Punjab Police arrests PTM leaders

Shouting ye jo dehshat gardi hy slogans?

Why prevent them from exposing themselves ? Or well it expose PTM asset supported by Achakzai Supported by Nawas sharif ?

I do think they have a right to do

That, my friend. I am in favor to let them gather. Which slogans they use and are they appropriate is a thing which government and constitution will decide and take further actions. But let them gather, i know they lack the "islamist part" which you need to protest in Pakistan and to block roads but, what can we do.

an Achakzai planned plot to organize Pashtuns against army and judiciary

Its a pity. That we can drag Prime Minister to supreme court, trial him and punish him for corruption but we can't drag the one person which we all "somehow" know that is a traitor and behind all misadventures in Pakistan since decades. Still this person and his entire family is in Balochistan assembly and national assembly serving the PMLN led government. And then we blame pasheen for treason. Kisi ne khoob kaha hy ka paani hamesha nazuk band tor ky nikalta hy.

Stop cutting the tails, go for the head.

Its a pity. That we can drag Prime Minister to supreme court, trial him and punish him for corruption but we can't drag the one person which we all "somehow" know that is a traitor and behind all misadventures in Pakistan since decades. Still this person and his entire family is in Balochistan assembly and national assembly serving the PMLN led government. And then we blame pasheen for treason. Kisi ne khoob kaha hy ka paani hamesha nazuk band tor ky nikalta hy.
Also his brother killed an ordinary traffic warden and went away like nothing happened where is the state?
Stop cutting the tails, go for the head.
The head is Nawaj and surrounding you will see many elements fade away post Nawaj be it religious fundos or fake nationalists(where were they when Nawaj stopped entry of IDP,s into punjab?)
That, my friend. I am in favor to let them gather. Which slogans they use and are they appropriate is a thing which government and constitution will decide and take further actions. But let them gather, i know they lack the "islamist part" which you need to protest in Pakistan and to block roads but, what can we do.
They will die on their own all fake nationalists did JSQM was way bigger than them by just ignoring them we destroyed them

Or the so called 'free' press has been arm twisted not to even cover their Jalsa in Lahore or the media has become the guardian of the establishment!
All jalsas that speak against institutions are to be banned on tv no exceptions but you can still organize and invite Afghanis in them no one is stopping them they got a reply in Karak which they still are salty from the counter movement by Tribals against them

Or the so called 'free' press has been arm twisted not to even cover their Jalsa in Lahore or the media has become the guardian of the establishment!

PTM Lahore Jalsa Live

you should better worry about your own country where everything is controlled by RSS hindutva government they were even defending rapists of 8 year old

India ‘3rd most dangerous’ nation for journalists after Iraq and Syria

_fdf6cf4c-1a3d-11e6-952f-d19f9bc24ed8.jpg

Hindustan journalist Rajdeo Ranjan was shot dead near the Siwan railway station(HT Photo)

• murders of journalists Rajdeo Ranjan in Bihar and Akhilesh Pratap Singh in Jharkhand within 24 hours of each other confirmed a 2015 international report that named India among the three most dangerous countries for media personnel.

Since 1992, 64 journalists have been killed in India with reporters exposing corruption the most hunted, says a compilation by the Committee to Protect Journalists.

Most of them died in smaller towns where graft is rampant and exposing it means earns the wrath of powerful politicians and industrialists. Earlier this year, a group backed by the Chhattisgarh government forced journalists Malini Subramaniam and some lawyers out of the Maoist-affected Bastar region. Activists also said the state administration was muzzling free speech after three journalists were arrested on allegedly flimsy charges.

The high death rate of journalists in the country is only lower than war-torn Iraq and Syria. India is the deadliest nation for reporters in Asia, more than Pakistan or Afghanistan.

