25 March 1971, Darkness descends on Dhaka

Before and during the 1971 war, for the tall Punjabis Bengalis were another kind of small rats to be killed and maimed at will. The result was defeat by the Hindu neighbor and capture of the 93,000 martial race braves. What a punishment by Allah!! They should have opted for being captured and killed by the Muktis. Instead, they chose to save their lives with the help of Napak Hindus of India.
Scum like you are the reason the two wings could not remain united. Good riddance.

I have read independent reports and the numbers range from 300,000 to 3 million. Even if one believes the lowest possible number here - it is still far too many. Just my opinion.
However, after coming back from Pakistan, Mujib asked his subordinates to survey the villages to register the names of war dead. But, none together could find more than 30,000 or something less that included killings of also the Razakaars. Mujib disliked the results and the project was halted.

Today all of us are aware of the distinction between million and Lakh, but in 1972 it was not so. He was told by his people in London to claim 300,000 dead. He wanted to say 3 lakh but used the word million in English for lakh in Bengali, instead.

The similar mistake can be seen also between crore and billion Taka nowadays. People hardly can differentiate or correlate between the two.

However, after coming back from Pakistan, Mujib asked his subordinates to survey the villages to register the names of war dead. But, none together could find more than 30,000 or something less that included killings of also the Razakaars. Mujib disliked the results and the project was halted.

Magnanimity is so much missing from this discourse; especially bangladeshis.
BD/India's depiction of the horrors of war makes Hitler's Germany look tame in comparison. While no doubt that even a few is too many; war is gruesome and doesn't end well for anyone.
BD got what it wanted, freedom from Pakistan. They happily succumbed to India and its culture and that is their choice. Was Pakistan defeated? Absolutely. Part of it because of the logistical nightmare, and BD wasn't destined to be with Pakistan anyway with it's radically different culture/language.

laugh all you can in a few years we wont be even able to open your mouth
Do not please worry about our mouth. Whatever we say in this forum people in BD do not necessarily hate Pakistan. You can rest assured of it. We would certainly like to see a further developed Pakistan but it should be accompanied by millions of progressive-minded people like PM Imran Khan. Hope, he will lead you to a better destination.

Darkness descends …
1971.JPG

raghu_rai_5.jpg

Bangladesh, 1971.

raghu_rai_1.jpg

Bangladesh, 1971.

On March 25, 1971, the leaders of the Awami League waited all day for the telephone call General SGMM Peerzada had promised to make regarding a fresh round of talks between the party and the regime. The call did not come, of course, even though the Awami League had not quite given up hope about a proclamation being issued by President Yahya Khan on the modalities of a transfer of power.

Things were quite different in the military establishment. Having received the green signal from Yahya Khan, General Tikka Khan phoned General Khadem Husain Raja and told him: ‘It is tonight.’ That was the first sign of an impending military assault on Bengalis. All afternoon and evening, Pakistani army officers helicoptered across the province, to spread the word among the various army formations that they should be on standby for military operations to begin. A number of West Pakistani political leaders visited Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman to bid him farewell.

Sometime after dusk, General Yahya Khan boarded a Pakistan International Airlines flight to Karachi. The orders were that the military assault, codenamed Operation Searchlight, would not begin until his aircraft had safely landed in Karachi. By 10 pm, it had become clear to Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman that an armed assault on citizens was on the way. He exhorted the senior leaders of his party to move to safety. Even so, when Kamal Hossain met him around 10 pm, he asked him if there had been any phone call from the regime. Hossain replied in the negative before leaving Bangabandhu’s residence.

Rumours of an imminent strike by the army led students of Dhaka University and citizens in general into putting up barricades in different parts of the city to thwart movements by the soldiers. No one, at that point, could visualize the scale of the ferocity with which the army planned to strike.

The Pakistan army cracked down between 11 and 11.30 pm. Different units of the army fanned out in various directions. Tanks, armoured cars and trucks loaded with soldiers headed for Dhaka University, the Shaheed Minar, the Race Course (where the Kali Mandir was situated), Bangabandhu’s residence on Road 32 Dhanmondi, Hotel Intercontinental and Old Dhaka. Tracer fire lit up the night sky, with guns roaring all across town. The army moved to remove all foreign journalists from the Intercontinental and put them on flights out of the province.

