'India not safe for Pakistanis' and the IPL controversy

It was not that AM, 26\11 is still fresh in the mindsof the public and no one knows when the two bit non-state actors from the other side of the border will launch another strike .When such a scenario is looming it is sound business sense to not invest in pakistani players.Good for them and good for us
who is going to invest precious bucks on pakistani players

If your explanation is the correct one (yet another different reason being offered by Indians) then the question of why the IPL actively pursued Pakistani players to begin with rises again.

The possibility of a terrorist attack in India did not suddenly arise in the few days leading up to the auction, it has existed for a long time.

The IPL should have not shortlisted and pursued Pakistani players to begin with.

The anger here isn't over the fact that Pakistani players are not playing in the IPL, but in the shoddy and unprofessional manner the IPL acted by first inviting and then snubbing, and then offering lame excuses.

IPL fiasco — a rude reminder of cross-border reality
By Saad Shafqat
Friday, 22 Jan, 2010

Doors to the Indian Premier League, the most lucrative tournament in world cricket, have once again been closed for players from Pakistan. Last year’s exclusion was merely disappointing; this time it is patently cruel.

Last year the Pakistan government denied permission to the players citing security fears; this time all formalities were sorted out, and the players were invited by the IPL team owners themselves to be available for selection. Yet when the Pakistani names came up, they found no takers.

The official explanation from IPL chief Lalit Modi is that the team owners were wary because the availability of Pakistani players could not be assured given the moody relationship between Islamabad and Delhi.

But all visas had been duly obtained and NOCs had been granted with clearance from the highest levels of government in Pakistan. Moreover, if the concerns were of such a political nature, then the honorable thing would have been not to invite the Pakistanis in the first place.

You have to hand it to the IPL organizers. They pulled off a spiteful act against Pakistan, but have managed to artfully camouflage it with a benign narrative.

The Times of India has termed this incident a “shameful episode” in Indian cricket history. On the day of the IPL auction, the paper confirmed that franchise owners had actually been advised to avoid bidding for Pakistan players.

It is the equivalent of inviting guests to a party with a predetermined plan to not let them join in the fun.

Why would you do that to your guests, especially in a country like India where hospitality has long been a cherished virtue? Official statements notwithstanding, there are no benign explanations here.

What we have seen in this third edition of the IPL players’ auction is nothing less than a complicit expression of hatred towards Pakistan.

In attempting to soften the blow, Modi also said that Pakistanis were not the only ones who got ignored; cricketers from other countries went unsold too. This excuse would have been believable had Pakistani players been mediocre T20 players. But Pakistani players are better than anyone in this exciting form of the game.

The bare fact is that players like Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Gul, and Imran Nazir would have been a dream acquisition for any IPL team. Not only is Pakistan world champion in Twenty20 cricket, it also has by far the best win-loss ratio in T20 international matches.

It is bad enough that there was an under-the-table IPL directive to ignore the Pakistan players; what is far more depressing is that the franchises followed this advice and closed ranks so willingly.

IPL team owners are all famous and wealthy people with outsized egos. Getting them to read from the same script would be impossible unless there was already a permissive mindset that had seduced them into preferring rage over reason.

On this side of the border, we tend to underestimate Indian animosity towards Pakistan. This IPL auction fiasco is a rude reminder of cross-border reality.

Ideally, we should be able to shrug off this snub. That is probably what players and fans from countries like England, Australia and South Africa would do. But we are not English, Australian or South African.

As Pakistanis, we are condemned to live this experience through the complicated contours of the Pakistan-India relationship.

All-rounder Abdul Razzak said after this episode that India wanted to hurt our image and our feelings and it has succeeded. We have to be honest and admit this is what we all feel.

Yet a snub is ultimately only what you allow it to be. One feels bad for our star players, who have lost a golden chance to cash in on their world-class ability.

It may not seem possible today, but cricket and other relations with India will eventually improve, as ties between neighbors inevitably must. In the meantime, beyond the immediate hurt and disappointment lies another opportunity to be availed provided we manage to constructively channelize our anger.

It is high time that the PCB got its act together to launch a partly privatized franchise-model Twenty20 league within Pakistan too. The basic legwork for this may already have been done, as a feasibility to this effect was prepared under the previous PCB chief’s tenure.

It is true that our cricket market is much smaller than India’s, but Twenty20 matches based on teams from regional cricket associations have been filling Pakistani stadiums, sometimes to capacity. Pakistan is a nation of 170 million people; a potential market of millions is nothing to sneeze at.

One might well ask why all this fuss about Twenty20 cricket when this is the version of the game being blamed for spoiling our players’ technique and producing our national cricket debacles.

The answer is that cricket serves at the pleasure of the viewing public, which simply cannot get enough of Twenty20’s frills and thrills. Twenty20 cricket is here to stay and it will be easier for everyone if we embraced it rather than fought with it.

DAWN.COM | Sport | IPL fiasco ? a rude reminder of cross-border reality

waiting for the IPL to become a failed league by side lining world champions.

ipl will never become a failed league just because pakistani players are not playing :disagree: JUST REMEMBER IPL IS A BILLION DOLLAR LEAGUE AND NOT STREET CRICKET

waiting for the IPL to become a failed league by side lining world champions.

i doubt that buddy. i phoned in mumbai for opening ceremony ticket. They said no use. Tickets wont be available. It will be sold out totally. Both opening and closing ceremony. Well i gotta watch it on tv. Bit sad but hey two weeks of IPL dhamaka i will enjoy on tv.

only for opening ceremony, no body will bother about the matches.

