India and Commonwealth Games.. will india show its power??

Do you think common wealthgames would make image of India as an upcomming power?

• Yes

Votes: 83 34.7%
  • No

Votes: 53 22.2%
  • Can't say

Votes: 17 7.1%
  • India already have an image of upcoming power

Votes: 86 36.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Agreed...can we exchange your leaders for our political and other freedoms for 2-3 years as a bilateral deal ! It will be a win-win. We need strong leadership and you guys need to breathe..some freedoms & chaos.

please keep your s.h.i.t to yourself.

no is no.

With a thumbs-up, guess who holds India hand? Pak

Mon, Sep 27 06:02 AM
The Malaysian and Botswanian teams today joined the ranks of those complaining against the state of affairs in the Commonwealth Games Village, while the South African envoy cried "a threat to the lives of athletes" after a snake was found in one of the rooms allotted to the country's sportspersons.

However, there was good news on at least one front for the beleaguered Commonwealth Games officials: Pakistan. Not only have officials from the country given a thumbs-up to the arrangements and security preparedness for the Games, but also accused "Westerners" of being overly critical.

"We have been given complete assurance by the organisers and our security liaison officer is in India at the moment. We trust the Indian government to provide full protection, and we have no security concerns. Hopefully our entire 75-member contingent will be in India on the 29th as planned," Pakistan Olympic Association president Syed Arif Hasan told The Indian Express on Sunday.

In present times, Hasan noted, no country can assure completely incident-free events, except guaranteeing foolproof security. "We have had teams in India before and not had any problems," he said.

While Hasan added that "it would have obviously been better if the infrastructure had been ready in advance", he said he understood that there could be delays. "We have also had floods and a lot of rain, and the country is reeling under its effects. So nature cannot be predicted or controlled. Even in Athens there were concerns till the last minute but the Olympics went off brilliantly," the Pakistan Olympic Association chief said.

Chaudhary Muhammed Asghar, secretary of the Pakistan Wrestling Federation, saw in the criticism the inability of "Europeans and Australians to accept the fact that India has not only been awarded the Games but that it will also manage to hold them properly".

Continued on page 2

With a thumbs-up, guess who holds India hand: Pak

"They have always had a problem with any organisational success in India or Pakistan. Even in cricket, they had a problem initially. And it is unfortunate that we Asians, on our part, seem to hold their opinion in high esteem," he said. "Inshallah, the Games will be a huge success."

Asghar will arrive on Monday to take charge of the ground situation, including accommodation.

Pakistan hockey's star striker Rehan Butt said that whether it was india or Pakistan, the foreign media had the tendency to blow up negative things and ignore the positives.

"It's not like things are perfect elsewhere. As a international player, I have experienced Games villages at several events and in various countries and I can say that though things are generally ready in advance, it doesn't mean they are all perfectly done or managed," he said.

"For all those cribbing right now about the facilities, they must be asked about the facilities provided at the 2002 Melbourne Games, which were far from satisfactory."

Butt also felt that the West should understand that any country hosting a major event for the first time needed to be encouraged, and not pulled down.

Saying his players were all set to leave for the Games, Pakistan Tennis Federation Secretary Major Rashid Khan pointed out that they had never encountered any problem in India. "We have Aisam-ul-Haq playing in India often, and Aqeel Khan has travelled umpteen times. We have never had a problem. We have full faith in Anil Khanna (All India Tennis Association secretary general) and the Indian government, and there are absolutely no concerns."

Criticising the "superiority complex" of the Europeans, he said they travel all over the world but have complaints only when they come to this part of the world. "Unhe machhar bhi dikhne lagte hain, safai se bhi problem hone lagti hai, khane ki bhi problem ho jati hai, mausam me kharabi milti hai (They start seeing mosquitoes, having problems with the cleanliness, the food, the weather...).

Let the army do its role its meant to do, for the civil work there are a number of large industrial houses to do the job. Its unfortunate that Politicians stick their leg into everything, they should be just concerned with governing.

The whole episode has brought a bad name to India, the last minute face saving is no excuse for all the follies committed, once the games are over, the best we can do is Kick the Sheila Dixit Govt out of power.

Indian Army Engineers have already taken over the work of repairing the bridge. I know what you are saying but when time is of the essence India needs a well disciplined institution that is trained to work under the time constraints. the civilian option is what brought this day.

for the sake of the fellow sub-continent & neighbouring country I would like to see these games succeed
I would leave the sarcasm and mocking to our former colonial masters.

Commonwealth Games Security:

Defusing an explosive story, another artifice in this carefully constructed story

Channel Seven's explosive investigation into New Delhi's Commonwealth Games security sent shockwaves around the world. However, as Media Watch discovered, what looked like a major breach of security by reporter Mike Duffy was not quite what it seemed. And was Duffy's suitcase, which we were led to believe contained a remote detonation device that 'could flatten an entire building', just another artifice in this carefully constructed story?

Charles To Open Delhi CW Games

LONDON, Sept 27, 2010 (AFP) - Prince Charles will open the Commonwealth Games in Delhi next week, the heir to the British throne's office said Monday, playing down reports of a row over who would preside over the ceremony.

Indian officials had said that following Queen Elizabeth II's decision in May not to travel to the Games, the piqued organisers had discussed whether Indian President Pratibha Patil should instead open the Games.

A spokeswoman at Clarence House, Charles's official London residence, said both president and the prince would play a role but insisted that Charles would formally open the games as the official stand-in for his mother, the queen, who is the head of the Commonwealth.

"Both the Prince of Wales and the President of India will have a prominent role in the opening ceremony in Delhi," a Clarence House spokeswoman said.

"The Queen has asked the Prince of Wales to represent her at the opening of the Commonwealth Games.

"We cannot be specific about the choreography but the Prince will read out the Queen's baton message, ending by declaring the Games open."

The 84-year-old queen had cited her hectic schedule as the reason for not attending the Games, which she traditionally opens, but the move drew criticism in India.

The secretary to the Indian president, Archana Datta, told AFP in Delhi earlier Monday the issue was still up in the air, while there was no immediate comment from the organising committee.

"The decision is yet to be taken," Datta said. "If the decision is taken, I will let the media know."

The Indian ANI news agency quoted unnamed government and Games organising committee sources as saying it would be the president who opened the event.

THANKS PAKISTAN

Mon, Sep 27 06:02 AM
The Malaysian and Botswanian teams today joined the ranks of those complaining against the state of affairs in the Commonwealth Games Village, while the South African envoy cried "a threat to the lives of athletes" after a snake was found in one of the rooms allotted to the country's sportspersons.

However, there was good news on at least one front for the beleaguered Commonwealth Games officials: Pakistan. Not only have officials from the country given a thumbs-up to the arrangements and security preparedness for the Games, but also accused "Westerners" of being overly critical.

"We have been given complete assurance by the organisers and our security liaison officer is in India at the moment. We trust the Indian government to provide full protection, and we have no security concerns. Hopefully our entire 75-member contingent will be in India on the 29th as planned," Pakistan Olympic Association president Syed Arif Hasan told The Indian Express on Sunday.

In present times, Hasan noted, no country can assure completely incident-free events, except guaranteeing foolproof security. "We have had teams in India before and not had any problems," he said.

While Hasan added that "it would have obviously been better if the infrastructure had been ready in advance", he said he understood that there could be delays. "We have also had floods and a lot of rain, and the country is reeling under its effects. So nature cannot be predicted or controlled. Even in Athens there were concerns till the last minute but the Olympics went off brilliantly," the Pakistan Olympic Association chief said.

Chaudhary Muhammed Asghar, secretary of the Pakistan Wrestling Federation, saw in the criticism the inability of "Europeans and Australians to accept the fact that India has not only been awarded the Games but that it will also manage to hold them properly".

Continued on page 2

With a thumbs-up, guess who holds India hand: Pak

"They have always had a problem with any organisational success in India or Pakistan. Even in cricket, they had a problem initially. And it is unfortunate that we Asians, on our part, seem to hold their opinion in high esteem," he said. "Inshallah, the Games will be a huge success."

Asghar will arrive on Monday to take charge of the ground situation, including accommodation.

Pakistan hockey's star striker Rehan Butt said that whether it was india or Pakistan, the foreign media had the tendency to blow up negative things and ignore the positives.

"It's not like things are perfect elsewhere. As a international player, I have experienced Games villages at several events and in various countries and I can say that though things are generally ready in advance, it doesn't mean they are all perfectly done or managed," he said.

"For all those cribbing right now about the facilities, they must be asked about the facilities provided at the 2002 Melbourne Games, which were far from satisfactory."

Butt also felt that the West should understand that any country hosting a major event for the first time needed to be encouraged, and not pulled down.

