Protesting students march along road in New Delhi

Molawchai

Protesting students march along road in New DelhiOctober 14, 2010

Protesting students march along the road in New Delhi, capital of India, on Oct. 13, 2010. More than 100 students and their teachers from AISA, a student's organization in Nehru University, held a protest against the ongoing Commonwealth Games and government's ignorance of the poor on Wednesday afternoon. (Xinhua/Mao Xiaoxiao)
15916474247717857753.jpg

10925976400441327002.jpg

Protesting students march along the road in New Delhi, capital of India, on Oct. 13, 2010. (Xinhua/Mao Xiaoxiao)

6777618864340132095.jpg

Protesting students line up in front of a slum in New Delhi, capital of India, on Oct. 13, 2010. (Xinhua/Mao Xiaoxiao)
Protesting students march along road in New Delhi - People's Daily Online

LOL, 100 students? And thats news???

BTW protests are part of India's democratic process and there are over a thousand protests per year in my home state alone. The commonwealth obsession is still fresh in some peoples' minds. Get a life pls.

No to social apartheid! JNU students protest today against CWG ‘view cutters’ Kafila October 13, 2010

manish.jpg

The government and civic agencies in association with the Commonwealth Games Organising Committee (OC) had identified several sites central to hosting the Games where view cutters were put up to conceal the eyesores as well as for security reasons.
A government official said one of the purposes to put up the view cutters was to screen the beggars who crowd major religious and historical landmarks.

The plan is to relocate the destitute to parks and surround the place with slick banners and paraphernalia sporting Games mascot Shera and other logos, the official said.

Protest March today, 13th of October, 4 p.m. from Ganga Dhabha to the slum dwellings at the Priya crossway.

board-scaled500.jpg

Friends, CWG 2010 is now almost coming to an end. The whole country has been in a celebratory frenzy for the last two weeks. The government has made the successful completion of these games an issue of “National pride”. They have left no stones unturned to impress the whole world. The same government which claims to have no money when it comes to the issues of drought, health and education has wasted thousands of crores on just the opening ceremony. It is distressing to see that while we are counting medals won by India, we have completely forgotten that there is a vast section of people who instead of benefitting are adversely affected during our blind celebration of this “colonial hangover”.

To impress visitors, Delhi Government has taken many steps to ‘beautify’ the city. One of the most ‘innovative’ steps taken by them is to erect view-cutters to hide city’s slums from the view of the general public, and other people who are going to visit the city during this 15- day jamboree. Friends, these slums are inhabited by the very same people who constructed the stadiums and the roads required for CWG. Further, when not working in CWG these people perform many other important jobs without which this city would come to a standstill. But, instead of recognizing their contribution to the city’s economy the government is treating them like ‘dirt’.

This abominable act of the government reminds us of social apartheid in South Africa, racial discrimination and Ghettos in United States where the Blacks are forced to live in inhuman conditions because they do not fit to the ‘Global Standard’ of these cities. Similarly, here the government has been hiding the slum dwellers and their slums behind fancy CWG hoardings in its bid to project the city as a ‘world class’ one. They are being treated like 3rd class citizens in their own country. There cannot be a more blatant example of the class bias that the state holds. This move needs to be condemned and challenged in strongest possible terms. Further, it will be a big disgrace on the radical tradition of this campus if we accept it silently just 100metres away from JNU.

We appeal to all of you to come out in large numbers and express your anger against such an abominable act which most of us seem to have taken for granted.
Join the UNITED PROTEST on 13th of October, 4 p.m. for a march from Ganga Dhabha to the slum dwellings at the Priya crossway.

Looking Like they Hiding the Slums lol Why not they make home for them from those CWG adv. boards lol

I agree with your point..

Crores of rupees were spend on unwanted things and crores have fallen into politicians hands..

It requires less than 1% on the total money spend to rehabilitate or make a proper shelter for them instead of putting up banners to hide them.

The planning bureaucrats are nut cases and once the games are over nothing will be changed.

What a shame!!!

LOL, 100 students? And thats news???

BTW protests are part of India's democratic process and there are over a thousand protests per year in my home state alone. The commonwealth obsession is still fresh in some peoples' minds. Get a life pls.

These are JNU students. JNU is well known base of coffee cup communist they supports everything anti India, even maoist. Nothing unusal.

Chinese should be shameful that they arrests few people celebrating Nobel prize to human rights activist but in India we allow all type of dog to bark and bite.

These are JNU students. JNU is well known base of coffee cup communist they supports everything anti India, even maoist. Nothing unusal.

JNU - India's largest assembly line of out-of-the-world-always-idealistic-never-practical Leftists/Communists.

No wonder.:coffee:

!00 student protest and 25000 other toom part on commonwealth opening ceremony.

BTW, why this is a news.

Chinese should be shameful that they arrests few people celebrating Nobel prize to human rights activist but in India we allow all type of dog to bark and bite.

i hear this very often but i don't get it:?
Are their proffessors from Left Parties???
or ruskies,Chinese,N.koreans??:what::taz:

Arre yaar JNU ki kyon le rahe ho. I am also a JNU product and as anything in India - it houses a diversified spectrum of political beliefs from leftist to rightist to librals.

It is their right to protest and if their demand holds some water - the protest will get bigger. Why get so defensive about protests?? We should be proud of it. Whatever happened to the spirit of "I may not agree with what you say but I will defend to the death your right to say it?"

They have all the rights to voice their opinion - your disagreement does not make them a moron.