India - Journalist who exposed roti-salt meal in UP school dies of cancer

jamahir

Journalist Who Exposed Roti-Salt Meal In UP School Dies Of Cancer

The journalist was struggling to pay for his treatment and there were several public appeals from journalists to crowdfund for his medical bills.

All India Edited by Akhil Kumar Updated: May 05, 2022 4:26 pm IST

New Delhi : Uttar Pradesh journalist Pawan Jaiswal, who was in 2019 charged with conspiracy for filming students at a government school in Mirzapur eating rotis with salt as their midday meal, today died after a prolonged battle with mouth cancer. The journalist was struggling to pay for his treatment and there were several public appeals in the past month from journalists to crowdfund for his medical bills.

The video Mr Jaiswal shot, was from the Siur primary school in Jamalpur block of Mirzapur and showed young children sitting on the floor of the school corridor, eating rotis with salt under a flagship scheme of the central government.

The district administration had filed a police case against him, even when it acted on his information and swiftly suspended the teacher in charge of the school and the supervisor at the gram panchayat.

In the complaint to police, Block Education Officer of the area had accused Mr Jaiswal and a representative of the local village head of a conspiracy to defame the Uttar Pradesh government.

On the case filed against him, Pawan Jaiswal said in a video that anybody could verify the facts of the story. "I was informed several times about the irregularities in the mid-day meal in the school. Sometimes the children were being given salt and rotis and sometimes salt and rice. On August 22, when I shot the video, a person called me and I went to the school. Before going there, I called the assistant basic shiksha adhikari Brajesh Kumar Singh and told him I was going to the school," Mr Jaiswal said.

"After shooting the first video at around 12 pm, I called local reporters who spoke to the district magistrate. The DM went there and conducted an inquiry and suspended people. Now, a case has been filed against me because questions were asked from these people. This is an attack on journalism. Everyone is welcome to verify the facts of the story," he added.

The Editors Guild of India had condemned the state government's action and urged it to withdraw the cases. It also urged that the journalist is not harmed or harassed.

BJP leader Manoj Tiwari had then said Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath-led Uttar Pradesh government should honour Mr Jaiswal for exposing the corruption.

Mr Jaiswal was later given a clean chit by the government in the case.

---

Jamahir's comment : This is modern India where the 60+ million street dogs in India are well-protected and don't go hungry but school students who because of artificial poverty aren't able to obtain nutritious food like egg at home aren't also able to obtain nutritious food at school. Is the the comfortable India that Modi spoke about in Berlin a few days ago, eh @Sharma Ji ?

Additionally, the journalist wasn't able to obtain medical treatment for his mouth cancer because he didn't have the money to pay for it because healthcare isn't free in India. He died not because there is no treatment for mouth cancer in India but because he didn't have the artificial construct called money. This is not death but murder by the system. Is this the Vishwaguru ( Teacher to the world ) India that Modi told some international leaders in the beginning of 2021 ?

And @INDIAPOSITIVE, weren't you pointing to other countries not being in that press freedom ranking ? This brave and conscientious Indian journalist was jailed by next-PM-candidate Yogi for reporting truth.

@Mentee @fitpOsitive @Bilal9 @Joe Shearer

@-=virus=-, still will write poems and blow the been about Capitalism ?

Jamahir's comment : This is modern India where the 60+ million street dogs in India are well-protected and don't go hungry but school students who because of artificial poverty aren't able to obtain nutritious food like egg at home aren't also able to obtain nutritious food at school. Is the the comfortable India that Modi spoke about in Berlin a few days ago, eh @Sharma Ji ?

Additionally, the journalist wasn't able to obtain medical treatment for his mouth cancer because he didn't have the money to pay for it because healthcare isn't free in India. He died not because there is no treatment for mouth cancer in India but because he didn't have the artificial construct called money. This is not death but murder by the system. Is this the Vishwaguru ( Teacher to the world ) India that Modi told some international leaders in the beginning of 2021 ?

And @INDIAPOSITIVE, weren't you pointing to other countries not being in that press freedom ranking ? This brave and conscientious journalist was jailed by next-PM-candidate Yogi for reporting truth.

So ? some guy died of mouth cancer... What's my (or society at large') fault here ?

Rich people who can afford the best healthcare in the world also die of cancer all the time.

Sorry for his loved ones, death is always a tragedy but not always preventable.

So ? some guy died of mouth cancer... What's my (or society at large') fault here ?

Rich people who can afford the best healthcare in the world also die of cancer all the time.

Sorry for his loved ones, death is always a tragedy but not always preventable.

Alas, India does not have re-education camps for callous, Capitalist, non-empathetic and irrational people like you. It is your society that killed him, kept those school students half-hungry and fed those dogs instead.

Alas, India does not re-education camps for callous, Capitalist, non-empathetic and irrational people like you.
LOL

trust a batshiet insane and deluded communist like you to wish people into gulags..

Here's an idea.. you want the government to give you 3 free meals a day and clothing and shelter.. go kill someone and head to jail.. sab kuch free milega.. :sarcastic:

LOL

trust a batshiet insane and deluded communist like you to wish people into gulags ?

So calling for humans to live comfortably, in a harmonious society should mean the caller to be insane and deluded ? You will be called insane even in New York and London.

@-=virus=- mian.

Here's an idea.. you want the government to give you 3 free meals a day and clothing and shelter.. go kill someone and head to jail.. sab kuch free milega.. :sarcastic:

So those school students should have killed a person each instead of being in school just so that they could have good food ? :) I am not even bringing other cases. Great logic.

So calling for humans to live comfortably, in a harmonious society should mean the caller to be insane and deluded ? You will be called insane even in New York and London.
I'm all about living comfortably and in harmony and peace with others. Also already pay taxes and bills of all sorts.

Nobody's stopping you from doing charity, hell, set up an NGO... if you're actually that concerned about the whole world then stop posting here and actually go do something in the real world.

So those school students should have killed a person each instead of being in school just so that they could have good food ? :) I am not even bringing other cases. Great logic.
As usual.. baat upar se nikl gai aapke sir ke.

Again, I'm in no way responsible for all the poverty and social ills that plague India.. also take very good care of people in my employment to the extent possible.

Why don't you move to where things are the way you like it, socialist/commie/whatever... ?

I'm all about living comfortably and in harmony and peace with others. Also already pay taxes and bills of all sorts.

1. Your taxes are being used to build religion-linked statues, other religious structures, an unnecessary PM palace, to promote the PM's personality abroad, to keep India in the dubious club of being among the two largest importer of armaments in the world etc whereas your taxes should have been instead used to make India into a welfare-based society where this journalist should not have had to die of ill health because of lack of money, where the students would have "Sunday ho ya Monday roz khao ande" instead of one roti and a bit of salt, where the system would provide housing for free instead of people like you and Mukesh Ambani maintaining mansions while others lived on roads, in plastic shacks and other form of slums, where water was free, electricity was free, public transporation by bus was free, telecommunication was free and so on. But India is not a welfare-based system. Your taxes are being misused so you should protest.

2. No person should pay tax. Are we living under a feudal or a monarch to pay tax ? Tax is extortion which should not be there especially in a country calling itself the world's largest democracy.

Nobody's stopping you from doing charity, hell, set up an NGO... if you're actually that concerned about the whole world then stop posting here and actually go do something in the real world.

Charity hasn't worked for India in 75 years and never will. Charity doesn't work anywhere. Providing for the citizens is the job of the governance system and if a governance system cannot provide even basic facilities, the basic human rights, for its own citizens and spends its resources on the aforesaid atrocious things and allows you, Sharma ji, to protect and feed dogs instead then that governance system has no right to exist.

As usual.. baat upar se nikl gai aapke sir ke.

Look who's talking.

Again, I'm in no way responsible for all the poverty and social ills that plague India.. also take very good care of people in my employment to the extent possible.

Why don't you move to where things are the way you like it, socialist/commie/whatever... ?

You are definitely responsible not only in day-to-day life but also by saying "Go to Libya" instead of saying "Let's make India into a Libyan Jamahiriya". If you don't want to speak and work for the welfare of your own co-citizens it should be you who should leave.

Journalist Who Exposed Roti-Salt Meal In UP School Dies Of Cancer

The journalist was struggling to pay for his treatment and there were several public appeals from journalists to crowdfund for his medical bills.

All India Edited by Akhil Kumar Updated: May 05, 2022 4:26 pm IST

New Delhi : Uttar Pradesh journalist Pawan Jaiswal, who was in 2019 charged with conspiracy for filming students at a government school in Mirzapur eating rotis with salt as their midday meal, today died after a prolonged battle with mouth cancer. The journalist was struggling to pay for his treatment and there were several public appeals in the past month from journalists to crowdfund for his medical bills.

The video Mr Jaiswal shot, was from the Siur primary school in Jamalpur block of Mirzapur and showed young children sitting on the floor of the school corridor, eating rotis with salt under a flagship scheme of the central government.

The district administration had filed a police case against him, even when it acted on his information and swiftly suspended the teacher in charge of the school and the supervisor at the gram panchayat.

In the complaint to police, Block Education Officer of the area had accused Mr Jaiswal and a representative of the local village head of a conspiracy to defame the Uttar Pradesh government.

On the case filed against him, Pawan Jaiswal said in a video that anybody could verify the facts of the story. "I was informed several times about the irregularities in the mid-day meal in the school. Sometimes the children were being given salt and rotis and sometimes salt and rice. On August 22, when I shot the video, a person called me and I went to the school. Before going there, I called the assistant basic shiksha adhikari Brajesh Kumar Singh and told him I was going to the school," Mr Jaiswal said.

