No country for brave men

to be a Shaheed one has to be a muslim.... He tried to finish the Islamic Law, and gave wrong comments about Blaspehmy Laws, which takes the him otherwise.....

Of course
but i have seen a talk show about that women according to most of people she is innocent and haven't said anything wrong about our Prophet(P.B.U.H)and because of that Governor punjab claiming that law wrong
Sorry if it is wrong

God bless his soul

He may have many flaws as a human but no doubt he was a brave person. His death has exposed many “brave warriors” in our media.

All very cautious in condemning this act of brutality except Abbas Ather who was the only person, I was able to find who called Salamn Taseer shaheed.

thats well pointed ... so the electronic media hasnt condemned this murder?

He called 295 a black law, what’s wrong in it?

It is not any Islamic law, do a little research on number of accused under this “Islamic law” as you called it. How many were muslims and how many were non-muslims.

Little research will show you what were the real motives behind each case.

Hope you will do?

Go and study Islamic books and see what is the Punishment of the person who does Blasphemy... You have no information in this regard...

Blasphemy Law in its self is not Bad..

It the duty of the Courts to do the investigation in detail whether the person accused of blasphemy was really involved in Blasphemy... If any Muslim has wrongly accused a person of Blasphemy, then he should be dealt strictly by the courts, and the courts should create an example, so that no Muslim should give false accusation of Blasphemy to any non muslim...

So finishing the law or amending it will be against Islam.. However courts and police should do a thorough investigation in this regard, before giving any Judgment..

If Aasia is innocent then she should be given justice, and the person who accused her of Blasphemy, should be dealt Strictly.

Finally, No one can say any Law of islam " A BLACK LAW"... If one does, he is involving in Kuffur.....

A shaheed is a person who dies for Islam... He didn't did that .... So he is not a shaheed....

So rather than claiming every politician who is killed,a "Shaheed", we should study first the definition of "Shaheed" in Islam...

I tried to paste the column but was not successful. So I am putting a link, read it, hope this will be enough for you information in this country how people were tagged as shaheed.

Daily Express News Story

Hope your “Islamic definition” of shaheed will be elaborated

every revolutionist has to go through it. he has to face wrath of common people who just dont think with their brain but blindly follow some beliefs. but their sacrifice never goes in vein. god is there and he is watching everything and he knows what is right or wrong better than any human.

the death of this revolunist wont go waste today or tomorrow revolution will happen, evil will die and good will always win.
USKE GHAR DER HAI ANDHER NAHI.

:agree::agree::agree:

Go and study Islamic books and see what is the Punishment of the person who does Blasphemy... You have no information in this regard...

Blasphemy Law in its self is not Bad..

It the duty of the Courts to do the investigation in detail whether the person accused of blasphemy was really involved in Blasphemy... If any Muslim has wrongly accused a person of Blasphemy, then he should be dealt strictly by the courts, and the courts should create an example, so that no Muslim should give false accusation of Blasphemy to any non muslim...

So finishing the law or amending it will be against Islam.. However courts and police should do a thorough investigation in this regard, before giving any Judgment..

If Aasia is innocent then she should be given justice, and the person who accused her of Blasphemy, should be dealt Strictly.

Finally, No one can say any Law of islam " A BLACK LAW"... If one does, he is involving in Kuffur.....

People are studying these Islamic books since 1979, God bless every body who believes in this “Ziae Islam”

Of course
but i have seen a talk show about that women according to most of people she is innocent and haven't said anything wrong about our Prophet(P.B.U.H)and because of that Governor punjab claiming that law wrong
Sorry if it is wrong

If she is wrongly accused then she should be provided justice. Islam never says to kill any person who is innocent..... But this did not gave Salman Taseer any right to say that the Law in itself is wrong and "Black"....

He should have not degraded the law.. Rather than this, he should have ordered the authorities to do a thorough research.

Law in itself is wrong... Our courts and other responsible authorities should make procedure to make sure that any wrongly accused is not punished for a sin that is not done by him/her..

