71st Republic of India's Independence Day Celebrations - 15th August 2017

2017-1947= 70 (i.e the difference between 1947 and 2017 is 70.)

Nobody includes the number that they start from, because using that ridiculous logic 2+2 would become 3 and not 4.

The snide comment about Pakistani math ability just makes your comment so much more stupid and cringey.

@Abingdonboy @Rollno21 Why did you rate this comment? it makes no sense.
It's simple- 1947 was the first independance day, 70 years later India marks its 71st Independance day- 1+70=71.

It's not the anniversary of the day that is being celebrated but the day itself.

Some are getting themselves confused because they are using the base year (1947) as 0, instead it should be 1.

Har Bhartiya ko Swatantra Divas ki hardik subkamnaye ..... I hope everyone stocked their booze because tomorrow is dry day.

Its 71st independence day including 1 st day of independence ,that is august 15th 1947.Year wise its 70th independence year but we celebrate independence day.I think you are clear now.
Yeah I asked because it is same in Pakistan.
Thanks

Basic Math, inclusive of 47 its 71, not sure why Pakistan lacks basic Math ability.
Wtf is wrong with you ?
You think you're super genius ?
@waz @Emmie @The Eagle .
Its the filth like him that brings down the quality of discussion. Pakistanis lacking basic mental ability was totally uncalled for comment

Thank you very much. I appreciate it.

You are welcome.

Being a Pakistani does not mean that I do not appreciate contributions of Indian leaders such as Pundit Moti Lal Nehru, Gandhi Ji, Sarojni Naidu, Abul Kalam Azad etc in the freedom struggle.

I acknowledge the fact that without the “Quit India” movement started by Gandhi Ji in August 1942, independence of both Pakistan & India could have been delayed by 10 years, may be a whole generation.

Time to move on and get over with this hatred. Happy Independence day Union of India.

It's simple- 1947 was the first independance day, 70 years later India marks its 71st Independance day- 1+70=71.

It's not the anniversary of the day that is being celebrated but the day itself.

Some are getting themselves confused because they are using the base year (1947) as 0, instead it should be 1.
just to be clear, we are celebrating our Independence day, we celebrated first one on 1947, so by simple logic this year should be 71st celebration, I don't understand the confusion here.

You aren't celebrating independence every year right? You are celebrating the anniversary of the independence, that means every year after 1947 an anniversary.

Thats how it works in other countries; base year is the independence date, and every year past that date is considered the anniversary which is what is celebrated.

International media is also portraying it as 70 years too.

Har Bhartiya ko Swatantra Divas ki hardik subkamnaye ..... I hope everyone stocked their booze because tomorrow is dry day.

aap sab ko bhi, hum Britainwasio ki taraf se lakh lakh vadhiya and shubh kamnaye. Jai hind. Booze is available in UK on every corner.

You aren't celebrating independence every year right? You are celebrating the anniversary of the independence, that means every year after 1947 an anniversary.

Thats how it works in other countries; base year is the independence date, and every year past that date is considered the anniversary which is what is celebrated.
It's the 71st Independace day it really isn't rocket science. I don't know where this sudden fascination for how India elects to nominate its Independace day celebrations is coming from- this has been how India has done it for SEVENTY YEARS.

Where were you clowns last year (70th Independace day) :

http://www.mapsofindia.com/my-india/government/70th-independence-day-of-india-2016

https://www.quora.com/How-is-it-the-70th-independence-day-and-not-69th-in-India

http://www.thehindu.com/news/resour...the-70th-Independence-Day/article14572771.ece

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com...s-india-with-fervour/articleshow/53709696.cms

http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/india-cele...t-2016-heres-history-significance-day-1575698

August 15 1947 was the FIRST, August 15 2017 is the SEVENTY FIRST.

Surely you have bigger things to find issue with?

@Nilgiri @gslv mk3 @Śakra
International media is also portraying it as 70 years too.

Who gives two hoots about that? Indians do what Indians want, they don't need the validation of the "international media".

Happy independence day guys . Let us be free of communal violence and not believe in rhetoric leaders. Jai shubash Chandra bose.