World's smallest combat jet LCA Tejas' Mark-II avatar to be longer

I wouldn't be so negative about it.. Do you know that, kalam's experience with PSLV was the brain child for all GMDP programme..? Likewise, we have had a fair bit of research and failures on our LCA, which taught us a lot of lessons and which makes India one of the Very few countries to have the experience of building a fighter plane from scratch..
Look at all the parallel works started for LCA, and how they are all evolving independently
1. GTRE kaveri engine, though failed to power our LCA but had taught us many lessons in building a jet engine.. Look at its fate now, while the Bigger thrust Kaveri is scrapped, but smaller thrust variants are being developed for Cruise missiles and Trainer aircrafts
2. DARE is developing the Radar for LCA future variants and now from the existing research base, requests for AESA radars for AMCA has been put up already as a Proposal with DARE and the collaborative works
were already started between ELTA and DARE
3. These two were the most critical aspects of any fighter plane, which India was lacking, but look at us now, our LCA has given us know hows on how to do it.. Only problem was amplifying the works to a bigger levels.
So I would say that, LCA has been a huge success for a country like India which is known for its democratic work culture which often results in delays..
i know all that + the fact under no circumstances LCA programme is going to be shelved and all this news of "other fighter platform to fill in the numbers of IAF sqoad's" is just hot air but the point is we cant waste too much time on reharsing owr act we have to start the act .... NOW or say its NOW or NEVER ... 6 years for just adding 50-55 cm's is just hillarious to say the least ARDE/HAL guys nead a serous danda up there lazy arses by PMO & MOD.... NOW:pissed:

:sarcastic::sarcastic::laughcry::omghaha::rofl:apne to tbahi mcha di

Bhai jaan agar aap main thori c bhi izzat hai(Pakistanio ki jitna to dur ki baat hai) to aap meri iss link k baad ya

*Khud kushi kr lengey
*PDF chor denge
*Internet chalana se kasam kr lengay

Aur agar in main se apne kuch nahin kia toh ye confirm hai k aap aik sachey hindustani hai

India biggest recipient of US economic assistance over 66-year period: USAID - Pakistan - DAWN.COM
Pehle comprehend the article please. In the same manner even China has taken more aid than Pakistan. Important part is for the size of Pakistan what does that aid money mean. Also for what purpose you get the aid? I can challenge you unlike Pakistan who take aid to run their country our and Chinese aid is for humanitarian purpose through ngos. Spot the difference. And no I don't simply do khudkhushi coz some Pakistani failed to comprehend some article on internet.

Gentlemen in simple english

a) Increase in fuselage means more powerful engine will be seated : weight ratio, goes up Mach number increases do your math.
b) Centre of Gravity needs to be Calibrated once again, this means Back to Wind-Tunnel
c) Be Happy - More Electricity means AESA power Hungry monster will come in easy
d) Increase in Drag
e) Cowlings need to be re-designed as New engine will need more O2
F) Landing Gear needs to be seated again, weight centres need to be calculated.
g) This means Fuel pipe needs to be extended, this means fuel pumps need to be tested again....
h) Wiring for All avionics needs to be checked again.
i) This means Quatraplex FBW system goes for Toss and needs to be Tested once again for increased Hydraulics....

or simple language Pain in Arse....

But Gain will be massive, you are recreating a New Bird.

All Books we lost in Transition from Marut to Ajeet and the Gap there after of 14 years will be Vanquished.
Excellent Post but I don't think the MK2 design have been frozen yet and I think the lenght of MK2 LCA would increase further.

@PARIKRAMA @Abingdonboy

1. Change of Engine will increase the belly, the wings lenght would remain same, as they are already big thus the L/W ratio have to maintained.

2. Increase in length would more space for more avionics, like internal Jammers, IRST.

3. Increase in length or change in airframe design to lower the DRAG.

4. @Blue Marlin AESA needs more Power, and biggest problem with AESA is not the Power but the heat produced, and need proper heat dissipation Mechanism.

5. Change in length and structural design mean whole set of flight testing needed and FBW algorithm to be validation.

6. Change of Engine means, whole set of parts needs to be designed and tested from Fuel pump, hydraullic distribution mechanism, Electrical wiring, landing gear, hydraulic pump, accutators, Air inlet etc.

7. Taking the experience from the MK1, I think ADA is going for the Modular design this time, and better maintainability and accessibility design.

8. MK2 will have TVC (EJ200 TVC nossle on F414 INS), for better agility.

9. Landing Gear Design like SAAB gripen NG would allow more Hard Point, and could accumudate Brahmos MINI in its centerline Pylon.

Excellent Post but I don't think the MK2 design have been frozen yet and I think the lenght of MK2 LCA would increase further.

@PARIKRAMA @Abingdonboy

1. Change of Engine will increase the belly, the wings lenght would remain same, as they are already big thus the L/W ratio have to maintained.

2. Increase in length would more space for more avionics, like internal Jammers, IRST.

4. @Blue Marlin AESA needs more Power, and biggest problem with AESA is not the Power but the heat produced, and need proper heat dissipation Mechanism.

5. Change in length and structural design mean whole set of flight testing needed and FBW algorithm to be validation.

6. Change of Engine means, whole set of parts needs to be designed and tested from Fuel pump, hydraullic distribution mechanism, Electrical wiring, landing gear, hydraulic pump, accutators, Air inlet etc.

7. Taking the experience from the MK1, I think ADA is going for the Modular design this time, and better maintainability and accessibility design.

9. Landing Gear Design like SAAB gripen NG would allow more Hard Point, and could accumudate Brahmos MINI in its centerline Pylon.
10.it might have a new type (J10B like) air intakes :pleasantry:

@PARIKRAMA @Abingdonboy

You-are-So-Intelligent-Meme.jpg

well most aesa radars which are based on Gallium-arsenide semiconductors are known for producing alot of heat. this is due to the arrangement of the semiconductors being compact.power is needed to make them heatup.
but still phased arrays are as or more thirsty in terms
of power consumption

Pa Ji to E Gal hai, tussi sadde kandhe wich Bandook Rakh kar Sadhe Kaul Chalwa rahe ho, aur Masuum si Pic upload Kaar diti. E to navi news haggi, E to Dhokha hai sadde kaul. Hayo rabba hun mein Kii kara.

But 6 years for Lengthening Airframe, is just way too much and I guess, it is pure BS..