Delhiwala: Which Pak city is cooler – Lahore or Karachi

My guess is that karachi will find more cool to Indians as its more vibrant and cultural.

Yes. Karachi is similar to Bombay and Delhi. It has the cosmopolitan nature of Bombay as well as its glamor, and it has the class driven society like Delhi. Karachi looks and feels like a typical Indian city as well, and it is stooped with Urdu speaking/Mohajir culture, such as Mushaira and Indian style weddings. All ethnicities of Pakistan are present in Karachi, and this includes Balochis, Pashtuns, Kashmiris as well. Karachi is the economic hub of Pakistan, the sea port city like Bombay. Karachi generates a lot of revenue, just like Bombay.

What is interesting about Karachi is that you find a lot of Bengalis as well. You also find Muslim Indian women married to Pakistani guys, mostly hailing from the Indian states of Uttar Pradesh and Hyderabad. You also find a large number of Gujaratis in Pakistan as well, a large number of Hindus, and other groups such as Pakistani Jatts and Rajputs (who had their heritage from present day Haryana and Rajasthan), as well as Punjabis in that city.

I don't mean to offend anyone here though, but it is my personal observation when I visited Bombay 4 years ago that it has an even bigger divide of the classes as compared to Karachi. While the rich of Bombay is even more glamorous than Karachi, the poor of Bombay (who are much larger in number than the poor in Karachi) live in much worse conditions than the poor in Karachi. The poor areas of Karachi are not comparable to the poor areas of Mumbai such as Bhendi Bazar, Null Bazar, Mahim, Shivaji Park, Govandi, Parel, Lal Baug
and Behrampara etc.

True I agree with all your points. While the rich of Mumbai are richer than the rich of Karachi and the poor of Mumbai are much poor than the poor of Karachi's. In Mumbai every neighborhood has at least 1 slum even South Mumbai which is probably the richest area in India.
I've been to both Delhi and Mumbai and have to say Mumbai is just like Karachi. But I envy Mumbai's tropical climate, wish Karachi had that.

sir jiss mulk ko app keh rahay hain keh mazaaq udaya jaa raha hai uss mulk nai aapko bohat kuch diya!

ghar zameen zaban,haq! izzat barabri! ajj app apki ulaad soch sakti hai keh woh pakistan kaay Army Cheif,Chief Justice, Prime Minister baan saktay hain

afsoos houa suun kaar keh apko iss mulk jiskaay liyay apnaay qurbani dii app bhool gaya keh mulk naay apkaay liyay kya kya kiya!! :pakistan::pakistan::pakistan: :angry:

bhai afsoos ni kariye ye indian he jo **** flag laga ke propoganda kar raha

A city can be judged by several factors

1. Its history

2. Its food

3. Its girls

4. Its atmosphere

5. Its social customs

6. Its people as a whole

7. Its natural landscape and scenery

8. Its sightseeing (linked to 1)

This is my view personally

1. Lahore definitely has more history than Karachi. Its been a fort city for centuries whereas Karachi didn't really have any significance before 1947.

2. Again, Lahore is the clear winner. Its Food Street is famous, especially its Nihari and Haleem (some of my favourite dishes as well)

3. This is a tough one. For me the winner is Karachi. The best looking girl I ever saw was from Lahore but generally Karachi has better girls. Karachi girls have more natural beauty whereas Lahore girls can present themselves better. I've had lots of arguments with my friends on this (most of them are from Lahore) but I think Karachi is definitely the winner here :smitten:

4. Again, this is difficult. The problem in Karachi is that there is always the humidity, combined with a rush and tension about things which is not good. But Karachi also knows how to cut loose and how to party, how to release that tension. Also, you can find every sort of culture in Karachi, which is not the case in Lahore. Also, in Lahore, I found the culture to be too stifling (surprising, given Lahore's great reputation) and the people wanting to pay lip-service to religion.

