Kashmir | News & Discussions.

So, is new media only reinforcing old stereotypes?

• Total voters
Amit i'm not being bad or nothing but the pictures kindly provided by Abu Zolfiqar show that the older generation are involved aswell........even women.......now they can't all be paid by separatists.......something must be wrong with the system for them to start a riot.

The Hindu : News / National : Omar visits hospital, meets injured in recent violence

omar_157192f.jpg

In an effort to check the medical facilties provided to those injured in the current unrest in Jammu and Kashmir, Chief Minister Omar Abdullah visited a leading hospital here on Thursday, unfazed of a hostile crowd that surrounded him.

Mr. Abdullah drove from his office to super speciality Sher-e-Kashmir Institute of Medical Sciences(SKIMS) where he talked to the patients and their attendants.

The Chief Minister went into the hospital taking everyone by surprise, officials said, adding the decision to make an on-the-spot visit was taken following reports of lack of medicines for patients and food for attendants.

As Mr. Abdullah entered a ward, women came up to him and narrated their experiences about the tragedy that had befallen them during the present unrest.

He enquired about the facilities being made available to the patients at the hospital.

Immediately, around 200-odd people surrounded the Chief Minister and indulged in slogan shouting giving jitters to security personnel who advised him to leave the hospital.

However, undeterred by the slogan shouting, he reasoned with the people requesting them not to disturb the atmosphere at the hospital where patients were recuperating.

Mr. Abdullah visited the main tertiary care hospital and took stock of the availability of medicines and life saving drugs.

He also instructed the Director of SKIMS and doctors concerned to provide best possible medical care to the affected persons.

decided to come out and throw stones and were faced with bullets

The almighty Indian economy can't afford to purchase water gun tank....yet it decides to spend billions on defence deal.........that is shambolic.

Control room in Kashmir for complaints on essential supplies, IBN Live News

(PTI) Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah today took stock of availability of essential items, including baby food and medicines, in the valley and ordered setting up of round-the-clock control room for redressing grievances of people regarding such supplies. Omar chaired a high-level meeting and instructed that the Public Distribution System be activated to mitigate the difficulties of people in the prevailing situation. Curfew remained clamped in Kashmir Valley which witnessed overnight clashes between stone-pelting protestors and security forces. The government also opened the Secretariat, which saw a good number of employees turning up for duty. Omar said the Consumer Affairs and Public Distribution Department must ensure the availability and distribution of foodgrains through its outlets. It was decided that foodgrains will continue to be given at the scale of 50 kg per ration card, an official spokesman said. Omar directed the department to ensure availability of LPG and kerosene oil besides setting up of a control room where the consumers can register their grievances regarding essential supplies. He also instructed that the telephone numbers of the control room be provided to the Chief Minister''s Grievance Cell for coordinating timely redressal of grievances. The consumers will also have the option to register their grievances at the Chief Minister''s Cell. Taking cognizance of the reports regarding shortage of baby food and medicines, it was decided that CAPD will procure baby food and organise its distribution through its outlets, the spokesman said, adding Rs one crore has been kept at the disposal of the department for the purpose. The Chief Secretary was asked to ascertain the availability of medicines, particularly life-saving drugs and take necessary measures to make these available to the health institutions. The Deputy Commissioners have been instructed to issue passes to the chemists and pharmaceutical dealers so that they remain operational even during curfew. Meanwhile, Government also released Rs 45 lakh to various hospitals including SKIMS, SMHS and Bone and Joint Hospitals, Divisional Commissioner, Kashmir and Deputy Commissioners for arranging free and timely treatment of persons who have sustained injuries due to the prevailing disturbances. Official vehicles were like to carry essential supplies in the evening and people have been requested to maintain calm and allow the distribution of food items.

some of them arent peaceful protestsers I WONDER WHY? HMMMM, is it really difficult to understand WHY?

some of you people are really incredible.......so blind to truths, listen to what your media brainwashed you about

when so much frustration builds up after years of occupation, obviously there will be resistance. In the eyes of most Kashmiris, hindustans occupation is illegitimate and for that reason they are resisting

and just because they are doing that does not make them militants, does not make them ''ISI operatives''

God damn!

Whatever the reason, you cant allow law and order situation go out of control. If you do, you see what's happeneing in Karachi right now. So I think its better for LEO's to take action and the miscreants get killed (as in Kashmir . some 40 in a 3 weeks) as against Police not taking strong action and innocents getting killed (as in karachi - 80 killed in 3 days)

The almighty Indian economy can't afford to purchase water gun tank....yet it decides to spend billions on defence deal.........that is shambolic.

These trouble mongers are getting what they deserve for creating distubances in the state.

I Have no sympathy for those terrorists and their supporters.

Pakistan silent when it comes to brother China who killed more muslims in riots why is that i wonder?

You need to stick to the topic, why bring China into the picture, its about Kashmir.....so from your prospective its okay to kill thousands of Kashmiri.....just because Pakistan was silent during the riots in China.

These trouble mongers are getting what they deserve for creating distubances in the state.

What do you expect you have raped and killied there people........should they skip along and smile and think nothing has happened......I don't think so. With that kind of thinking your just creating more terrorists and a continious cycle of hatred on the Indian goverment

You need to stick to the topic, why bring China into the picture, its about Kashmir.....so from your prospective its okay to kill thousands of Kashmiri.....just because Pakistan was silent during the riots in China.

The thing is, that Pakistan should remain silent on this issue ..because all Pakistanis were silent when same was happening in Pakistan....hence they should not criticize Indians when they are unable to prevent the same on their own territory.

