death traps across karachi

pak-marine

IN Karachi, the sad truth is that decades of haphazard growth and flouting of civic codes have created death traps across this vast, unwieldy city. Saturday’s blast in the Shershah area has once again illustrated this painful reality. At the time of writing, 17 people had been confirmed dead in the tragedy.

While investigation is underway to determine the exact cause of the explosion under the building built atop a sewerage drain, the bomb disposal squad has said leakage of sewer gases may have been responsible for the blast. The tragic fact is that in Karachi, it doesn’t need an act of terrorism to cause mass casualties; decades of civic neglect and official apathy have created a disfigured city where hazards are always lurking around the corner. The deadly results of this negligence manifest themselves often enough.

Read more: What next? Karachi waits with bated breath

Buildings erected on drains, encroachments blocking the natural flow of rainwater and structures built without regard to safety features or fire hazards result in frequent tragedies in the metropolis, with the authorities promising to get tough after every incident, but in reality doing little to change the situation on the ground.

The fact is that ‘fixing’ Karachi is a gargantuan task, as the city has been left to its own devices by successive federal and provincial governments. Structures built on drains or posing other safety hazards are in their hundreds, if not thousands.

A few months ago, a portion of the KMC’s Jubilee Market caved in, while there have been a number of deadly building collapses in the recent past. So the million-dollar question is: where does one begin to address decades of civic neglect in the metropolis? Perhaps there needs to be a thorough survey involving independent experts along with officials conducted to spot major hazards in the city, such as dangerous buildings or structures built on drains and other infrastructural hazards.

Thereafter, a rational plan needs to be followed whereby structures which pose a threat to human lives are brought down. In the long run, an elected, honest and professional civic administration is needed in the megacity that brooks no corruption, and puts the emphasis on safety and enforcement of civic codes. And while the Sindh government has passed an ordinance to regularise buildings, such legal instruments should in no way be allowed to green-light dangerous construction so that tragedies such as the Shershah episode are not repeated.

Published in Dawn, December 20th, 2021

Karachi belongs to Pakistan in the following ways:
For Sindhi nationals: we deserve all jobs, all resources, but working here is not our responsibility.
For Punjab: Karachi is an industrial threat, and if it emerged, then all industries in Punjab will go cold.
For Afghanis: it's easy to hide here.
For India: it's Pakistans lifeline, let's target it.
For Karachiites: we are here accidentally.

Metro bus, rail tracks, circular railway, coastal berths.... When people talk about these things, I don't know why I don't understand.

Karachi will be fixed when establishment wants.

Everyone wants to make quick buck from this city but nobody wants to uplift its infrastructure.

The thick heads dont realize if they improve this city, their revenues will go grow exponentially. People will work harder if they get basic rights and life necessities.

A tyrant can make slaves work under him, but its not guaranteed that the slave would restrain himself from slicing tyrant's neck during his sleep.

Everyone is drooling over the land of Karachi. I am amused.

What's the point of land when you cant even breathe here properly?

Greed has fogged their brains, literally. No rational mind in sight. Maybe people will realize when respiratory illnesses skyrocket.

Furthermore, I dont trust in these mafias to magically correct themselves, I have more trust in Allah's nature, it has great balancing.

City has no official plan or a map. A dozen authorities lay jurisdictional claim over the metropolitan area.

No one has seen Pakistan's official city plan for Karachi in over a decade. Forget about planning, the city should be depopulated but we have populist leaders promising jobs in Karachi to an extent that the officially 14.7mn strong city would need foreign work force. Before anyone scoffs at the 14.7mn figure, this is what a government of a country who has no official masterplan for the city propagate about her official population. Roughly 25mn people are found calling the city home as per locals.

Karachi will be fixed when establishment wants.

Everyone wants to make quick buck from this city but nobody wants to uplift its infrastructure.

The thick heads dont realize if they improve this city, their revenues will go grow exponentially. People will work harder if they get basic rights and life necessities.

A tyrant can make slaves work under him, but its not guaranteed that the slave would restrain himself from slicing tyrant's neck during his sleep.

Everyone is drooling over the land of Karachi. I am amused.

What's the point of land when you cant even breathe here properly?

Greed has fogged their brains, literally. No rational mind in sight. Maybe people will realize when respiratory illnesses skyrocket.

Furthermore, I dont trust in these mafias to magically correct themselves, I have more trust in Allah's nature, it has great balancing.
The PPP has blackmailed the establishment into threatening civil war with Sindhudesh if they get Karachi taken from them. So that is the end of that.

They blackmail greedy and opportunists. If you take extentsions you become compromised.

With Raheel Sharif, zardari ran away and even agreed to have military courts.

This letting nawaz sharif escape from chor darwaza and then whining about londons policies and letting ayaz sadiqs off the hook and making deals with shahbaz sharif makes ppp bolder.

Imagine if somebody had hanged shahbaz for model town, imprisoned nawaz and hanged ayaz sadiq, ppp would fall in line.

They blackmail greedy and opportunists. If you take extentsions you become compromised.