Read | Murdered Bihar journalist wrote on jailed RJD leader Shahabuddin

The poor record is primarily because of an absence of any mechanism to protect journalists. The Press Council of India (PCI) is virtually toothless with its recommendations not binding on any authority. “It’s a matter of grave concern that three journalists were killed in India in the last four months and another died in a tragic accident while on the line of duty,” said PCI chief justice (retd) Chandramouli Kumar Prasad.

The third killing this year was the daylight murder of 32-year-old Karun Mishra, the bureau chief of local newspaper Jansandesh Times in Sultanpur, Uttar Pradesh. He had reported on dangerous business --- illegal mining -- and his murder case is still unsolved.

DUBIOUS DISTINCTION
    • India ranks 133 among 180 countries in the latest annual World Press Freedom Index
    • The rankings are an indicator of the independence afforded to scribes in different countries
    • In the 2016 report, released by Reporters Without Borders (RSF), India’s position improved by three spots from the136th position it held last year
    • The report shows that Europe has the freest media
    • Among India’s neighbours, Pakistan ranks 147, Sri Lanka 141, Afghanistan 120, Bangladesh 144, Nepal 105 and Bhutan 94; China is ranked at 176 — one of the worst in the world
    Top 3 countries with Press Freedom: ■ Finland ■ Netherlands ■ Norway
    Bottom 3 countries: ■ Yemen ■ Cuba ■ Djibouti

Last year, freelance journalist Jagendra Singh was allegedly burnt alive by police and goons reportedly sent by Uttar Pradesh minister Ram Murti Verma in Shahjahanpur. The reason: Singh’s prominent coverage to the alleged rape of an anganwadi worker by Verma. Only after the chilling murder were the minister and others booked.

A PCI report shows 96 % cases of journalists killing reported in the last two decades have not reached their logical conclusion. The cases have either dragged on in the courts or the investigation has hit a dead end.

“I urge the government of India to enact a special law for protection of journalists and speedy trial of cases of attacks and assaults,” the PCI chief said in a statement.
https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...q-and-syria/story-O1b1tDVTdgSlEkA7ctJAlK.html

Indian police arrest French journalist for filming in Kashmir

Fayaz Bukhari
3 MIN READ

SRINAGAR, India (Reuters) - An Indian court on Monday remanded in custody a French journalist for five days after he was arrested in the disputed Kashmir region for filming a documentary without permission and violating visa regulations, police said.

The freelance journalist, Paul Comiti, was arrested on Sunday in Srinagar, the main city in Indian-administered Kashmir where Muslim separatists have been waging a violent campaign against Indian rule since the late 1980s.

Comiti held an Indian business visa which did not permit him to make a documentary on political or security-related issues, Senior Superintendent of Police Imtiyaz Ismael Parray told Reuters.

Comiti had met a separatist leader, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq, and filmed protesters throwing stones at members of the security forces, said another senior police official, who declined to be identified as he is not authorized to speak to the media.

He had also met victims of anti-riot “pellet guns” that the security forces use against protesters.

More than 3,800 people have been wounded and one killed by the weapons since a new round of protests against Indian rule erupted last year, with more than 100 partially or fully blinded, official figures show.

“We called him to ask him about his activities, but he refused to present himself before the police,” the second police official said.

“He was not authorized to film here because he was on a business visa. He was finally arrested.”

Muslim-majority Kashmir is claimed in full but ruled in part by mostly Hindu India and Muslim Pakistan and has been at the heart of nearly seven decades of hostility between the neighbors.

Comiti had asked the defense ministry for permission to film in Kashmir, but it had been denied because he was on a business visa, said the second police official.

A French Embassy’s consular official based in New Delhi met Comiti at the police station in Srinagar, police said. An embassy spokesman was not available for comment.

An insurgency by separatist militants raged in Kashmir through the 1990s and into the 2000s but it had died down more recently.

But the killing by the security forces of a young, popular separatist leader in July 2016 sparked a new wave of protests by a new generation in India’s only Muslim-majority state.

