Replacing the F-16: Will Pakistan’s Top Fighter Squadron Transition to Chinese J-10Cs?

Useless and hypothetical thread.
PAF is happy with F-16s.
There is no need to replace them with J-10C which have no reliable engine.
2nd purchasing is not an issue, but supporting infrastructure for new aircraft will required huge money and time.
Yeh wala confidence chahiyay .....wow

Sir, you are more senior than me in age and experience. Sir if we had purchased J-10 in Musharraf era, then might be our JF-17 was not in pace like now . I mean we are moving to Block 3. If we had bought the J-10 and its latest versions then pace on JFT development might look similar Al khalid tank. Where we are not focused on local product but we are keep buying off the shelf. So not buying the J-10 was a blessing for JFT development cycle. Thanks in advance.
JF17 has nothing to do with J10. Different class, just as F-16 and JF17. JF17 is meant to replace aging 3rd generation fighter while J10 would had been the higher end, tip of the spear along with the F16s. By now not only would we have been inducting block 3 JF17s but also the latest J10Cs, fully imbued in our doctrine replacing the F16s altogether.

Apart from Air Force modernization Pakistan really needs to focus on air defences . Pakistan need's better and stronger air defence systems. Pakistan should look at Algeria. It has one of the strongest air defence system in the world. Very few people actually know this. It's air defence's alone could "kill" a medium sized air force. Just look at some of the SAM's they have. But again every country has different military doctrine.

Long range:
S-400
S-300PMU/PMU-1/PMU-2
S-300V/VM
HQ-9
S-200

Medium range:
S-125
Pantsir S1
BUK
KUB

Short range:
9K31 Strela-1
9K33 OSA
Tor

This video explains very well why SAM's can be so crucial in a war. Would recommend to watch it.

F16s could be our second line of defence around 2030 fighters like we have F7PG today blk3 along J10C is a good start PAF should look J31/35 in a small batch like two Sqdns or look at J20s

50-60 J-10Cs on an emergency procurement basis will be a temporary stop gap until the AZM enters production. Main benefits being more 4.5 generation fighters equipped with AESA and the long range PL-15.

PAF still needs to replace 200 F-7s & Mirages. Even with another 90-100 JF17s B3s wont be enough. An extra 50 fighters and access to the PL15 would be huge force multipliers.

Eventually AZM will enter production and will be the mainstay of the PAF replacing any remaining Miranges/F7s and even non-mlu F16s. AZM aside the PAF would still have a force of:

- 230 JF17s
- 50 J-10Cs
-80 F16s
We should jump straight to J20s and do joint manufacturing like with the JF17. J10s aren't going to add much to PAF .

It is high time that Pakistan replace all western weapon systems with Chinese and Russian ones.

JF-17 BLK3 is superior to F-16.

It is high time that Pakistan replace all western weapon systems with Chinese and Russian ones.

JF-17 BLK3 is superior to F-16.
Only leading US systems left are F16s and P3C s later one will replace by lineage100 every year and F16s we should keep flying them still a potent fighter but should look 5th Gen like J35 or even J20 if China agrees

You are right Sir, they are from different league.but you know the mentality of our higher command. When they start getting better product on less headache, they will start ignoring the local product. Al Khalid, Yasoob , HIT made other security vehicles,local manufactured drones and many more examples.
JF17 has nothing to do with J10. Different class, just as F-16 and JF17. JF17 is meant to replace aging 3rd generation fighter while J10 would had been the higher end, tip of the spear along with the F16s. By now not only would we have been inducting block 3 JF17s but also the latest J10Cs, fully imbued in our doctrine replacing the F16s altogether.

JF 17-Blk3 and J-10 C are both different from each other. Pakistan need ,now, 30 of J-10 C , until JF17-Blk3 comes , after one and half year in Pakistan.
J-10 C can fight all jet fighters of Eastern enemy .
I am sure J-10 C are inside Pakistan now . Those J-10C , which were exercising (without Chinese stamp) in Shaheen air drill in 2020 were for Pakistan indeed.

JF 17-Blk3 and J-10 C are both different from each other. Pakistan need ,now, 30 of J-10 C , until JF17-Blk3 comes , after one and half year in Pakistan.
J-10 C can fight all jet fighters of Eastern enemy .
I am sure J-10 C are inside Pakistan now . Those J-10C , which were exercising (without Chinese stamp) in Shaheen air drill in 2020 were for Pakistan indeed.
I think so too. The electronic equipment of J10C and BLK3 and the electronic equipment of J20 are the same generation products. There is only a difference in performance. These electronic devices have brought a whole new way of fighting.PAF pilots need to learn and train to give full play to the performance of these equipment. And blk3 is still on the production line. It is very normal to use J10C to learn and train.

I think some J10Cs are not part of PLAF's battle sequence, but are the company's experimental models, or training models of the training base. They are not allowed to paint emblems, and it is conceivable that these aircraft will be stationed in Pakistan.

LOL relations won't normalize between Pakistan and the US.
LOlo fofo yeh zabardasti ki shadi thi.
Jo aise hi chale gi.
We know we won't be getting any new F-16s. It is game over for F-16s. The Americans aren't going to provide any. We won't be able to aqcuire any F-16 airframes through third parties. The Americans won't allow it.

The current batch of F-16s operated by PAF will eventually be phased out as soon as they are end of life. It makes sense to question what fighter will replace F-16. I think it will be a 5th gen fighter.
Bhai abhi 3 talaq nahi hoi hai. They humiliated us since last 10 years. On 1 side they used our land and airspace and the other side they put us in grey list.
Now time has been changed, that's they knew it.
PAF and armed forces have alternatives. They still require our help to protect the US embassy in Kabul.
so dont worry.

MashaAllah ... Here we are again at it. Let's see how many pages this thread will grow.

JF-17 block-03 will be masterpiece in aviation sector.
In many ways it is far better than many westerns as well as Chinese fighters, although it is a lightweight aircraft, No aircraft mach with block -03.
Even it can compete some medium weight fighters like F-16s block 60 Mig-35 & Gripen E due to its powerful radar and weapon package.
JF-17 block -03 will have best BVR missiles and WVR missile i-e PL-15 & Pl-10 missiles. We can integrate Turkish BVR and WVR missiles on it due to complete source code access.
Lot of new Turk air to ground and sea weapons package is also available.
Block-03 will have best of Chinese HMDS which they are using on J-20 & J-10C.
PAF is using Russian RD-93 engines since 2004 almost 20 years without any major issue just 1 smoke issue, which I know that they already solved it.
Bk-03 will used RD-93MA engine which is digitally controlled FADEC.
JF-17 thunder is also helping Chinese to learn PAF experience like they are testing same HUD on J-10C which we are select for bk-03 (wide-angle holographic HUD with a slimmer frame).
So why we spent money on similar technology which we already have.
I know some members are worry about Rafale edge. Yes Rafale is a highly capable aircraft but in air warfare every thing happend.
Remember 1 thing we have almost same knowledge of Rafale which Indians have. Our pilots already flew them. 2nd, they can't deployed all 18 fighters at a time against us.