What is Pakistan’s national dish? Hint: It’s not daal roti!

We have more cows, goats and dogs in India, many people own them, but our national animal is tiger. Similarly, national food should be the most exotic food you think you have.

daal sucks man:disagree:...plus national food doesn't mean it should be consumed by a large population i mean look at the national animal,sport etc...they are not that common....my vote is for chicken karahi.its a very simple recipie, doesn't take much time ( i can cook it under 35 minutes) and uses very few, easily available ingredients. plus its a personal favourite too ;-) infact i make the best damn karahi you will ever taste and thats a claim im prepared to prove anywhere anytime:cool:

I don't think you can eat the palao i wrote about legally in India :p:

Contrary to the popular belief in Pakistan, beef is very much available in India, legally. In some states only cow (female) slaughter is banned, and recently in two or three states bull slaughter has been banned. Buffalo slaughter is not banned anywhere though.

daal roti and sabzi roti bhai jaan ghareeb or khata hi kya hai yahan sabzi is liye because we are agricultural countries green ,
when I was in Sialkot some long time ago ..someone took me to a (shia) place in the city where they served a curry of 5 daals with naan during Moharram time in the evening just like free lunger of Golra sherif or data darbar.

.. tell you what .. that daal on the naan could beat any meat based dish hands down. being mainly a meat eater I found my self converted to the idea that a dish can be tasty & nourishing without meat.
We have more cows, goats and dogs in India, many people own them,.
I was going to say.. we eat them all even pigs if you check the recent reports

daal sucks man:disagree:...plus national food doesn't mean it should be consumed by a large population i mean look at the national animal,sport etc...they are not that common....my vote is for chicken karahi.its a very simple recipie, doesn't take much time ( i can cook it under 35 minutes) and uses very few, easily available ingredients. plus its a personal favourite too ;-) infact i make the best damn karahi you will ever taste and thats a claim im prepared to prove anywhere anytime:cool:
babu you havent eaten some daal dishes .. I dont mean any offence to whoever cooks for you. but a good quality daal cooked by a moderately expert person is equally tasty.. not saying it for political correctness I mean it .. take it from some one who used to consider eating daal as less manley and a punjabi thing to do.

when I was in Sialkot some long time ago ..someone took me to a (shia) place in the city where they served a curry of 5 daals with naan during Moharram time in the evening just like free lunger of Golra sherif or data darbar.

.. tell you what .. that daal on the naan could beat any meat based dish hands down. being mainly a meat eater I found my self converted to the idea that a dish can be tasty & nourishing without meat.

I was going to say.. we eat them all even pigs if you check the recent reports
i have eat some days ago in lahore data darbar it was very bad i went after 20 years and its went down now

11348263_1642634846024258_381196361_n.jpg
You!!!!!!!
Disgusting!!!!!!!!!!!
I was going to eat Biryani tonight.:mad:

i have eat some days ago in lahore data darbar it was very bad i went after 20 years and its went down now
depends on the cook and the quality as well. sorry to hear about bad cooking in data darbar.. buhu for Lahore

when i said good daal dish
I mean the thick daal curry.. not very watery. mash masoor, muung mix in a thick paste with herbs on a hot and soft naan .

in Uk we had an Indian student living with us from UP.. she was absolute vegetarian.. the vegetarian dishes she introduced to us (me and wife) gave us the chance to explore more Indian dishes and try food without meat as well.
talking about meat ,,,I see it as cheating because if its not from a decayed animal (like in Pakistan these days)... it will taste good to eat as long as its cooked decently by a moderate cook..

depends on the cook and the quality as well. sorry to hear about bad cooking in data darbar.. buhu for Lahore

I mean the thick daal curry.. not very watery. mash masoor, muung mix in a thick paste with herbs on a hot and soft naan .
yeah but that daal was like water and roti thinner then tissue paper

daal has an underserved disrepute. there is a daal cooked in my home, don't know if its mash or masoor or mong, but I love it in winters with butter or desi ghee.

in Uk we had an Indian student living with us from UP.. she was absolute vegetarian.. the vegetarian dishes she introduced to us (me and wife) gave us the chance to explore more Indian dishes and try food without meat as well.
talking about meat ,,,I see it as cheating because if its not from a decayed animal (like in Pakistan these days)... it will taste good to eat as long as its cooked decently by a moderate cook..

Fabulous bro. I don't see there will be lots of differences between Arab (less spicy but better than West) Pakistani and dishes are same except more beef involved in yours lifestyle. I really wonder even this beef eating started in wide scale when Arabs invaded us. As their deserty environment won't be good for cattles either. Bloody I wonder what they had before they invaded bharat. Think about eating mutton beef without pepper, garam masalas or even onions and other veggies added along with all our meat dishes.

Daal and roti has no comparison. Hope you enjoyed one of ur Indian friends who might have thought some nice vegetables curry base...

This post made me so hungry :toast_sign: