What's new

Roti and Bodybuilding

Punjabbi Munda

Reaction score
This is to ask any gym goers/bodybuilders in here.
Roti/Parantha is the most common thing in India,Pakistan anyone knows If it's good for bodybuilding?
I looked up online,some said it had great carbs and 1 57g roti has 4-8g protein and healthy fats!
But does it fit?I have used it in limited quantity since I can't get away from it at all.
Views,Experiences appreciated!:D

Roti/Parantha is the most common thing in India,Pakistan anyone knows If it's good for bodybuilding?
I looked up online,some said it had great carbs and 1 57g roti has 4-8g protein and healthy fats!
But does it fit?I have used it in limited quantity since I can't get away from it at all.

Whole-Wheat Flour is very Healthy so if you are eating roti/chapati or paratha [good cooking oil] made of Whole-Wheat Flour it will help you better digestion etc etc.

Mate I have been training for 3 years,but never could crack the roti myth.I have had it in limited amounts.
So wanted to ask people who have munched on it and still grown.

Bro it is better to just stay away and try whole wheats instead. It is good carbs but too much will mess with your training as well. Especially since our roti is usually used to eat our desi foods with their over indulgence of oils.

After working out, go for simple carbs like rice or polished wheat based rotis as your muscles are deprived of glycogen and providing a simple carbs/glucose will reload the glycogen in your muscles and start the healing process(you need to take some proteins as well in your food). Otherwise stick to Rotis as the complex carbs regulates the insulin levels - high insulin levels will cause fat deposits and cause you to bulk. In short, simple or complex carbs does not make a difference with weight training - the difference is between a six pack with muscles or bulky guy with muscles.

3 years? So this thread is more to mythbust the roti?