The Shaheed Minar was reduced to rubble. The Kali Mandir suffered a similar fate. At Jagannath Hall and other halls of Dhaka University, soldiers stormed broke into rooms and dormitories and murdered hundreds of students. They killed Professor Gobinda Chandra Dev of the department of philosophy and Professor Rafiqul Islam of mathematics. They grievously wounded Professor Jyotirmoy Guhathakurta of the department of English. Guhathakurta was to die of his wounds a few days later.

Senior leaders of the Awami League, including Syed Nazrul Islam, Tajuddin Ahmed, M. Mansoor Ali and AHM Quamruzzaman made their way out of Dhaka in line with Bangabandhu’s instructions.

Throughout the night between March 25 and March 26, the Pakistan army killed Bengalis. All day on March 26, the killings went on unabated.

https://opinion.bdnews24.com/2016/03/25/darkness-descends/

indian agreed their gov helped your mukti bahni and it was well planned by mujeeb ur rahman why cry over and over again it was not Pakistani army alone it was indian and mujeeb typed bangali who wanted to live on indian lap for ever..
stop crying and get over with it or other wise cry for 1947 what hindu did to you guy while traveling from dhaka to calcutta. They killed more muslims in bangal then any where els in india. shame how we forget the imp part of history and remember what suites to your desire.

Scum like you are the reason the two wings could not remain united. Good riddance.
Do not please worry about scums like me. The two countries will certainly come to good terms within a few years. I am personally hopeful of the leadership of PM Imran Khan. Unlike your Kizilbush President Yahya Khan, he is highly respected and trusted in Dhaka.

Understand also that the relationship can turn around only when BAL is in power in BD. BAL will not allow any other party in power to do this job.

Can you provide any evidence to your above claim? Our regular household satellite TV provides around 80 TV channels. Among them 30 are local Bangladeshi, 20 are Indians(both Indian Bengali and Hindi), 20 are international channels(Discovery, National Geographic,BBC, CNN, Al Jazeera, sports channels etc), rest of the 10 are mostly channel from other countries. That's include single channel from Japan, Korea,Thailand, Saudi Arabia, Russia, France etc. Here in this category, it is sometimes possible to find one Pakistani channel. Some years ago, I have found Geo tv. It depends on local cable operators.Sometimes they include Geo TV or ARY Digital or no Pakistani channel at all. Even if we found Geo TV or ARY Digital in channel lists, these are usually at the bottom of the channel lists where people rarely ventures with their tv remote. I have never seen any Bangladeshi people watching Geo tv or ARY Digital in their tv or discussing about seeing it. While people are very much into Indian Bengali and Hindi serials.This is the reality in entertainment sector for common peoples in Bangladesh. So tell me, how you have come to your theory that Bangladeshi people ''listen Pakistani music and watch Serials''?

Personal experience. I have dozens of Bengali friends and all of them have listened to Pakistani Music and half of them listen to it actively. Its not a surprise our artists are hugely popular around the world. Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan , Rahat Fateh , Atif Aslam etc etc. As for our serials go and see the amount of comments from BD on our hit TV serials on You tube.

Pakistan cricket team was the most popular team in BD for decades. Even now i see substantial support for it in the stadiums.

Personal experience. I have dozens of Bengali friends and all of them have listened to Pakistani Music and half of them listen to it actively. Its not a surprise our artists are hugely popular around the world. Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan , Rahat Fateh , Atif Aslam etc etc. As for our serials go and see the amount of comments from BD on our hit TV serials on You tube.

Pakistan cricket team was the most popular team in BD for decades. Even now i see substantial support for it in the stadiums.

Regarding cricket there is no denial Pakistan team is the most popular in Bangladesh. Muslim factor works here the most but about Music those singers are only well known because they sung in Indian movies or albums.

About serials, NO. There is no Urdu show which is popular in Bangladesh. Only Humsafar and Zindagi Gulzar Hai got some viewers in YouTube but in Bangladesh we have no Pakistani TV channel because its unofficially banned.

Let us try to be a bit more objective here.

1. Pakistan does NOT make fighter jets - The JF-17 radar is Chinese, missiles are Chinese and engines are Russian. Most of the rest of the avionics are Chinese. The whole plane is pretty much a Chinese design. Yes, Pakistan has some input for sure but to call it a Pakistani jet is absurd. It is a bit more than final assembly but let us be realistic here.

