India to replace bursting tank barrels under Rs 1,500 cr deal

SpArK

Last Updated: Wednesday, August 28, 2013, 17:09

New Delhi: Seeking to address the issue of bursting barrels of Army tanks due to ammunition, the government is planning to replace them with canons of T-90 tanks in collaboration with Russia.

T-72 tanks, the mainstay of the Indian armoured fleet, are facing problems with their ammunition as they sometimes bursts in the barrel and 200 such cases have been reported causing concern in the Army.

The Defence Ministry is planning to replace the barrels of the T-72 tanks with the ones fitted in the T-90 tanks. Under the plan, around 800 barrels are to be procured from Russia under a deal expected to be worth around Rs 1,500 crore, government sources said.

The issue is expected to be taken up for discussion during the high-level talks between India and Russia during the visit of Defence Secretary Radha Kant Mathur to Moscow next week, they said.

Earlier this year, the Army told a Parliamentary panel that barrels burst sometimes due to ammunition and wondered whether its troops will be "afraid" to fire even after seeing the enemy.

"It (the T-72 ammunition) used to burst in the barrel. If it bursts in the barrel, then the firer is afraid to fire his own gun, which is not a correct thing. If he is afraid to fire his own gun, then even if he sees the enemy he will not fire," the Army had told the Standing Committee on Defence.

The Army informed the government and the Parliamentary Committee that over a period of time, there have been 200 such accidents involving the ammunition and "it brings down the confidence of the firer, especially, with regard to tank ammunition".

In terms of the numbers, the T-72 tanks are the backbone of the Indian armoured fleet and have undergone several upgrades since their induction to be able to fight effectively in the battlefield.

PTI

"It (the T-72 ammunition) used to burst in the barrel. If it bursts in the barrel, then the firer is afraid to fire his own gun, which is not a correct thing. If he is afraid to fire his own gun, then even if he sees the enemy he will not fire," the Army had told the Standing Committee on Defence.

1. Quoted part is funny :D
2. i like your signature bro :cheers:

t-72 tanks are proving to be too costly to repair............thats why i want arjuns and not t-90's inducted as t-90's will start to show such problems in a decade or so(older ones)

Sorry bro I smell corruption here. India has huge steel and masterly industry. Why not let Russia help in producing/improving the quality of iron in India?

We can produce steel allright but barrel production is about so many other factors and we have(unfortunately) mastered none of these things as private industry was kept out of defence for a very long time and only recently we have made some effort to reign them in.
Chai-biscuit organizations like drdo cannot do these things,plain and simple

:omghaha: WTF?

'Fire his own gun'?? :woot: In other words, the main gun is for firing and the other is for fun!!! :D

Last Updated: Wednesday, August 28, 2013, 17:09

New Delhi: Seeking to address the issue of bursting barrels of Army tanks due to ammunition, the government is planning to replace them with canons of T-90 tanks in collaboration with Russia.

T-72 tanks, the mainstay of the Indian armoured fleet, are facing problems with their ammunition as they sometimes bursts in the barrel and 200 such cases have been reported causing concern in the Army.

The Defence Ministry is planning to replace the barrels of the T-72 tanks with the ones fitted in the T-90 tanks. Under the plan, around 800 barrels are to be procured from Russia under a deal expected to be worth around Rs 1,500 crore, government sources said.

The issue is expected to be taken up for discussion during the high-level talks between India and Russia during the visit of Defence Secretary Radha Kant Mathur to Moscow next week, they said.

Earlier this year, the Army told a Parliamentary panel that barrels burst sometimes due to ammunition and wondered whether its troops will be "afraid" to fire even after seeing the enemy.

The Army informed the government and the Parliamentary Committee that over a period of time, there have been 200 such accidents involving the ammunition and "it brings down the confidence of the firer, especially, with regard to tank ammunition".

In terms of the numbers, the T-72 tanks are the backbone of the Indian armoured fleet and have undergone several upgrades since their induction to be able to fight effectively in the battlefield.

PTI

one barrel for 187.5 carore man is that made up of gold:hitwall:

u nailed it sirji can some one explain why that dosent happens to T 72s used across the world ...samjha karo sainee ji elction ka time hai gareeb logon me daru aur maal batwane ke liye bhi to rupye chiye ;)

We can produce steel allright but barrel production is about so many other factors and we have(unfortunately) mastered none of these things as private industry was kept out of defence for a very long time and only recently we have made some effort to reign them in.
Chai-biscuit organizations like drdo cannot do these things,plain and simple

So who designed the Arjun barrel??

one barrel for 187.5 carore man is that made up of gold:hitwall:

u nailed it sirji can some one explain why that dosent happens to T 72s used across the world ...samjha karo sainee ji elction ka time hai gareeb logon me daru aur maal batwane ke liye bhi to rupye chiye ;)

Its called corruption pure and simple. Why not spend this money buying tankex? replacing barresls? t90 deal was supposed to come with barrel TOT. LOL, Height of corruption!!!

like this one ? :confused:

abrams_28.jpg

But you said DRDO cannot produce a barrel?? Nikamme log hain. Should have hired you and made DRDO director.

what about the TOT of the barrels that was supposed to be part of t90 deal??

There is nothing called the tot mate.............they just teach u how to assemble things,,,,,most of the critical systems come from the oem.Sure drdo is a nikammi organization......they should have gone for smoothbore gun instead of rifled gun from the beginning as all other tanks of indian army and most in the world use these only
Also rifling wears out after sustained use so has to be replaced causing high costs of maintainance

But you said DRDO cannot produce a barrel?? Nikamme log hain. Should have hired you and made DRDO director.

what about the TOT of the barrels that was supposed to be part of t90 deal??

I think u might be avinash chander......reveal thyself chai-biscuit organization director and face the charges:omghaha:

There is nothing called the tot mate.............they just teach u how to assemble things,,,,,most of the critical systems come from the oem.Sure drdo is a nikammi organization......they should have gone for smoothbore gun instead of rifled gun from the beginning as all other tanks of indian army and most in the world use these only
Also rifling wears out after sustained use so has to be replaced causing high costs of maintainance

I think u might be avinash chander......reveal thyself chai-biscuit organization director and face the charges:omghaha:

Hmmmm.....it seems you come on pdf for potty shots??