5. Lahore has a rich culture, but much of it has been much discouraged recently. Karachi has no such holds. Karachi is so much more liberal because of its cosmopolitan culture with every sort of Pakistani community being present in significant numbers in Karachi.

6. Here there is no competition. Lahore is the winner. Punjabis are so much friendlier and more open. In Karachi you'll find people complaining so much more and just generally having a pissed off attitude.

7. Of course, Lahore among fields and jungles is superior to Karachi's dry deserts.

8. Lahore has a rich history and buildings like the Badshahi Mosque, Fortress Stadium and Minar-e-Pakistan, whereas Karachi has Mazar-e-Quaid. For me, personally, Mazar-e-Quaid alone could equal all of Lahore's beautiful architecture so Karachi wins this for me.

The two are tied, and it comes down to the final factor. Memories. There Karachi beats Lahore for me, I have so many better memories in Karachi as compared to just a few in Lahore, and many more bad ones in Lahore as well.

But the overall winner is Islamabad :yahoo: :D

:pakistan:

Lahore, because home is where the heart is. My heart is always in Lahore, wether I'm in Karachi, Islamabad or outside Pakistan. Just coming back to Lahore from anywhere else lightens up my mood so much. After Lahore anyother city I'd choose to live in would be Islamabad. I just love the weather and the landscape of the city and two restaurants in F-10 markaz owned by two brothers which serve up better chappal kebabs than any where else in Pakistan.
I would never choose to live in Karachi if I had the choice. I don't know why, but the city just depresses me.
And the girls are the best in Lahore and Isloo.

Aaaaaaah!
This is a tradional fight between them.

Well, ill say every corner of Pakistan has got its unique kind of beauty.
There are chances to die, but you can die at anytime, in Pakistan or Indian, in USA or Russia.
If God has written it for your death, then you misght die anywhere.

Karachi is a 'forced' city built by migrants whereas Lahore has got its own history.
Nevertheless, karachi has got its own beauty.

But the thing, that karachi has got pretty sexy girls has upsetted me.
This isint a Pakistani culture nor a Islamic.
Ah!
People wont understand this.
Anyways, lets stop fighting between Lahore and Karachi, and unite as a Pakistani! :tup::tup:

Karachi is different just like New York City is different. Karachi is a small Pakistan of its own. You will find every religion,ethnicity,nationality in Karachi. It's the financial capital of Pakistan and also probably the most liberal city in Pakistan. And as for food please try Javed Nihari or BBQ Tonite. You can find everything in Karachi, from clubs to skating rinks.

I would never choose to live in Karachi if I had the choice. I don't know why, but the city just depresses me.
And the girls are the best in Lahore and Isloo.

I know, there are lots of people who feel the same way about Karachi. There is something, lots of people often have a depressed attitude and they always have something to complain about. Urdu mein kehenge unki sari hui shakal rehti hai. But for myself Lahore is depressing, maybe because I'm foreign to the city, but when I'm there it feels like there's no way out. And there's this role of religion that's always just there, no matter where you go, its looming over you, fear in the form of religion.
The girls are best in Islamabad mashallah.

Karachi is a unique city not only in Pakistan but in whole SouthAsia, it has a diverse population from many countries(including some european countries like poland,armenia etc). One more special thing of Karachi is it's delicious food, all kind of food from the world can be found here. The city has it's own life & charm, every person who have live in Karachi for 1 year will know what i mean, no one can explain it.

Lahore is great city, no doubt for that, but Lahore or even any other city of entire South Asia can never beat Karachi anytime.

About Islamabad it is very beutiful city but no soul no life, a very quiet city & people busy in their own life. It is more likely European type city.

But in the end i love my whole motherland Pakistan.:smitten::pakistan:

LOL!!! Typical Bania language and method to add fuel to fire........good try but but waste.

oh very hot debate on Lahore,Karachi and Islamabad

my Pakistani friends always tell me about the Indian cuisines available in Karachi and its cosmopolitan culture

they tell Karachi is the soul of Pakistan

so for me Karachi is the winner:tup: