Bengaluru Rated Most Liveable City in India, Followed by Mumbai and Chennai

Delhi is multi-cultured and multi-linguistic city with people from almost every parts of India. Delhi shares its borders with Haryana and Uttar Pradesh. People of Delhi are called "Delhi-ites". Delhi-ites are very advanced and open to embracing new customs and changes but at the same time they are very conscious of their culture. People of various caste, creed and culture live here with peace and harmony. This shows the "Unity in Diversity" among the people of Delhi. Growth of infrastructure, new avenues of business and employment have beckoned people from all parts of the country to migrate to Delhi in search of better livelihood. Today, Delhi holds the burden of additional population from other states like Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Haryana and Uttranchal.

The diversity in culture of Delhi can be seen in festival season where people from different religion come together for a common cause. This diversity is clearly visible on occasions such as Holi (Festival of Hindu) and ID (Festival of Muslims) being celebrated with joy and brotherhood. The flavour of Christmas is made more penetrating by the enthusiasm of Guru Purab (Sikh festival). Same ecstasy can be seen during Diwali and Buddha Purnima. Due to this very factor, Delhi has been proudly abbreviated as "Dilwalon Ki Delhi" and there is no denying the fact that the people here are very open-hearted, lively and they love their life.

Migration from other states has made Delhi over populated and an extremely polluted modern city. There is hardly any residential space left in the city that is not occupied by citizens and dwellers. Delhi's population has increased manifold in the past few years. If the stats are be believed, Delhi's population has grown over forty percent in the last ten years and the population now stands close to around fourteen million. This is despite the fact that sixty percent of Delhi-ites are born elsewhere. The increase in population has made it imperative for neighboring states like Haryana and Uttar Pradesh to take advantage of the situation and make inroads towards developing the region. This is quite vivid from the developments we see today in Gurgaon, Noida and Faridabad. These cities have shared the burden of Delhi by accommodating the increasing global demand of business and outsourcing in the city. The infrastructure within NCRmakes commuting between Delhi and NCR an easy ride.

Foreign direct investment (FDI) in the city has increased considerably in the last few years with investments in major sectors such as real estate India, Business Process Outsourcing, Information Technology, IT enabled services, Telecom, etc. This is not the end of the road; government is luring foreign investors to invest in other sectors as well. The governments of India and Delhi have made flexible policies to ensure optimum FDI in Indian industriese. The effect of such policies can be seen in the investment graphs. With the increase in industrial development over the last five years, Delhi has indeed become a major economical force of India along with the designation of being called the metropolitan city of India.

We all have seen and witnessed the developments taking place in Delhi but the city has a different side which has not been adhered to by the government. Yes, we are talking of the vast population of Delhi that still lives in Jhuggies and fight for livelihood. We all proudly boast the developments in the city but fail to have a peak into the slums that exist in small clutters in and around the posh societies.
Today, very few city residents call themselves as the "Real Delhi Walla" because the majority of population hails from Punjabi Hindu families originated from Lahore, Pakistan. Population of Delhi has increased by 50%, mainly because of the rapid economic growth and immigration. Well, the negative aspect of this very boom can be seen in the surroundings of Delhi which is overcrowded with immense traffic, housing shortage, pollution and hectic lifestyle.

Nah Delhi is a very expensive over hyped city with a lot of pretentious locals.. Especially those high rollers are really snobbish.. Bombay though equally expensive tend to have a way better vibe
Banglore, Mumbai, Chennai, Kochi, Chennai, Hyderabad are not international cities like Delhi, they have local, outsider feeling for peoples of other states ,not all all have, but most have.

Affordable and people can easily adjust to the weather, less traffic compared to other metros.

By the time KCR's first term comes to an end, Hyderabad will cease to be a Metro. But, by far Hyderabad has got to be the most affordable metro in the country.

Buddy i must say Karachi is still safe yet some areas are not good for travelling there in late night but as compared to Lahore and Islamabad its not a beautiful neither a historical one but is more lively than the two :D now some posters will find this offending but life in Karachi is far more different than any other city of Pakistan the variety of food form all over the sub--continent , the late night "khappa" and lots of places for "sair sapatta".

