Indian Air Force News & Discussions

Good to know that, for whatever reason, the pencil pushers at the FM have pulled their finger's out. If only they could have seen the light a bit sooner AKA -A330 MRTT!

25 (10 + option for 15 more which are likely to happen) C-17s here we come!!

The point is, that $580 millions per aircraft are not really cheap, especially when higher numbers are needed the most for IAF transport fleet, not more payload.

But,Isn't American customer care services a lot better than Russia's(?).So we will receive help in maintaining them for a period of ten years which is very good,right?Also I read that the C-17 Globemasters have a better sortie rate than the Il-76MD that serve our Air transport fleet and the fact that it can land and takeoff on shorter runways is a boon for the Logistics department especially on the runways in Kashmir,Sikkim,Tripura and Arunaachal pradesh.Also as American engines are a bit more fuel efficient than the contemporary Russian ones on the Il-76MD,they will be light on the taxpayers' pockets too.

wait im helping u on that....actually im facing problem here to post the link...cause u have to have 5 post atleast to give a link...nd i joined today itself...but ill give the information for sure....!!

actually u can see it urself that india doesnt want to use the same surveillance system,radars,and many other softwares cause of communications interoperatability and security memorandum agreement(CISMOA)...THESE INFORMATION IS GIVEN IN WIKIPEDIA..WHICH IS SUPPOSEDLY OF ONE THE BEST SUCH SITES TO GIVE CORRECT INFORMATION...SHOCKED???????AND HENCE INDIA WILL ACTUALLY INTRODUCE ITS OWN MADE SURVEILLANCE SYSTEMS INTO THE AIRCRAFTS.....!!!nd wait ill also give u the link in some time...

@UGhosh-Old news brother,BEL has already delivered communications equipments to Boeing IDS for it to be integrated into the Indian Poseidon.So BEL will supply these systems for integration on the C-17 Globemasters too.BTW welcome to Defence.Pk

But,Isn't American customer care services a lot better than Russia's(?).So we will receive help in maintaining them for a period of ten years which is very good,right?Also I read that the C-17 Globemasters have a better sortie rate than the Il-76MD that serve our Air transport fleet and the fact that it can land and takeoff on shorter runways

They have, but does it equal the 10 time higher cost and aren't there other alternatives that offers the same quality and customer care, but are cheaper as well (A400, C2, maybe even the AN 70)?

@bharadwaj---thanks bro for ur welcome...
and the reports i gathered was frm wikipedia...which always updates itself frequently.....and one of the most renouned sources...!!!so.............never mind..!!!!nd thanks fr ur valuable information....!!!!even i need to know things from u all..after all u all r my seniors in this blog...hehehehe...!!!!thumbs up!!!

^^^
I am with you man....they can increase the number of C130j but C17 is very expensive...I would prefer A400 over anything else.....also guys have heard anything new about C27j ?? IAF issued RFI for them and showed interest to buy around 16 of them...

@bharadwaj bhai.....par BEL toh indian company hai...Bharat Electronics Limited..!!!!
toh ab tak toh main wahi bol raha tha that the C130J SUPER HERCULES will b fitted with indian surveillance systems...softwares....!!!
TUM TOH GLOBEMASTER AUR POSEIDON KE BARE MEIN BOLE KI THEY R GOIN TO USE INDIAN MADE SURVEILLANCE...PAR ISKA MATLAB THORI HUA KI C130J SUPER HERCULES WILL NOT BE FITTED WITH INDIAN SURVEILLANCE..ND SOFTWARES....!!!!

go through the "international orders" part care fully...rest of the page is of no use to ur query....!!!!

I think you are wrong, another interesting point in the "international orders" section is the fact thar Isreal is planning to buy 9 more C-130s in the exact configuration as the IAF (onto of the ones they already operate) we know how good the Israelis are at tuning their birds so given they are already very experienced with the a/c the lack of CISMOA and LSA equipment on IAF C-130s may not be as stupid an action on behalf of MoD as first thought. Maybe MoD had/has something cooking with the Isralis all along?

Permanent commission is granted after 4 years of service. The AEC is a significantly harder and longer course.

I think you are wrong, another interesting point in the "international orders" section is the fact thar Isreal is planning to buy 9 more C-130s in the exact configuration as the IAF (onto of the ones they already operate) we know how good the Israelis are at tuning their birds so given they are already very experienced with the a/c the lack of CISMOA and LSA equipment on IAF C-130s may not be as stupid an action on behalf of MoD as first thought. Maybe MoD had/has something cooking with the Isralis all along?

@abindonboy......wat do u actually want to mean by the above quote....ur r damn confusing....."we know how good the Israelis are at tuning their birds so given they are already very experienced with the a/c the lack of CISMOA and LSA equipment on IAF C-130s may not be as stupid an action on behalf of MoD as first thought. Maybe MoD had/has something cooking with the Isralis all along?"[/QUOTE]specially explain this part...!!!