Salmaan Taseer's alleged murderer is a twenty-six-year-old security guard, named Malik Mumtaz Hussain Qadri. Qadri was hired by the Punjab Constabulary in 2003 as an 18-year-old recruit. In 2008, he joined the "Elite Force," where Punjab's best cops end up, and was working for this elite force on the security detail for the governor of Punjab when he killed Taseer. His motivation was allegedly Taseer's vocal opposition to the provisions of the Pakistan Penal Code that deal with blasphemy.

Given the infamy of these legal provisions, the discussion about Taseer's assassination is going to be dominated by an examination of how Pakistan treats blasphemy. That is a long-needed national discussion, and in his death, it may be that Taseer will have stimulated an honest and serious national introspection about how the country treats its minorities.

Unfortunately, what is more likely is that Taseer's death will not only not stimulate a more serious examination of how the Pakistani state deals with the highly toxic issues of blasphemy, but it may help mute the already nervous voices within the thin sliver of Pakistani society that seek to amend these kinds of legal provisions.

Whatever ramifications it has for the blasphemy law, Taseer's death should bring home a much more urgent set of realizations. The disturbing reality is that the continued existence of the blasphemy laws, his assassination and the varying shades of reactions to his murder all point to a set of very deeply embedded structural problems within the Pakistani state and Pakistani society.

Long-time advocates of an optimistic outlook for Pakistan like myself have based a positive long-term prognosis on the country's size and the concomitant economic potential it has. However, the ability of Pakistan to align itself with any kind of transformative economic activity is contingent on a baseline of minimum human and social capital, a minimal ability within the state to absorb and leverage that capital, and a minimum baseline of rational rigor within political discourse.

Those three qualities are in desperately short supply in the Pakistan of 2011.

The state of human and social capital can best be surmised by some of the chilling statements of support for the assassination that were visible on social media like Twitter and Facebook, mere hours after the assassination. Regardless of the normative problems with misguided religiosity, nationalism and deep-set political polarity, it is quite clear that some Pakistanis, those celebrating this kind of horrifying assassination, are fundamentally incapable of engaging with the rest of the rational world.

The level of state capability can be measured by the mere fact that the assassin was a long-time, regular state employee. This was no Lee Harvey Oswald. It was Beant and Satwant Singh all over again. Of course, Sikh extremists killed Indira Gandhi in retaliation for Operation Blue Star, at the Golden Temple in Amritsar -- an attack on a holy site. Qadri supposedly killed Taseer for standing up for a Christian woman convicted of blasphemy and sentenced to death. The Elite Force that Qadri was a member of was established in 1998 to counter, of all things, the wave of extremist violence in the Punjab in the mid and late 1990s. The motto of the Elite Force, according to a Wikipedia entry, is "Kill all the terrorists." Like many other instruments of the Pakistani state, the Punjab Elite Force seems to have a clear and present competence deficit.

As an advocate of realistic optimism, Taseer's assassination for me, and many among the small English-speaking urban community in Pakistan, is gut-wrenching and heart-breaking. It is a reminder that the realities of Pakistan in the New Year are stark and intimidating.

Focusing on any one aspect of all the holes in Pakistan that this assassination exposes would be myopic and misguided. Pakistan is in desperate need of a viable counter-weight to the irrational and frankly un-Islamic voices of religious extremism that dominate religious discourse in the country. That is not a year-long fight. It is an intergenerational struggle.

Pakistani is also in need of urgent reforms to the legal and judicial system that allows and in many ways encourages mindless vigilantism. That too is a not a fight that can be won quickly. Enabling parliamentarians to feel secure and confident in making changes just got even harder with Taseer's assassination. This is also an intergenerational struggle.

