’s Tehrik-i-Insaf were not perturbed.

In fact, some blamed the government for the standoff, making it quite clear that even if they were opposed to military intervention, some of these groups may prefer an action that may result in the removal of the present government.

However, a meeting between the President and the prime minister after Mr Gilani’s speeches and shuttle diplomacy by intermediaries, including envoys of two Western countries, suggested that serious efforts were on to restore a semblance of sanity.

By late in the evening, some of them were confident that they would be able to heal the rift, at least for now.