Why Punjabis in Pakistan Have Abandoned Punjabi

If Pakistani Punjabis are so proud of Punjabi then why don't you promote Punjabi in schools/colleges. Why don't you have movies in Punjabi?
Listen dear, (I was about to call you dipshit, but i wont) We dont teach it in schools coz simply put we dont need to. The scripts the same as Urdu. and we we know the language from homes. Its the Frigging mother tongue. As everyone learns Urdu in the schools they can also read and write Punjabi. Its available in colleges and universities. As one in Punjab would know it, it would be redundant to pick it at those levels unless you want a course to Pass.
As for not having movies in Punjabi, what are you high? Did you even bother looking?

It is commonly accepted by Muslims of Pakistan (Punjab, KPK, etc.) that Guru Nanak Baba was an orthodox Muslim and a Sufi sheikh. His pilgrimage to Makkah is one proof of it. The other being that his darbar is visited and maintained mostly by Muslims.

May Allah swt have mercy on his soul.
---------

Sikhs and Muslims both love Baba Guru Nanak and the proof is in Kartarpur Sahib

SAMAA | Roohan Ahmed
Posted: Jan 26, 2019 | Last Updated: 2 years ago

Sikh.jpeg

Baba Guru Nanak, the founder of Sikhism, is not only loved by Sikhs but also by Muslims and Gurdwara Kartarpur Sahib is testament to this.

“Baba ji spent the last 18 years of his life at this gurdwara,” Rafique, a caretaker at the gurdwara told SAMAA Digital.

Gurdwara Kartarpur Sahib is situated around 120 kilometers from Lahore and a few kilometers away from Narowal. It was constructed by the Raja of Patiala Bhupinder Singh between 1921 and 1929.

Karatarpur-3-NAVEED-AHMED-RATHORE.jpeg

An exterior view of the Kartarpur Sahib Gurdwara. Photo: Naveed Ahmed Rathore/SAMAA

Its white edifice is set against lush green farms and the ‘grave’ is the first thing people see upon entering its premises.

However, this structure is not an actual grave. “The people only found Baba ji’s chador and flowers, and not his body,” Rafique explained. “The grave you see in the veranda was built by the Muslims.”

It is said that the Sikh and Muslim followers of Baba Guru Nanak started fighting over what was left of him. The elders divided the chador and flowers, and two graves were built. The other grave is located inside the walls of the gurdwara.

GRAVES-640x360.jpg

On the left is the grave of Baba Guru Nanak. The grave on the right was built by Muslims to show their respect for Guru Nanak. Photo: Roohan Ahmed/SAMAA

“Around 100 people, mostly Muslims, come to pay their respects to Baba ji,” Rafique said.

On November 28, 2019 Prime Minister Imran Khan laid the foundation of the Kartarpur Corridor. The 4km-long corridor will connect Dera Baba Nanak in India’s Gurdaspur district with Gurdwara Kartarpur Sahib in Pakistan. The corridor will provide Indian Sikh pilgrims visa-free access to the shrine.

“We are very satisfied with the step taken by the government,” said the gurdwara’s Jathedar (the prayer leader) Gobin Singh.

Karatarpur-2-NAVEED-AHMED-RATHORE-640x467.jpeg

Construction work at the Kartarpur Gurdwara. Photo: Naveed Ahmed Rathore/SAMAA

The gurdwara was abandoned during the time of Partition, Nisar Ahmed, a villager, said. “It was a jungle before the place was restored 18 years ago in former president Pervez Musharraf’s era.” Members of the Sikh community started coming to the gurdwara to restore it.

The government plans to open Kartarpur Corridor on the occasion of the 550th birth anniversary of Baba Guru Nanak in November.

The construction has started amid security.

A visitor from Sambaryal praised Imran Khan for opening the gurdwara for Sikh visitors. “India should also take similar steps and allow Pakistani people to freely visit their sacred sites in India.”

https://www.samaa.tv/news/2019/01/s...ru-nanak-and-the-proof-is-in-kartarpur-sahib/

Listen dear, (I was about to call you dipshit, but i wont) We dont teach it in schools coz simply put we dont need to. The scripts the same as Urdu. and we we know the language from homes. Its the Frigging mother tongue. As everyone learns Urdu in the schools they can also read and write Punjabi. Its available in colleges and universities. As one in Punjab would know it, it would be redundant to pick it at those levels unless you want a course to Pass.
As for not having movies in Punjabi, what are you high? Did you even bother looking?

