Indian village mourns family who froze to death on US-Canada border

This is the sad scenario of the much bandied about hoopla of the "Gujarat Model".

As always in India, everything is for show.

You can have a hundred million dollar refinery and a billion dollar port in Gujarat built by the Ambanis and Adanis, but if you can't give people jobs, then how will they eat? These mega-billionaires ("Dhan-Kuber" is the word used in Eastern India) don't care about underclass people's welfare. Nor will the BJP politicians and fascists, who are in the pocket of these Billionaires.

India is the perfect example of unequal development and jobless growth where only the rich get richer and a few of their propagandist bhakt cheerleaders (like we have here on PDF) keep trumpeting how "advanced" a "superpower" India is. Looks fine on paper as per capita GNP and per capita GDP (PPP) but actual story is different.

In actuality middle and lower middle class people have little options but to illegally immigrate overseas. For a couple of peon jobs in UP - 50,000 people apply. This is the real face of India, whose "Aam Janta" never gets the benefit of supposed Indian "wealth". This is what I (and many other Bangladeshis) have seen from our frequent visits to India in the past and this is by BJP/VHP design. Preservation of the Brahmin status quo where underclass Hindu castes remain underclass and forever hungry.

In Bengali we have a saying, "Bahar mei fit-phaat, andar mei Sadarghat". Sadarghat is a notoriously filthy ferry terminal in old Dhaka. This is the real picture of India.

@jamahir bhai - can you kindly shed some light on what I spoke on this? What have you seen?
Went Saudi Arabia and saw many Bangladeshi workers. From taxi drivers, street sweepers, market stall traders, cleaners of Haram Shareef, hotel workers and chefs. The place was little Bangladesh.

Funny enough people from Pakistans Gujrat city situated in Punjab also have a habit of migrating to the west. Thousands migrated to several European countries in the 80s and 90s mainly to Italy, Spain and UK. Denmark and Norway also have large communities of these people, some are even third generation now.
Yep obssesion with doongi or something, they'll sell of anything just to go abroad
And it's not just Gujrat city, it's a disease of all CP areas

Nowadays some sarakis are also pushing going abroad to the limit but still not even close to CP

It's little to do with poverty but more of a cultural habit as eventhough people in CP live a good life comparitively (eventhough migrants are working class, rural people)

It's a good trait (if you think about it) in some ways cause you're willing to take risks for better future

but it's a slippery slope as you know this obsession of getting rich can result in these tragedies

This is the sad scenario of the much bandied about hoopla of the "Gujarat Model".

As always in India, everything is for show.

You can have a hundred million dollar refinery and a billion dollar port in Gujarat built by the Ambanis and Adanis, but if you can't give people jobs, then how will they eat? These mega-billionaires ("Dhan-Kuber" is the word used in Eastern India) don't care about underclass people's welfare. Nor will the BJP politicians and fascists, who are in the pocket of these Billionaires.

India is the perfect example of unequal development and jobless growth where only the rich get richer and a few of their propagandist bhakt cheerleaders (like we have here on PDF) keep trumpeting how "advanced" a "superpower" India is. Looks fine on paper as per capita GNP and per capita GDP (PPP) but actual story is different.

In actuality middle and lower middle class people have little options but to illegally immigrate overseas. For a couple of peon jobs in UP - 50,000 people apply. This is the real face of India, whose "Aam Janta" never gets the benefit of supposed Indian "wealth". This is what I (and many other Bangladeshis) have seen from our frequent visits to India in the past and this is by BJP/VHP design. Preservation of the Brahmin status quo where underclass Hindu castes remain underclass and forever hungry.

In Bengali we have a saying, "Bahar mei fit-phaat, andar mei Sadarghat". Sadarghat is a notoriously filthy ferry terminal in old Dhaka. This is the real picture of India.

@jamahir bhai - can you kindly shed some light on what I spoke on this? What have you seen?

@jamahir is under ban currently.

Went Saudi Arabia and saw many Bangladeshi workers. From taxi drivers, street sweepers, market stall traders, cleaners of Haram Shareef, hotel workers and chefs. The place was little Bangladesh.

Yes. The cleaners and street sweepers are workaday unskilled, uneducated people from Bangladesh that were sent there for this service per agreement between Saudi and Bangladesh authorities. They are legal immigrants, hard workers and were sent there by Saudi request. There is no shame in hard work.

The day that this will no longer be needed is fast approaching, there are plenty of construction jobs in Bangladesh now, and this will continue.

Yes. The cleaners and street sweepers are workaday unskilled, uneducated people from Bangladesh that were sent there for this service per agreement between Saudi and Bangladesh authorities. They are legal immigrants, hard workers and were sent there by Saudi request. There is no shame in hard work.

The day that this will no longer be needed is fast approaching, there are plenty of construction jobs in Bangladesh now, and this will continue.
Great for Bangladesh. I'm certain Pakistanis will continue to migrate and establish their communities in foreign lands.

we will miss their culinary skills man

The news is that the deceased was pretty well off but he still paid $100,000 to escape India and somehow to enter America. Why did he have to put his wife and kids through such trauma.
He was well off enough to get visas to Canada for him and his family, which is not easy to do. Usually, Indians go through Mexico because it's cheaper but more dangerous.

I suspect the man already had a job waiting for him -- to work in a motel or convenience store. He was a Patel, after all. They are networks for such people. You would be surprised how many illegal Indians work for Gujrati and Punjabi business owners, often taking advantage of them.

Gujartis and Punjabis on our side are two groups crazy about migrating to US/UK/Canada. It's sort of a thing ingrained from childhood to go to America as ultimate life goal. Even though most of them live a decent quality of life in India better than some impoverished states like Bihar they still wanna go and settle abroad even though it means doing menial jobs for rest of their lives. God knows why.
Becos they worshipped the white.

From what I've learnt they have acres of land with huge empty mansions.

@Great Janjua your hometown Kharian
They made a documentary on y'all 😁

Pakistanis love thier land that's for sure, even after living abroad for decades old school people don't consider themselves rich if they don't build mansions, land in Pak
Old man after living in Europe for most of his life still called himself farmer

@Great Janjua your hometown Kharian
They made a documentary on y'all 😁

Pakistanis love thier land that's for sure, even after living abroad for decades old school people don't consider themselves rich if they don't build mansions, land in Pak
Old man after living in Europe for most of his life still called himself farmer
Home sweet home. Pakistanis are very materialistic, anyone who has reasonable money will build a mansion foremost even if he goes broke afterwards. Also, Kharian is known for being a district of mansions mostly due to foreign presence.

He was well off enough to get visas to Canada for him and his family, which is not easy to do. Usually, Indians go through Mexico because it's cheaper but more dangerous.

I suspect the man already had a job waiting for him -- to work in a motel or convenience store. He was a Patel, after all. They are networks for such people. You would be surprised how many illegal Indians work for Gujrati and Punjabi business owners, often taking advantage of them.

Just supremely bad judgment and decisions - all around. :-(

Everyone is missing the elephant in the room though, that successive govts. in India failed to create everyday jobs for middle class folks to make a decent living.

If Indians are not educated enough to perform at backoffice jobs, what jobs can they get ?

I highlighted an article last week which showed that for three years there has been almost no growth in formal sector jobs.