In campus war of legal wits, Pak students win India’s case

lemurian

In campus war of legal wits, Pak students win India’s case - Express India

When three budding Pakistani lawyers won their brief on a Delhi campus today, they succeeded in establishing the case that decades of official Indian diplomacy and legal erudition have struggled to make. The legal point in question: validity of Kashmir’s accession to India and Kashmiris’ right of self-determination. The battleground: a moot court on campus at National Law University (NLU) in Dwarka.

A high profile bench of sitting and retired justices and advocates declared Ayesha Bibi, Asmatullah Kakar and Arbab Muhammad Amjad of Balochistan University winners of the unique India-Pakistan Moot Court Competition organised by the Centre for Dialogue and Reconciliation (CDR) and NLU.

The Pakistani law students successfully defended the Indian position on Kashmir against their opponents from Amity Law School, Noida, who argued Pakistan’s case.

The aim of the contest was to encourage “clarity on the issue” and help law students of the two countries to transcend their respective national discourses and identify the issues involved under the four constitutions of India, Pakistan, and the two sides of Jammu and Kashmir.

Thirteen students from law schools in Islamabad, Karachi, Lahore and Balochistan participated in the competition. There were teams from eight law schools in India, including a team from Srinagar. There was a team from Muzaffarabad as well.

“Last year, we held an Indo-Pak lawyers’ conference. The lawyers talked about scores of legal issues that are unresolved. There were issues that even the top legal experts of the two countries had not heard of. Prof Madhava Menon gave this idea and we decided to hold this moot court competition where law students would interact and help bring fresh ideas,” said Sushoba Barve of CDR. “We are hoping to continue this exercise.”

The five-member bench that decided the winner of the competition comprised Justice Sanjay Kishan Kaul of Delhi High Court; Khalil-ur-Rehman Ramday, retired justice of Pakistan’s Supreme Court; Justice Bilal Nazki, former Chief Justice of Orissa High Court; and Talib Rizvi and R S Cheema, senior advocates in the Supreme Courts of Pakistan and India respectively.

Only one Pakistani team — the one from Balochistan — reach the semi final of the competition, where it successfully defended the Indian position on Kashmir’s accession against a team from Jindal Global Law University. The Pakistani students repeated their success with New Delhi’s brief in the final against another Indian team — a reversal of roles that seemed to have been enjoyed by everybody.

LOL did the Pakistani lawyers ever think that their Indian counterparts could have 'underperformed' ?

And is it any coincidence that the team is from Balochistan ? :smokin:

Lol....so even when pakistanis argue our claim on Kashmir....we win. Nice article .

It only shows that Pakistani team was more updated on the geo-political issues of both sides while the India team was probably more proficient on Bollywood affairs..it has no relation to actualy political situation..students of each country are made to represent their opponent side provide a charge of challenge and competition.

Congrats to the winning team, I am not going to discus on what they topic they supported, but its their arguing capacity that won them the unique price.
Congrats to the team.

I am not sure which Indian Law schools participated. Amity is hardly the top law school in India. As for Pakistan-

The team from Balochistan was one of the five Pakistani teams which participated in the moot court; the other four representing the International Islamic University (Islamabad), the Lahore University of Management Sciences, the Shahid Zulfikar Ali Bhutto Institute of Science and Technology (Karachi), and the University of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (Muzaffarabad)

The Hindu : News / National : Balochistan team wins moot court competition

It only shows that Pakistani team was more updated on the geo-political issues of both sides while the India team was probably more proficient on Bollywood affairs..it has no relation to actualy political situation..students of each country are made to represent their opponent side provide a charge of challenge and competition.

Wah !!! Congratulation to pakistanis and Pakistan for having proved once again('smirk') that they are superior to Indians..

Now...They have also proved that KASHMIR belongs to INDIA..dhinka chika dhinka chika !!!

dance-smiley-face.gif

The true skill of a lawyer is to defend something with which they don't agree and win the case. Anybody can put passion into something they like. That was the whole point of the role reversal which made it a much better test of skills.

so u agree that the geo politics of tday's world suggest that india controls kashmir for ever.. ha ha ha..har cheez pe augue nahi kar saktey pakistaniyo.. tumhaari jeet mein bhi tumhaari haar hai..

Congrats to the winning team, I am not going to discus on what they topic they supported, but its their arguing capacity that won them the unique price.
Congrats to the team.

screw ur logic... Ram jetmalani india's top lawyer was not able to get bail for RAJA.. ofcourse arguing capacity matters but with cases like india's position on kashmir it a open and shut case ruled in favour of india..aapko chahe accha lage ya bura..

Kudos to the Pakistani Team. Moot courts are not to be taken lightly and usually take preparations of weeks if not months. The researcher is the key member of any moot team. But the Indian law schools in the semis and finals- i.e. Jindal and Amity are not the best ones in India. Interesting idea this though, making students take positions of each others nations.

The true skill of a lawyer is to defend something with which they don't agree and win the case. Anybody can put passion into something they like. That was the whole point of the role reversal which made it a much better test of skills.

Lol or maybe our claim on kashmir is easily defensible. But ofcourse, your'e a pakistani and you would obviously disagree and in the event this thread gets longer than standard; throw a hissy fit.

screw ur logic... Ram jetmalani india's top lawyer was not able to get bail for RAJA.. ofcourse arguing capacity matters but with cases like india's position on kashmir it a open and shut case ruled in favour of india..aapko chahe accha lage ya bura..
the reason that I did not concentrate on the topic they argued is not to invite trolling in this thread, Being an Inteligent is better than being Emotional. And I put my brain to use in every situation, look at the thread.
The contest between Indian and Pakistani students was organized to promote good will not to show the world about the topic.

when you can not tolerate or understand your fellow Indian like me, how are you going to get accuinted with the rest of the world.