Abdali : a hero or villian for Pakistani punjabis?

Sikhs were driven by madness, they were cowardly attacking muslims , killing unarmed men, women and children.....Afghans tried to confront sikhs, but they used to run towards hills before their arrival...so afghans used to destroy their crops and demolish their houses as punishment...afghans should have committed genocide of sikhs. Infact the it was responsibility of mughals of earlier period to get rid of this filth which were neither muslims nor hindus.
Should have? they did commit genocide against the Sikhs. The biggest massacres of the Sikhs occurred under Afghan rule. Attacked and destroyed the Darbar Sahib in Amritsar more than once. And the Mughals also had committed genocide against the Sikhs, especially under Zakaria Khan, Adina Beg, Mir Mannu and Lakhpat Rai. That's why Sikhs were fighting in the first place. Before that, the Sikhs were a peaceful community in case you didn't know

Punjabi or not ,that bloody Ranjeet Singh is absolutely hated in Pakistan & Punjabis are Pakistanis first, they speak Urdu & they have nothing to do with this filthy DOG, the sin of the soil Pakistani Punjab were washed off with the blood of the Muslims of Punjab during the partition, & nobody likes him in Pakistan , in Punjab the language & culture is Urdu , Mughal culture is what is followed with pride & there is absolutely no place for the gaon ka gawar Bhangra culture of ranjeet singh in Pakistan, I can go and abuse ranjeet singh in the middle of Lahore & nobody can even touch me, but I can guarantee you that if anybody even remotely praises Ranjeet Singh, I can beat the living crap out of that person & nobody can even touch me & I am a muhajir, bro trust me nobody likes this guy one bit, people see him as an black stain & burden of our geographic history, so wish this chap would have been born in east Punjab instead of our side:hitwall:

First of, there is nothing wrong with the Punjabi language. It is not the language of Gawars. If a Punjabi thinks this way, then he is suffering from an inferiority complex. A language cannot be classified as good or bad. Most of the early Punjabi literature was written by Punjabi Muslim saints. So you are insulting their intellegeance by insulting the language they wrote and spoke in. Secondly, I don't think you have read any history books. Because if you had you would know that the language of the Lahore Durbar of Ranjit Singh was Farsi not Punjabi and this at a time when Urdu began to be replacing Farsi in the former Mughal strong holds of Delhi/UP/Bihar but Farsi remained strong thanks to Ranjit Singh. Urdu was first introduced in Punjab by the British who replaced Farsi.

Although Persian was the court language of Mughals, the Urdu language gave them perception of claiming themselves as Mughalzada and perception was created against the inferiority of Punjabi language, Punjab was the only province where British didn't introduce the native Punjabi language as the official language as they had to use Urdu for inciting Muslim nationalism.Just like Hindi-Urdu, even Punjabis wrote their language in two scripts.

lets see if this mugal culture wins or gaon ka gawar culture of Punjabis win....kawalis versus bhangra beats... comeon who listen to kawallis in todays world..its bhangra all the way .. from Bollywood to Hollywood...no competition.

lets see if this mugal culture wins or gaon ka gawar culture of Punjabis win....kawalis versus bhangra beats... comeon who listen to kawallis in todays world..is bhangra all the way .. from Bollywood to Hollywood.

Bhangra was never part of west punjab culture, it has its origin in Malwa region. You guys should stick with it.

Looter for you, survivor for muslims (Punjabis & Pushtoons) living in that time Punjab
Ahmed Shah baba was invited by Shah waliullah of Dehli, neither Punjabi nor Pashtoon.
This is a myth. Yes, Mughal rule was weakened in rest of India, but not in Punjab. Before the Afghan invasion, Punjab was a strong Mughal province with Mughal governors. It was one of the last loyal Mughal provinces. But the Afghan invasion destroyed that too by snatching Punjab away from the Mughals and joining it to the Durrani empire.

Bhangra was never part of west punjab culture, it has its origin in Malwa region. You guys should stick with it.
Bhangra was started in Majha region in west Punjab. Sialkot can be said to be the birth place of Bhangra.

Malwa on the hand is the birth place of Giddha not Bhagra.

who cares..but you know what even your people like bhangra..There are two cultures in India: the dominant - Punjabi - one, and the non Punjabi desi culture that envelopes all non-Sikhs, that is, the rest of India. Ever since Partition, when Sikhs from Lahore and East Punjab were forced to migrate, India has slowly but surely been shedding its desi-ness and taking on Punjabi traits, but calling them its own. Thus, 'Indian' food around the world is really Punjabi food. India today is clearly identified around the world by the turban, not the topi. Popular 'Indian' music around the world constitutes little more than adaptations of the Bhangra. We haven't even begun to fathom the Sikh components of the sub-continent's classical music, for example, and the Punjabi role in all of its ancient literature. Sports, fashion, films ... you name it, and you'll find there that the better side of it has been shaped by Punjabi taste, the worse of it remains desi!

That's pure BS.

you can deny..but ist todays populr songs are either Punjabi or punjaicised either in language or beats or way of singing. in west indian food means Punjabi food. people use Punjabi songs in wedding etc...even modi has a slogan chakk day india.. lol

go to sri lanka and none there wear shalwr kamig but even in southern parts of india onecan see women in shalwar kamig

India is identified by bollywood which is domiated by punjabi khatris hindus from west punjab and urdu songs. Sorry but no one wear turban in India a part from sikhs themselves. You are giving to much importance to sikh punjabis when they are only few hundred years old. There has been 8 great punjabi poets, 7 of them muslims and 1 punjabi khatri hindu Nanak and all of them west punjabis. Indian food is veggie, any other food has its origin in central asia and Pakistan punjab.

Indians basically serve these dishes to foreginers and call it Indian, because actual Indian dishes are puke worthy. No one likes vegie only food. And those punjabis who migrated mostly settled in Delhi and other cities of India not rural Punjab. And as above posted said even Bhangra is west punjabi, basically you guys copy and adapt. But have not given anything in return.

dude what freaking hospitality ? kaisa hospitality ? we muhajirs have made Pakistan & we are their Rulers got it, we own Punjab & the punjabis ! we are ruling class people hum hukumran hai !

Bhaiye bohat ho gheya, ab apni auqaat mein ha ja :lol:

Famous punjabi classical poet Waris shah lived in the age of abdali, it was a period of unrest and instablity in punjab. I have read some of verses from his punjabi poetry where he was praising mughals and was worried about their decline and the rise of sikh insurgents in punjab during 18th century and the repeated raids conducted by abdali against sikh insurgents in punjab, he did not praise abdali but also did not show any displeasure. So we should follow our classical poet of 18th century Pir Waris shah's approach and should take a "neutral" position on ahmed shah abdali, he was NEITHER hero NOR villain for muslims of punjab back in 18th century. But he was indeed villain for sikhs many of whom were killed in Abdali's repeated raids.
Despite the persecution the Afghans did against the Sikhs, but Sikh rule over Punjab is directly linked to Ahmad Shah Abdali's invasion. Before the Afghan invasion, the Mughals and their harsh yet able administrators had contained the Sikhs. But the Afghan invasion completely shattered the Mughal administration and power in Punjab. So much so that it gave the Sikh misls a chance to again unite and fight with even greater vigour. This is similar to how a century earlier, Aurangzeb made the mistake of invading and defeating the Deccan Shia states which had contained the Marathas. But Aurangzeb destroyed those Deccan sultanates and the result was the rise of the Maratha empire which ended up eating up the Mughal empire in the future.

India is identified by bollywood which is domiated by punjabi khatris hindus from west punjab and urdu songs. Sorry but no one wear turban in India a part from sikhs themselves. You are giving to much importance to sikh punjabis when they are only few hundred years old. There has been 8 great punjabi poets, 7 of them muslims and 1 punjabi khatri hindu Nanak and all of them west punjabis. Indian food is veggie, any other food has its origin in central asia and Pakistan punjab.

Indians basically serve these dishes to foreginers and call it Indian, because actual Indian dishes are puke worthy. No one likes vegie only food. And those punjabis who migrated mostly settled in Delhi and other cities of India not rural Punjab. And as above posted said even Bhangra is west punjabi, basically you guys copy and adapt. But have not given anything in return.

Bhaiye bohat ho gheya, ab apni auqaat mein ha ja :lol:

blah blah... bhangra is Sikh culture so is turban. Pakistani Punjabi no one even knew they exist. other than some Punjabi poets of ancient times Pakistani Punjabi contribution is jilch...which resturants you find more in west indian Punjabi or Pakistani..No one give too hoot about arab, pakistani food or central Asian food. they may b good in your Pakistan rest of the world they aint tasteworthy

These guys will not understand, the reason? Hindu caste system. He himself is Rajasthan Rajput hindu, these guys didnt even consider other hindus below them humans let alone fighting along side them.

Thats why i say RS was very clever. Not only sikhsm united jatts and dalits and everyone was equal just like in islam. But later on he will also get support from punjabi muslims and hindus. Thats why he was the only one from subcontinent who could face Afghans.

who?