Saying his players were all set to leave for the Games, Pakistan Tennis Federation Secretary Major Rashid Khan pointed out that they had never encountered any problem in India. "We have Aisam-ul-Haq playing in India often, and Aqeel Khan has travelled umpteen times. We have never had a problem. We have full faith in Anil Khanna (All India Tennis Association secretary general) and the Indian government, and there are absolutely no concerns."

Criticising the "superiority complex" of the Europeans, he said they travel all over the world but have complaints only when they come to this part of the world. "Unhe machhar bhi dikhne lagte hain, safai se bhi problem hone lagti hai, khane ki bhi problem ho jati hai, mausam me kharabi milti hai (They start seeing mosquitoes, having problems with the cleanliness, the food, the weather...)."

Some latest pics

27pic1.jpg

27pic2.jpg

27pic5.jpg

27pic7.jpg

27pic9.jpg

Now, its Indian Army that is building that bridge

610xar.jpg

610xey.jpg

610xwh.jpg

Thanks TATA... Nice pictures. Finally we are getting to see the good side of the games. Perhaps people will start to change their opinion about the games after a bit of positive publicity.

27TH-GAMES-VILLAGE_258541f.jpg

The international zone in the Commonwealth Games Village here is turning out to be a massive hit with the athletes and delegates who have checked in.

“The international zone is marvellous and I am sure the athletes would enjoy it,” Nigerian Chef de Mission Elias Gora said after going round the area.

The zone, a demarcated area in the Village, is meant for extra sport activities for the athletes and has lots of recreation facilities.

“This is the best place in the whole of the Village, I love coming here,” said an official of the Kenyan contingent.

Members from the Indian contingent — the first team to check in in the Village — have been regularly spotted in the zone.

“The international zone is very good. I enjoy spending time there and it is a world-class facility,” boxer Akhil Kumar told PTI.

Golf simulator, a hit

The state-of-the art simulator, which allows one to play golf in a graphically simulated driving range in an indoor setting, has been a hit with athletes from many countries.

“We had some foreign athletes taking part in virtual golfing action and since we are offering the service for free, we expect many more footfalls once all the teams arrive here,” said Ashutosh, in-charge at the facility.

Gaming zone

There is a gaming zone with billiards tables, a TV lounge and an ice-cream parlour, in addition to a merchandise shop, a handicrafts outlet, an electronic store and a general store that sells provisions.

The shops have stored items imported specially from the Commonwealth nations to make the visiting contingents feel at home.

The handicrafts store has art pieces from all over India to ensure that the residents get a feel of the rich cultural heritage and diversity of Indian art.

“From Kashmiri papier mache to Banarasi scarves and Kanchipuram silk, our store has specialities from all over India and we have had some curious visitors so far,” a manager at the store said while pointing to the shinning metal statues from Moradabad.

A discotheque where athletes can unwind themselves adds to the experience. The restaurant-cum-bar in the zone will also be a special attraction to foodies. One more attraction for the look-conscious inhabitants of the 63.5-acre Village is the saloon where many foreign teams including the English have booked advance appointments.

Open amphitheatre

The open amphitheatre will see flag ceremonies and cultural programs being held for various participating nations. The nearby musical fountain is also a delight especially during evening hours when lights, water and music produce a mesmerising effect.

“This is the best place for the athletes to sit and relax after all the practice session. Enjoy the evening with the fountain and cultural programs,” Organising Committee chairman Suresh Kalmadi said.
cameroons_258550e.jpg

26THAAN_CWG22_258473g.jpg

610x.jpg

439x.jpg

Team members from Scotland cheer after attending a cultural programme at the Commonwealth Games athletes village in New Delhi September 27, 2010.

439x.jpg

A Delhi metro train catches the falling rays of the sun as it passes by the Commonwealth Games village in New Delhi, India, Monday, Sept. 27, 2010.

439x.jpg

A group of Buddhist performers queue for a practice session at the Jawarhalal Nehru Stadium in New Delhi.

439x.jpg

Members of the Scottish team play a game of table football in the recreational area at the Commonwealth Games' village in Delhi on September 27, 2010.

439x.jpg

439x.jpg

DELHI, INDIA - SEPTEMBER 27: Workstations are shown during final preparations at the Main Press Centre ahead of the Delhi 2010 Commonwealth Games on September 27, 2010 in Delhi,

439x.jpg

DELHI, INDIA - SEPTEMBER 27: Members of the media work at the Main Press Centre ahead of the Delhi 2010 Commonwealth Games on September 27, 2010 in Delhi

439x.jpg