2. Yes Pakistan is ahead in cities, infrastructure and higher per capita than BD but how long will this last? BD is coming from a low base where it subsidised Pakistan pretty heavily during 1947-1971 and that is a major reason why you are ahead in some areas.

BD is growing it's per capita at 7% a year and Pakistan is set for 2% or less according to your own central bank.
That is a difference of 5% per capita growth. Just look below at how quickly BD is catching up per capita with Pakistan:

https://www.imf.org/external/pubs/ft/weo/2018/02/weodata/weorept.aspx?sy=2010&ey=2019&scsm=1&ssd=1&sort=country&ds=.&br=1&pr1.x=47&pr1.y=15&c=513,564&s=PPPPC&grp=0&a=

View attachment 549336

As you can see, BD per capita has come from only 63% in 2010 to now reach 83% of Pakistan per capita at PPP. In nominal terms BD is already ahead. At current difference growth rates in per capita BD will be ahead in less than 4 years.

1. 55-70 % of JF-17 is manufactured inside Pakistan at the Kamra Aeronautical Complex. That is the reason we get export orders for it. We are in the process of making Block 3 now which will be better or on par with F-16's.

2. Potential in Pakistan is much more than BD due to its Strategic Location , Natural Resources (There are news of a huge oil reserves being found near Karachi) and simply put Pakistani's are a resilient bunch much more so than BD. In the long term PK will be much ahead . 20-25 years down the lane Dhaka Chittagong will look the same. Lahore has transformed in 10 years alone .

Regarding cricket there is no denial Pakistan team is the most popular in Bangladesh. Muslim factor works here the most but about Music those singers are only well known because they sung in Indian movies or albums.

About serials, NO. There is no Urdu show which is popular in Bangladesh. Only Humsafar and Zindagi Gulzar Hai got some viewers in YouTube but in Bangladesh we have no Pakistani TV channel because its unofficially banned.

Pk cricket team was a team of superstars Wasim Akram , Waqar Younis , Shahid Afridi etc . Our singers are popular around the world without Bollywood . Nusrat Fateh ali khan revolutionised Qawali around the world. The Qawali you hear now is because of him . Nazia Hassan revolutionised pop Music in South Asia during the 80's without Bollywood . Her Albums topped charts as far as west Indies and Russia . During the 90's we had bands that were hugely popular around the world like Junoon , Strings , Jal .

Any big PK artist like Atif Aslam or Ali zafar doing a concert in BD will be a legit Sold out in no time.

Bd should focus on how to restore democracy instead of loathing on Pakistan. Give Pakistan a rest.

Pakistan cricket team was the most popular team in BD for decades. Even now i fsee substantial support for it in the stadiums.

No doubt. Proven many times over.

As for our serials go and see the amount of comments from BD on our hit TV serials on You tube.
This is certainly false. I have checked the comment section of some popular Pakistani serials which had millions of views. It is very rare to find someone from Bangladesh commenting on those. But you will find many Indians there. But you will find somewhat more Bangladeshi comments on Pakistani movie trailers. But that also is a tiny fraction of Indians. You actually will be struck on how low Bangladeshi comments on Pakistani serials considering that Bangladesh has one of the biggest youtube viewing population in the world. You will find even more Nepali comments on Pakistani movie trailers than Bangladeshi. And this also not a one way thing. I can also see many Pakistani commenting on Bangladeshi Youtube contents. So it proves nothing.

Bd should focus on how to restore democracy instead of loathing on Pakistan. Give Pakistan a rest.

No doubt. Proven many times over.
100%

Bengalis think that just because their economy is up, everything is good. Hitler also made the economy of Germany better, but was Hitler good for Germany?

Economy goes up and down, but we should not loose our democracy, Pakistan learned that the hard way.

Nusrat Fateh ali khan revolutionised Qawali around the world. The Qawali you hear now is because of him . Nazia Hassan revolutionised pop Music in South Asia during the 80's without Bollywood . Her Albums topped charts as far as west Indies and Russia . During the 90's we had bands that were hugely popular around the world like Junoon , Strings , Jal .

Any big PK artist like Atif Aslam or Ali zafar doing a concert in BD will be a legit Sold out in no time.
You should thank Indians to make them popular. Bollywood have some kind of obsession with 'Pakistani talents'. Indians show up in a huge number to support Pakistani talents, be it singers,actors whatever. Obviously common language(Hindi/Urdu),culture and political tensions plays a huge role here.