Pakistan $1 Trillion Economy

OK here is a hypothetical scenario

Lets assume Pakistan's GDP is 270 billion dollars in 2015.

If Pakistan's gdp growth averages about 5% for the next 15 years and the inflation is also contained below 5%. We will be a trillion dollar economy by 2028. The inflation factor or healthy growth rate can push the economy to four digits even earlier but these are all day dreams for now.

PS: I am not convinced with claims of our gdp standing at 320 billion dollars. It is highly exaggerated figure and the value of undervalued rupee is partially responsible for that. To identify the size of gdp by merely converting rupee value to dollar is not a very good method of estimation

For 2015-16 its indeed estimated to be $320 billion. For 2014-15 $286 billion.

pakistan-gdp.png

I'd say between 2030-2050, if growth rate is between 5-7%, and energy production is stable.

At 5% 2040, at 6-7% 2030-35.

Economy cannot be actually predicted beyond a few years.

Pata nahi. mera dil chahta hai kal tak ho jaey.

Price parity ko Allah ka wasta koi consider na karay.lets only stick to gdp.

beta,naswar kia hoti hai apko pata ni aur aa gye economy parr baat krne

U dont know su 30 mki ki pic ka avatar laganay say saari economy samajh ajati hai. how indian logic works.

Trust me its more than 1 Trillion already

Why would anyone take your word at face value - and without supporting data? Especially as economic data states Pakistan's current Nominal GDP is around 240 Billion USD:

Pakistan GDP | 1960-2015 | Data | Chart | Calendar | Forecast | News

In GDP (PPP) it's around 575 Billion USD:

Pakistan Economy: Population, GDP, Inflation, Business, Trade, FDI, Corruption

Again, PPP doesn't matter outside of internal consumption due to international trade being values at market or negotiated prices, not a nation's internal selling prices. Thus we see a focus on Nominal GDP instead.

Why would anyone take your word at face value - and without supporting data? Especially as economic data states Pakistan's current Nominal GDP is around 240 Billion USD:

Pakistan GDP | 1960-2015 | Data | Chart | Calendar | Forecast | News

In GDP (PPP) it's around 575 Billion USD:

Pakistan Economy: Population, GDP, Inflation, Business, Trade, FDI, Corruption

thats because you are not in Pakistan, have you ever been to Pakistan if so then when.
I Just came back few months back and i see more economic activity there what i see here in Canada.

the Economic data you are referring to only calculates economic activity in multinational businesses. 90% of Pakistan's business is done by hand shake. India, Bangladesh and Pakistan their economy is 5 to 10 times more than whats on the papers.

For 2015-16 its indeed estimated to be $320 billion. For 2014-15 $286 billion.
If my memory is correct
  • Pakistan's GDP in 2008 was around 170 billion dollars
  • The recession, rising oil prices, slow growth rate, devalue of rupee from 62 to around 80 rupees meant the GDP remained at around 170 billion dollars in 2009
  • The floods, war on terror, recession, insecurity meant the gdp growth rate remained insignificant in 2010 and was still claimed to be around 175 billion dollars

2011 and 2012 were comparatively better with slow but steady growth rate of below 4% and people reluctantly started claiming that the GDP may have risen above 200 billion dollars. I totally fail to understand that how the GDP of 175 billion dollars in 2010 managed to rise by up to 55% after 5 years despite posting meagre growth rate

You're making a claim that Pakistan is a 1 trillion USD economy, that doesn't match the numbers:

Pakistan | Data - from the World Bank

You're no trying to convince me, I don't rely on your opinion, I trust the numbers and they don't support the theory of Pakistan being a 1 trillion USD economy right now.

no i said its much bigger than 1 trillion, I am not trying to convince you it doesnt matter to me.

There's a lot of the economy that is unaccounted for.
You're making a claim that Pakistan is a 1 trillion USD economy, that doesn't match the numbers:

Pakistan | Data - from the World Bank

You're not trying to convince me, I don't rely on or trust your opinion, I trust the numbers and they don't support the theory of Pakistan being a 1 trillion USD economy right now.

It can be, it has the capacity, the numbers don't support your claims though.

He is talking about the regular economy + the unaccounted for economy being over a trillion. Although I don't know whether that is true or not. What I do know is that if many Pakistani citizens began paying the correct income taxes including businesses then GDP will sky rocket as government revenue and spending would multiply.