Yamaha investment in Pakistan in jeopardy

flameboard

By Haris Hashmi • Feb 17th, 2010 • Category: Misc • One Response

Pakistan may lose a proposed investment of $150 million by Japanese giant Yamaha Motors because of its unclear automobile policy. Sources told The News Yamaha Motors had shown keen interest in manufacturing motorcycles and their engines in Pakistan with an investment of $150 million.

Yamaha not only wanted to assemble and manufacture motorbikes and engines in Pakistan, but also planned to export these to the Middle East, Africa, Afghanistan and other countries. In the wake of the investment, 25,000 Pakistani engineers and technicians could get jobs in the automobile industry. Besides, many small industries could get a chance to produce auto parts.

Yamaha, in a bid to start the process, decided to purchase 50 acres of land in the National Investment Park near Port Qasim Karachi and important Japanese government officials visited the proposed site.

Sources said Yamaha had also submitted the proposal with Pakistans Board of Investment almost 10 months ago, but it was facing delays due to confusion about Islamabads automobile policy.

Experts say all over the world automobile policy-makers always include four-wheel and two-wheel vehicles in the policy but Pakistans policy only covers four-wheelers. This is the reason that it is not feasible for any foreign company to manufacture bikes in Pakistan.

Sources said if Pakistan included two-wheelers in its automobile policy, it would have to reduce import duty and taxes on machinery and raw material. Yamaha requested Pakistan to include two-wheelers in the automobile policy and allow foreign vehicle-makers to come and invest, but 10 months have passed no reply has come from the government.

Sources said if Yamaha made the investment it would create job opportunities, youth might get technical training, industry could grow and exports would increase. Pakistans Ambassador in Japan Noor Muhammad Jadmani, when contacted, said he knew the matter and was trying to persuade Yamaha to invest in Pakistan. On the other side, he said, has was in contact with Pakistans authorities to get the issue resolved as early as possible and hoped things would get done soon.

Earlier, Yamaha President Takashi Kajikawa said in a meeting with Jadmani his company in the first phase would assemble around 22,000 motorcycles by 2012 and after that it would manufacture motorcycles by using various domestically manufactured parts in Pakistan. In the final phase, he added, it would start manufacturing motorcycle engines by 2017.

Source: The News

My Source: Yamaha investment in Pakistan in jeopardy | The Pakistani Spectator

Anyone know what happened, and what's the current standing of this plan/ inquiry.

we are manufacturing motor bikes our selves if yamaha comes in what will happen to the local industry ?

^^ Local industry will get boost.
If you read carefully, bike will be manufactured locally.

Today, we export local made bike and with investment from YAMAHA we'll be able to export YAMAHA as well.

We all know Indian motor bike industry is interested to export their bikes to Pakistan and behind the delays.

Ha and then we talk about Pakistan being more favourable than India and envy the Indians!

we are manufacturing motor bikes our selves if yamaha comes in what will happen to the local industry ?

Local industry will be supplying and making the parts, which will boost the local economy and job. Most of the bikes Pakistan makes right now are basically Honda 70 knock offs, creating competition more capable bikes will hopefully make their way into Pakistani factories and markets. Competition will also lower their cost.

When other companies see the success of Yamaha in Pakistan they will pursue. The exports of Pakistani made Yamaha's will also increase GDP.

All this applies if the government made changes to accommodated Yamaha. If you have any more info please post it on here.

Thats it 125 million and to be able to gain market entry in country where 180 million ppl like and need motor bikes ??

I think they should invest 5 billion , or just forget about Pakistan.

Thats it 125 million and to be able to gain market entry in country where 180 million ppl like and need motor bikes ??

i suspect this is the initial investment.
as the demand of their bikes will grow they will increase the number of plants and investment

But we do have Yamahas in Pakistan and yes they are being manufactured/assembled in Pakistan. So how come they are in jeopardy and that with an only investment of 125Million?

they said they want to export bikes from pakistan to middle east etc they will bring good quality n modern bikes here and will manufacture here which would b better than chinky pinky low quality 50 year old model bikes being manufactured here except fewer ones like honda 125 deluxe and suzuki 125 n 150 :p may b yamaha wants to manufacture r series here :lol:

yahi nazariya bussiness ke liye khartanak hai...aage aapki marzi

bhai jan bike ka plant lagana hai f16 ki serial production nahi :hitwall:

Local industry will be supplying and making the parts, which will boost the local economy and job. Most of the bikes Pakistan makes right now are basically Honda 70 knock offs, creating competition more capable bikes will hopefully make their way into Pakistani factories and markets. Competition will also lower their cost.

When other companies see the success of Yamaha in Pakistan they will pursue. The exports of Pakistani made Yamaha's will also increase GDP.

All this applies if the government made changes to accommodated Yamaha. If you have any more info please post it on here.

the brand still remains YAMAHA who are owned by Japanese not Pakistani , by stopping this GOP is providing more oppourtunity to Pakistani brands

currently we are locally assembling the bikes, but if this happens we might be able to produce the whole bike.

150 ka 5000 bhi aa jaye ga per uske liye humaie apni policy theek karni hogi.

the brand still remains YAMAHA who are owned by Japanese not Pakistani , by stopping this GOP is providing more oppourtunity to Pakistani brands

Do you have problem with understanding?

Your question has been answered. :frown:

With investment we'll get jobs, without investment we'll get nothing.

By your formula, if US wish to build F-16 assembly plant in Pakistan than we shall decline it because we locally produce JFT.

currently we are locally assembling the bikes, but if this happens we might be able to produce the whole bike.

150 ka 5000 bhi aa jaye ga per uske liye humaie apni policy theek karni hogi.

Write in English please....