Indian man 'survives without food or water for decades'

Raghu

DRDO watching man who hasn't eaten 'in 70 yrs' - Yahoo! India News

Wed, Apr 28 04:16 AM
For the last six days, a team of experts from the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) and a panel of specialist doctors have been studying the bizarre case of a man who claims he has not eaten or drunk anything for the last 70 years.

Prahalad Jani, 82, is under observation at a private hospital here. Sources said the DRDO team is studying him to see if they can pick up any tips on survival strategies for the forces.

"We would like to keep the information confidential for the time being, but we shall share it when the results are established," said Dr Vasana Reddy, DRDO spokesperson. Officials at the Sterling Hospital, which is hosting and assisting the study, were more forthcoming. They said it may "help in working out strategies for survival during natural calamities, extreme stressful conditions, even extra terrestrial explorations like future missions to Moon and Mars by the human race."

The 15-day scrutiny is being monitored by 35 doctors, including those from the DRDO's Defence Institute of Physiology and Allied Science. Two stationary 24-hour video cameras have been set up in his room, while a mobile video camera follows him whenever he is required to step outside. The room itself has reportedly been sealed off from sunlight.

The bathroom attached to the room has also been locked up, as demanded by Jani, Sonography tests have reportedly shown the accumulation and disappearance of liquid in his bladder.

"We consider this as a purely basic science experiment, with strict observation of Jani to make sure he neither drinks nor eats," said IIM-A Professor Anil Gupta, who is also on the observation panel.

This is not the first time that Jani has come under scientific observation. In 2003, he was studied by a team of doctors under Dr Sudhir Shah. The details of that experiment are available on Shah's website, www.neuro.org, where he lists the "supernatural" genesis of Jani's fast, how more than 10 different tests ranging from cardiac to psychiatric tests were conducted on him for 10 days, and how tests showed no remarkable deviance in how his body functions.

While Jani is a resident of Ahmedabad, not much is known about him. According to Shah's website, Jani reportedly told doctors that he "left home at the age of 7 years and wandered in the jungles of Mt. Abu, Girnar, Narmada, etc." The report adds that "according to Jani, he has no desire to eat, drink liquids or pass urine or stool since then. He attributes his strength to an elixir coming out through his palate."

While doctors and DRDO officials said Jani's relatives were lodged in a room on the seventh floor of the hospital, other staff claimed that he has no relatives. "His family isn't here. They are all his sevaks, his servants," said a hospital employee. "Jani doesn't have relatives, no mother, no father, no one. He came from nowhere."

I'm from ahmedabad and amdavadi people call him 'Mataji' and we have many articles in our local newspaper about him.

He claims that Goddess pleased at his 'Bhakti' and then he never ate or drink in life after that.after that he prepares himself every day by sindoor and all that.

Not only local doctors but also team of americal and german doctors examined him and they found no false claim.:agree:.

they planned to come back in dec 2010 but never heard anything after that.

I personally believe his claims are true because he never denied any medical test doctors demanded and always co-operated to doctors by saying that if experimenting on me can help mankind than I'm at your service.

One more thing I like about him is that after all this 'power' he has, he never claimed to be 'avatar' or never claim that he can cure cancer and all that, that all pakhandi baba log do.

kya aadmi hai bhai...

saare log aise ho jain to saare jhagde hi khatam ho jaayen..

kya aadmi hai bhai...

saare log aise ho jain to saare jhagde hi khatam ho jaayen..

such people are called enlightened ones (True Yogi). Not all can become like them. one needs to drop off their earthly desires to be a Yogi like him.

you are mistaken here.
he himself never said he is yogi, he says goddess gave her 'vardan ' and thats it.

hoax/scam.

Its going to turn out to be another one of those "Milk drinking Hanuman idol".

"This is not the first time that Jani has come under scientific observation. In 2003, he was studied by a team of doctors under Dr Sudhir Shah. The details of that experiment are available on Shah's website, www.neuro.org, where he lists the "supernatural" genesis of Jani's fast, how more than 10 different tests ranging from cardiac to psychiatric tests were conducted on him for 10 days, and how tests showed no remarkable deviance in how his body functions."

Thats interesting! I think DRDO should look at uncommon ways with basic science. It should be more like DARPA (not fully), that should sponsor various projects and innovative ideas from institutes, companies and individuals.

you are mistaken here.
he himself never said he is yogi, he says goddess gave her 'vardan ' and thats it.

Brother, This is not a new phenomenon. If you see our history, we had lots of Yogis who went for meditation (tapasya) from months even years with out food/water intake. Who knows there are more such cases in Himalayas but those yogis will not prefer coming on media to announce about what they are doing?

No offence .i just have something funny to share with u guys....
A few years back my father was posted in DJK and me and my friends heard of a hindu temple in which a fire had been buring miraclously since 300 years.So we decieded to visit the temple due to curiosity and wat we found was a dude shoving logs of wood into the fire in order to keep it burning....heck tht was very darn funny........coz it was famed tht the fire has been miraclously burning since centuries.
Maybe sames the case with this dude...he might be taking his protiens in some other way.using liquids or something?"scam or hoax like idols drinking milk>?

^ He was under observation in a closed system.

But I still maintain that I will become a Hindu if this materialises.