The Reality of US Aid to Pakistan

Hoe many 'liberal commentators' bashing the ISI/PA are in that 'classified list' of people receiving $100,000 payments I wonder ...

^^ Let's first see how many of them are here on this forum?

And what you do after seeing them?
I can tell you.You do nothing.
And what exactly can we do?

Legally, the first thing that would have to be done is to prove that these entities/individuals are receiving 'funds from foreign sources'. Then, the government would have to prove that taking foreign funds from these particular sources is 'illegal under Pakistani Law'.

When it comes to treason there are even higher bars to meet - the government would have to prove that the funds accepted from foreign sources were used to overtly/covertly undermine Pakistan and/or its institutions.

And it likely isn't just some 'liberal commentators bashing the military/ISI' - the recipients of these '$100,000' pay-outs likely include bureaucrats and some lower level politicians as well.

Outside of assigning 'hit squads' the task of neutralizing these individuals, there isn't an easy way to eliminate the problem, and even with 'hit squads', significant resources would have to be devoted to tracking and monitoring these individuals to determine their source of funding etc.

And what exactly can we do?

Legally, the first thing that would have to be done is to prove that these entities/individuals are receiving 'funds from foreign sources'. Then, the government would have to prove that taking foreign funds from these particular sources is 'illegal under Pakistani Law'.

When it comes to treason there are even higher bars to meet - the government would have to prove that the funds accepted from foreign sources were used to overtly/covertly undermine Pakistan and/or its institutions.

And it likely isn't just some 'liberal commentators bashing the military/ISI' - the recipients of these '$100,000' pay-outs likely include bureaucrats and some lower level politicians as well.

Outside of assigning 'hit squads' the task of neutralizing these individuals, there isn't an easy way to eliminate the problem, and even with 'hit squads', significant resources would have to be devoted to tracking and monitoring these individuals to determine their source of funding etc.

Yaar ye tu baray baad ki baat hai..for now, i am surprised by the American Badmashi, i mean, they are telling 'us' to pay those who are working against us. Loha kar diya hai janab..!!

Money is only a side issue. The peddling of visa and green cards for sons and daughters and other relatives, plus all sorts of visiting "fellowships" etc. provide for a much more enticing and enduring leverage at multiple levels.

Of course, many jobs are done by only a couple of bottles too. ;)

Yaar ye tu baray baad ki baat hai..for now, i am surprised by the American Badmashi, i mean, they are telling 'us' to pay those who are working against us. Loha kar diya hai janab..!!

And to think, if they really had 'better relations with Pakistan and Pakistanis' as a goal, all they had to do was pursue a more 'balanced and rational' foreign policy towards Pakistan, that took into account Pakistan's legitimate national security concerns, and they wouldn't be spending billions of dollars on covert psy-ops, buying influence and running covert military/intelligence operations in Pakistan.

1#
Then, the government would have to prove that taking foreign funds from these particular sources is 'illegal under Pakistani Law'.
2#
the government would have to prove that the funds accepted from foreign sources were used to overtly/covertly undermine Pakistan and/or its institutions.

Sir Jee!
That's exactly what I mean when I say we can do nothing.
There is no such thing as government in Pakistan.

i think the ''vaccine'' op will surely have a detrimental affect on the GENUINE aid efforts.....

now Pakistan should review which aid orgs operate in Pakistan. It may be unfair to those enjoying their support, but its also unfair to lie and give fake vaccines.

Pakistan does not need us aid. Pakistan should stop using dollar for trade, encourage Pakistanis to keep thier mone in Pakistan, and bring back home thier money, sign agreements with countries such as china to add each others currency as reserves, ban on trade with India, strict control over inflow of containers from afghanistan, establishement of a NOT NEEDED list, which will include items which are not allowed to be imported, such as highly expensive cars, as no use of those cars in Pakistan, you will never be ablet to drive them at their maximum speed. and other cars provide equal luxury, et cetc....

If you think this is gonna a long term solution and need a shortcut...... HANG ZARDARI & CO, NAWAZ & CO, ALTAF & CO, BACHA & CO, MUSHARAF & CO. all will be fine.

Pakistan does not need us aid. Pakistan should stop using dollar for trade

even China doesnt do that...how can we? Until things DO change, the dollar is still the most preferred transactional currency. We can't change that.

encourage Pakistanis to keep thier mone in Pakistan

Absolutely....actually, in 2008 during the Forex meltdown period ---many rich Pakistanis were taking their money overseas...It's not a patriotic thing to do, though I cant 100% blame them. Contagion affects however can prove deadly for a countries macroeconomic stability and of course foreign investor confidence. Since then situation has stabilized somewhat; and in fact it is lower & middle class families who have helped a lot with the remmitance payments into Pakistan (they are at an all-time high)

there has to be a collective effort by all

and bring back home thier money, sign agreements with countries such as china to add each others currency as reserves, ban on trade with India, strict control over inflow of containers from afghanistan, establishement of a NOT NEEDED list, which will include items which are not allowed to be imported, such as highly expensive cars, as no use of those cars in Pakistan, you will never be ablet to drive them at their maximum speed. and other cars provide equal luxury, et cetc....

we CANNOT ban import of ''luxury items'' --- that would be suicide! We are not some socialist country. Assuming even 60% of the luxury cars in Pakistan (namely those premium brands with large CC designations) have duty paid for in full --that is a huge source of revenue.

some of your other policy measures, i would agree with....on Afghanistan, we can't ban their containers into our country because we have a trade accord signed with them. They could retaliate by disallowing Pakistani trucks from entering Afghan territories. The Afghans gave us concession that our trucks will not face tarrif levies; free movement. We need our goods to go into Afghanistan and Central Asia.

