'Khilafat is coming': Islamic State flag put up on Islamabad's main thoroughfare

Ryuzaki

1515109-janda-1506251226-530-640x480.jpg

The flag was taken down by police. PHOTO: Express

ISLAMABAD: Despite an extensive CCTV camera network in place in Islamabad, unidentified men were able to put up an Islamic State (Daesh) flag on a major thoroughfare of the city on Sunday.

The flag, put up on a billboard at a pedestrian bridge on Islamabad Expressway near Iqbal Town, was taken down by police at around 12pm.

A passer-by spotted the flag and informed the Khanna police about it. In his statement, he told the police that he was familiar with the flag as he had seen it on TV.

It was a standard flag of the terrorist organisation, the only addition being that the slogan “Khilafat is coming” was inscribed on it.

is-slaf-1506252772.jpg

PHOTO: Express

Interior Minister Ahsan has taken notice of the incident and sought a report from the capital’s police chief.

The police are trying to nab the people who put up the flag with the help of CCTV footage.

Islamabad has a “Safe City Project” in place that cost the national exchequer $125 million or over Rs13 billion.

Under the project, over 1,900 surveillance cameras have been installed across the city with a command and control centre set up in Sector H-11 to monitor important buildings, entry and exit points, roads, commercial centres and a sizable portion of residential areas.

However, a Safe City Project official told The Express Tribune that it was unlikely that their cameras would have caught the culprits in the act.

“That area [where the flag was found] doesn’t fall within our domain, but we do have cameras installed there,” he added.

“But our cameras are installed at such an angle that they only focus on the traffic. It’s unlikely that the people who put up the flag would be visible in the footage.”

An officer told The Express Tribune though they were clueless as to who put up the flag, an case under the anti-terror law was being registered against unidentified persons. He said the case would be registered under Section 11-G of the Anti-Terrorism Act, which prohibits display of any article, symbol, flag or banner associated with any proscribed organisation. A suspect under this section can be sentenced to imprisonment or fine or both through summary procedure.

Maulana Abdul Aziz, a cleric of Lal Masjid, a mosque located in the heart of Islamabad, has repeatedly stated that he “respected” IS because of the similarity in their missions and had no repentance over supporting it.

In an earlier interview with The Express Tribune, Aziz had said though they had no direct link with the leadership of the IS, they had deliberated on the issue and decided to promote the mission and message of Daesh.

Commenting on a video released by the students of Jamia Hafsa, a seminary for women affiliated with the Lal Masjid, declaring their support for IS and its chief Abu Bakar al Baghdadi, the cleric said the students had prepared the video with his consent and they did not commit a crime by doing so.

Aziz revealed that the female students of his seminary announced their support for IS only after losing hope in the country’s political elite which remained silent when they had to suffer in the wake of the military operation against Lal Masjid and Jamia Hafsa in 2007.

A petition was filed with the Islamabad High Court (IHC) to register a criminal case against Aziz and some female students of Jamia Hafsa for pledging allegiance to the Islamic State group.

It was contended that some students of Jamia Hafsa had pledged allegiance to the Middle Eastern ultra extremist outfit in a video released on social media. The students had also invited Daesh to maim and kill Pakistani soldiers and civilians by chopping off their hands, beheading them, and tearing apart their bodies to take revenge for the 2007 Lal Masjid Operation and for killing Osama Bin Laden.

However, the IHC had dismissed the petition last year.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/151510...-state-flag-put-islamabads-main-thoroughfare/

Guys! Turn Alerts on

Madrassa kids are on the job. Greatest threat, please watch out. If you ask us for help, others will accuse us of trying to massacre Sunni freedom fighters. @Luffy 500 ,
Not trolling, it is an actual threat

I invite the perceptive reader to notice his the article systematically spreads the perception of incompetence within our law enforcement agencies.

@Zibago @Imran Khan @El Sidd @django

Guys! Turn Alerts on

Madrassa kids are on the job. Greatest threat, please watch out. If you ask us for help, others will accuse us of trying to massacre Sunni freedom fighters. @Luffy 500 ,

I don't want to call you a scumbag, but you aren't leaving me with a choice.

Guys! Turn Alerts on

We had more issues with graffiti and posters in the past its work of some local madrassa kids although it is not in any way an indicator of rise in support for ISIS in Islamabad but this does raise some questions about nefarious elements in madrassas

That area shud b covered by safe city cameras....

We had more issues with graffiti and posters in the past its work of some local madrassa kids although it is not in any way an indicator of rise in support for ISIS in Islamabad but this does raise some questions about nefarious elements in madrassas

Learn to take a practical jokes and not cry over every little poster that goes printed.

Even the most whitest of white islamophobes don't overreact like snowflakes like you do.

I don't want to call you a scumbag, but you aren't leaving me with a choice.
Bro, i am not on this thread for insulting or trolling.

It's a threat, you can deny that.

You need to understand that Saudis have a role in spreading terrorism all over Islamic world. and no, it is not your incompetency, it's a fruit of trusting their creation of Ummah which is completely aimed at destroying all of us. Not only you, Syrians have suffered more than anyone of us

Ab ye uthao committee ke chairman ajaenge kay hum bacha te hai unse apna manjan bechne.

Har koi hamare chuknay me laga.

Lol what desperate nations.

Bhagdadi is dead , now who is going to do the bidding for virgin Hoor's?
@Hell hound @The Sandman @Zibago bhai is khilafat se mera koi tallaq nai hai .. Abhi tu mai caliph bana hi nai ke competition pehle a gaya

Lol

Nahi nahi.

Ao zara khushbu laga kay

Guys! Turn Alerts on

Don't worry about. Years of counter insurgency and counter terrorism has hardened our resolve and has prepared our forces for anything. The TTP was a far greater threat and we expunged them.

However we must not relax. We must remain vigilant. The border must be fenced and our intelligence must continue their hard work but most of all we must retake lal masjid. Most likely one of their got a banner made. They cost 12 rupees sq feet so this banner would not have coated more than 130-150 rupees that's about a cost of one liter milk olper (110rs) and perk candy bar ( 10rs).

Most likely they did recon due to cameras and placed this banner at that location to hide from cameras. It was removed promptly.

These are simply scare tactics and this seems like the work of pumped up brats.

Their network was destroyed in Baluchistan and although TTP has morphed into ISIS, they are located in Afghanistan in nangahar.

And frankly let me tell you. People are done with the mujahideen, khilafat e.t.c stuff. They are done. Heck not even the Indian jihadis get support bcz the popular concept is that today they yell Pakistan zindabad but tomorrow they will attack us. Ten years of madness has drilled this in the nation.

Ab ye uthao committee ke chairman ajaenge kay hum bacha te hai unse apna manjan bechne.

Har koi hamare chuknay me laga.

Lol what desperate nations.

Lol

Nahi nahi.

Ao zara khushbu laga kay

Aby bail kara ke aonga .. Halka nai Lena bhai ko.