The Great Indian Ocean Game

When did 2 CBG out of 5-6 become all it's power?

And you forget that engaging a CBG group would also mean having to engage many cruisers and destroyers armed with hundreds of long-range SAMs.

So 2 chinese CBG would be more than enough for entire IN with IA and shore based support? Martian destroyers/subs?

Are you carzy?

So 2 chinese CBG would be more than enough for entire IN with IA and shore based support? Martian destroyers/subs?

Are you carzy?

I was not saying that at all.

It would be enough to cause a major headache to the Indian Navy and air-force and there is no guarantee that India would prevail.

You forget finding and targeting a CBG in the middle of a vast ocean would be extremely hard. See the link below as it makes interesting reading:

http://www.lexingtoninstitute.org/l.../Defense/aircraft-carrier-invulnerability.pdf

It would be enough to cause a major headache to the Indian Navy and air-force and there is no guarantee that India would prevail.

You forget finding and targeting a CBG in the middle of a vast ocean would be extremely hard. See the link below as it makes interesting reading:

http://www.lexingtoninstitute.org/l.../Defense/aircraft-carrier-invulnerability.pdf

You were designating chinese navy as No. 2 i.e. more powerful than indian navy in indian ocean.

Just being a headache doesn't make you more stronger, Taliban is headache to whole of the world.

Chinese navy is ultimately going to lose in navies war if it comes as offensive force and war theater is Indian ocean.

You are big time undermining the close proximity of indian shore facilities.

You cannot answer my points then.

Have a good day.:enjoy:
well look at it this way

1. china has hypothatically 6 CGBs + 40 neuklear & conventional subs OK

2.now china needs at least 2/3rd= 4 CGBs +30 subs to keep itself safe from its eastern and western enemies right

3. it can send 2 CBGs +10 subs to attack india

now the indian part

1. even if they are able to escape A&N and all that blah blah they stillhave to face 4 indian CBGs = vikrant, Vikrmaditya,Vishal & Virat all with a escort of ships you just described ... ratio of 2:1... even if they get past it at least 100 surface cobatant ships and 14 subs + 4 neuklear subs + 12 P8is+ at least 200 fighter aircrafts(land based) and not to forget entire indian army will engage china on indo -china border which will open up its eastern flank(so they will onli send 1/2 of its air force & army against india) while india will dispatch 2/3rd of its air force + 2/3rd of its army towards indo china sector

2. as for pakistan well 1/4th army & airforce is more than enof as india has its 'other army' para milltarry forces to keep bangladesh and rouge forces within india to control

3. ever wondered why china is not able to attack japan and ennex small states like vietnam, S korea & Taiwan..... well bhai compound it to ratio of 1:3 now

so please care to tell me will china take such a risk even if you leave owt US/japnese active and passive help to india

my dear thing is india is prepairing for that very thing since 1962(remember that in 1971 sam amkenshaw waited for offensive aginst east pakistan till december for no reason)

all indian might is to tackle China well almost cause pakistan is a very formidable enemy no dought but not that leathel as china can always be

hope you got my point sir ... Good night and sweet dreams

not this sh!t again.... :cheesy: nobody can threaten a ship/submarine in international water..and not the same "String of Pearl" sh!t again.there is no String of Pearl..
lok at it this way pakistanies love to hate india and want to finish india at any cost but they know they cant so want china to resceu them but as world always works ...."nobody safes a sinking ship "

ever tried to learn about other indian ships / supporting aircrafts than CBGs and subs alone buddy :azn:

lok at it this way pakistanies love to hate india and want to finish india at any cost but they know they cant so want china to resceu them but as world always works ...."nobody safes a sinking ship "

they always dreamt about being strong by jumping into someone's camp,and ended up getting busted every time.so,I barely counted them.as for some naive member's comment who is trying to being China into IOR,China has same level of presence what India has in SCS,a big ZERO.no permanent foothold,just patrolling effort,thats all.

INS Vishal is not planned to be commissioned till the middle of the next decade and then India would have 3 carriers.

A lot of Indians forget that CBGs are expensive and India cannot really afford more than 3 CBGs by 2030.

India just does not need to have more than three operational CBGs. India has no plans to attack Mongolia or Finland or colonise Antarctica.

hahahahahaha tum koi biwi ho uski ke tum se pareshan hai?? :p
Nahi, hum uske baap hai

What in the world is a stealth frigate?? Stealthy ho gi...complete stealth mushkil hai.

U say it as if wo paas aa ke bhaoo kare gi aur kisi ko pta bhi ni chalay ga :p
google par INS Shivalik type krke search karo sab pta chal jaega

China can send two carriers( say 1 nuclear and 1 conventional) by the route South of Australia, bypassing the Malacca straights entirely, and that would cause Indian a major headache. You forget that these 2 carriers will be escorted by many cruisers, destroyers and submarines and so it would be very powerful force indeed.

Conventional submarines would be useless in the open waters of the Indian Ocean and India would have to send it's few nuclear submarines to try to engage the Chinese fleet. China has a 40 year head start on India in building nuclear submarines so I do not think that Indian SSNs would far too well.
mr. ukbengali maybe china has the experience of building submarines but Indians have the experience of sinking the enemy submarines, back in 1971 when IN sank PNS Muhafij, PNS ghazi and many more of their vessels it did used subs to do it, so plz dont apply your brilliant military mind and let the IN take care of the chinese

1. even if they are able to escape A&N and all that blah blah they stillhave to face 4 indian CBGs = vikrant, Vikrmaditya,Vishal & Virat all with a escort of ships you just described ... ratio of 2:1... even if they get past it at least 100 surface cobatant ships and 14 subs + 4 neuklear subs + 12 P8is+ at least 200 fighter aircrafts(land based) and not to forget entire indian army will engage china on indo -china border which will open up its eastern flank(so they will onli send 1/2 of its air force & army against india) while india will dispatch 2/3rd of its air force + 2/3rd of its army towards indo china sector

A Chinese CBG will not be sent to the IOR to attack India in a China/India crisis only.