Governor’s rule seems inevitable

Thursday, August 05, 2010
By Arun Rajnath

NEW DELHI: Political parties, including the Hurriyat Conference and even the militants, are fast becoming irrelevant in held Jammu and Kashmir and the masses have taken over the movement, leaving the central government with only two options — either commit widescale massacres or impose the governor’s rule in the state.

Anti-India sentiments, police atrocities and public anger are being daily reflected on the streets in the Valley but the public is in no mood to listen to militants or the Hurriyat leaders. The latest example is of the United Jihad Council Chairman Sayyad Salahuddin, who had recently appealed to the general public to continue the stir in a phased manner as people were suffering and schools were closed.

Soon after this appeal, the Kashmiri people became so enraged that they burnt the effigy of Sayyad Salahuddin in Srinagar on Aug 2. Nobody could have imagined that the people could take such an extreme step.

Similarly, Hurriyat leader Syed Ali Shah Geelani darted off a message of truce to the government from his hospital bed, claiming that he would calm the people if the government was ready to lift the curfew. When people came to know about this, they assembled outside Geelani’s house and threatened to set it ablaze.

Again on Aug 2, two militants were spotted in Badgam district who were carrying arms. A public procession was passing by highlighting the anti-India sentiments. Agitators surrounded the militants and told them they were not needed now as the people had vowed to take the struggle to its logical end. They asked the militants to drop the arms and follow the procession.

During the nights, people stay on the roads, they do not go to their homes and they are ready to face anything, which may come their way. Anti-India and anti-government sentiments are running high. To express these sentiments, they usually attack the government buildings and set them on fire. When they wish to vent their ire against the J&K state government, they pelt stones at the residences of state ministers as they did on the night of Aug 2. People assembled at the houses of Senior Minister Ali Mohammad Sagar and Omar Abdullah’s confidant Mubarak Gul and pelted stones.

Security forces have also increased their atrocious actions. In Batmaloo, policemen thrust a baton inside the mouth of an eight-year-boy Sameer on Aug 2. His lungs ruptured and he is in a hospital in critical condition.

Hashim Qureshi, an old associate of late Maqbool Butt, told this correspondent that police never use water canons or rubber bullets to disperse stone pelting protesters. Police aim tear gas shells at their heads. Many youths have been killed by these shells. Twenty people have been killed in the last three days, and a total 37 since June 11.

Hashim Qureshi said the governor’s rule was the only option to calm the people, and after six months, fresh elections should be conducted. He said that the government had never worked properly in the held Valley. There are 430 seminaries in Srinagar alone and none of them was registered. The government pays no attention towards them to modernise them. Students of these seminaries are also creating problems.

Hashim said Qasmi Ishtu, who is in the Central Jail, controls the stone pelters from jail. He said though there is no external hand behind the unrest, yet the People’s Democratic Party and the Jamaat-i-Islami were involved.

Moreover, young Omar Abdullah has no clue what to do. One the one hand, he demands more security troops and on the other he wants them to exercise restraint.

He rushed to New Delhi and had meetings with the Indian prime minister on the held Valley situation. After the meeting, he told a press conference: “J&K has a political situation. It needs a political package more than an economic package. By political package, I mean dealing with issues like Armed Forces Special Powers Act, footprint of the security forces, rehabilitation package for youngsters who are across the Line of Control and compensation for victims of the ongoing trouble.” When posed a question by this correspondent on the indigenous nature of the agitation and massive participation of the general public, Omar Abdullah sternly stared and left.

Held Kashmir unrest getting out of Indian hands

New Delhi: Thirty-eight young members of Parliament have written to the youth of Jammu and Kashmir expressing empathy, pleading for restraint and endorsing the need for dialogue.

Cutting across party lines, the MPs, including Priya Dutt, Dipendra Huda and Sandeep Dixit of the Congress, Akhilesh Yadav and Neeraj Shekhar of the Samajwadi Party and Supriya Sule of the NCP, have issued a signed statement that says:

"We deeply mourn the loss of innumerable young life. What has happened in the recent past has been very unfortunate and we are deeply concerned. We as representatives of people ourselves believe that together with positive frame of mind we can seek resolution only through open communication. History teaches us that any resolution can only be brought about through dialogue and not through violence. In this century when the whole world is looking towards India and we ourselves look to join the club of developed nations we believe this dream can only be achieved if all parts of our nation equally reap the fruits of our developments and when all of us are stake holders in this dream. Future belongs to our generation. We, the young parliamentarians, belonging to your generation sincerely hope for a bright shared future for you and for all of us together. We urge our young brothers and sisters in J&K to exercise restraint and have trust in power of dialogue."

38 young MPs write to the youth of Kashmir

he thing is Pakistan should remain silent on this issue ..because all Pakistanis were silent when same was happening in Pakistan....hence they should not criticize Indians when they are unable to prevent the same on their own territory.

Good thing is I'm British so I can criticize India all I want. This is a Pakistani defence forum so any Pakistan has right to criticize India.......why should they remain silent.....if you don't like it then why don't you join Bharat Rakshak the racists website........at least the Pakistani posters here are not racists like your fellow Indians in that forum.

But the truth is in what I have seen is that the truth is hurting you Indians....as you keep diverting the subject, on about other antions

Good thing is I'm British so I can criticize India all I want. This is a Pakistani defence forum so any Pakistan has right to criticize India.......why should they remain silent.....if you don't like it then why don't you join Bharat Rakshak the racists website........at least the Pakistani posters here are not racists like your fellow Indians in that forum.

But the truth is in what I have seen is that the truth is hurting you Indians....as you keep diverting the subject, on about other antions

How much ever you try to hide behind your adopted flags, we know can guess your ethinicity and Origin.

Pakistani's should not meddle in India's affairs.