"After shooting the first video at around 12 pm, I called local reporters who spoke to the district magistrate. The DM went there and conducted an inquiry and suspended people. Now, a case has been filed against me because questions were asked from these people. This is an attack on journalism. Everyone is welcome to verify the facts of the story," he added.

The Editors Guild of India had condemned the state government's action and urged it to withdraw the cases. It also urged that the journalist is not harmed or harassed.

BJP leader Manoj Tiwari had then said Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath-led Uttar Pradesh government should honour Mr Jaiswal for exposing the corruption.

Mr Jaiswal was later given a clean chit by the government in the case.

---

And @INDIAPOSITIVE, weren't you pointing to other countries not being in that press freedom ranking ? This brave and conscientious Indian journalist was jailed by next-PM-candidate Yogi for reporting truth.

The people who go against the status quo, the established order, die of horrible deaths.
To fight the status quo and established haramis is to establish an institutional base first, just like Holy Prophet.

1652023673785.png

1652023739254.png

among few others, I have apartments in these developments ^

pay high'ish community maintenance "taxes" and they take quite good care of it, happy doing that.. residents are happy, workers are happy.. but this model can not be expanded on a country wide level to benefit all1.5 billion whatever.

why on earth should I pay for the upkeep/beautification/security/food and so on for where you live ? That's on you and your local community to do..

View attachment 842187

View attachment 842188

among few others, I have apartments in these developments ^

pay high'ish community maintenance "taxes" and they take quite good care of it, happy doing that.. residents are happy, workers are happy.. but this model can not be expanded on a country wide level to benefit all1.5 billion whatever.

why on earth should I pay for the upkeep/beautification/security/food and so on for where you live ? That's on you and your local community to do..

Are you a sadomasochist, wanting to make yourself hated ?

2. No person should pay tax. Are we living under a feudal or a monarch to pay tax ? Tax is extortion which should not be there especially in a country calling itself the world's largest democracy.
lo ji, kar di na ekdum brain dead baat.. was waiting for my daily dose of retardese from you... smh

how on earth is the state supposed to take care of the basics like road infra, national security etc etc if they do not earn ?

Charity hasn't worked for India in 75 years and never will. Charity doesn't work anywhere. Providing for the citizens is the job of the governance system and if a governance system cannot provide even basic facilities, the basic human rights, for its own citizens and spends its resources on the aforesaid atrocious things and allows you, Sharma ji, to protect and feed dogs instead then that governance system has no right to exist.
Charity works perfectly well, we have done plenty.. and seen the fruits of that investment.. some of the beneficiaries went on to do quite well for themselves, it raised their standard of living many fold and empowered them economically.

As one small example.. a local old school dhobi's kid runs his own private car and bike hire business now . Was a bright kid, was given free tuition by very kind teachers who saw a spark.. another example is this supremely hard working plumber.. saved his money, and now basically heads his own business, employs dozens of people.. drives a car, owns his house.. very humble nice guy.

I could regale you with such stories all night..

wtf have you ever done to help society and the needy but peddle this failed beggar ideology called communism ? ..

and what is wrong with doing charity and donating to animal charities ? when at my south India place, I often volunteer at an animal shelter, donate, make my car available, and help find good loving forever homes for dogs and cats after they've been cleaned up and inoculated.. many of which were taken back to their countries by expat adopters : )

You are definitely responsible not only in day-to-day life but also by saying "Go to Libya" instead of saying "Let's make India into a Libyan Jamahiriya". If you don't want to speak and work for the welfare of your own co-citizens it should be you who should leave.
Again, commie.. I do PLENTY of charity, for humans and for animals... within reason and limit of course.

again.. what about you ?

Libya, US, West, Japan and China is not my concern.. I'm an Indian, I will do what I can for here.

You're that bloody enamoured of X or Y place.. fukin' move there already. Don't be casting aspersions at everyone else who does not believe in your bat shite insane proven failure ideas..

Are you a sadomasochist, wanting to make yourself hated ?
jealous much ?

I'm guessing the view out of your dirty shanty doesn't look like that ?

You're free to hate all you want but.. excuse me, raat ho gai hai, I'll order some tandoori chicken and pour myself a drink or two of some excellent whisky while I wait for it.

brb, 2 minutes :)

1652025668305.png

1652025691016.png

lo ji, kar di na ekdum brain dead baat.. was waiting for my daily dose of retardese from you... smh

how on earth is the state supposed to take care of the basics like road infra, national security etc etc if they do not earn ?