If you think this is gonna a long term solution and need a shortcut...... HANG ZARDARI & CO, NAWAZ & CO, ALTAF & CO, BACHA & CO, MUSHARAF & CO. all will be fine.

i dont think that would solve our economic issues....instead of hanging; just ignore them and vote for proper people (if any) in the next election 2013

In Pakistan 'US military aid came with spies attached'

BY ZOFEEN EBRAHIM | LAST UPDATED: AUG 4, 2011 - 10:20:25 AM

KARACHI (IPS/GIN) - Defense analysts in Pakistan believe that foregoing $800 million worth of aid may be a fair bargain for ridding this country of over a hundred “military trainers” who were suspected of being spies.
Pakistan's army chief Gen. Ashfaq Parvez Kayani has said that his military can do without the suspended U.S. military aid worth $800 million, but suggested that the funds be diverted to improving the country's economy.

The suspended funds amount to roughly one-third of yearly U.S. security assistance to Pakistan.

Relations between the allies in the war on terror in neighboring Afghanistan soured after U.S. Navy Seals crossed over the border in helicopters and swooped down on Abbottabad to kill Al-Qaeda chief Osama bin Laden in his hideout in the Pakistani cantonment town.

The U.S., which relied on its own intelligence network within Pakistan for the May 2 raid, also stepped up public denunciation of Pakistan's army, accusing it of incompetence in tracking down Mr. Bin Laden or, worse, complicity.

Coming under pressure from the U.S. military on the one hand and facing domestic anger at the Abbottabad raid on the other, the Pakistani army reacted by sending home more than a hundred U.S. military trainers.

“They were not all trainers and the army knew it,” says Ikram Sehgal, a well-known defense analyst. “Of every three or four trainers, one would be an undercover intelligence person trying to subvert the loyalties of our soldiers.”

Signs that the U.S. maintained a spy network within Pakistan became apparent after Raymond Davis, a U.S. official, shot dead two Pakistani men in Lahore on Jan. 27. Mr. Davis, who said the Pakistanis were trying to rob him at gunpoint, turned out to be intelligence operative.

“It's a good thing they were sent packing,” analyst Sehgal said. “We were previously giving in to Washington's every whim. Now we are finally speaking as equals and that is how any relationship should be based—on mutual respect,” he added.

Rahimullah Yusufzai, a senior journalist and an expert on Afghan war, said the U.S. trainers were infiltrating the armed forces and trying to establish their own intelligence network in Pakistan.

According to Mr. Yusufzai, the trainers were part of a package which included light arms and gadgets like night vision goggles which the army was “coerced and tempted” to accept.

“They are often private contractors, outsourced by the U.S. army,” said Mr. Sehgal, adding that the U.S. has more to lose by taking a high-handed stance as “major intelligence sharing may be stopped” by Pakistan.

Another reason why Washington is unhappy with its frontline ally is that its “do more” program failed to enthuse the Pakistani military into launching an offensive against the powerful Afghan militant group led by Maulvi Jalaluddin Haqqani, known as the “Haqqani network.”

Frustrated by the lack of cooperation, the U.S. military has resorted to intensified drone attacks in North Waziristan in Pakistan, where the Haqqani network is based, causing indiscriminate death and destruction.

“Going after the Haqqani network is like putting your hand in an anthill,” said Mr. Sehgal, explaining the Pakistan army's reluctance to launch an offensive. “These terrorist attacks taking place (in Pakistan) today will seem like a Sunday picnic.”

Mr. Sehgal offers three reasons for Pakistani inaction: “The Haqqani network has never carried out attacks on or in Pakistan; the army does not have resources needed to carry out an all out operation against the group and they must be well aware of the consequences of such an offensive.”

The army is also keen to win back the respect of Pakistan's people. There is a growing feeling among its ranks that rising domestic criticism is a concerted campaign to vilify and weaken the army.

Along with domestic criticism, the U.S. is adding “to the barrage of propaganda” to build pressure from outside, says Hasan Askari Rizvi, a Lahore-based defense analyst. “Public denunciation of Pakistan has damaged the U.S.—Pakistan relations more than any other issue.”

In Pakistan 'US military aid came with spies attached'

definitely that is the case. There was a CIA agent at islamabad airport on monday, i came to muscat from islamabad on monday, and right in front of the check-in counters, a tall, meaty, bald and handsomely dressed , shirt and tie american was standing. A close friend of mine who is at the airport and on check-in duty informed us he is CIA, he sometimes arrests suspicious looking people travelling to europe or US. That is the level of freedom these guys have!!

I was watching an interview of Musharaff of many he permited these days when he was asked that was all the funds given to him, as head to state, were justified?

"Pakistan has a population of 180 million and a GDP of $175 billion. Average annual US economic assistance comes to less than 0.3 percent of Pakistan’s current GDP, or $2.67 per Pakistani citizen, the price of a pan pizza with no extra toppings from Pizza Hut. Perhaps the vast majority of Pakistanis simply believe their annual free pizza is not worth the price of a conflict that claims the lives of thousands of their fellow citizens each year. "

- Mohsin Hamid

NOW US attact the outpost of pakistan,the meaning of aid should be thoutgh again