Saragarhi Day (12 September 1897)

well I am not surprised as they were sikhs. 21 vs hundreds. Wow thats some bravery. @oiltrader @he-man @Abingdonboy @Flamingo @juttpunjabi

"Soora so pehchaniye jo lade deen ke haet purja purja kat mare kabhun na chade khet. Its only the Sikhs who fight like tigers. Hope this spirit lives forever in the hearts of every Sikh of this world. Akaal Sahaye ."

SaragarhiSikhs.gif

Beneath Saragarhi's ruined walls, They found a fitting grave; For Saragarhi bears the fame,They gave their lives to save.

SaragarhiFort.jpg

Saragarhi1.JPG

Burnt-out interior of Saragarhi as it looked on 14th September, 1897

200px-Pd_image_of_Saragarhi_Tablet.jpg

Tablet commemorating Saragarhi, raised by the British Empire

The names of the 21 recipients of the gallantry award are:

Havildar Ishar Singh (regimental number 165)
1. Naik Lal Singh (332)
2. Lance Naik Chanda Singh (546)
3. Sepoy Sundar Singh (1321)
4. Sepoy Ram Singh (287)
5. Sepoy Uttar Singh (492)
6. Sepoy Sahib Singh (182)
7. Sepoy Hira Singh (359)
8. Sepoy Daya Singh (687)
9. Sepoy Jivan Singh (760)
10. Sepoy Bhola Singh (791)
11. Sepoy Narayan Singh (834)
12. Sepoy Gurmukh Singh (814)
13. Sepoy Jivan Singh (871)
14. Sepoy Gurmukh Singh (1733)
15. Sepoy Ram Singh (163)
16. Sepoy Bhagwan Singh (1257)
17. Sepoy Bhagwan Singh (1265)
18. Sepoy Buta Singh (1556)
19. Sepoy Jivan Singh (1651)
20. Sepoy Nand Singh (1221)

The following quotes by the British and the French sums up the saga of valour of the Sikhs.

Queen Victoria: - “The British, as well as the Indians, are proud of the 36th Sikh Regiment. It is no exaggeration to record that the armies which posses the valiant Sikhs cannot face defeat in war “.

General Sir Arthur Power Palmer, the Commander in Chief: - “The conduct displayed by the twenty one men of the 36th Sikh Regiment whose names were inscribed on the -memorial was characteristic of the nation's tradition. It should be kept as an example to others, in order to show how brave men should behave when facing fearful odds”.

Major Des Voeux 36th Sikh Regiment: - “21 men of mine fought like demons. One brave fellow held out in the guard room, and killed 20 of the enemy. He could not be conquered, and at last was burned at his post. These men died the death of heroes, and though the annals of the native army of India are full of brave deeds. These men gave up their lives in devotion to their duty.”

"You are never disappointed when you are with the Sikhs. Those 21 soldiers all fought to the death. That bravery should be within all of us. Those soldiers were lauded in Britain and their pride went throughout the Indian Army. Inside every Sikh should be this pride and courage. The important thing is that you must not get too big-headed it is important to be humble in victory and to pay respect to the other side." - Field Marshal William Joseph Slim, 1st Viscount Slim
Saragarhi Day is a Sikh military commemoration day celebrated on the 12th of September every year to commemorate The Battle of Saragarhi.

To commemorate the anniversary of the Battle of Saragarhi, Frames of Bravery Exhibition is finally in the UK and this is launched by Harchand Singh Bedi.

“Frames of Bravery” Gurdwara Sahib Warwick & Leamington 11th September ~ 26th of September of 2010

There are brave soldiers in all countries and stories of heroic deeds abound. We should not be making light of their bravery.

It is a heroic tale indeed, no matter what the final "numbers" were.

chidiya naal je baaj ladawan taan Gobind Singh naam dharavan

Sava lakh se Ek ladaun ta Guru gobind Singh Kehlaun

FYI we are no bodies luskhars :) actually its demeaning that you call us that.

That being said if the accounts of the battle are true then big up for the defenders and attackers, both believed in cause and died for it.

On a separate note, I know of accounts of an Afghan Sikh fighting for Afghan Government PDPA in the 1980s who single-handedly defending an outpost against swarms of so called Mujaheedin fighters for days.

kyu bhai??
what have we done that u are calling ur lashkars:cry:

this must be made into a high budget movie man

That being said if the accounts of the battle are true then big up for the defenders and attackers, both believed in cause and died for it.

On a separate note, I know of accounts of an Afghan Sikh fighting for Afghan Government PDPA in the 1980s who single-handedly defending an outpost against swarms of so called Mujaheedin fighters for days.

arre yaar it was just a joke,,,,sorry if ppl felt offended

Can some one post UNESCO publication of sargarhi battle? i am told that there is no mention of 21 sikhs vs 10000 pathans.........I also checked various books about frontier uprising 0f 1897 by british, they are not telling any tales of saragarhi at all. Even Sir Winston Churchill is silent about it, he wrote a book about frontier uprising of 1897. If you google saragarhi, you will only find sikh sources, which are just exaggerated fictional tales.

lol no offense, are you a commie?

Its debatable if the Pashtuns could write ' accounts' back then.

I wrote it.