New book claims to nail Longewala 'lies'
Rahul Singh, Hindustan Times
New Delhi, November 27, 2013
First Published: 23:25 IST(27/11/2013)

Last Updated: 23:30 IST(27/11/2013)

One of the most glorious moments of the Indian Army, the victory in the Battle of Longewala in the 1971 war with Pakistan, is based on blatant falsehood, claims an upcoming book by a general decorated in the same operations.
The battle was immortalised by the 1997 Bollywood blockbuster "Border", starring Sunny Deol as victorious army hero major Kuldip Singh Chandpuri. In a tell-all account of one of the first engagements in the western sector during the 14-day war, major general Atma Singh (retd) has alleged that the army's version of the battle is built on "exaggerated claims" when it had little to do with crushing Pakistani forces.
Atma Singh, then a major, has credited the Indian Air Force for saving the day for the country. He was commanding the No. 12 Air Observation Post (AOP) flight, tasked with directing close air support firepower toward enemy targets. AOP units were under the IAF. "If our own troops had vacated the post (Longewala) at first light on December 5, then when and where was the big battle of Longewala fought?" he questions in his book, "Battle of Longewala: The Real Story", which will hit the stands on December 3, the day the war began 42 years ago.

The first six Pakistani tanks were sighted in the Kharotar area, 5 kilometres from the Longewala post, general Atma Singh writes in the book. "It was at the crack of dawn on December 5, after the army had vacated the post. The Pakistani tanks were bombed by the IAF's Hunter jets," he further wrote.

The author's version can't be taken lightly, as he was decorated with Vir Chakra, country's third highest gallantry award for bravery, in that war. Colonel PS Sangha (retd), who also served 12 AOP and earned Vir Chakra, has backed the version of general Atma Singh.

In the army's version, major KS Chandpuri (later brigadier) along with 100 men from 23 Punjab had frustrated an attack by a Pakistani brigade (some 2,800 troops) backed by an armoured regiment of 45 tanks.

Kuldeep%20Chandpuri100_compressed.jpg

Chandpuri received Maha Vir Chakra, country's second-highest award for bravery in the battlefield.

"It's about taking credit where little is due," said general Atma Singh, adding: "Can troops equipped with recoilless guns, medium machine guns and mortars beat off an armoured attack? I hope the book will lay the lies of the battle to rest."

Fighter pilots won eight Vir Chakras in that battle. A senior officer in the army headquarters, however, said soldiers from 23 Punjab had also played a valuable role of holding on to their positions and delaying the enemy's armoured thrust until the IAF had arrived on the scene.

Brigadier Chandpuri comments on book

Brigadier Kuldip Singh Chandpuri, acclaimed hero of Longewala, said he didn't want any certificate from Atma Singh "who himself was major at that time". "Ask him who held the enemy the entire night. He can write anything now when all the defence officers of that time are no more. Even the-then air chief marshal PC Lal in his book had praised the efforts of 23 Punjab under my command."

New book claims to nail Longewala 'lies' - Hindustan Times

I don't know what he's trying to say?Everyone knows Pak army was destroyed from air,not land forces.In land mostly recoiless guns did some damage.

i think the guy's talking about a battle, not the war. But i dont blame you, your tiny brains cant differentiate both/either.
His contention is IAF obliterated the Pakistani Armor whereas, the on pop culture, army got the kudos for holding the post all night long...

Both contentions are correct as the Army did hold the fort with 200 soldiers and a recoiless rifle against an armored division and a Infantry division....

But the IAF came to the rescue and obliterated the attacking force, Not the ARMY... Which is true... But if the army did not hold the post the Pakistani thrust would have neutralized the jaisalmer forward base, and thus the outcome would be very different....

Not Important? Its ensuring long held Pakistani belief once again that 'Banya' only wins through cheat, lies & conspiracy not man to man ever throughout history......:hitwall:

Chalo Ji,

You have dropped your donkey in the well.

