TAPI gas pipeline project inked.

Back when the IPI pipeline was being negotiated, India was extremely concerned that despite Pakistan's strategic guarantees, supply would be stopped during times of increased tensions or in a war. Do you remember that?

Well, if a pipeline is a few miles away from the Pakistan coast and Pakistan is not guaranteeing its safety, nor is Pakistan invested in the project (not just in a financial sense), does it make the pipeline safer or riskier?

I just wanted to be clear that this is where you were going with your argument. I would have to say that the pipeline would be safer in the deep sea route. Turning off a land pipeline within Pakistan is a lot easier than attempting to blow up an under water pipeline in international waters. Pakistan can even claim plausible deniability on land by blaming it on non state actors. Not so on an undersea pipeline involving many other countries who would be affected. Pakistan would run out of friends & fast. Blowing up undersea pipelines would also result in a very large oil spill off Pakistan's coast & the clean up bill which would probably result will be huge, not to speak of the repair charges & costs that would be extracted through international actions.

Turning off a land pipeline within Pakistan is a lot easier than attempting to blow up an under water pipeline in international waters.

How do you blow up an undersea pipeline ? It's well below submarine depth

I just wanted to be clear that this is where you were going with your argument. I would have to say that the pipeline would be safer in the deep sea route. Turning off a land pipeline within Pakistan is a lot easier than attempting to blow up an under water pipeline in international waters. Pakistan can even claim plausible deniability on land by blaming it on non state actors. Not so on an undersea pipeline involving many other countries who would be affected. Pakistan would run out of friends & fast. Blowing up undersea pipelines would also result in a very large oil spill off Pakistan's coast & the clean up bill which would probably result will be huge, not to speak of the repair charges & costs that would be extracted through international actions.

Oh, I'm sure plausible deniability can be engineered. But like I said, 'tis a moot point until it happens.

At most the best submarine can go is well below 1000 meters while the pipe line is safer in 3200+ meters of depth.;)

Which pipeline? The one we are discussing as a pure hypothetical possibility? When the pipeline is built, I am sure measures to take care of it will also surface. So far there is no pipeline, thus discussing its safety is like planning a wedding for a child who has not yet been conceived.

Discussions and case studies have already been laid on its safety aspects. But it has nt covered destruction from external forces aspect.

I will provide link of one such study :

Fracture Control for the Oman India Pipeline

Wedding is over, now its in the pregnancy stage and are looking for an apt school for the admission of the child.

I am sure measures to take care of it will also surface.

That's tells a lot about Pakistan's intentions in case of the IPI pipeline.

Wedding is over, now its in the pregnancy stage and are looking for an apt school for the admission of the child.

But, seriously how do you attack an undersea pipeline ? AFAIK no undersea pipeline has ever been attacked, land-based ones yes

Wow, you got pregnant without the paperwork involved in formalizing the marriage? Tsk Tsk :-)

Where are the signed agreements with Oman? Where are the signed agreements on financing the pipeline? Where is the finalized, signed plan of record for the areas the pipeline will traverse? Where are the signed agreements with the construction companies who will be building this pipeline? Where are the definitive signed agreements on pricing?

Bari jaldi thi pregnant honay kee :-)

Wow, you got pregnant without the paperwork involved in formalizing the marriage? Tsk Tsk :-)

Where are the signed agreements with Oman? Where are the signed agreements on financing the pipeline? Where is the finalized, signed plan of record for the areas the pipeline will traverse? Where are the signed agreements with the construction companies who will be building this pipeline? Where are the definitive signed agreements on pricing?

Bari jaldi thi pregnant honay kee :-)

Agreements are with the signed parties. I dont know where they are.

South Asia Gas Enterprise Pvt Ltd (SAGE), a joint venture of Oman's Siddhomal group, U.K.-based Deep Water Technology and India, was established to build a 2,000-km deepwater pipeline to connect India and Iran.

SAGE is now negotiating gas supplies from Turkmenistan, Iran and Qatar.

Oman planning Central Asian gas pipeline - UPI.com

---------- Post added at 04:00 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:00 PM ----------

India, Oman mull sub-sea pipeline to pump Turkmen and Iranian gas | World | RIA Novosti

^^ So in other words, there are no signed agreements for anything. "Mulling" something is not signing a definitive agreement. In complex negotiations like these, countries "mull" things for *YEARS* before being ready to sign anything.

Thats good............a leverage Pakistan will have over energy starved India...........let the deal go through and let India invest alot of monies into it.............. :yahoo::yahoo::yahoo:

aage aage dekhe hota hai kya

Pakistan really dpesn't even need this pipeline as suggested by the Pakistan Atomic Agency whereby Pakistan has the second largest coal deposits and there expert analysis shows that it will be cheaper and far better for Pakistan to use this resourse wich will give Pakistan all the energy it needs for 100 years at least..........

Nonetheless, I think we should allow the access into India.......just remember the wording, "We will allow access into India"...........that can have alot of meaning in years to come

^^ So in other words, there are no signed agreements for anything. "Mulling" something is not signing a definitive agreement. In complex negotiations like these, countries "mull" things for *YEARS* before being ready to sign anything.

I dont know yaar. I know India has been buying gas from Oman . But i dont have any idea as of the papers signed. All i know is that there is a company JV and they are on a gas hunt from central asia.

Since its a company to company basis.
Also shell is supplying Oman gas to India .

I dont think this time the delay will be long as the energy needs are enormous.

Chalein bhai sahib, dekhiyay kya hota hay. Umeed pay duniya qaim hay :-)

Its a good thing that oil and gas companies from here have excelled in their fields and are very reputable. so deals will be as fast as the earlier known ones for sure.

Good to see some positive moves to overcome future energy crises IPI,
Nuclear plants and now TAPI.We need at least 50,000MW by 2015 first we have too look to at our requirements than India. :sick: