JF-17 Thunder Multirole Fighter [Thread 5]

Agreed with most of what you said..

Despite all this, i have seen a wave of pessimism on this and many a fora among Pakistani members which saddens me. Its not all dark, there is still a glimmer of hope. In many areas,. we are ddoing better than most.

What pessimism? It is only reality which will make itself felt every time. We are simply not doing better than most in most areas. It is time we were honest to ourselves in realizing that truth.

Unless you know precisely what occurred there, dont come to conclusions. Some folks destroyed the entire fleet, where is their claim now?

I know what I am talking about...thank you.

I can't defend the claims of other people...

Anyways, let's not talk about this now, this has been discussed to death and the truth is out for everyone to see.

On topic, AVM shahid latif clearly mentioned in his interview to Usman Shabir that RCS reduction, IFR, IRST, an AESA radar and payload increase are planned for future batches. Upgrades were planned after every five years.

Isn't Usman Shabbir the guy on Pakdef?

Alot of AVM's have said alot of things and done alot of things...

Anyways, you have your opinion and I have mine, we'll see soon enough when the Block-II comes.

Unless you know precisely what occurred there, dont come to conclusions. Some folks destroyed the entire fleet, where is their claim now?

On topic, AVM shahid latif clearly mentioned in his interview to Usman Shabir that RCS reduction, IFR, IRST, an AESA radar and payload increase are planned for future batches. Upgrades were planned after every five years.

If folks don't believe SecDEF public statement in parliament open session, then we can only say "sum'mun bukmun umyun"

On topic, IRST, an AESA radar and payload increase are planned for future batches requires a better engine. PAF is sticking to RD-93 as per JF-17 project director. So IFR is only thing happening in Block 2.

Now Block 3 remains, which may commence in mid to late 2016, If by then funding crunch disappears and a better engine is procured, we can see wishlist turning into reality, because structural changes are required to put extra hard point on JF-17 and to PUT AESA, IRST we require both funds and better engine and how things going now, this funding crunch will remain due to WoT and bad economic situation for at least 5-6 years

What AVM Shahid Lateef said is not "Pathar par lakeer" because funds were available at that time, which has disappeared now and this is the reason third squadron hasn't been raised so far.

So It's better to talk by taking things in to perspective instead of being adamant on what some
"official" said in yester year.

Instead of basing claims on your some retired AVM , it's better to read this year articles of JF-17 project director and PAC head which clearly hints the slowing down of JF-17 program so far.

Ive got it from the man holding the plaque.. The rest is sure.. due time.

Kisi din ISI ya MI nai uthaa laina hai app ko mohtaram :D

baat tu sahi ki.. but these shoshas have to stop.. What is there is there... AND...what is there is really not all that bad as some make it out to be.

It's Pakistani Moulaa Jatt, good for fighting with other desi villains, but when it has to face transformers, It will probably fail and that's what worries us, next door neighbour is buying/upgrading it's villains in to transformers while we still stuck at moula jatt stage with limited number of terminators which is good at 1-1 face off. If Pakistan is invaded by large number of skynet bot's, terminator would not hold off for long

It ain't the Pakistani Superman either.

It's Pakistani Moulaa Jatt, good for fighting with other desi villains, but when it has to face transformers, It will probably fail and that's what worries us, next door neighbour is buying/upgrading it's villains in to transformers while we still stuck at moula jatt stage with limited number of terminators which is good at 1-1 face off. If Pakistan is invaded by large number of skynet bot's, terminator would not hold off for long

Qarz utaro.. PAF sawaro.

please... take chit chat to PM

On topic, IRST, an AESA radar and payload increase are planned for future batches requires a better engine. PAF is sticking to RD-93 as per JF-17 project director. So IFR is only thing happening in Block 2.

* you know whats there in blk 2 for sure? i am curious, please enlighten us.

* Bhai, all i said is that we can just speculate there might be a surprise or two or there might be the usual well known IFR, avionics and EW improvement at best. I quoted SIPRI 2012 database that lists 61 aircraft operational as of 2012 so should someone say "not fair, first batch was supposed to end at 50 not 61" :D

Now Block 3 remains, which may commence in mid to late 2016, If by then funding crunch disappears and a better engine is procured, we can see wishlist turning into reality, because structural changes are required to put extra hard point on JF-17 and to PUT AESA, IRST we require both funds and better engine and how things going now, this funding crunch will remain due to WoT and bad economic situation for at least 5-6 years.

* Yes, blk 3 is very much a mystery as of now, too early to speculate on it. Funds availability is the order of the day, no argument in that.

What AVM Shahid Lateef said is not "Pathar par lakeer" because funds were available at that time, which has disappeared now and this is the reason third squadron hasn't been raised so far.

* The man is seen as the pioneer of JFT project even today, not much has changed in terms of specifications since his tenure. PAF hierarchy is not some political regime which takes projects and milestones with it once it loses election. There are definite , well versed long term goals with a bit of improvisation involved though.

So It's better to talk by taking things in to perspective instead of being adamant on what some
"official" said in yester year. Instead of basing claims on your some retired AVM , it's better to read this year articles of JF-17 project director and PAC head which clearly hints the slowing down of JF-17 program so far.

* It is not even a news anymore, the world knows how induction plans have suffered due to economy. I would appreciate if my words are not twisted.

to reduce loans, u need more loans.

Ishaq Dar is a gem indeed !

On the topic of loans, there are those that finance the JF-17 program as well. Along with the ZDK program. However, their actual cost at this point is a mystery and unless access is granted to a PAC of some sort.. I don't think we'll be able to get an accurate idea of the progam's accurate costs which I am very curious about.

e25f7347b5eefa16cfb685c4611ccc36.jpg

chinese carrier base awacs with jf-17
the color of the J-10 is odd, seems like similar to PAF color??

on the topic of IRST?.is any pod version available for JF-17?

I quoted SIPRI 2012 database that lists 61 aircraft operational as of 2012 so should someone say "not fair, first batch was supposed to end at 50 not 61" :D

Yar, the SIPRI figure was a constant rate multiplicative estimate. They were asked about the source and they said that they just took the previous production rate and carried it on till the day of the estimate calculation i.e. the number we should have had assuming no production halts or slowdowns. So, I wouldn't put too much belief in those figures, they were just estimates. Haroon ( @ANTIBODY ) was the one who got this out of SIPRI.