They are running nonsense psyops by repeating the same statement again and again, hoping that lies become truth if repeated 100x.

It is still a lie.

Now India, where proper Punjabi is not even spoken, is trying to tell the heartland of Punjabi culture and language (the resting place of Baba Guru Nanak RAA) that we are not speaking Punjabi.

The world inside Indian minds is a scary place. Better to leave them to their nonsense and discuss actual issues.

Let us ignore the Indians and continue discussing the Punjabi language.

I am actually of the opinion that Urdu should be taught in every school as a medium of instruction in every province of Pakistan. It is better for us to be fluent in both Urdu and our local dialects.

If not for my background in Urdu, which is very strong, in addition to Punjabi (my mother tongue,) I could not feel at home in KPK for example.

Actually, I have been thinking for a long time about Dari language. All my grandparents are/were fluent in it. It should be brought back in Pakistan. In addition to shayri, we can promote and further our influence into Afghanistan, Tajikstan, and Iran

Urdu should definitely stay as a secondary language; it's our national language. However, i am of opinion to make each regional language official in respective province and the language of instruction must be in local language. Dari and other languages can be offered as electives as well.

Bhai sab choro....A question here

Mr. Jinnah was Gujrati but yet he made Urdu as Pakistan's official language...

Y?

I know off topic but Y :D

You are mistaken. I'm not saying Pakistani Punjabis don't follow language, culture, etc. I'm just pointing out that Indian Punjabis are taught Punjabi in schools as a compulsory subject, have plenty of recent songs, have a separate film industry, etc. I'm not saying Pakistanis haven't ever had their own songs, movies, etc, but just pointing out some things.

You mentioned that Pakistani Punjabis don't need to teach Punjabi in schools. Similarly, why do Indian Punjabis need to teach Punjabi in schools? Why do Bengalis/Tamil need to teach their languages in school. We all speak our language in our house anyway.
It is commonly accepted by Muslims of Pakistan (Punjab, KPK, etc.) that Guru Nanak Baba was an orthodox Muslim and a Sufi sheikh. His pilgrimage to Makkah is one proof of it. The other being that his darbar is visited and maintained mostly by Muslims.
Funny how you just pointed out a few of his Muslim related things lol.

Ok tell me:
1) Why didn't he change his name to an Islamic one like most Muslims in South Asia do?
2) Why did he marry a Hindu woman?
3) Why did he give Hindu origin name to his children?
4) Is this Islam? (Nanak is said to have travelled far and wide across Asia teaching people the message of ik onkar (ੴ, 'one God'), who dwells in every one of his creations and constitutes the eternal Truth.) In Islam the creation and the creator are 2 separate things which incidentally is also one of the other philosophies of Hinduism. (Will stop religious debate here)
5) He traveled far and wide and visited both Hindu and Muslim places of worship. He was a seeker. He even visited the Ram Janmabhoomi temple. Does that make him a Hindu?

Also read this: 'Another source of dispute has been the Baghdad stone i ption in a Turkish script, which some interpret saying Baba Nanak Fakir was there in 1511–1512, while some state 1521–1522 (and that he lived in the Middle East for 11 years away from his family). Others, particularly Western scholars, argue that the stone inscription is from the 19th century and the stone is not a reliable evidence that Guru Nanak visited Baghdad in early 16th century.[42] Moreover, beyond the stone, no evidence or mention of Guru Nanak's journey in the Middle East has been found in any other Middle Eastern textual or epigraphical records. Claims have been asserted of additional inscriptions, but no one has been able to locate and verify them.[43]'

I know you won't have answers to this so save your effort.

Ah Shit...
I'm not saying Pakistanis haven't ever had their own songs, movies, etc, but just pointing out some things.
Ok What are you pointing out?
why do Indian Punjabis need to teach Punjabi in schools? Why do Bengalis/Tamil need to teach their languages in school.
More Glory to them. Anything else.

Y?

Sir na karain aisa. Some people have very thick skulls here or lack brain matter. One of the two. App naya siappa daalnai lagai.

Ok What are you pointing out?
I was responding to the people who were saying that Indian Punjabis don't speak correct Punjabi, founder of Sikhism was Muslim, etc.

You hear new things on PDF everyday.

Ciao.