Rehn dei; Lorre...Lorre ehhh ! :smokin:

Karachi has nothing over Lahore ! :tongue:

I love travelling.. So i have a more open mind about the ground situations in other countries.. I'm interested in comparing my experiences with locals.. India is a fascinating country each region vastly different to the other.. A country of extremes that i have not experienced any where else in the world.. If i do India again my targets are Ladakh and the North East

Because its the size of a damn continent ! :o:

Lahore ke pas samandar hai ? :P

Karachi keh paasss darya hai ? :azn:

And the Indus we send you is more like a barsaaatii naalaa than a river ! :tongue:

Indians keep changing the names of their cities its hard to keep up. Madras to Chennai, Bombay to Mumbai, Calcutta to Kolkata and now Banglore to Bengaluru. I think Pakistan only changed the name Lyallpur to Faisalabad.

Buddy i must say Karachi is still safe yet some areas are not good for travelling there in late night but as compared to Lahore and Islamabad its not a beautiful neither a historical one but is more lively than the two :D now some posters will find this offending but life in Karachi is far more different than any other city of Pakistan the variety of food form all over the sub--continent , the late night "khappa" and lots of places for "sair sapatta".

My hosts took me this famous BBQ place cant recall the name now.. The food was amaze balls!!!! Yeah mate coming from less chaotic places like Melbourne and even Colombo.. Karachi just hit me in the place for some reason.. I mean Indian cities are bloody crowded and equally chaotic but for some reason i just felt a wee bit paranoid in Karachi.. Maybe unjustly.. But the people i met there more than made up for it.. Great hosts

Rehn dei; Lorre...Lorre ehhh ! :smokin:

Karachi has nothing over Lahore ! :tongue:

Karachi keh paasss darya hai ? :azn:

And the Indus we send you is more like a barsaaatii naalaa than a river ! :tongue:

Are chacha jitna Karachi ka Gulistan--eJohar hai utna hi sirf Lahore hai :D

After bifurcation Hyderabad lost its reputation, it lot more racial, my first job was in Hyderabad in a construction firm, it's a beautiful city, but Hyderabad not that much adaptable as Delhi.
Never visited Hyderabad? :o:
visakhapattanam is better than hyderabad in case of adaptibility.

I love travelling.. So i have a more open mind about the ground situations about other countries.. I'm interested in comparing my experiences with locals.. India is a fascination country each region vastly different to the other.. A country of extremes that i have not experienced any where else in the world.. If i do India again my targets are Ladakh and the North East

Try Gangtok if you get a chance. It's the most beautiful city you will ever see.

Gangtok_night_amit_mitra.jpg

Gangtok-925003695-570795-1.jpg

My hosts took me this famous BBQ place cant recall the name now.. The food was amaze balls!!!! Yeah mate coming from less chaotic places like Melbourne and even Colombo.. Karachi just hit me in the place for some reason.. I mean Indian cities are bloody crowded and equally chaotic but for some reason i just felt a wee bit paranoid in Karachi.. Maybe unjustly.. But the people i met there more than made up for it.. Great hosts

that BBQ place must be near sea shore if it is then it must be BBQ Tonight aur Do darya?

Are chacha jitna Karachi ka Gulistan--eJohar hai utna hi sirf Lahore hai :D

Great things come in small packages ! :smokin:

Size tou Sumo Wrestler ka bhi hota haii...would you rather have a Miss Universe by your side or Yokozona ? :tongue:

Nah mate.. In India you will see unbelievable wealth and beauty and then a couple of seconds later hell on earth and abject poverty.. Makes your mind numb.. But it's a wonderful country to travel if you have a travel bug, If not you will have a terrible time

that BBQ place must be near sea shore if it is then it must be BBQ Tonight aur Do darya?

BBQ Tonight isn't any good; at least not the one that they opened in Lahore.

Bundu Khan is so....so....so....much better ! :enjoy:

Nah mate.. In India you will see unbelievable wealth and beauty and then a couple of seconds later hell on earth and abject poverty.. Makes your mind numb.. But it's a wonderful country to travel if you have a travel bug, If not you will have a terrible time

That is true; but tis also true that when you've got population equivalent to the entire African continent combined - You really are the size of a damn continent ! :unsure:

Indians keep changing the names of their cities its hard to keep up. Madras to Chennai, Bombay to Mumbai, Calcutta to Kolkata and now Banglore to Bengaluru. I think Pakistan only changed the name Lyallpur to Faisalabad.

We were bored of the old names.:D Wanted a change.