The atrocities in the 1971 civil war

It is shameful such actions have effectively gone unpunished because the West sided with Pakistan. India held the most POWs since WWII in her possession (93,000), a HUGE bargaining chip, but let them return home with little in return.

I was listening to a BBC podcast that travelled to Pakistan to see how the 1971 defeat shaped modern day Pakistan. The reporter (A Pakistani himself) and was effectively brought tot tears when he heard the lies the school children were being told about an international conspiracy that lead to the defeat in East Pakistan and the fact they refused to believe the Pakistani had arrayed out such genocide, rapes and war crimes. Like he said, the PA in Pakistan is like a cult following, no one wants to hear a bad thing said about them dispute the fact they are the main cause of most of Pakistan's problems.

The world needs to be reminded what has happenend. We must not let such tragedies be forgotten.

It's a misconception that we think anyone more than ourselves (the leaders) were to blame for the issues. Awami league was justified in creating the government, it won the elections. The squabble between the leaders was handled poorly.

The conspiracy angle has some part to play, but you guys look at it and fixate on it, as if we are unaware of the real issue and facts. Most people who did anything wrong are dead from that era. I know so much about it, when I wasn't even born during that time - so surely no one has forgotten it.

get-a-life.jpg

---------- Post added at 03:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:18 PM ----------

3 million? you believe tht? if you fo i bet you also believe in tooth fairy.

no sir. I don't believe that.. 3 million is too much. but there was genocide which you cant deny. topic is on 25th march. There is a hall for hindus in Dhaka university.... Military attacked on it and killed everyone they found... you will understand the nature if you observe Asad in syria now......

The number was around 20,000 or so... 3 million makes us look like Nazis... i mean a large scale genocide and the world didnt even notice?

OK let me ask you this since you are a Nationalist what according to you happened & did the fall of Dhaka & sepparation of pakistan had or hasany ill effects on the current rulers of Pakistan?

dont talk about the rulers thay are corrupt people and because of their mistakes East Pakistan separated .

Very sad and Painful...who can forget the Tikka Khan... Butcher of Bengal

It was a great pity, Tikka Khan was pulled back much earlier hence the events spiralled out of control and despite requests from other Commanders to let Tikka go....Yayha Khan kept him back. Those were sad events of forty years earlier but more closer to our times, certain Sajjan Kumar still walks free. !!

dont talk about the rulers thay are corrupt people and because of their mistakes East Pakistan separated .

And Which One's are you Talking about Doctor SIR ?

---------- Post added at 04:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:16 PM ----------

It was a great pity, Tikka Khan was pulled back much earlier hence the events spiralled out of control and despite requests from other Commanders to let Tikka go....Yayha Khan kept him back. Those were sad events of forty years earlier but more closer to our times, certain Sajjan Kumar d still walks free. !!

so now trolling begins & the thread is diverted to 1984 anty sikh riots from 1971 fall of dhaka ?

Thats an exellent way to advance as much as 13 whole years ! Man your good , I like IT ?

There were actually 300,000 deaths as have been revised by Bangladeshi historians.

The 300,000 deaths also has a mix of - rioting, killed by Mukti Bahini, pro-Pakistanis that were killed, killed by Pakistan army while fighting and defending, intentionally killed by Pakistan army as a authoritarian tactic, killed by Indian groups, Pakistanis killed by Indian troops, RAWs killings.

So the ones in which you can truly say Pakistanis are at fault would be the ones where civilian Bangladeshis were killed by Pakistan army as an authoritarian tactic. So many photos of the genocide have been proven to be photos of Indian soldiers killing and tyranizing Bangladeshis now, that nothing can be said for certain who did what.

It is also quite telling that Bangladeshis today at the people to people level are more friendly to Pakistanis than they are to India. The government to government level also changes as when the Awami League comes and goes. So all these factors are quite telling that the accusations that are made against Pakistan - are not true.

There were actually 300,000 deaths as have been revised by Bangladeshi historians.

The 300,000 deaths also has a mix of - rioting, killed by Mukti Bahini, pro-Pakistanis that were killed, killed by Pakistan army while fighting and defending, intentionally killed by Pakistan army as a authoritarian tactic, killed by Indian groups, Pakistanis killed by Indian troops, RAWs killings.

So the ones in which you can truly say Pakistanis are at fault would be the ones where civilian Bangladeshis were killed by Pakistan army as an authoritarian tactic. So many photos of the genocide have been proven to be photos of Indian soldiers killing and tyranizing Bangladeshis now, that nothing can be said for certain who did what.

It is also quite telling that Bangladeshis today at the people to people level are more friendly to Pakistanis than they are to India. The government to government level also changes as when the Awami League comes and goes. So all these factors are quite telling that the accusations that are made against Pakistan - are not true.

This is getting better , chalo ji

Yahan Se

The number was around 20,000 or so... 3 million makes us look like Nazis... i mean a large scale genocide and the world didnt even notice
Yahan Tak to pahunche

]There were actually 300,000 deaths as have been revised by Bangladeshi historians.

so now trolling begins & the thread is diverted to 1984 anty sikh riots from 1971 fall of dhaka ?

Thats an exellent way to advance as much as 13 whole years ! Man your good , I like IT ?

Not exactly, it's a false notion that Tikka was responsible for the so called genocide, in any case the situation in East Pakistan due to Indian interference developed into a full fledged war, hence casualties are expected and no one should make an excuse for them, however the Sikh massacre was far from any war like footings....Crocodile tears may look good on an open forum but a little introspection wouldn't go a miss.

Shagird - Woh Hain Zara Khafa Khafa - Mohd.Rafi & Lata Mangeshkar - YouTube

VIEW: Fall of Dhaka and a fall guy —D Asghar

The biggest issue with our nation is that we never want to reflect on our mistakes with honesty. We never want to offer an honest introspection

If hypocrisy was a sport, undoubtedly we Pakistanis would be the world champions. True to the core, till this day we are unmoved by the atrocities we unleashed on our eastern wing and dub it all as a conspiracy. Heck, we do not even want to accept our own mistakes and apologise to the millions of Bangladeshis because how could we possibly be wrong.

Every time December comes, the wounds of a shameful and utterly disgraceful defeat are renewed. The images of helpless Bengalis and their massacre by our ‘valiant soldiers’ comes to mind. There are certain people who want to put the blame on a so-called controversial individual, Zulfikar Ali Bhutto (ZAB). Till this day, these individuals blast a false narrative and consider ZAB responsible for the breakup of united Pakistan.

There is no denying that East Pakistan was feeling isolated for a long time. Again, as a totally lay person, I would like to raise a few points here. Even prior to Ayub Khan’s martial law, there was discontent in that area. Yes, Bhutto served in Ayub’s regime, but his rise was attributed to being a young and bold foreign minister. He was not an Interior Minister and had little to do with East Pakistan.

ZAB may have been controversial, passionate and extremely zestful, but in no shape or form can he be held responsible for this ugly episode. Back in 1967, when he formed the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), he had already distanced himself from Ayub’s regime totally.

The grievances of the people of East Pakistan were ignored by the mighty military establishment. By the time General Ayub handed the baton over to General Yahya, ZAB’s political career had taken off. He was no longer a government minister but a true political leader with a solid backing of the people.

It was shocking for the military establishment to witness the mandate of the people from both wings in the elections of 1970. It has been proved time and again that when the people of Pakistan have been given their right to vote, they have always chosen the progressives. The Awami League’s victory in the then East Pakistan and the PPP’s dominance in West Pakistan was well expected.

Needless to say, even at that point, the establishment was unwilling to accept that mandate. Was it not ZAB who offered Sheikh Mujibur Rehman and his Awami League to form a government with him? He did offer Mujib to become prime minister of a united Pakistan.