I was responding to the people who were saying that Indian Punjabis don't speak correct Punjabi,
Ok on this. Let me put this in a less confrontational and condescending tone than my brethren. The Language was/ is same (is changing) but will it continue that way? They have been diverging because the lack of contact between 2 Punjabs and influences from surrounding areas and languages to varying degrees. The vocabulary, expressions, pronunciations etc are very slowly but steadily changing. This has been going on for the last 70+ years and will continue to do so. Second reason is the script. Which means 2 very different streams of literature which the other will not understand unless one hears it. This side of border we have ABSOLUTE no incentive of learning the other and from what i have learned from internet and interaction, in the east exist some people that do know our script either by explicitly learning it or implicitly by learning Urdu, albeit a small one.
So we both can understand each other perfectly well today, it very well might not be the case tomorrow. Even today if you knew Punjabi you would know that there are pretty much multiple words for same thing. Some in use on one side while the otherside uses the other. Difference today is that atleast majority of current generations knows both those words. Future generations will not. The difference becomes significant the further East/West you move.
This will go down the same route as Hindi and Urdu. Maybe then we can have these fights. At the moment i would say different dialects.
In nutshell they are not entirely wrong and you not entirely right. I admit my bias here in saying ours the proper one:p:. Also on founder of sikhism. Who gives a ShIT.

Pakistani drama industry was always better.

Although I enjoy Maula Jatt and Rangeela, Munawar Zareef films.

Tuadda fittey moo.

Kaddi aa vi zara Punjab ch, dekhange kinni Punjabi sannu ondi ey.

Just because you have mouth doesn't mean you should use it.

kini punjabi likni andi hai zara kuch likh kay wi tu wekhao , jo apni zuban na likh sakay us kay pass monh honay ka bi faida nahi

Y?

Urdu was always intelligible with Punjabi, both have the same influences and Punjabi heavily influenced Urdu. Therefore there was not much difference. Furthermore urdu was always the language of the Muslim elite, in addition to Dari.

kini punjabi likni andi hai zara kuch likh kay wi tu wekhao , jo apni zuban na likh sakay us kay pass monh honay ka bi faida nahi

Urdu and Punjabi have the same writing system, so I don't know what you are talking about.

We are all versed in Baba Farid, Baba Bulleh Shah, and Waris Shah.

Strange posts from someone called @pak-marine

indian Punjabi culture and heritage is different to Pakistani Punjabi culture and heritage. Apart from the similar language albeit different dialects, there is NOTHING else similar between the two. They don't understand our culture and heritage and we don't understand there's. As time goes on, this difference is only going to increase and unbridgeable.

In nutshell they are not entirely wrong and you not entirely right. I admit my bias here in saying ours the proper one:p:.

Punjabis of India are not fully Punjabi by race either, they are mixed with Gujuratis, etc. That is also reflected in their language which is contrived and artificially altered, and also their phenotype. When Sikhism vanished due to Sultan Aurangzeb's actions against them, Hindus repopulated the few Sikhs using their first born sons. British official patronage brought Sikhs fully back from obscurity. Then after the fall of Sikh empire, Sikhs were again confined to only East Punjab. Their culture has been in decline ever since. 1947 and 1984 did not help them. Now Modi is putting the death nail into their identity and tagging them as anti-state.

These Indians are coming on the forum and deriding original Punjab of Pakistan (IVC heartland containing Harrapa, Taxilla, and ancient cities like Lahore, Multan, etc.) All major poets of the past were from Pakistani Punjab. Most of the majors rivers flow in Punjab, including the most important, the Indus. The folktales of Punjab such as Heer Ranjha, Sohni Mahiwal, Sassu Punnu, Mirza Sahiban, etc. took place on Pakistani Punjab soil.

hor Parosiyan sannu kehnde ne, sannu punjabi ni ondi. L'hor de mashoor mahavira ey, "jinne L'hor wekheya ni, o jamia ni."

Sannu to yoo lagda ye, bharti zinda mareez kullu jamey ni

shayd koi pakistani punjabi inn galiyaan de nikke nu ghar te karak khaan de. Sona ey, Bhart te karak sahi ni milda, ithey aa key bheeg mangne ande aa.

indian Punjabi culture and heritage is different to Pakistani Punjabi culture and heritage. Apart from the similar language albeit different dialects, there is NOTHING else similar between the two. They don't understand our culture and heritage and we don't understand there's. As time goes on, this difference is only going to increase and unbridgeable.

Who is this pak-marine, is he Indian? I noticed he has -23 ratings also.