Muslim children barred from entering Mumbai's Oberoi mall

For one, the mall is a private enterprise and the management can reserve the rights for entry.

Two, on festivals like eid, large number of young muslim boys are often seen trying to create a nuisance under the excuse of "celebrations". They often engage in eve teasing, hooliganism and thuggery. This is not unique to muslim youth. During festivals like ganesh chaturthi in Mumbai, large groups of young hindus are also prone to similar behavior.

A mall, which caters to a crowd comprising of families and children, can afford to allow these anti-social elements only at the cost of losing business.

The mall is catering to general population, they just can't say we wont allow slum do*gs.

Charging an entree fee only to to refund against purchase is probably the way to get around.

These kids got a few dollars to blow on Eid, xmas or Puja, they will just have to go somewhere else.

Why would malls deny customers or not want additional footfall during holidays? Time to introspect...what source is this exactly?

The thing is, it is customary on Eid for Muslims to go out, have a good time. Now kids, well they can't really afford to spend big, they will just go out and hanging out at the mall is a world renowned practice among kids everywhere. Since more people are out on Eid they don't want people who come to the mall and don't spend money. Of course, its still gross discrimination. You cannot presume the poor won't spend or that kids won't spend. When it happened to Oprah a few days back everyone was up in arms. This is no different.

I don't know what the hell is running through the minds of these idiots.
Will anyone in their right minds will discriminate people from a particular religion,especially Islam on any day,that too on Eid? With all the media,social network and a vibrant and responsive youth in a city like Mumbai?

Now here is an example of some Real Discrimination ......

Dhoti-clad Indian man stopped from travelling in Dubai Metro

Dubai: A 67-year-old Indian visitor was stopped from entering the Dubai Metro, apparently for wearing a traditional Indian dress - dhoti. According to the victim's daughter Madhumati, a policeman stopped them near the punching gates of the Etisalat Metro Station last Saturday and told her father that this dress was not allowed and he could not go on the Metro wearing it.

"I pleaded with him to let us go, but the policeman wouldn't hear a word. It was really embarrassing and my father was really upset," she was quoted as saying by the Gulf News. Madhumati said that she tried her best to explain to the policeman that the dhoti was an Indian traditional dress, which covers the body fully but to no avail.

She said her father, who is on a visit to Dubai, had travelled on the Metro wearing the same dress on various occasions but had never been stopped. According to the Roads and Transport Authority (RTA), it has no official RTA dress code or policy. "What has happened is really surprising. There is no official restriction from the RTA and we have not given instructions on dress codes," said Ramadan Abdullah, Director of Operations at the RTA's Rail Agency.

"I think anything that covers the body and is respectable should be allowed. I believe it was a personal reaction on the part of the policeman and this matter will be investigated." Abdullah urged the victim to approach the RTA with details of the incident which would help in the investigation. Madhumati has lodged a formal complaint in the matter.

Now how would the Arabs feel if India did not allow Burkha and Arabs with their white robes to walk around freely in India ? :azn:

i must admit Muslims wherever they go create problems..if bunch of muslims are rolling across a mall in canada they are usually stalked by a covert security officer.

The thing is, it is customary on Eid for Muslims to go out, have a good time. Now kids, well they can't really afford to spend big, they will just go out and hanging out at the mall is a world renowned practice among kids everywhere. Since more people are out on Eid they don't want people who come to the mall and don't spend money. Of course, its still gross discrimination. You cannot presume the poor won't spend or that kids won't spend. When it happened to Oprah a few days back everyone was up in arms. This is no different.

Before you draw conclusions, please read @Agnostic_Indian post in the previous page or else refer to the update on the article from the same source Muslim children were stopped for their safety: Oberoi Mall | ummid.com . It was a matter of safety not to allow any kids to go unaccompanied into the mall (for obvious reasons which I needn't explain here).
Nevertheless it is yet another example of hearing one side of the story and jumping to conclusions.

Fake news from obscure muslim website. How desperate can you get Pakistanis ??

for Pakistani...is entertainment not a sin in Muslim religion :D

FYI Muslims are treated 1000 times better in India than Hindus in Pakistan.....

Go worry about your Hindus ....Indian Muslims are non of your business

nothing new India is a Hell for Muslims.

But more Muslim get killed in haven Pakistan

Before you draw conclusions, please read @Agnostic_Indian post in the previous page or else refer to the update on the article from the same source Muslim children were stopped for their safety: Oberoi Mall | ummid.com . It was a matter of safety not to allow any kids to go unaccompanied into the mall (for obvious reasons which I needn't explain here).
Nevertheless it is yet another example of hearing one side of the story and jumping to conclusions.

"We are curbing your freedoms for your safety", is the old excuse of a tyrant.

You should read the statement more clearly..

"We would like to clarify that we only requested that the children, who were small and had come unattended, to be accompanied by adults for their own safety", th Oberoi Mall said in a statement sent to ummid.com. "We would follow this procedure to ensure the safety of any unattended small children that enter our mall, irrespective of their religion", it said. "We did not mean disrespect to any community", the statement said.

They never mentioned about children from any particular community.. It was for all the children

In yet another case of discrimination against Muslims in Mumbai, Muslim children on Eid holidays were on Sunday denied entry and forcibly stopped from entering a mall located in the city's suburbs, a media report said.

Yusuf Parmar, Vice President of Gujarat Muslim Sapai Samaj, said he was passing through Goregaon's Oberoi Mall Sunday evening when he saw Muslim children being stopped from entering the mall, according to a report published by local daily Urdu Times.

"The G4S security guards posted on the entrance were forcibly stopping the Muslim children from entering the mall", he alleged.

He said he enquired with the security guards why he was doing so, but he could not give any satisfactory reply.

He said he lodged the complaint with the mall authorities. In his complaint he also said that if the malls did not want Muslims, they should close the malls during Eid.

Parmar has also sent a copy of the complaint to Additional Police Commissioner Sunil Pawaskar.

"If suitable action is not taken, we will take the matter to higher authorities. If needed, we will also go to the court against the move", he said.

Parmar's allegations came a day after a National English daily reported that a mall in Gujarat's Ahemdabad was charging entry fee from Muslims.

Cases of discrimination against Muslims are not new to Mumbai, a city considered as cosmopolitan. Earlier, quite a few cases were found when Muslims were not allowed to purchase homes in housing societies run by non-Muslims.
- See more at: Muslim children barred from entering Mumbai's Oberoi mall | ummid.com

ha ha ha kuch aur nhi mila kya...bro this rule is not Muslim specific this is social status specific.Even on Diwali or Christmas this happens with every person who doesn't look like a potential consumer.These mall means Business not charity work or garden area to visit spend some time and get out.Even in New Delhi many malls stop entrance or put some entry fee in time of festivals.Put something good about discrimination something more sensible

nothing new India is a Hell for Muslims.

accha ji and Pakistan is heaven,ask somebody if they want to live in that heaven or not?calculate number of deaths of Muslims in Pakistan and than compare it with India and you dare to talk about heaven or hell.I dont know how can you accuse India for any damn thing when it is worst In your country.By facts and figures Pakistan can be converted into a hell anytime soon as this gonna be a battlefield of all the big battles