India, UK should keep eye on China military:British defence secretary Liam Fox

Veeru

China’s rapid military buildup is beeping on the United Kingdom’s radar as loudly as on India’s. British defence secretary Liam Fox said India and the UK would have to be “vigilant” about the continued expansion of China’s military forces — it is investing billions of dollars in a range of capabilities including strategic missiles, space-based assets, anti-ship ballistic missiles, fighter jets, aircraft carriers and submarines.

China’s official defence budget for 2010 stands at $78 billion, but the Pentagon estimates its actual military spending to be upwards of $150 billion. Fox said the emerging superpower’s intentions were hard to discern.

He said there was a case to examine China’s military transformation and strategic ambitions in view of its having crossed a certain threshold. India, along with the US and the UK, is concerned about how China plans to use its expanding military capabilities.

Fox said, “China has a interest in building up its military capabilities. But when it builds up to a certain level, naturally there will be questions about intent. We’re just going to have to be vigilant and see how it uses this influence.” He is the first British defence secretary to visit India since 2005.

Shortly after meeting defence minister A.K. Antony on Tuesday, Fox said the issue of ambiguity surrounding China’s “strategic intentions” came up during discussions and the UK shared India’s assessment about the Beijing’s increased assertiveness, including activities in Pakistan- occupied Kashmir.

India is worried about the double-digit growth in China’s defence spending over the previous 20 years and its rising military engagement with Pakistan.

The defence ministry has flagged concerns about the military implications of China and Pakistan joining forces in disputed territories in Jammu and Kashmir, illegally occupied by the two neighbours.

The US is also worried about China investing in building anti-ship ballistic missiles to serve as a deterrent to American aircraft carrier-led battle groups operating in the Pacific Ocean.

?India, UK should keep eye on China military? - Hindustan Times

Two eyes: As often as we can spare them. :LOTR :P

We already have set our focus on China now, BTW.

China’s rapid military buildup is beeping on the United Kingdom’s radar as loudly as on India’s. British defence secretary Liam Fox said India and the UK would have to be “vigilant” about the continued expansion of China’s military forces — it is investing billions of dollars in a range of capabilities including strategic missiles, space-based assets, anti-ship ballistic missiles, fighter jets, aircraft carriers and submarines.

China’s official defence budget for 2010 stands at $78 billion, but the Pentagon estimates its actual military spending to be upwards of $150 billion. Fox said the emerging superpower’s intentions were hard to discern.

He said there was a case to examine China’s military transformation and strategic ambitions in view of its having crossed a certain threshold. India, along with the US and the UK, is concerned about how China plans to use its expanding military capabilities.

Fox said, “China has a interest in building up its military capabilities. But when it builds up to a certain level, naturally there will be questions about intent. We’re just going to have to be vigilant and see how it uses this influence.” He is the first British defence secretary to visit India since 2005.

Shortly after meeting defence minister A.K. Antony on Tuesday, Fox said the issue of ambiguity surrounding China’s “strategic intentions” came up during discussions and the UK shared India’s assessment about the Beijing’s increased assertiveness, including activities in Pakistan- occupied Kashmir.

India is worried about the double-digit growth in China’s defence spending over the previous 20 years and its rising military engagement with Pakistan.

The defence ministry has flagged concerns about the military implications of China and Pakistan joining forces in disputed territories in Jammu and Kashmir, illegally occupied by the two neighbours.

The US is also worried about China investing in building anti-ship ballistic missiles to serve as a deterrent to American aircraft carrier-led battle groups operating in the Pacific Ocean.

?India, UK should keep eye on China military? - Hindustan Times
To keep an eye?....what will you do by keeping an eye.

All we have to do is to speed up our preparedness...just do it and see the change. but yes at the same time not questioning or crying upon China's build up...

Why is UK so worried about china..
Presently we have some minor issues with china which will most probably sorted out . If not then status quo will be maintained.

It is better for UK to sweep infront of its own door. The recent economic crisis and the UK austerity plan will lead to widespread unemployment and poverty. Now the UK is the forth economy in EU. It is better for UK to keep an eye on the following:
-Its declining economy
-Its possible fading out from the EU now that the Franch-German axis has emerged as the stumbling block in EU
-Argentinian claim over the Malvinas
-Spanish claim over the Gilbraltar
-Its declining military strength
-Its growing Indo-Pak population
:china::pakistan:

ohh the imaginary ghost of Chinese bogeyman! seriously china hasn't invaded anyone yet..and British are those fighting the "war of terror" for some middle eastern oil since last 2 decades. Its funny that British military is seeing the highest cost cutting on century while they talk about military engagement with world no.2 economy. Its not the military threat of China but rather the rising economic and social status of china as a peaceful and dependable friend which worries the west and their tail wagers.

don't post silly, china have invaded many nations and still bully many.

china still illegally occupying Tibet and many parts of India.

Why is UK so worried about china..
Presently we have some minor issues with china which will most probably sorted out . If not then status quo will be maintained.

don't you think you are living in dream
while the fact is we want good relation with them we have to make our force more strong else forget respect

The process of roping India in to western strategic alliances continues... bari mehengi hay yeh dosti :-)

bari mehengi hay yeh dosti :-)

Unless of course you seriously believe that people who could take their country from virtual bankruptcy to becoming the engine of economic growth the whole world is talking about, are so silly to let themselves be used by one country or another.

We are not the ones used to being used, you know. :azn:

The process of roping India in to western strategic alliances continues... bari mehengi hay yeh dosti :-)
We don't mind friendship. Alliance of any formal agreement is out of question. And I don't even understand the reason why UK is worried about China sitting thousands of miles away.

We are the only country on this planet that has good ties with countries on each others' throats. Russia, USA, Canada, EU, Japan, Israel, Arabian Peninsula, Eastern Europe, African Union, Brazil, Argentina, Iran, Iraq, Bhutan, Nepal, Maldives, Mauritius etc.

West is most welcome to join.

Unless of course you seriously believe that people who could take their country from virtual bankruptcy to becoming the engine of economic growth the whole world is talking about, are so silly to let themselves be used by one country or another.

Dil kay behlanay ko Ghalib yeh khayaal acha hai.

We are not the ones used to being used, you know. :azn:[/QUOTE]

Hehehe. But according to your press and government, we are the ones using the West :-) At least be consistent with your mudslinging :-)

yeh dosti nahi hai sirji... :)

And india is not that easy to get fall in any trap...

We know how to get work done and how to take advantage from west on there grwing concern about China..! As you can see yourself in recent devolopment....

It is for sure that india will capitalise this oportunity for its own intrest but can't fall in there trap..

As they say" you can change your friends but not your neighbour"...;)

Dil kay behlanay ko Ghalib yeh khayaal acha hai.

We are not the ones used to being used, you know. :azn:

Hehehe. But according to your press and government, we are the ones using the West :-) At least be consistent with your mudslinging :-)

doesn't matters who is using whom.....but ordinary pakistanis are paying the price thats for sure