Pakistan vs India: WC Semifinal - March 30

Wrong choice of words by Ravi Shastri.

I think it was gamesmanship, nothing more. People are trying to put psychological pressure in the other side. Both sides are indulging in it.

What makes you think so?

In fact, I think Pakistani public is expecting a lot more from their players. It is just not about the game anymore for many of them it seems.

Pakistani public is not expecting more from their cricket team. We have already achieved more than what our cricket team was capable of ( according to some "analysts"). We would not mind loosing to India untill and unless they play like they have been playing so far. And I am not sure about Indians as it seems that they have already made their mind up that they are the new world champions.

I see the same behavioral pattern from Indians here in the UAE, even in my company. Indians are looking past the Semi Final and are already considering themselves in the final. It is understandable that India have a very good side on paper and with their home ground home crowd support they are expected to win. But still people, show some respect towards the Pakistani team, they are no pushovers.
I am not saying being confident is bad but with the amount of over confidence shown by Indians in general (including the over zealous comments of Ravi Shastri). If the Indian team loses, the effects on them will be much worse than the effects on the Pakistani public if our team loses.

fully agreed. same fashion is going on in my company.. Anyway i have pasted Afridi and Pakistani flag A4 size posters on my workstation... :)

Yes, please include this old horse in the race, so that you are not left with any excuse or pretext, when you loose against Indians by saying ; we lost because our Akhtar did not play......

With Akhtar playing, you are pretext proof now!

bhai its not a horse race, you tendu aged 36 is also playing, stop criticising our pacer, stop making bad comments before the match.... and you are saying as if you are wannabe pak selector, so shut the hell up...

pakistan must not play akhtar. it will be horrible if they even try anything like this.

for india.

Hmmm... acha hai, let everyone eat each other up. You guys would have pent up all your energy by the day of teh semifinal and then we'll have less to moderate on the actual day. :lol:

@ Du: Can I whoop you? ;)

How about we all enjoy Federer till then :smitten: :flirt:

woop me ? why , infect you were so right - all the indo pak match energy is drained . i am not too much in game now ,

thanks to all the time before the WAR.

Pakistani public is not expecting more from their cricket team. We have already achieved more than what our cricket team was capable of ( according to some "analysts"). We would not mind loosing to India untill and unless they play like they have been playing so far. And I am not sure about Indians as it seems that they have already made their mind up that they are the new world champions.

Difficult to say. May be some Indians have done it.

I think there is equal chance for every team now. Will depend on how they play on a particular day and a bit of luck going their way.

BUT I still hope saachin hits a century.

and somebody give one tight slap to munaf patel - he look so lethargic.

Difficult to say. May be some Indians have done it.

I think there is equal chance for every team now. Will depend on how they play on a particular day and a bit of luck going their way.

Exactly my point. Although the public in Pakistan is quite aware that Indians have the edge due to their home ground/crowd and phenomenal batting line up, but still it could be anybody's game on Wednesday.

the mohali pitch is suited for pace bowlers so akhtar is fine...

Exactly my point. Although the public in Pakistan is quite aware that Indians have the edge due to their home ground/crowd and phenomenal batting line up, but still it could be anybody's game on Wednesday.

poof the indian batting .

i tell you a secret how they win. every time we leave a water bottle on top of our home theater system . they play good. and win match.

and also dont watch it on espn or star sports, watch it on star cricket. every-time you need a wicket -- switch to cnn news and back in next 20 seconds wicket is gone.

umar gul has said that dhoni and gary kirsten had a look at the pitch and when they saw the green spots they had a talk with the groundsman adn within half an hour the grass was cut!!!.....and pakistan has seam bowlers while india has only zaheer khan.....get ready for a batting track!!!

India-Pakistan Lovefest or Sledge Match at Mohali?

Cricket was considered a gentleman's sport until the Australians invented sledging, defined as words or phrases designed to upset opponents to gain a competitive edge in crunch matches.

Though Aussies still remain the king of sledge, Indians and Pakistanis are also known to engage in this coarse practice when emotions are running high. But somehow, they tend to get in trouble more often than their Australian counterparts.
118456.jpg

In a 2008 encounter between India and Australia, Indian bowler Harbhajan Singh was disciplined by the ICC when Australia's Andrew Symonds accused him of using a racial slur. Upon further investigation, it turned out that Singh said to Syomnds "teri maaN ki c---" (Your mother's c---) which Symonds heard as "monkey".

The Harbhajan-Symonds incident implies that there are some rules for sledging that permit verbal salvos against the character of women in the players' lives, while prohibiting any race-based verbal attacks. It also appears to imply that misogyny is permissible on the male-dominated cricket field but racism is not. Given this background and their common language, it's quite possible that both Indians and Pakistanis will freely offer their unflattering opinions of each others' female relatives at the upcoming World Cup semifinal at Mohali on March 30, 2011.

Among the most quoted sledges is this one about Australia's Rodney Marsh and England's Ian Botham: Marsh: "How's your wife and my kids?" Botham: "The wife's fine; the kids are retarded."

Not all sledges relate to females. The one reported about Pakistan's Javed Miandad and Australia's Merv Hughes goes like this: Javed Miandad called Hughes a fat bus conductor during a match. A few balls later, Hughes dismissed Miandad. “Tickets please,” said Hughes, as he mocked the departing batsman.

Regardless of sledging and match results, I do hope that the high-energy, high-emotion India-Pakistan encounter in Mohali offers a great spectacle of fine cricket and the best possible sportsmanship the two South Asian neighbors have to offer.

Pakistan warns players to stay away from match-fixing

Lahore: With just a couple of days to go before the high-intensity World Cup semi-final clash between India and Pakistan, Pakistan Interior Minister Rehman Malik has stepped up pressure on the country’s players by advising them to stay away from match-fixing.

No such Hidayat to Indian Players from Indian minister.......what does it mean?
That Pakistan is match fix prone country?

Allah kare aisa ho

afridi batting kr rha ho.33 bowl ho aur 99 runs..
34th bowl parr shahid afridi 6 maar le.dhoni gussay se gaali de aur shahid afridi us pr bat thorr de.