The cancer of fanaticism that consumed Taseer's life is a product of two generations of Pakistani state actions, starting with General Zia-ul Haq's offering up the country as an assembly line of warriors for the war in Afghanistan against the Soviet Union in the 1990s, and continuing with General Pervez Musharraf's offering up the same country as a staging ground for a war against those very warriors. The role of the war in Afghanistan and America's presence in the region is inescapable. It has helped catalyze and deepen the pre-existing groundswell of a radicalized the mainstream Pakistani narrative. This mess has been more than thirty years in the making. It is clear that no amount of externally-stimulated counterinsurgency or counterterrorism will do the trick. More is needed, much more. And all of it has to be organic and local. This, more than any other, is the greatest of intergenerational struggles.

Salmaan Taseer's assassination raises legitimate questions about the viability of this struggle and its success. On an already cold and tragic day in Islamabad, that represents a devastating reality.

Mosharraf Zaidi has served as an advisor on international aid to Pakistan for the United Nations and European Union and writes a weekly column for Pakistan's the News. You can find more of his writing at Mosharraf Zaidi.

can i ask you WHY the courts need to waste their time on an alleged blasphemy case

Pakistan got its independence as an Islamic country in 1947. Why the paranoia and internal insecurity amongst some people who start crying and throwing tantrums over ALLEGED incidents of ''blasphemy''

do any of you apologists for Mr. Qadri have ANY proof that ANY of the alleged people like Aasia Bibi committed their acts? No, you don't have jack sh*t except word of mouth

and ''word of mouth'' does not constitute evidence

so kindly, STFU

he said the blasphemy law was a ''black law'' and I'm happy to see a lot of people here agree with that.

and please dont then reply and say the blasphemy law is an Islamic law when it really is a man-made one

because the people who coined the law; and the people who believe its a just law need to have their heads examined..........acting as if a mere statement could dent or jeopardize people's faith in the deen.

and if there is a blasphemy law ''favouring'' Islam; then it should be punishable to insult anything related to Christian, Ahmeddy, Jewish, Parsi, Sikh etc. faith as well.

First of all, many people here agreeing Blasphemy law, "A Black Law", really doesn't matter. What matter is that it is an Islamic Law and in 1400 years of history, no Islamic Scholar had any doubt about the authenticity of this Law... So what people say against the Law here really doesn't matter...

Secondly, you should go and study the Blasphemy Law and related hadiths in the Islamic Books before coming an commenting here, that Blasphemy Law is not an Islamic Law... If you have not studied it and you are claiming the Blasphemy laws are man-made Laws then you are getting yourself involved in "Bid'aat" i.e introducing new things and concepts in Islam....

Lastly , yes I will support the Laws that will be made for Blasphemy of other religions by Muslims, because never ordered to insult any other's religion..

But I will never support Ahmedis calling themselves muslims... They have every right to live in Pakistan as a non muslims minority, but they can't call themselves Muslims...

So what if blasphemy is really part of Islamic law? Can't you guys say that this piece is outdated, let us throw it away and be more 21st century?

First of all, many people here agreeing Blasphemy law, "A Black Law", really doesn't matter. What matter is that it is an Islamic Law and in 1400 years of history, no Islamic Scholar had any doubt about the authenticity of this Law... So what people say against the Law here really doesn't matter...

Secondly, you should go and study the Blasphemy Law and related hadiths in the Islamic Books before coming an commenting here, that Blasphemy Law is not an Islamic Law... If you have not studied it and you are claiming the Blasphemy laws are man-made Laws then you are getting yourself involved in "Bid'aat" i.e introducing new things and concepts in Islam....

Lastly , yes I will support the Laws that will be made for Blasphemy of other religions by Muslims, because never ordered to insult any other's religion..

But I will never support Ahmedis calling themselves muslims... They have every right to live in Pakistan as a non muslims minority, but they can't call themselves Muslims...

assalam alaikum

Very well said it brother jazak Allah

TARIQ

So what if blasphemy is really part of Islamic law? Can't you guys say that this piece is outdated, let us throw it away and be more 21st century?

If we do that, then the mullah brigade will cause mayhem and anarchy in Pakistan. You've already seen how these people are willing to celebrate the death of someone who was just speaking his opinion, though it clashed with the mullahs. They are not normal people who you can reason with, but uncivilized people.