Start here :
2022-05-08-160104_1024x768_scrot.png

What infrastructure ? India does not require unscientific, unnecessary and stupid bullet trains, metro trains, flyovers, sea links etc. I am sure you own two personal cars and two two-wheelers and there must be a few hundred million combined personal cars and two-wheelers in India and those have led to crime, unnecessary accidents ( 450,000 every year with 150,000 deaths ), chaos and disharmony. Ban personal vehicles and make public transport within cities only by buses and taxis. Simple.

What national security ? Killing Naxals from land and air and protecting right-wing criminals is national security for you ? How is defending daily big and small atrocities within the country while doing war mongering externally justifiable ? People are hungry and die of ill health because of money and you worry about something called national security ? First clear up your house.

Stop defending irrationality and stupidity.

wtf have you ever done to help society and the needy but peddle this failed beggar ideology called communism ? ..

Beggar ? That again shows your anti-human, Capitalist nature. Beggars don't drop from the sky but are made by a wrong socio-economic system.

What infrastructure ?
amazingly engineered bridges, nice new big 6 and 8 lane roads, amazing facelifts to our airports/train stations, metro rail systems, modern ports.. hell, even tier 2 and 3 small towns and cities have improved massively from the old days.

I am happy to be paying taxes that go toward those projects. :)

Like srsly, take a 6 month break from visiting any major city.. and when you return there's all this infra work happening everywhere.. amazing !

India does not require unscientific, unnecessary and stupid bullet trains, metro trains, flyovers, sea links etc. I am sure you own two personal cars and two two-wheelers and there must be a few hundred million combined personal cars and two-wheelers in India and those have led to crime, unnecessary accidents ( 450,000 every year with 150,000 deaths ), chaos and disharmony. Ban personal vehicles and make public transport within cities only by buses and taxis. Simple.
How on earth has me owning my own transport led to crime ? If anything, I helped in a small way to generate employment by giving them business.

Personal vehicles are great, what's your problem apart from jealousy ? It allows people to come and go as they please, freedom.

Nobody is stopping you from using only public transport if you so wish to.. I certainly do not wish to dictate how you move around, what you eat, or any other aspect of your life.. your life, you decide.

there's this nice verse in the Quran even which goes something like "your religion is yours, mine is mine.." .. I completely agree, let people do what they want.

What national security ? Killing Naxals from land and air and protecting right-wing criminals is national security for you ? How is defending daily big and small atrocities within the country while doing war mongering externally justifiable ?
Very big country, this.. I have no pro or anti naxal agenda.. they're just some random jungle commies who seem to have had a problem with successive governments, both the NDA now and UPA earlier and have carried out terrorist attacks against our forces.

The guilty should be prosecuted in a court of law, those who support the cause and tweet etc in favour of them should not be harassed.. JNU students and the like.

Stop defending irrationality and stupidity.
That I balk at the very idea of feeding, clothing and sheltering people like you is neither me being irrational, nor am I stupid for thinking that.

chal phut.. I got nothing for you.

Beggar ? That again shows your anti-human, Capitalist nature. Beggars don't drop from the sky but are made by a wrong socio-economic system.
I have never made anyone a beggar.. or ever stolen from anyone.. repaid whatever loans I might have taken, with whatever interest was agreed upon.

Philosophically speaking but, imo a lot of beggars are just unlucky people. We should all do some charity and help them so that they too may prosper.. all people deserve to live well and with dignity.

Your communism is a long dead and useless proven failure of an ideology.

Best you just make peace with how the world is rather than trying to change it.. start your own political party, why don't you ?

Hum bhi dekhen kitnay vote milege aapki is ideology ko :)

Alas, India does not have re-education camps for callous, Capitalist, non-empathetic and irrational people like you. It is your society that killed him, kept those school students half-hungry and fed those dogs instead.
Communists live in their own la la land of utopia where everyone has equal money, everyone gets free treatment, everyone sleeps with a full stomach, no one is homeless, but has not even a single example to show it being successful and possible. Spending on education by a $2.3 k GDP per capita country won’t be world class, improvements will come year on year, anyone can spend a lot on your utopian schemes only to get bankrupt in a few years.

1. Your taxes are being used to build religion-linked statues, other religious structures, an unnecessary PM palace, to promote the PM's personality abroad, to keep India in the dubious club of being among the two largest importer of armaments in the world etc whereas your taxes should have been instead used to make India into a welfare-based society where this journalist should not have had to die of ill health because of lack of money, where the students would have "Sunday ho ya Monday roz khao ande" instead of one roti and a bit of salt, where the system would provide housing for free instead of people like you and Mukesh Ambani maintaining mansions while others lived on roads, in plastic shacks and other form of slums, where water was free, electricity was free, public transporation by bus was free, telecommunication was free and so on. But India is not a welfare-based system. Your taxes are being misused so you should protest.
All that requires trillions of dollars, aapke abba huzoor paise denge?

Cancer is a silent killer, most of us ignore the early signs of cancer. And by the time we realize it, it’s already too late.