The discontent among the Bengalis was overwhelming and they were able to read the writing on the wall. Was it ZAB who was holding power in Islamabad and unwilling to transfer it to the elected leaders? For that matter, who unleashed the full-fledged military operation in East Pakistan, in order to crush a so-called ‘Indian-supported conspiracy’? Can anyone in their right mind come up with any logical explanation who gave those orders and why? Was it ZAB who cajoled the military to do so? Why would have the military followed the commands of a civilian leader?

Who raised the squads of Al-Shams and Al-Badr (militias) in the troubled eastern wing? Who was responsible for rape, murder and mayhem in that area? Who left thousands of illegitimate children behind? Who gave the nation a false narrative that all was well and our valiant soldiers were going to crush this ‘evil conspiracy’? Who surrendered on December 16, 1971– was it ZAB or A K Niazi?

The biggest issue with our nation is that we never want to reflect on our mistakes with honesty. We never want to offer an honest introspection. Back then when ZAB became the first civilian Martial Law Administrator, he was ridiculed. Till this day, some misguided people use that as an epithet against him. The question to ask very honestly is why he did that. He was wary of his predecessors and their antics. Given the major debacle that the nation had gone through, was it not wise of him to do so? If he had any evil intentions, then why did he not cling on to that dictatorial power?

If anything, our establishment is indebted to ZAB for negotiating the safe return of 90,000 prisoners of war. It was ZAB who went to Simla and made that impossible thing happen. If he had any vendetta against the Bengalis, why would have ZAB accepted Bangladesh as a separate nation? Why would he go to Dhaka and lay wreaths on their monument of the fallen? Why would he meet Mujib again and embrace him at the historic Islamic Summit in 1974 in Lahore?

As always, shying away from our history is very easy and laying the blame on ZAB is even easier. We invent our own history to suit our own egos. We have high regard for a term called ‘conspiracy’. Any time we are unable to face the truth, we give it a facade of conspiracy and try to create an enemy or invent a fall guy.

ZAB may have done a lot of things as an elected prime minister of Pakistan that the people may vehemently disagree with but to blame him as the culprit behind the breakup of Pakistan is downright dishonest and inaccurate. The irony is that till this day we are in the same mode and unwilling to face and accept the reality. History can never be fabricated. Someone, somewhere, accounts for the truth. Accepting and learning from that bitter truth can perhaps make us understand ourselves better.

The writer is a Pakistani-American mortgage banker by profession. He blogs at D Asghar's Political Prism and can be reached at dasghar@aol.com. He tweets at Twitter

^ i read once -When Pakistani soldiers were being arrested by indian soldiers, a mukti cried.. When he was asked about it by other Muktis, he replied '' i can't tolerate it that muslims are taken pows by hindus'' . This is common mentality in Bangladesh.... They will support pakistan always against india on religious background.... Anyway this doesnt prove genocide false.. Pakistan took the strategy of killing everyone who opposes military (even innocent doctors ).... But it backfired. The more they killed, the more people joined Mukti out of conscience or avenging mentality..... Yes they killed many in reply but it is nowhere near Pakistani genocide.......

This is getting better , chalo ji

Yahan Se

The number was around 20,000 or so... 3 million makes us look like Nazis... i mean a large scale genocide and the world didnt even notice
Yahan Tak to pahunche

]There were actually 300,000 deaths as have been revised by Bangladeshi historians.

Pakistan - 25 thousand.
Bangladesh - 30 Lakh
actually both are nationalistic verson of history...
Actual death count is around 2-3 lakh..

And Which One's are you Talking about Doctor SIR ?

---------- Post added at 04:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:16 PM ----------

Bhutto and Mujeeb both were failed in power sharing formula + Yehya khan was drunk idiot who had no knowledge whats happening there . And look at our current Poltical leadership : Mr . Zardari and only this name can describe you the whole story .
BTW this 3 million genocide number is exaggerated i advise you to read the Sarmila Boss and she did research on this and she mentioned that this is overly exaggerated number and its far less than this