Oh chaand meray,

Indian army soldiers do not come from Banya class. They instead come from very similar marshal families as do Pakistani army.

Quit living in this made up world and pl smell the coffee.

Modern wars are fought based on training, logistics, and latest weaponry (especially air power).

And we have to accept that Indians have an upper hand in these perspectives.

It is time we give proper credit to our enemy.

Without such credit and assessment, we are setting up ourselves for a defeat in future.

peace (most of the time)

war (the last resort)

Not Important? Its ensuring long held Pakistani belief once again that 'Banya' only wins through cheat, lies & conspiracy not man to man ever throughout history......:hitwall:

Care to explain how the IAF beating the Pak Fauj is considered lies and cheating??

In any case, if the Major is indeed true and the Indian soldiers abandoned their posts, what prevented the Pak Fauj from rolling on to Jaisalmer in the night? It's at least well documented fact that the Hunters couldn't engage at night.

@Joe Shearer ,

Its undoubted that Pakistanis were defeated in that war due to Airforce. But can anyone explain, why if Pakistani force started their attack at 3.30 am in nite and Airforce started its attack by 7 am after taking off at 6.30.

Why wasnt a 3k trooped, 45 tank regiment not overtake 120 guyz behind bunkers for 3+ hours?

Why discuss beliefs. You pakistani superstitious stupid people also believe in flying angels, lets just talk facts.

The book claim of ''nailing lies'' is sensationalist. He wants to express his opinion on the matter of who should get the credit of annihilating Pakistanis on that particular day is a matter of opinion of perception. All this after 42 years, sounds like internal bickering over credit. Normal.

Fact is Pakistani columns got annihilated. A good job well done.

His contention is IAF obliterated the Pakistani Armor whereas, the on pop culture, army got the kudos for holding the post all night long...

Both contentions are correct as the Army did hold the fort with 200 soldiers and a recoiless rifle against an armored division and a Infantry division....

But the IAF came to the rescue and obliterated the attacking force, Not the ARMY... Which is true... But if the army did not hold the post the Pakistani thrust would have neutralized the jaisalmer forward base, and thus the outcome would be very different....

Air power is the key especially since WW2.

Rest of them are the night time stories for the naught kids.

Care to explain how the IAF beating the Pak Fauj is considered lies and cheating??

In any case, if the Major is indeed true and the Indian soldiers abandoned their posts, what prevented the Pak Fauj from rolling on to Jaisalmer in the night? It's at least well documented fact that the Hunters couldn't engage at night.

Bro.

have you ever been to border between Pakistan and India. If so which town/place and for how long.

Thank you

Bangladesh total land mass is not half of Pakistan today so how was it back then?

Bahi sahib

I think we are now clutching straws. Let the sleeping dogs lie.

Air power is the key especially since WW2.

Rest of them are the night time stories for the naught kids.

Bro.

have you ever been to border between Pakistan and India. If so which town/place and for how long.

Thank you

And how do you reached to the conclusion, India has upper hand? (your post#14)
Are you counting the numbers on the ground?

And how do you reached to the conclusion, India has upper hand? (your post#14)
Are you counting the numbers on the ground?

Batman bro

I mentioned three main factors. Training, logistics, and latest weaponry.

Indian army can put more boots on the ground, with very similar if not superior level of training.
Pakistan army cannot match Indian army in logistics.
Pakistani army is totally under-matched in weaponry.

Hope this helps.

Batman bro

I mentioned three main factors. Training, logistics, and latest weaponry.

Indian army can put more boots on the ground, with very similar if not superior level of training.
Pakistan army cannot match Indian army in logistics.
Pakistani army is totally under-matched in weaponry.

Hope this helps.

Pakistan has far far better training and men and moral.
Indian logistics is better! how do you come to this conclusion?
In past India had weaponry but they failed to cross any lines.... today Pakistan is far far advance in its missile and air/craft design.
images

1056.gif