A much more likely situation will be in case of tensions between India and Pakistan and BD - I know that it is fetched to imagine a decently militarily strong BD but it can theoretically happen if the will was there.

Now, for the last time, there is no need for a Chinese CBG to ever pass A&N as they can just sail south of Australia and then swing east to approach southern or even eastern India.

The point that I am trying to make is that if China was to send 2 CBGs into the IOR to approach India that would tie up a lot of resources(most of the Navy and hundreds of land-based fighter aircraft) that India will find it hard to muster enough resources to deal with whatever situation it was facing and also protect all it's other borders.

In short, India will have to take into account the Chinese Navy for the first time in South Asian military situations.

You will not agree due to nationalism but facts are facts. A country that is 5 times richer and more industrially developed can do something like this against the weaker country.

A Chinese CBG will not be sent to the IOR to attack India in a China/India crisis only.

A much more likely situation will be in case of tensions between India and Pakistan and BD - I know that it is fetched to imagine a decently militarily strong BD but it can theoretically happen if the will was there.

Now, for the last time, there is no need for a Chinese CBG to ever pass A&N as they can just sail south of Australia and then swing east to approach southern or even eastern India.

The point that I am trying to make is that if China was to send 2 CBGs into the IOR to approach India that would tie up a lot of resources(most of the Navy and hundreds of land-based fighter aircraft) that India will find it hard to muster enough resources to deal with whatever situation it was facing and also protect all it's other borders.

In short, India will have to take into account the Chinese Navy for the first time in South Asian military situations.

You will not agree due to nationalism but facts are facts. A country that is 5 times richer and more industrially developed can do something like this against the weaker country.

didn't I replied against your same "R3t@rd3d" logic one month back?????an AC can't deploy all resources at air.so,even if they could deploy 2/3 of their 50 jets(max,so 2 CBG means 100) aircraft for fleet protection,its very tough to give protection against aircrafts from shore based facilities of India armed with long range anti ship cruise missiles.we could use AWACS,Refuelers,drones etc with full potential which they'll lack.so,are you sure when you wish to deploy a CBG to so close of another country without neutralising it???then FYI,even aircrafts from southern airfileds can carry out this kind of job without much hinderence.

by the way,let them even get a proper "Carrier" first.

didn't I replied against your same "R3t@rd3d" logic one month back?????an AC can't deploy all resources at air.so,even if they could deploy 2/3 of their 50 jets(max,so 2 CBG means 100) aircraft for fleet protection,its very tough to give protection against aircrafts from shore based facilities of India armed with long range anti ship cruise missiles.we could use AWACS,Refuelers,drones etc with full potential which they'll lack.so,are you sure when you wish to deploy a CBG to so close of another country without neutralising it???then FYI,even aircrafts from southern airfileds can carry out this kind of job without much hinderence.

by the way,let them even get a proper "Carrier" first.

You think the CBGs will just sit there and take it up the backs*de?!

Those airfields can be targeted by cruise missiles fired from the escorts. Say 4 Type-55 cruisers and 4 Type-052D destroyers are with the 2 CBGs. They could have easily 1000 missiles, including 2-300 hundred cruise missiles ready for action.

And 2 CBGs(assuming 1 100, 000 tonne nuclear and 1 70-80,000 conventional) would have around 150 aircraft and that would include full-spec AWACs launched from catapults.

Seriously, stop being so nationalistic and try to think about this neutrally - China is 5 times larger than India GDP-wise and seems like it will stay that way in 2030. When there is such a power difference between countries then this kind of situation is possible.

You think the CBGs will just sit there and take it up the backs*de?!

Those airfields can be targeted by cruise missiles fired from the escorts. Say 4 Type-55 cruisers and 4 Type-052D destroyers are with the 2 CBGs. They could have easily 1000 missiles, including 2-300 hundred cruise missiles ready for action.

And 2 CBGs(assuming 1 100, 000 tonne nuclear and 1 70-80,000 conventional) would have around 150 aircraft and that would include full-spec AWACs launched from catapults.

Seriously, stop being so nationalistic and try to think about this neutrally - China is 5 times larger than India GDP-wise and seems like it will stay that way in 2030. When there is such a power difference between countries then this kind of situation is possible.

one word...delusional...1000 cruise missiles???(before that,there'll be a nuclear war man.we're not P-U-N-Y Iraq(or BD,whatever you prefer) and China isn't USA)100000 ton nuclear carrier???150 aircrafts(Ford class supercarrier carries around 50 aircrafts and around 50 helos and AWACS)???Catapult??(Chinese will still make first 3 carriers as STOBAR).and all that within 2030??? :rofl: and you're claiming I'm "Nationalistic"???what about one word about you,say "Cheer Leader"???

well,say what,we'll have 5000 km range ASBM within 2030.so,we'll launch those when Chinese CBG at SCS.and new coral reefs for tourists.now,sleep tight.