With Raheel Sharif, zardari ran away and even agreed to have military courts.

This letting nawaz sharif escape from chor darwaza and then whining about londons policies and letting ayaz sadiqs off the hook and making deals with shahbaz sharif makes ppp bolder.

Imagine if somebody had hanged shahbaz for model town, imprisoned nawaz and hanged ayaz sadiq, ppp would fall in line.
That train left the station with Musharraf in 99. Today with media and everyone having phones spreading news all over it is impossible. You will have civil war with PML(N) supporters crying “Jaag Punjabi Jaag”.

under protection of fauji mafia PPP has license to kill loot and destroy! i received an amazing msg few days back" Quaid e azaam bhi ajeeb thay
dha ki zameen peh Pakistan banna dalla"
That train left the station with Musharraf in 99. Today with media and everyone having phones spreading news all over it is impossible. You will have civil war with PML(N) supporters crying “Jaag Punjabi Jaag”.
that train left the day fauji became qabza mafia, 2 number real estate developer , thaikaydar!

ya jo Pakistan may mafia ki chowkidari hai us oeh peechay wardi hai"

Nahi bhai jaan aisa kuch nahi.

The establishment and PPP have long alliance, they both cover each other back, khanchays, 2numbari

Things got heated when CJP started taking actions against Qabza mafia, china cutting. Both are scared of their deeds going public,

Nasla tower was just tip of an iceberg its verdict has set a predecent, more surprises will follow. All castles made of glass will shatter, its about time.

There is no threat of any uprising or civil war. It's just an excuse to not to take responsibility and fix things.

Look at Erdogan, he took a bitter pill, even when Lira is crashing, he vowed not to increase interest rates and surrender to high interest loans. In long term, Turkey will come out as strong economy.

Harsh decisions hurt initially but they are better in long term.

The need of time is that Pakistani establishment needs to be honest with general public. Pakistanis are smart, they are not gullible like Indians. Dont treat us like dumb sheep. Work with us. Give us equal opportunities for building better Pakistan. Eliminate this elite culture, wadera, quota system.

Karachi belongs to Pakistan in following ways:
For Sindhi nationals: we deserve all jobs, all resources, but working here is not our responsibility.
For punjab : Karachi is an industrial threat, and if it emerged, then all industry in punjab will go cold.
For Afghanis: its easy to hide here.
For india: it's Pakistans life line, let's target it.
For Karachiites: we are here accidentally.

Metro bus, rail tracks, circular railway, coastal burths.... When people talk about these things, I don't know why I don't understand.
Blame everyone else yet karachi seems to poltically the most quiet city

No civil movements ...nothing..
Just complain..
And vote for bradery
We see 15% votes for PPPP 20% for MQM and rest for PTI
almost all based upon bradery system

Nahi bhai jaan aisa kuch nahi.

The establishment and PPP have long alliance, they both cover each other back, khanchays, 2numbari

Things got heated when CJP started taking actions against Qabza mafia, china cutting. Both are scared of their deeds going public,

Nasla tower was just tip of an iceberg its verdict has set a predecent, more surprises will follow. All castles made of glass will shatter, its about time.

There is no threat of any uprising or civil war. It's just an excuse to not to take responsibility and fix things.

Look at Erdogan, he took a bitter pill, even when Lira is crashing, he vowed not to increase interest rates and surrender to high interest loans. In long term, Turkey will come out as strong economy.

Harsh decisions hurt initially but they are better in long term.

The need of time is that Pakistani establishment needs to be honest with general public. Pakistanis are smart, they are not gullible like Indians. Dont treat us like dumb sheep. Work with us. Give us equal opportunities for building better Pakistan. Eliminate this elite culture, wadera, quota system.
Why do you think they cover each other?
Establishment "businesspaujis" make millions from everything in DHA( A major would not sign a plot transfer file for 4 months unless he got paid a big amount) to running petrol stations around national highway and so on. That is the deal PPP offered them in return.

Blame everyone else yet karachi seems to poltically the most quiet city

No civil movements ...nothing..
Just complain..
And vote for bradery
We see 15% votes for PPPP 20% for MQM and rest for PTI
almost all based upon bradery system
There is no Bradri System in Karachi- You must be thinking about Larkana while writing for Karachi. That's the thing. Sindhi Nationalists see Karachi some same a Jamshoro or Shahpurchaker... No guys, it's different.

I just look at numbers
You should look them up too
Hence despite karachi almost getting 38% seats next yr it will select PPPP

Karachi belongs to Pakistan in the following ways:
For Punjab: Karachi is an industrial threat, and if it emerged, then all industries in Punjab will go cold.
For Afghanis: it's easy to hide here.
For India: it's Pakistans lifeline, let's target it.
For Karachiites: we are here accidentally, but we will support the worst ethno-fascist terrorists who will align with the worst enemies of ours because we are too dumb and thick to see through our own ethnic traitors like Altaf and his merry band of bhatta khors forming alliances with PPP.

Metro bus, rail tracks, circular railway, coastal berths.... When people talk about these things, I don't know why I don't understand.