Upgrading Pakistan’s Special Operations Forces in a cost effective way.

But we can't apply 10.3" to our m4a1s. Can we?
And we have to do both Urban and Open environment.
Shouldn't we go for URG-I instead of Block-2
@Metal 0-1

Upgrading Pakistan’s Special Operations Forces in a cost effective way.

Pakistani Special Forces are one of the world best SOF in the world. Thanks to its past joint training with UK SAS and SBS and US Special Forces. They adopted their western counterparts training regime and added their own touch simply making it better.

Special Operations not only depend upon specially trained operators but also some special gadgets. We see our SOF community is still lagging behind in this regard. Yes budget is main problem. In this article I’ll focus on equipping them in a cost effective way and still providing them with quality gear.

We don’t have to equip them all at same time things will take time. Start by giving gear to Tier 1 units like Zarrar, No.3 Powindah’s Cdo. Batt. and Musa Coy. Naval and Air Force components are our small spear heads so we can equip them all.

*All the equipment will be low in price but good in quality and reliability. (Some equipment is pricey but not too much)

Starting off,

1. Helmets.

We know FAST helmets are being used now in Pakistan as well. But still we need to do something about old PASGT helmets used by Army SSG. They deserve better. We can start off by providing them all with FAST high cut helmets. These helmets also need reasonable upgrades.

View attachment 633417

These above Helmet setups are being used by Professionals around the world.

MICH helmet also allows couple of neat setups.

View attachment 633418

For this purpose:

1: 3M Comtac III peltor Two way (Protection + Communication) headset. Mount to helmet if not using helmet wear them with headbands. (600$)

2: IR Strobes for IFF or Distress or Marking positions. (You can through older MS2000 strobes towards enemy because of they are strong) (100$)

3: Counter Weights OR Battery boxes (For Powering NVGs) to balance out weight of NVG so that neck strain is reduced.

4: Use a white flashlight if you want.

2. NVGs/ NODs

For a long time our armed forces using single tube PVS-14s. No its time to move on to Dual tube night visions which provide wide field of view than looking through single tube. PVS-15 is expensive like 12,000$. As I promised cost effective Just buy more PVS-14s (Cost 3,000$ Aprrox Per unit) and bridge them into two. That’ll be around 7000$.

View attachment 633419

3. Optics (For Guns)

We do have optics like Aimpoints and EO-Techs but those are for short range battles. After 200 yard you literally can’t ID bullet impact. What if we want to shoot at like 500/600yard? Aimpoints don’t work. Trijicon ACOGs are expensive. So we want a affordable optic that is Bushnell Optics, Drop Zone Reticle Riflescope with Target Turrets, Matte Black, 1-4x/24mm (150$).
View attachment 633420

It’s not a massive scope so don’t worry.

4. Gun Upgrades (Reasonable)
Don’t you think our M-4s are bit old looking don’t have modern accessories which do look cool but they are very helpful.
  • First and foremost, Rail extension (Available around 70-100$).
View attachment 633421
View attachment 633422

Yeah they sound crazy so why extended rail system.
Firstly, there’s the way it’s mounted - the KAC M4 RAS uses the original delta ring and front handguard ring, meaning a shift in the rail system (from gripping, rests, barricades) is translated to the barrel, affecting accuracy. Systems like the DD RIS II use a barrel ring or other method at the receiver end which means the handguard does not contact the barrel further down, “free floating” the handguard and resulting in little to no accuracy shift.

Secondly, you have more rail space closer to the muzzle. This allows you to mount accessories not only in such a way that you’re afforded a better grip on the weapon, but also for weapon lights to be mounted so that they cause less shadow (barrel/muzzle blocking light beam and limiting FOV) as well as glare (light bouncing off the barrel/muzzle affecting vision and giving away position).

And most importantly C-Grip OR C-Clamp.

• Better Fore-grips: There are in plenty at affordable prices.

• Suppressors: They come in handy in clearing out buildings/ Hostage Rescue/ Night time operations.(400$).

5. Battle Dress Uniforms:

Yes we are using combat shirts. But still not using padded combat shirts and pants.

View attachment 633423
Combat Shirt and Pants without pads used by Pakistani SSG Commando.

View attachment 633424

With Elbow and shoulder pads. Fire Retardant material.

Give this job to POF clothing factory.

6. Combat Boots:

There are plenty of tactical boots available on market at cheaper prices.(200$)

7. Misc. Equipment:

• GPS (Not for everyone just for team leader)

• Wrist Map Pouches

• SOFLAMS, Laser Designators to pinpoint CAS from rotary or fixed wing aircrafts.

• IR Strobes for IFF by your squad mates and Air Support above your heads. Visible Chem lights and IR Chem Lights for marking positions. Or they can be used to show your location to incoming friendly helicopters. Tie one end with cord and swing around in a circle.

View attachment 633427View attachment 633428View attachment 633429

View attachment 633431
A Marine Swinging IR Chem. light in Circle to give his position to friendly helicopter.

So pretty much it.

That's a Total of 10,000$ Generously per person.

Note: This article is based on personal views. Some of you are not going to agree with this.
Open for Criticism, Suggestions or Discussion.

very good ideas.

which one do you recommend then for our spec ops
and shouldn't we go for block 3 instead of block 2
Block II tried and tested. Reliable rail system. Not saying URGI rails are not reliable.

Block II metal rails are more strong plus we don't have suitable accessories for M-LOK design.
URGI hand guards will not work because Pak Army tends to Milk a platform till it's last breath.

Block II tried and tested. Reliable rail system. Not saying URGI rails are not reliable.

Block II metal rails are more strong plus we don't have suitable accessories for M-LOK design.
URGI hand guards will not work because Pak Army tends to Milk a platform till it's last breath.
InshAllah
So Jiye Block 2
But i am afraid that when we would buy block 2
the world would probably be using block 7 or 8 something......

@Metal 0-1 BTW did you say that sarcastically or did you really mean it?
So you recommend Block II?
What if we buy accessories for M-Lok?
Do you mean that the material quality of Block @ rails is better and stronger than URGI's?
What do you mean URGI handguards won't work.
Can kindly you explain it?
and do you recommend 14.5 or 10.3?

Assalam o Alaikum
@Metal 0-1 Why do NATO SOF mostly carry CQB weapons when they don't deliver much after 300-400 meters?
And does SSG have War Belts?