Walton says its smart TV gets huge response in Ireland market

Can't you see that 100% components of any TV in the world now, whether with "made in Poland, Egypt, Kenya, Vietnam, Turkey, Belarus, Russia or Bangladesh" tags, come from China, Taiwan, Korea or Japan. Same with mobile phone. Yes, 100%.

Now the world has tons of TV manufacturers, but all of them, aside from those countries I mention, are just assembler.

Not to mention that Germany, Poland and former Soviet states used to have good electronic components industry, and Vietnam tried to manufacture transistors back in 1970 - 1980s. And now we have so-called great electronic industry, but 100% are assembly. Even if some components are made locally, they are made with foreign material, technology and expertise.

Can't you see that 100% components of any TV in the world now, whether with "made in Poland, Egypt, Kenya, Vietnam, Turkey, Belarus, Russia or Bangladesh" tags, come from China, Taiwan, Korea or Japan. Same with mobile phone. Yes, 100%.

Now the world has tons of TV manufacturers, but all of them, aside from those countries I mentions, are just assembler.

Not to mention that Germany, Poland and former Soviet states used to have good electronic components industry, and Vietnam tried to manufacture transistors back in 1970 - 1980s. And now we have so-called great electronic industry, but 100% are assembly. Even if some components are made locally, they are made with foreign material, technology and expertise.

Well it depends on whether there are electronic component industry on that country.

This is radar made by Indonesian national company uses 60 % local content, he said only RF (Radio Frequency) component that is still imported, so it is not true that only those countries that can produce electronic component. But surely electronic products needs big semi conductor companies

Now the world has tons of TV manufacturers, but all of them, aside from those countries I mention, are just assembler.

The point is to provide jobs to young men and women, so they may feed their families. Value addition is where it is at. Export value addition brings more money because people buy more expensive items with Euro and USD.

Vietnam assembly wages are a bit more than Bangladesh, but efficiency may be higher. In any case, for local market products it doesn't matter.

At certain low volume levels (currently existing), making SoC, camera chip, even SMD components locally in Vietnam or Bangladesh is not profitable. Those will come in when hundreds of millions of units are made, especially products like cellphones.

If you are designing and making most components locally, you can safely call it a local product.
The key is in value addition, as @Bilal9 mentioned.
Manufacturing all circuit components locally is too high a standard to meet.

Thanks for uploading the video.

I went through the entire documentary. Really a very prospective line of productions. The company has added Elevators to its production which has a very large market in BD.

Not that every item must be exported in big volume. Local consumption is large for elevators and I think with the construction of many tall buildings, these will sell like hot cakes in Dhaka.

However, Walton must produce elevators with different carrying capacities. The video showed the type good for 4 persons.

I wish other companies also build similar factories catering to local and overseas demands for electrical and electronic goods.

I went through the entire documentary. Really a very prospective line of productions. The company has added Elevators to its production which has a very large market in BD.

Not that every item must be exported in big volume. Local consumption is large for elevators and I think with the construction of many tall buildings, these will sell like hot cakes in Dhaka.

However, Walton must produce elevators with different carrying capacities. The video showed the type good for 4 persons.

I wish other companies also build similar factories catering to local and overseas demands for electrical and electronic goods.

Walton can be a behemoth even with just local sales.

At 6k US dollars per capita - consumption takes off massively.

Even more true in BD because ours is a much more equal society than India and Pakistan.

Both India and Pakistan are feudal societies were wealth is concentrated in the hands of clan leaders.

In Bangladesh, most of the feudal lords were British appointed Hindus.

Thanks to partition they were booted out to West Bengal. Leaving BD free of feudalism.

@UKBengali
@EasyNow

Brother, the world has become ONE big factory whereby components are produced in different small factories in many countries.

One manufacturing factory imports and assembles the components and markets the final products in its own name/ brand.

It has been continuing for many decades when the product varieties expanded and became difficult to produce all components under one single roof.

Even in one single country, the components are produced by many different factories as per the specifications of the main company. Now, it is many different factories in many different countries.

However, a product is tagged in the name of the final manufacturer. In the case of the present topic, it is Walton of Bangladesh.

Walton can be a behemoth even with just local sales.

At 6k US dollars per capita - consumption takes off massively.

Even more true in BD because ours is a much more equal society than India and Pakistan.

Both India and Pakistan are feudal societies were wealth is concentrated in the hands of clan leaders.

In Bangladesh, most of the feudal lords were British appointed Hindus.

Thanks to partition they were booted out to West Bengal. Leaving BD free of feudalism.

@UKBengali
@EasyNow

I do agree that BD wealth is better distributed - even though many people will bring stats to show the wealth divide growing - I believe that's because the divide was so small in the first place.

Bd society is more giving and socially responsible than others in the region

I do agree that BD wealth is better distributed - even though many people will bring stats to show the wealth divide growing - I believe that's because the divide was so small in the first place.

Bd society is more giving and socially responsible than others in the region

Yep! The amount distributed through zakat is phenomenal.

Even our crooks pay zakat.

I have seen local mafia lords distributing 10s of lakhs in Zakat.

Another reason why socialism has never taken off in BD. ZAKAT!

We are very much a moderate capitalist country.

There’s not much difference in the economic philosophies of the major parties.

Virtually identical.

We don’t do class warfare through politics.

Just the eternal grudge match between the whore Kaleda and eternally grieving daddy issues Hasina.

And if we talk about software or hardware design, almost 100% come from USA/West.

China just manufacture what USA designs.

@bluesky bhai, they also make cargo/freight elevators for apparel factories and I'm sure will go for manufacturing elevators and travellators, if local demand is high enough.

But- like you said, every 12 story (and up) apt. complex in Dhaka will need an elevator and there are literally thousands of them.

And if we talk about software or hardware design, almost 100% come from USA/West.

I beg to differ.

At some point, Chinese manufacturers were going to go into designing their own products after volume exceeded a certain point, and they already have. They have branched into even high margin luxury products sold in the US, offering unbeatable value and quality. It was a foregone conclusion, China is a huge market itself, even for luxury products.

No one outside China has ANY IDEA about China's design capabilities. Underestimating them would be foolish.

To give you some idea, I am going to give you some examples in a few Hi Fidelity and photography products, although this is off topic. These are disruptive technologies and cost 1/3 or 1/5th of equivalent Japanese products. And they are selling like gangbusters - they can't keep them on the shelves. Japanese have no equivalent products to speak of.

7artisans 35mm F0.95 APS-C Manual Focus Lens for Nikon Z50 Z6 Z7 Z6II Z7II Z5

1665022988529.png

7artisans 50mm F0.95 APS-C Manual Focus Lens for Nikon Z50 Z6 Z7 Z6II Z7II Z5
1665023063632.png

7artisans 60mm F2.8 II Manual APS-C Macro Lens for Sony E Mount Mirrorless
1665023146458.png

Shenzhen DJI Sciences and Technologies Ltd. DJI stands for Da-Jiang Innovations (大疆创新; Dà Jiāng Chuàngxīn; 'Great Frontier Innovations'). DJI accounts for around 70% of the world's consumer drone market.

New DJI Avata​

1665023584466.png

DJI Phantom 4 Pro 2.0

1665023642244.png

Audio amplifiers

Willsenton R8 Stereo Tube Amplifier

1665024011197.png

1665024078652.png

Here's another one from that same manufacturer.

What hardware designed in the West and manufactured in China, aside from (some) Western brands (even so, probably only artistic design carried out in the West, but engineering design are in China). Can you name few recognisable Chinese brand products designed in the West, especially engineering design: high speed railway and trains, urban trains, petrol cars and electric cars, aircraft, mobiphone...

This is only a wishful thinking from the West, and created by Western media. I work in enhineering and have seen the decline of a big Western company which have been closely working at big projects in Vietnam for last 20 years when they no longer do field works but focus on engineering design. Working far away and separate from production shops or construction sites will make the design (both artistic and engineering) unrealistic and eventually unusable.

I doubt even the western brand softwares are actually developed in the West, as the top quality workforce (in math) are East Asian. They may have outsourced this work too to China or Korea

Certainly not today's TVs. You must be thinking about the cathode ray tubes. LEDs were invented in Japan in early 2000s. From then on both design and manufacturing come from Japan, Korea or China.

You can design and prototype must faster when you are near components. Whether it is tvs, computers, washing machines or cars you can design and make a working model far faster in China than anywhere else because the parts for everything are there.