India’s interior minister said last year the government planned to reconsider the use of the pellet guns to control crowds, after the multiple casualties stirred public anger and condemnation by rights groups.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-...urnalist-for-filming-in-kashmir-idUSKBN1E50H2

08272010SrinagarAPAltafQadri.jpg

A Kashmiri youth reads a news item posted on his Facebook page in an internet cafe in Srinagar, India, August 27, 2010 (AP/Altaf Qadri)
Alerts
Jammu and Kashmir state government censors 22 social media services

April 26, 2017 5:14 PM ET

• local reports.

The order from the Home Department of the state government said the order was in "the interests of peace and tranquility in the state" and that social media was "misused by anti-national and anti-social elements." R.K. Goyal, the principal secretary who signed the order, could not be reached by phone and did not immediately respond to an email.

"The sweeping censorship of social media under the pretext of 'maintaining peace and order' will bring neither peace nor order," said Steven Butler, Asia Program coordinator at CPJ. "Such broad censorship clearly violates the democratic ideals and human rights India purports to uphold."

The state, which both India and Pakistan claim as their territory, has been the site of renewed protests since Indian government forces killed a separatist leader in July. Eight people were killed when protesters fought with police during a by-election earlier this month. The order comes after a spate of videos purportedly showing Indian soldiers committing human rights abuses spread widely on social media. In one such video, a Kashmiri man is seen strapped to the front of an army jeep as a human shield.

The government has blocked access to internet and mobile services in Jammu and Kashmir to prevent demonstrations before, according to The Associated Press. According to a 2016 report from the U.S. think-tank the Brookings Institution, India blocked access to the internet in various regions in an attempt to prevent demonstrations 22 times from July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016, more often than did Syria, Pakistan, and Turkey combined.

The censorship of social media was instituted because India "has completely lost control" in Kashmir, Hilal Mir, editor of the independent newspaper the Kashmir Reader, told CPJ. He credited the videos' wide circulation on social media for pushing the government to open inquiries into soldiers' conduct.

Mir told CPJ that the order to block access to social media would make it more difficult for journalists in the region to do their jobs, as they regularly use social media and platforms like WhatsApp to communicate and to report. He said that mobile phone data service had also been shut down, and worried that the censorship of social media might presage aggressive censorship of the traditional news media.

The Kashmir Reader was among the publications state authorities censored in July 2016, amid a government-imposed blackout of mobile data services, CPJ reported at the time.

They will die on their own all fake nationalists did JSQM was way bigger than them by just ignoring them we destroyed them

Ignoring wont work this time. We should try a new thing. Yes. I mean "talk". Lets bring all the parties to a table and talk. And then agree on a conclusion and work for the betterment of this nation. Why Pakistan as a nation hate talking i dkn't know. It seems working for whole world.

The head is Nawaj and surrounding you will see many elements fade away post Nawaj be it religious fundos or fake nationalists(where were they when Nawaj stopped entry of IDP,s into punjab?

I can only see members of PMLN in courts. Aankhy tars gae Asif ali zardari , achakzai or Molana diesel ko adalt me dekne ko.

Ignoring wont work this time. We should try a new thing. Yes. I mean "talk". Lets bring all the parties to a table and talk. And then agree on a conclusion and work for the betterment of this nation.
They made themselves unpopular by going for an anti national route this may give them popularity among masuami liberals but overall they are now gaining resentment

Sir ji all demands were presented way before by pti blocked recently by fazlu,nawaj and afghanzai

I can only see members of PMLN in courts. Aankhy tars gae Asif ali zardari , achakzai or Molana diesel ko adalt me dekne ko.
Boss Sharjil Memon ka naam yaad hy :D ?

PTM rally kicks off in Lahore
Dawn.com | Atika Rehman | Arif MalikUpdated April 22, 2018
Facebook Count103
Twitter Share

The Pashtun Tahaffuz Movement (PTM) rally at Lahore's Mochi Gate kicked off on Sunday as planned, despite Punjab government's refusal to issue a permit for the event.

Among those who took the rostrum were Tahera Jalib — daughter of revolutionary poet Habib Jalib — who read out Dastoor, a famous poem of her father, and Amina Masood Janjua of the Defence of Human Rights Pakistan, whose husband has been missing since 2005.

Advocate Fazal Khan, father of a student martyred in the 2014 Army Public School attack, also spoke at the event, repeating his demand of formation a judicial commission to investigate the attack.

Awami Workers Party President Fanoos Gujjar, while addressing the crowd, said: "Yesterday when PTM leaders were arrested, we were asked: 'There is peace in Lahore and you are anti-state traitors. What will the traitors do here? Pakhtuns here are studying and conducting trade, why are you taking their peace away?'"

He went on to claim that Pakhtuns in Punjab face atrocities at the hands of the Punjab Police which extorts money from labourers, and that many people are still being picked up in broad daylight from Lahore.

The district administration had earlier rejected an application by the Lahore Left Front for the PTM rally citing security concerns.

Ali Wazir, one of the main PTM leaders, had earlier appealed to Lahore's residents to join the gathering to learn about the ordeal residents experienced in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) and the Federally Administered Tribal Areas. He said the gathering was aimed at uniting the exploited and oppressed masses of KP and Punjab in general, and highlighting woes of ordinary Pashtun labourers in Lahore in particular.

Punjab police officials — both male and female — are providing security at the venue to ensure that no one enters the ground with weapons or sharp objects.

According to announcements made during the rally, police were attempting to prevent people from reaching Mochi Gate to attend the event.

A number of PTM leaders were briefly detained on Saturday while workers found the venue of the rally flooded with water when they arrived to kickstart preparations today. Both the instances, the PTM claims, were attempts to coerce them into not holding the rally.

Deputy Inspector General (DIG) Haider Ashraf on Sunday denied arresting any PTM leaders, saying they had only been called to the police headquarters to negotiate on security for the event as the district administration has refused them permission to hold the rally. They were later released after 3-4 hours.

A day earlier on Saturday, DIG Ashraf had said the PTM leaders had been engaged to get affidavits that they would not take part in any anti-state activity.

The refusal of Punjab government to grant permission to the PTM for its rally, combined with the detention of its workers, was criticised by Maryam Nawaz, Senator Pervaiz Rasheed and Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, all of whom backed the movement's right to protest.

The Lahore rally had been announced earlier this month when the movement held its first power show in Peshawar, demanding all missing persons be produced in courts and provision of basic rights to the people of Federally Administered Tribal Areas.

Bilawal, Maryam back PTM's right to protest
PML-N's leaders Maryam Nawaz and Senator Pervaiz Rasheed both said that the rally should have been allowed while Bilawal Bhutto Zardari also condemned the "high-handedness and disregard for the constitutional rights of the people" shown by the Shahbaz Sharif-led provincial government.

In a tweet early Sunday, Maryam said that the arrested activists should be released and the PTM should be allowed to hold its rally. "This country is as much their's as it is our's," she said.

"Attempts to suppress voices rising against oppression and excesses can never have never been successful, nor will they ever be," she added.

In his statement, Senator Rasheed said that the ban on the rally was a painful act and that the Punjab government should not only listen to the pain and misery of the protesters but also play their part in alleviating them. "This is not the time to repeat bitterness of the past, but to learn from them and strengthen national unity."

Bilawal, in a tweet, said that every Pakistani citizen has a right to protest and "PTM are no different", concluding with #VoterKoIzzatDo, in a reference to PML-N's slogan demanding respect for vote.

They made themselves unpopular by going for an anti national route this may give them popularity among masuami liberals but overall they are now gaining resentment

Sir ji all demands were presented way before by pti blocked recently by fazlu,nawaj and afghanzai

Thats the way i want it to be. Let them die there own death. We Pakistanis have a keera which make us turn every death into shahadat. We are blindly working to make PTM a shaheed jamat and the consequences will be no better then PPP.

Boss Sharjil Memon ka naam yaad hy :D

Janab mujhu doctor Aasim b yad hy. (Though he have the name. Please don't feel for him :D)

Na ji us dangar daktar ko tu us key ghar waley bhi na achay alfaz mein yaad karein sharjil ko to phir bhi sonay ka taaj mil gaya
Thats the way i want it to be. Let them die there own death. We Pakistanis have a keera which make us turn every death into shahadat. We are blindly working to make PTM a shaheed jamat and the consequences will be no better then PPP.
Iska shaheed ban,na mushkil hy zara bohat bhi ho gaya to Achakzai ki tarah ki besakhi ban jaye ga

Good for you.. even muhajirs gave a lot for tameer of pakistan.. still due to legitimate reasons a large muhajir discontent brewed up.

Which reasons ? Papu MQM and it’s power struggle of 90s? And what happened to it ? Where is MQM today?

bhumihar brahmins and rohilla pathans, bengali muslims fought in 1857 together but then what?

What than? Before that they were fighting Hindus and now the rohilas (ironically from Pak) are facing discrimination and persecution.

just taking up war and warfare you yourself are reinforcing pashteen sahabs view that pashtuns esp from FATA were just fodder for GHQ
:lol: but your husband pashteen talks crap about F.C & Army check posts etc..:lol:

And that clowns words would have mad rationale if it was only sepoys and not several Generals (including Gen Tariq Khan himself from FATA) who was involved/commanded operations.

Or the number of Pashtun chief of mil who served this country.

Alaka ,some of their demands were valid ... and govt actually paid heed to them...

But now it’s turning into a circus...

This manzoor fella (who was reasonable at first & Launched his movement - which gained momentum after Naqeeb Wazirs murder) is playing into the hands of enemies ...

Remember they even distanced themselves at first from Pres Ashraf Ghanis statement?

And now we have afghani Haramis showing up in protests in Pak as well as abroad... in afghani flags .. chanting the chutiya mantra of pashtunistan.

Here is an example ;

7230BF30-464A-438F-94E0-DE963C49AA06.jpeg

B92A6694-F70C-49A6-8B47-BFC26C9BF8EA.jpeg

What are you talking about? This would serve to agitate them more and prove them right. its a trap

Bunch of people shall not be allowed to black mail state, they are clearly sponsored by foreign states.
Punjab is the back bone of federation. Therefore, it shall always take stern action against anarchist.
I have no doubt that this team is setup by ANP + PPP.

Which reasons ? Papu MQM and it’s power struggle of 90s? And what happened to it ? Where is MQM today?

What than? Before that they were fighting Hindus and now the rohilas (ironically from Pak) are facing discrimination and persecution.

:lol: but your husband pashteen talks crap about F.C & Army check posts etc..:lol:

And that clowns words would have mad rationale if it was only sepoys and not several Generals (including Gen Tariq Khan himself from FATA) who was involved/commanded operations.

Or the number of Pashtun chief of mil who served this country.

Alaka ,some of their demands were valid ... and govt actually paid heed to them...

But now it’s turning into a circus...

This manzoor fella (who was reasonable at first & Launched his movement - which gained momentum after Naqeeb Wazirs murder) is playing into the hands of enemies ...

Remember they even distanced themselves at first from Pres Ashraf Ghanis statement?

And now we have afghani Haramis showing up in protests in Pak as well as abroad... in afghani flags .. chanting the chutiya mantra of pashtunistan.

Here is an example ;

View attachment 468498

View attachment 468497

you simply did not get the gist.mqm made a huge rupture on pakistani establishment!
remember AH speech in india?
anyways

Legitimate Socio Economic problems can make huge dent in nation building process.
dhaka episode zaroor dekhainnnn