As hard as the IPL is making it since they cannot get their stories straight.

Till yesterday it was all about 'security and availability concerns', since that excuse was shot down, today they changed the story to be 'needs of the teams'.

Oh really? And why aren't you quoting what the IPL commissioner clearly said: neither he nor the management have any say in what the franchisees select.

You are purposely picking few lines of the statement to serve your bias.

And one of the owners of the franchisees has clearly said why the Pakistani players weren't picked -

Shilpa hits back at Pakistan on IPL issue-Cricket-Sports-Videos-The Times of India

Again, if the terrorist threat from extremist Hindu groups in India was such an issue two days before the auction, the IPL mgmt and teams should have contacted the Pakistani players to let them know about the issues being faced, especially since the IPL is the one that pursued them and shortlisted them for the auction.

Common decency and professionalism would have it that the IPL let the players know of the changed security circumstances.

It is not about 'not realizing the issue would blow into a controversy' - it is about basic etiquette and professionalism. Whether the issue blew into a controversy or not, a complete change in the availability of Pakistani players from such a serious issue of terrorist threats from Hindu extremists in India should have been conveyed to the players.

Pakistanis are not being overly sensitive, the IPL has acted extremely poorly and unprofessionally and deserves all of the criticize coming its way. They can't even get their stories straight in the aftermath.

Right. So, the franchisees didn't communicate its concerns directly to the management and suddenly the world's most well-organized, biggest and richest cricket league is "unprofessional".

And OK, let us believe that the IPL lacked etiquette in this regard. Then what should we make out of the decision by the Pakistani parliamentary committee to not visit India? The Pakistanis make a completely private affair a political issue and vow to take some sought of "revenge" against India. So... look who is talking about etiquette and professionalism!

It is very easy to give sermons. Do some introspection before showering wisdom on others.

In other words shilpa saying she got threats thats why not selecting Pakistani players ?

Oh really? And why aren't you quoting what the IPL commissioner clearly said: neither he nor the management have any say in what the franchisees select.

You are purposely picking few lines of the statement to serve your bias.

And one of the owners of the franchisees has clearly said why the Pakistani players weren't picked -

Shilpa hits back at Pakistan on IPL issue-Cricket-Sports-Videos-The Times of India

Right. So, the franchisees didn't communicate its concerns directly to the management and suddenly the world's most well-organized, biggest and richest cricket league is "unprofessional".

And OK, let us believe that the IPL lacked etiquette in this regard. Then what should we make out of the decision by the Pakistani parliamentary committee to not visit India? The Pakistanis make a completely private affair a political issue and vow to take some sought of "revenge" against India. So... look who is talking about etiquette and professionalism!

It is very easy to give sermons. Do some introspection before showering wisdom on others.

I think u forgot to link this video ?

Inside story: All IPL teams agreed to shun Pak players-Cricket-Sports-Videos-The Times of India

only for opening ceremony, no body will bother about the matches.

I can bet....if this IPL season is succesful...and better than previous versions....you Pakistanis would claim.... Indians are lying......do u remember IPL 2 last yr...everyone was jumping...that it will fail ...especially pakistanis wer jumping off their chairs.....but that clocked record profits....wait and watch how we Indians make this IPL 3 better.....

So what is your point? The video clearly says that there were concerns that the "Pakistani players may not be welcomed in Mumbai due to the 26/11 attack". Clearly highlights the security concerns of the IPL franchisees and it also clearly says that the BCCI gave no direct orders to the franchisees in this regard but rather expressed the above concerns to them.

If you guys want your Pakistani players to enter Mumbai and be beaten up by Shiv Sena activists, then what can I say?

Pakistani Cable Operators To Boycott IPL

LAHORE: As the Indian Premier League (IPL) controversy deepens, cable operators on Thursday announced a ban on the telecast of IPL matches.

Heeding a call by the sports minister, the Cable Operators Association of Pakistan (CAP) announced a boycott of the telecast of all the IPL matches after none of the Pakistani players were selected for the league.

The announcement was made at a press conference in Lahore. Addressing the conference, CAP President Captain Retd. Jabbar Ahmad said that the association condemned the attitude of Indian Cricket Board. He said that the decision was taken in a meeting of the cable operators association and it will be implemented across the country.

Bhai log kyon pareshan ho rahe ho..yeh INDIAN league hai...ek saal nahi bulaya agle saal bula lenge kyon pareshaan ho rahe ho...ek saal main cricket khatam nahi ho jayega...

Shilpa Shetty saying that internal threats are there so they are too scared to play Pakistani players...

I can bet....if this IPL season is succesful...and better than previous versions....you Pakistanis would claim.... Indians are lying......do u remember IPL 2 last yr...everyone was jumping...that it will fail ...especially pakistanis wer jumping off their chairs.....but that clocked record profits....wait and watch how we Indians make this IPL 3 better.....

LOL yes first IPL was good not because of Pakistani players but cricket was good BUT 2nd IPL was **** i cant remeber one match from IPL 2 and i did not watched all either.

IPL champions league was good since all Indian team was owned. Just liv with India is not good enough make 100 leauges if u can.... :chilli: